St. Clair County Biographies
St. Clair County Biographies
From the 1883
History of St. Clair County MO,
National Historical Co.
JOSEPH E. ADDAMS, miller, was born in Gallia, County, Ohio,
April 6, 1855, his parents, Richard and Nancy (Nicenhouser) Addams,
having been Virginians by birth. Joseph E., the youngest of a family
of three children, remained in Ohio until sixteen years old, when he
came to Polk County, Missouri, there being reared. He was engaged in
farming in that county until 1877, when he was employed in a mill at
Humansville. After remaining until 1881, he became occupied in the
milling business at Roscoe, with Mr. Roddy. He is a member of the
Christian Church. August 24, 1879, Mr. Addams was married to Miss
Rebecca Roddy, a native of Tennessee. They have two children: Nancy R.
and an infant.
J. M. ALLEN, section 24, is a native of Fayette County, Ohio,
and was born October 3, 1835. His father, James F. Allen, originally
from Pennsylvania, married Miss Jane DeWitt, of Ohio. He settled in
Ohio in an early day, and subsequently removed to Cedar County, Iowa,
and lived there three years, then returning to Ohio. J. M. Allen grew
to maturity in his native county, and was married at Fairview,
Randolph County, Indiana, February 19, 1857, to Miss Elizabeth J.
Cleveland, a daughter of M. H. Cleveland. She was born in that county.
They have ten children: William H., Charles E., Francis M., Albert S.,
Elmer E., Alton H., Jennie, Millie J.. Anna E. and Daisy D. After
living for three years in Fayette County Mr. Allen moved to Randolph
County, where he resided three years, and then returned to Fayette
County. In the fall of 1865 he located in St. Clair County, Missouri,
coming upon his present farm of 160 acres in 1869.
MILLARD FILLMORE ALLEN, a native of Allen County, Kentucky,
was born in 1850, and was the son of Lee Allen, a Kentuckian by birth,
born in 1825, who, in 1848, was married to Elizabeth Russell, of the
same state. In 1853, the family leaving the state of their birth, went
to Arkansas, from whence, after living there three years, they came to
St. Clair County, Missouri, locating where Millard F. now resides. In
1872 he was married to Miss Samantha Myers, a daughter of Daniel
Myers, of this county. They have had five children: Loge, Bird, Nola,
Bert and Delia. Four of these are living. Mr. Allen is the owner of a
beautiful farm of 240 acres, situated in a valley on one of the
confluences of Weaubleau Creek, and for agricultural purposes this is
unsurpassed in the township. Politically he is a Democrat.
THOMAS J. AMLIN was born November 17, 1841, in Franklin
County, Tennessee, his parents being John M. and Mary A. (Childs)
Amlin, the former of Ohio, born July 4, 1811, and the latter of
Tennessee, born July 25, 1812. They were married in 1827 and had a
family of nine children, four of whom survive. In 1842 Mr. Amlin
emigrated to St. Clair County, Missouri, purchased 160 acres and was a
resident of the county until his death, October 23, 1867. His widow
has lived here for forty-one years. In 1861 Thomas J. enlisted in the
Confederate service for a few months, when he returned home. He was
married to Miss Mary C. Lawson, of Benton County, Missouri, and to
them have been born seven children: Delia A., born May 9, 1864; John
T., born August 7, 1866; James, born October 2, 1868, now deceased;
Mary E., born September 6, 1869; Nancy J., born October 15, 1873, died
October 25, 1875; Missouri A., born June 5, 1875. and Martha M., born
May 31, 1880. In 1871 Mr. Amlin purchased the old homestead, upon
which he lived for three years, when, selling it, he bought 111 acres
in Jackson Township. This was his home for seven years, and then he
disposed of it and again bought 160 acres in this township. Roland C.
Amlin, his brother, was born April 1, 1844, in Jackson Township, this
county, and was the fifth son and seventh child of the family. He was
married April 20, 1871, to Miss Paulina Payne, of St. Clair County,
and they have five children: Mahala J., born December 21, 1872; John
W., born December 29, 1874; James T., born February 14, 1877; Francis
C., born December 23, 1878, and Martha H., born August 26, 1881. In
1874 Mr. A. purchased the principal part of the homestead property,
which he still owns. These brothers are progressive farmers and quite
extensive stock raisers. Politically, they are Democratic. Thomas J.
Amlin and wife are members of the Baptist Church at Hopewell, while
Roland C. and his mother are connected with the M. E. Church South.
JOHN C. AMMONS, farmer, section 5, was born in Warren County,
Ohio, April 23, 1833, and when eight years old, he moved with his
parents to Henry County, and four years later to Hancock County,
Illinois, where he grew to manhood. He was there engaged in farming
until 1870, when he came to St. Clair County, Missouri, and here he
has a farm of 200 acres. January 19, 1865. Mr. A. was married to Miss
Julianna Eckles, a native of Ohio. They have five children: Florence
V., Gilbert L., Ida B., Eddison S., and John R. William Ammons the
father of John C. Ammons, was a son of William and Teressa (Swindler)
Ammons, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. William, junior,
was born in Warren County, Ohio, December 16, 1811. He was reared in
his native county on a farm, and has followed farming through life. He
was married in Ohio to Miss Mary Cassady, January 7, 1832. They have
had nine children. In 1844 they moved to Henry County, Indiana, and in
1848 to Hancock County, Illinois, and in 1867 to St. Clair County,
Missouri. Mrs. Mary Ammons was born in Warren County, Ohio, February
THOMAS ANDERSON, M.D., a native of Morgan County, Indiana, was
born August 7, 1839, and is a son of Joel P. Anderson, a Virginian by
birth, whose father, Eli Anderson, was a son of Joshua, of Puritan
blood. Thomas' mother, formerly Lydia Vass, was born in North
Carolina. In 1848 the family emigrated to Iowa, where he was reared,
receiving his education at the Ashland Seminary. He followed farming
till 1862, when he enlisted in Company E, Twenty-second Iowa regiment,
serving till discharged, July 5, 1865. At the battle of Winchester he
was taken prisoner and confined in the Libby Prison twenty days, then
being exchanged. After his discharge he returned to Iowa and engaged
in the practice of medicine, having in 1858 and 1859 attended the
Keokuk (Iowa) Medical College. He remained there till 1870, when he
removed to Polk County, Missouri, where he resided till 1875. Going to
Lawrence County, Missouri, he practiced till 1877, in which year he
came to Roscoe. In 1880 he was elected coroner of this county, serving
one term. He is a member of the M. E. Church. Dr. Anderson was united
in marriage October 13, 1859, to Miss Sarah Foster, of Iowa. They have
nine children: Joel P., Anna J., John T., Mary, N. F. B., Minnie,
William H. and Thomas E. Joel P. has obtained an excellent education
by his own exertion.
WILSON ARNOLD, section 4, was born in Gwinnett County, Georgia,
June 29, 1840, and was the son of Colonel Henry J. Arnold, a native of
Virginia, and Mary Frances (Watley) Arnold, of Georgia. Wilson spent
his youth until about eighteen years old on a farm at his birthplace.
In 1856 he came to Missouri with his parents and located within three
miles of Kansas City, but shortly after went to Kansas. They soon
removed to Bates County, Missouri, on account of the Kansas troubles.
Wilson Arnold took a trip to Texas in 1859 and spent two years in that
state. Returning to Missouri in 1861, he enlisted in the Confederate
service in June of that year under Colonel Payton, but was afterward
transferred to Shelby's First Missouri Cavalry and served till the
close of the war, when he surrendered at Shreveport. He participated
in the fights of Lone Jack, Wilson's Creek, Missouri; Prairie Grove,
Helena, Jenkins' Ferry, Arkansas, and Cape Girardeau. He was wounded
at Lexington and also at Wilson's Creek. After the final surrender he
returned to his family, who had removed to Benton County, where he
farmed for two years. In 1867 he went to Henry County and resided
there ten years. In March, 1877, Mr. Arnold came to St. Clair County,
locating on his present farm in March, 1882. He has 160 acres, all
improved. Mr. Arnold was married in this county April 2, 1862, to Miss
Hannah F. Hinkle, a native of Kentucky and a daughter of D. M. Hinkle,
who was one of the pioneer settlers of St. Clair County. They have
five children: James W., Henry J., George W., Ollie Octavia and Joseph
M. Mr. and Mrs. Arnold are members of the M. E. Church, South.
M. G. BABB, carpenter, was born in Keokuk County, Iowa, January
2, 1849, and was the son of James and Mary (Hefling) Babb, natives of
Kentucky. M. G. was reared at his birthplace, and was there educated
in the common schools. He was engaged in farming until 1866, when he
came to Macon County, Missouri, and after following farming one year
he worked at carpentering in Grundy County until 1869. Then he came to
Roscoe. In November, 1882 he was elected justice of the peace. He is a
member of the M. E. Church and belongs to the I. O. G. T. May 6, 1869,
Mr. Babb was married to Miss M. Royce. His present wife's maiden name
was Martha Dunkle, whom he married May 2, 1876. They have three
children, Herbert, Rufus E. and Charles.
WILLIAM BARNETT, farmer and stock raiser, section 26, was born
in Lafayette County, Missouri, May 15, 1828, his parents being Hugh
and Mary (Cummins) Barnett, natives of North Carolina. In 1839 they
came to St. Clair County, Missouri, and settled on section 23, in
Butler Township. William here grew to manhood, receiving the
advantages of a common school education. In 1850 he went to California
where he followed mining two years, then returning to St. Clair
County. He owns 240 acres of good land, well improved. In January,
1862, he enlisted in Company E, Fourth Missouri Infantry, was first
lieutenant and participated in a number of important battles, among
which were Pea Ridge, Port Hudson, and Corinth. At the latter battle
he was wounded in the shoulder. In 1872 he was elected one of the
judges of the county court and held the office until 1877. February
10, 1853, Mr. Barnett married Miss Elizabeth Ledbetter, a native of
Tennessee. They have a family of ten children: Lucy, Ira J., William
L., James, Mattie, Cora, Agnes, Bettie, Johnnie and Richard. They have
lost one son, Hugh.
REV. C. J. BARR, minister and farmer, section 34, was born in
Simpson County, Kentucky, January 8, 1819, being a son of Silas and
Sarah (Headelston) Barr, natives of North Carolina. C. J. grew to
manhood on his father's farm, and was educated in Withe College,
Tennessee. He was ordained a minister of the Cumberland Presbyterian
Church in 1845, and then was engaged in preaching and school teaching
in that state until 1856, when he came to St. Clair County, Missouri.
Here he has since been occupied in the ministry and farming. His farm
contains 245 acres, 200 of which are in a high state of cultivation.
May 11, 1848, Mr. Barr was married to Miss Martha A. Scobey, of
Tennessee. They have two children, Robert F. and Alice J.
JOHN R. BAUGH, dealer in drugs and druggists' sundries, is a
native of Tippecanoe County, Indiana, and was born October 23, 1841.
He was reared on a farm and received his education in the schools of
the county of his birth, being engaged in farming until October, 1866.
He then came to Henry County, Missouri, and embarked in the drug
business at Leesville where he remained until 1880, when he removed to
Appleton City. In 1882 he again established himself in the drug
business, having at that time built his present large brick business
house. Mr. Baugh was married March 1, 1865, to Miss Eliza J. Campbell,
of Ohio. They have two children: Mary F. and Frederick P. Mr. B. is a
member of the Masonic fraternity. In 1882 he was one of the councilmen
of Appleton City.
GEORGE W. BAZZILL, originally from Delaware County, Indiana,
was born August 3, 1837. His father, Ezekiel Bazzill, was born in 1792
in Virginia, and in that state learned his trade of boot and shoe
making. After following that occupation some time he married during
the summer of 1816, Miss Tamor Massie, and to them were born eleven
children, of whom George W. is the seventh. While he was a small boy
his father removed to Cooper County, Missouri, thence to Johnson
County, and finally to Colorado in 1859. Returning from that state Mr.
B. stopped at Platte City, and until about the year 1865 was engaged
in car building. In 1861 he was married to Miss Iona Buck, who
subsequently died, leaving one child, Mary Iona. His second marriage
occurred in 1869 to Miss Mary M. Nolan, and by this union there are
two children now living: Sidney C. and Tamor E. She also died and Mr.
B. was again married in 1880, the maiden name of his third wife being
Malinda L. Duegan. They have one child, Lexey May. He is the owner of
160 acres of excellent land in section 5, and also a farm of eighty
acres on section 6, of this township. His residence is situated on an
elevation commanding an extensive view of the surrounding country. Mr.
Brazzill is a member of Long Ridge Church.
WILLIAM C. BEACH, section 5, was born in Ashland County, Ohio,
November 8, 1827, his parents being Daniel and Lorana Beach nee
Sackett, both natives of Connecticut. The former, born in 1785, was a
soldier in the war of 1812, and his father was killed in the
Revolutionary war, eight balls having been shot through him. Daniel
Beach died May 21, 1862. William C., the youngest of a family of seven
children, grew to manhood in his native county on a farm, receiving a
good common school education, supplemented with two years' attendance
at the Ashland Academy. After finishing his studies he engaged in
farming. In 1852 he went to California and spent two years in the gold
mines, and upon returning worked the home farm in connection with his
brother. Before settling in Missouri in 1869 he traveled extensively
in Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin and Texas, but believing that Missouri
had advantages over those states for farming and stock raising, he
located where he now resides. Mr. Beach owns about 800 acres of land,
all under fence and mostly with good hedge of which he has over twelve
miles, and the farm is all in cultivation and pasture. He was married
in Ashland County, Ohio, December 15, 1868, to Miss Marietta Long, a
native of Pennsylvania, but reared and educated in Ohio, and a
daughter of Abram P. Long. They have a family of four children: Emma
C., Daniel B., Maud L. and Ettie L.
WILLIAM E. BELL, M. D., was born in Polk County, Missouri, in
1847, and is the son of Robert H. Bell, M. D., a native of Lexington,
Kentucky, born in 1819. He studied medicine in Lexington, and
graduated at the Transylvania college in that city. Coming to
Missouri, he settled in Polk County, practicing there and in Benton
County for fifteen years, and then removed to Pettis County, where he
is now a prominent physician. William's mother was formerly Sarah M.
Ferguson, a Kentuckian by birth. He was the oldest of five children.
While young, he fitted himself for the practice of medicine, studying
with his father as percepter. He received a good academic education,
and after a thorough preparation he practiced in Polk County two
years, and for two years in Benton and Hickory Counties. He attended
two full courses of lectures at the medical college in St. Louis,
where he was graduated in 1879. In September, 1880, he came to
Osceola, where he secured a good practice. He is making the diseases
of women and children a specialty, and when not otherwise engaged, his
time is taken up in the investigation of diseases, and keeping up with
the new complications and their remedies. Few men of his age have made
a more enviable reputation than Dr. Bell.
THOMAS V. BISHOP, farmer, section 35, the son of James and
Rachael (Van Winkle) Bishop, natives of New Jersey, was born in
Crawford County, Pennsylvania, March 28, 1820. He was reared on his
farm in his native county, and in 1850 he moved to Mercer County,
Illinois, and in 1868 came to St. Clair County, Missouri. He has
followed farming during life, and now has a farm of eighty-four acres.
January 25, 1844, Mr. Bishop was married to Miss Elizabeth A. Gallop,
of New York. They have had eleven children, eight of whom are living:
Mary M., Martha A., Ruby S., Martin H., Julia L., James R., Elizabeth
A. and Lee J. Mr. and Mrs. B. are members of the Christian Church.
HENRY G. BOLLINGER was born March 26, 1836, in Camden County,
Missouri, and was the son of Henry and Lucy J. Bollinger, nee Evans,
the former a native of North Carolina, born in 1788, and the latter
born May 2, 1800, in East Tennessee. They were married in 1821 and
were the parents of eight children, all now deceased except Henry and
Julia A., born February 16, 1839, wife of James B. Slavens, of Camden
County, Missouri. In 1830, the family leaving Tennessee, moved to
Camden County, Missouri, Mr. B. remaining there until his death, April
7, 1845, his widow dying October 3, 1861. Henry G. Bollinger married
Miss Mary E. Eccleston, of the same county as himself, and to them
were born eleven children, six of whom are living: Lucy J., born April
30, 1864; William A., born January 15, 1867; Julia M., born October 3,
1871; Mary A., born February 19, 1880; John Grant and Eleanor V.,
twins, born March 28, 1883. In March, 1880, Mr. Bollinger settled in
this township and purchased 144 acres of land on section 6, having
come from Camden County, where he had held the office of sheriff and
collector for four years. He was also county judge there for a term of
four years. During the war he held a commission as captain. He is very
unassuming in his manner, but is a most successful farmer.
Politically, he is a Republican. Himself and wife are members of the
Baptist Church, Wright's Creek.
ROBERT L. BOOTH, of the firm of Sutmiller & Co., dealers in
hardware, etc., was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan, December 13, 1847.
When nine years of age he removed with his family to Green County,
Wisconsin, where he was brought up and educated. When eighteen years
of age he began working at the tinners' trade at Monroe, Wisconsin,
and was so occupied till August, 1869, when he went to Ottawa, Kansas.
Three months later he located in Decatur, Illinois, and after
remaining there six weeks he came to Appleton City and entered the
employ of Luchinger & Streiff, with whom he continued till 1875. Then
he became a partner in the firm of Butler & Booth, hardware dealers,
this relation existing till October, 1876, when, with his present
partner, he engaged in the hardware trade at Schell City, Missouri, in
April, 1877. They carried on business there until removing their stock
to Appleton City in 1880. Mr. Booth was married September 1, 1872, to
Miss Maria J. Belt, of Missouri. They have one child, Henley C. He is
a member of the I. O. O. F. and A. O. U. W. fraternities. He also
belongs to the Christian Church.
MARTIN S. BOOTS, section 24, a substantial farmer and stock
feeder of this county was born in Randolph County, Indiana, January
31, 1841, being the son of Martin and Susanna (Shoemaker) Boots, both
natives of Virginia. The former, a blacksmith by trade, removed to
Missouri in 1853, and located in St. Clair County. Martin S. spent his
youth on a farm in the county, and in the spring of 1861 he enlisted
in the Confederate service under General Rice, and served six months
in the mounted infantry, when he was discharged. He re-enlisted in
July, 1862, in the Union army, in Company H., Thirty-ninth Iowa
Infantry, and served till discharged in the spring of 1865. He was
taken prisoner at Corinth,. July 7, 1863, and held as such for eight
months and exchanged. While in the Confederate service he participated
in the fights of Carthage, Springfield and Lexington, Missouri, and
others. After the close of the war he returned to Iowa, where he spent
one season, and in the fall of 1865, he again came to St. Clair
County, where he has since been engaged in farming and the raising and
feeding of stock. He has 729 acres of land mostly fenced, divided into
three farms, upon which are three residences. He handles about 140
head of cattle annually, and the past season fed five carloads of
cattle and one of hogs. He is one of the most successful citizens in
this vicinity. Mr. Boots was married in the winter of 1861, to Miss
Sarah Ann Lewellen, a daughter of Felix Lewellen. She is a native of
Indiana, but was reared and educated in St. Clair County. They have a
family of six children: Mary, Julia, Margaret, Marion F., Ollie and
Samuel. Mr. and Mrs. Boots are members of the M. E. Church, South.
S. H. BOTHWELL, stock dealer, section 22, is a native of Vinton
County, Ohio, and was born on October 29, 1854, his parents being A.
W. and Julia E. (Potter) Bothwell, the former of Ohio and the latter
originally from Pennsylvania. When S. H. was ten years of age the
family removed to Clay County, Illinois, where he grew to manhood. He
received the advantages of the common schools of Illinois, after which
he attended the normal school of Lebanon, Ohio. Mr. Bothwell has ever
followed farming and dealing in stock during life. In the spring of
1880 he came to St. Clair County, Missouri. He is a member of the I.
O. O. F. fraternity. He was married February 27, 1878, to Miss Bell
West, of Clay County, Illinois. She was born June 22, 1857, her
father, Joseph West, having been born in Pennsylvania. Her mother,
formerly Mary Cameron, was also a native of Pennsylvania. They have
one child, Jessie.
RALPH C. BOWLES, county surveyor, was born April 30, 1827, in
the southern part of Maine. His father, John C. Bowles, was born
January 1, 1800, and received an academic education. He early united
with the Baptist Church and about the year 1820 commenced preaching.
His ministerial duties calling him into New York state, he there met
Miss Phoebe Wilson, to whom he was married September 4, 1825. She was
a daughter of Captain Wilson, of revolutionary fame, a well known man
who died at the Battle of Bridgewater, while in defense of his
country. During the next year Mr. Bowles was actively engaged in
preaching the gospel and in the following spring his son, Ralph, was
born. It was the father's wish that his boy should become a minister
and with that end in view Ralph was placed first in the public schools
and later in Springdale Academy, and having during the meantime gone
to Michigan, he entered the State University at Ann Arbor. Tiring of
so close application he left that institution, but subsequently again
became a student therein, this time for the purpose of qualifying
himself for a civil engineer and land survevor. By great perseverance
and hard study he made rapid progress, graduating in June, 1847, first
in his class though but a little over twenty years old. He soon
entered the employ of the government as a surveyor, and under this
engagement visited Green Bay, Forts Sullivan and Mankato, and other
points on the Upper Mississippi. He continued this calling until the
year 1859 then locating in this county. In 1860 Mr. B. was married to
Mrs. Elizabeth Brashears, widow of Waymack Brashears, and daughter of
Gilbert Deer. To them have been born five children: John C., Anna F.,
Jessie A., Ervin T. and R. E. During the war Mr. Bowles enlisted in
the Eighth Regiment, Missouri Volunteers, Colonel McClurg commanding,
and was soon transferred to the position of topographical engineer. In
1872 he was nominated by his party and elected to the position of
county surveyor. Politically he is a Democrat. He resides on section
SAMUEL BRAMNAN, blacksmith at Chalk Level, was born in
Tennessee July 25, 1850, his parents being Samuel and Phebe (Killian)
Bramnan, natives of Tennessee. When our subject was an infant the
family moved to Arkansas, where he grew to manhood, receiving his
education in the common schools. He worked in his father's blacksmith
shop until the death of the senior Bramnan, which occurred in 1852.
Since that time Samuel has followed his trade in Arkansas, Texas, Iowa
and Missouri. In 1878 he moved to Chalk Level, where he now has a good
shop and is doing a fair business. Mr. B. was married December 29,
1879, to Miss Hannah White, of Illinois. They have two children, Claud
Lee and Sterling.
FRANCIS M. BRANSON, farmer, was born in 1844, and was the
eldest of a family of nine children born to John and Julia Ann
(Davenport) Branson. Francis M. was married in 1863 to Miss Nancy
Hughes. They had six children: John, George W., Francis M., Martin,
Anna, Julia Ann and William A. In 1877 Mr. B. was married a second
time to Miss Lizzie Woody. They have one child, Sidney Margaret. He
first came to St. Clair County, Missouri, in 1867, but has also been
leading rather an unsettled life, having lived in Arkansas, Tennessee
and Kentucky during this time.
GEORGE P. BROWN, farmer and stock dealer and proprietor of
Hoffman's Ferry, was born in Carroll County, Maryland, January 3,
1854. His parents were Lewis H. and Susan (Hudson) Brown, natives of
Maryland. George was the youngest of a family of six children. In 1868
he came to Missouri, but the next year returned to Maryland, where he
was employed in a commission house for two years and in the grocery
business for one year. In 1872 he came to St. Clair County, Missouri.
In March of the same year he went to Dallas, Texas, where he was
interested in the queensware business one year. He was then employed
as bookkeeper in a wholesale drug house for four years. In 1877 he
returned to St. Clair County, Missouri, and in March of 1878 embarked
in general merchandising at Roscoe. In January, 1879, he sold out and
commenced dealing in stock. In June, 1881, he became proprietor of
Hoffman's Ferry, one of the best on the river. He owns a farm of
ninety-two acres, well improved. Mr. Brown is a member of the Masonic
fraternity. January 18, 1882, he was married to Miss Lucy M. Baker, a
native of St. Clair County, Missouri. They have one child, an infant.
GEORGE W. BROWN was born April 21, 1853, in Jackson Township,
St. Clair County, Missouri. His father, Benjamin Brown, a farmer by
occupation, was born July 31, 1819, in Kentucky, and was married in
1847 to Miss Margaret Borland. They had ten children: George W.; John
W., born December 16, 1854; Susan J. born December 11, 1856; Mary B.
and Minerva (twins) born May 12, 1860, the latter died May 25, 1860;
Myra, born July 29, 1862, died February 1, 1873; Benjamin, born May
20, 1866; James and Samuel (twins), born February 8, 1870; and Parker,
born November 11, 1871. Mr. Benjamin Brown, Sr., died January 7, 1872,
and his widow departed this life February 7, 1873. The subject of this
sketch was married January 13, 1876, to Miss Margaret A. Green. By
this union there are two children, a son and a daughter: Wilson, born
April 20, 1877; and Florence, born December 27, 1879. Mr. Brown now
owns 106 acres of excellent farming land, constituting a portion of
his father's estate. He resides upon section 13. In his political
preferences he is Democratic. Both himself and wife are identified
with the Mt. Zion M. E. Church, South.
PARIS BROWN, farmer and stock raiser, section 27, was born in
Washington County, Kentucky, August 12, 1838, and was the son of
Wesley Brown, of Kentucky, who died in 1846. His mother, Elizabeth
(Peters) Brown, with her family came to Washington County, Missouri,
in 1848, and was there married to Thomas Calvird, who died in 1868,
his widow dying in 1879. Of the first family of six children Paris was
the third. By the second marriage there were five children. Paris was
reared principally in this county, and with the habits of industry
instilled in his youth he has been successful in securing a valuable
farm of 480 acres, and he is recognized as one of St. Clair County's
prominent farmers. Mr. Brown married Mary Jane Peebly July 11, 1855.
She died June 10, 1862, leaving one child, James H. He afterward
married Mary Ann Wilkerson. She died in 1868, and left one child, Mary
Ida. Mr. B. married Mrs. Lucinda, widow of John Flemming, in 1870.
They have five children: Wesley, Mary Ann, Silas H., and Charles and
William, (twins). Politically he is a Republican. He belongs to the M.
E. Church, South.
W. G. BROWNING, druggist at Lowry City, was born in St. Clair
County, Missouri, April 3, 1851, and is a son of C. G. and Susan
(Barnett) Browning, the former a native of Tennessee and the latter of
Missouri. They were among the early pioneers of this county. W. G. has
been reared and educated in the county of his birth, making farming
his occupation till 1876, when he began in the drug business at
Appleton City. There he continued that business till 1878, when he
located in Lowry City. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
February 22, 1876, Mr. Browning married Sarah E. McCrary, a native of
Indiana. She died July 28, 1880. He was again married November 12,
1882, to Miss Flora King, of Illinois.
B. F. BURCH, farmer and stock dealer, section 4, is a native
of Hardy County, Virginia, and was born July 4, 1833. His parents were
Robert N. and Rebecca (Swisher) Burch, Virginians by birth. In 1842
this family moved to St. Clair County, Missouri, where B. F. has since
resided. He has made farming and dealing in stock his occupation
during life, and now owns a landed estate of over 1,000 acres. His
home farm contains a fine orchard and is well improved. In 1850 he
went to California, where he was engaged in mining till the spring of
1855. In August, 1856, Mr. Burch was married to Miss Martha A.
Metcalf, originally from Virginia. They have eleven children: Emma,
Lucy J., Missouri A., John T., James O., Mary E., Francis, Edna,
Frances M. and Eddie.
OLIVER H. P. BURCH, farmer and stock raiser, section 19, was
born in St. Clair County, Missouri, December 17, 1839, and has made
this his home during life. In 1861 he enlisted in the Confederate
service in which he remained till the close of the war. March 10,
1869, Mr. B. was married to Miss Adeline McLain, a native of
Tennessee. They have four children: Charles A., John P. Austin D., and
THOMAS BURCH, of the firm of Metcalf and Burch, merchants, is a
native of St. Clair County, Missouri, and was born January 13, 1861,
being a son of Benjamin Burch, an old settler of this county, mention
of whom is found elsewhere in this work. Thomas was reared on his
father's farm and received his education from the schools of this
county. In 1882 he became engaged in business with his present partner
JOHN BURNS, section 17, originally from Scotland, was born
December 25, 1826. His father, James Burns, was a native of Banfshire,
Scotland, and was a descendant of the family from which Robert Burns,
the poet came. John's mother, formerly Isabella McKinzie, was also
born in Scotland. They reared a family of ten children, of whom he was
the youngest. James Burns died in 1833, and his widow's death occurred
in 1834. John was thus left an orphan when in his ninth year. When but
sixteen years of age he enlisted in the English army, and served three
years and four months, during which time he was over a large portion
of England, Ireland and his native country. After his service in the
English army he returned to Scotland, and was engaged in tunnel
minning till 1849, when he emigrated to America and located in DuPage
County, Illinois, farming there till November, 1869. He then came to
St. Clair County, Missouri, and settled on his present place which
includes 214 acres of improved land. Mr. Burns was married December 7,
1848, to Miss Margaret Nesbit, also a native of Scotland. They have
seven children: James, Robert, Jennie, William, Thomas, Carrie and
Daisy. Three are deceased: Mary, Isabelle, and an infant. They are
members of the Presbyterian Church.
ABRAM BUSKIRK. Few men in this county are as prominently known
in connection with the stock business and farming interests of this
vicinity as the subject of this sketch. he is a native of Tompkins
County, New York, and was born November 9, 1841. His parents, George
and Anna (Brondyke) Buskirk, came originally from Allegheny County,
Pennsylvania. The father died in 1849 and his mother died in 1811.
Abram, left an orphan at the age of ten years, was subsequently reared
in the family of Moses Barker of that county, till fifteen years old,
when he went to Kendall County, Illinois, there working at farming for
two years. In 1858 he took a trip to California, reaching that state
in January, 1869, and was occupied in mining and logging till July,
1877. In November, 1877, he came to Henry County, Missouri, and in
December, following, settled in St. Clair County on his present place.
His landed estate consists of 1,000 acres of land, 220 of which are
the home place and upon it he has one of the finest brick residences
in the county. March 7, 1878, Mr. Buskirk was united in marriage with
Miss Flora Moore, a native of New York. They have five children. Anna,
Etta, Nellie, Ethel and Frank.
JOSEPH P. BUTCHER, a prominent member of the Greenback party in
St. Clair County and an influential citizen of this township, was born
in Murray County, Tennessee, May 16, 1823. His father, Isaac Butcher,
who was born in 1784 in Loudoun County, Virginia, embraced the faith
of Alexander Campbell and became a minister in the Christian. Church.
In 1806 he married Miss Rebecca Renfro, daughter of Peter Renfro, well
known in the early history of Kentucky. To them were born thirteen
children, of whom Joseph P. was the tenth in number. He remained in
his native state until six years old, when (1829) he went to Illinois,
making it his home until 1869. At that time he came to this county.
While residing in Illinois he took a prospecting tour to California in
1851, and returned with most satisfactory success in one year. In 1853
Mr. Butcher was married to Miss Emeline Wood, of Macoupin County,
Illinois, a daughter of Abraham Wood and granddaughter of Edman Wood.
They have had seven children: Mary E., A. W., Clara E., Francis L.,
Charles F., (who died August 25, 1863) Cora B. and Francis H. These
children are well educated and possess a natural fondness for study.
Mr. B. is a powerful advocate of the Greenback doctrine and a most
agreeable conversationalist, while his hospitality is exceeded by few.
He has repeatedly been offered the position of judge and twice has
been asked to represent his county in the state legislature. His early
education was obtained through his own efforts at night by the light
of the tallow candle, and he afterwards fitted himself for entrance
into the medical fraternity and studied medicine. This he discontinued
and engaged in farming and stock raising. Mr. B. owns 280 acres of
land in Coon Creek Valley, upon which he has a fine residence.
PAUL E. CALMES, M.D., was born in Clark County, Kentucky, May
7, 1841. His father, John W. Calmes, a native of Woodford County,
Kentucky, married Miss Ann Evans, originally of Clark County. They
reared five children, Paul E. being the oldest. When he was sixteen
years old the family moved to Lexington, Missouri, and in the fall of
1859 he began the study of medicine with Dr. Alexander of that city.
This he continued until the spring of 1861, when he enlisted in
Captain Wilson's company of Missouri State Guard. He served until the
disbandment of the company, and then he returned to Lexington and
resumed his studies under Dr. William Ruffin until the fall of 1864,
when he went south as a soldier under General Price. In the winters of
1866-7 and 1867-8 he attended lectures at Louisville, and was
graduated in the latter year. After practicing in Jackson, Lafayette
and Bates Counties until December, 1869, he came to Appleton City,
where he has since been a prominent and successful practitioner. Dr.
Calmes was married October 24, 1872, to Miss Fannie Churchill, of
Kentucky. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. fraternity. The doctor
attended the Louisville Medical College during terms of 1877-8, and
received a diploma from this institution in the spring of 1878.
THOMAS CAMPBELL, farmer and stock raiser, section 19, was born
in Blount County, Tennessee, April 18, 1811. William Campbell, his
father, was a Virginian by birth, while his mother, formerly Margaret
Biddell, was born in Tennessee. William Campbell early removed to
Tennessee with his parents and was one of the first settlers of Blount
County. Thomas passed his youth on a farm, receiving his education at
the subscription schools. He was married in Humphreys County May 10,
1832, to Miss Frances Prince, of that county, and who was born July
17, 1813. She is a daughter of William Prince, Esq., a pioneer settler
of Humphreys County. They have nine children. Eliza, (wife of Harvey
Douglas), Isabelle, (wife of Bevley Hall), Minerva, (wife of James
Moore), Caroline, (wife of John Horner), Margaret, (wife of J. M.
DeHart), Cornelia, (wife of Joseph Hodgins), Albert and Mary, (wife of
William Yonce). Mr. Campbell removed to Illinois in 1837 and located
in Pike County. In the spring of 1855 he settled in Adair County,
Missouri, where he resided eight years, going thence, in 1863, to
Davis County, Iowa, where he lived six years. In 1869 he returned to
Missouri and located where he now resides. He has 120 acres of land,
with eighty acres in cultivation and improved. He is a Mason.
JAMES R. CARR, a prominent young farmer of this township, was
born in Monroe County, Illinois, in 1857. His parents, Jonathan and
Maria (Parker) Carr, were both natives of Illinois, the former having
been born in 1833. They were married in 1854. James R. remained at
home until 1874, when he came to Missouri and commenced work as a farm
hand. In 1877 he was married to Miss Harriet Renfro, daughter of
Markis Renfro, of Dallas Township. They have two bright children,
Bertie and William K.
JACOB W. CARROLL, the owner of a farm consisting of 200 acres,
located in section 19, is a native of Tennessee, and was born in Roane
County, March 6, 1844. When he was about ten years of age he came to
St. Clair County, Missouri, where he has since resided. In 1862 he
enlisted in Company I, Seventh Missouri Infantry, of the Confederate
service, and remained in active service until the close of the war.
January 16, 1873, Mr. Carroll married Miss Lizzie Ellis, a Kentuckian
by birth. They have one child, Myrtie J.
JOHN W. CARROLL, section 30, originally from Roane County,
Tennessee, was born December 9, 1845, being a son of Alfred and
Barshaba (Miller) Carroll, natives of South Carolina. In 1859 the
family removed to Missouri and settled in St. Clair County. John W.,
the fourth son of a family of nine children, grew to maturity in this
county upon a farm. He was married December 9, 1872, to Mrs. Tamar
Richey, a widow of James Richey and a daughter of Thomas Coulthard.
She emigrated to the United States with her parents in 1829 and
settled in Virginia, where she was married the following year to Mr.
Richey, who came to Missouri in 1838 or 1840. Mrs. Carroll has one
daughter by her former marriage, Mrs. Hannah Slaws, widow of John F.
Slaws. Mr. C. owns 1,200 acres of land, with 916 acres in his home
farm under cultivation. He feeds quite a number of cattle and hogs
annually. He belongs to both the A. F. & A. M. and I. O. O. F.
fraternities and is a member of the Presbyterian Church, while his
wife is connected with the M. E. Church, South.
Z. T. CARROLL, farmer, section 36, was born in Roane County,
Tennessee, March 16, 1849. He came to St. Clair County, Missouri, with
his parents when but a child, and has since continued to make his home
here. He now owns a farm of 100 acres. Mr. Carroll married August 25,
1870, Miss Mary J., a daughter of J. M. Hoover, and a native of
Missouri. They have four children: Samantha Lee, Willard Gillmore,
Georgia Ann and Dora Miller.
JOHN T. CARVER was born in Carter County, Kentucky, on
November 4, 1830, his parents being Morgan and Harriet Carver, nee
Pierce. The former was born in Albermarle County, Virginia, in 1755,
and was a farmer by occupation. Shortly after his marriage he
emigrated to Kentucky in 1828, and in 1863 died in Carter County at
the advanced age of 108 years. John T. was the fourth child of a
family of fourteen. In 1860 he was united in marriage with Miss
Ameseta Peters, of Virginia birth. Just previous to the late civil war
he came to this county, and during that conflict, on account of his
party principles, which were Democratic, he was twice threatened with
lynch law. Mr. and Mrs. Carver have had sixteen children: Alice
Gertrude, Fannie Belle, George, Ella, John Morgan, Emma Dora, William
Worth, James T., Emma Sarah, Charles Edward, Laura Elizabeth, Harry,
Sylva, Thomas F., Joseph D. and Ameseta. Two of these died while
young. Mr. C. is a member of the United Brethren Church, of Mt.
Carmel. He owns 168 acres of land on King's Prairie, and is
extensively engaged in the raising of stock.
MITCHELL Y. CAUTHON was born on the 21st of December 1851, in
St. Clair County, Missouri. James Cauthon, his father, a carpenter by
trade and a native of Missouri, was born in 1824, and in 1849 married
Miss Eliza Burse, of this county and a daughter of Zach. Burse, Esq.
To them were born thirteen children, of whom Mitchell Y. was the
second child. He resided on the home place until his marriage, in
1867, to Miss Penelope Dodson, and they have had four children: James
E., William R., George M. and Izona. Politically, Mr. C. is a staunch
Republican and always has been such. He owns eighty acres of land, and
besides farming is interested in stock raising to some extent.
WILLIAM W. CHAPEL, attorney at law and notary public, is a
native of Chenango County, New York, and was born September 1, 1839.
He was reared in the county of his birth, and was educated at the
academy of Cincinnatus, New York. In 1859 he attended a term of the
law school of Albany, New York, and in September, 1861, he enlisted in
the late war in Company C, 157th New York Volunteer Regiment,
remaining in the service till mustered out at Charleston, North
Carolina, July 10, 1865. Returning home he was engaged in farming till
November, 1867, when he moved to Hamilton, Caldwell County, Missouri,
and embarked in the real estate business and the practice of law,
being admitted to the bar of that county in February, 1868. In March,
1882, he came to Appleton City and has since been successfully
occupied in the practice of law. Mr. Chapel was married December 13,
1865, to Miss Alice G. Pritchard, a native of New York. They had four
children: Minnie, Mary, William and Frank. He was again married March
4, 1875, to Miss Alice Penny, of Missouri. Mr. C. is a member of the
I. O. O. F.
*Note: For photos and genealogy information,
please see Genealogy of William Wallace Chapel.
FRANKLIN CHOICE, farmer and stock raiser, is a Virginian by
birth, and was born in 1820. His father, John Choice, who was also
born in Virginia. was married to Miss Jane Haygood in 1813, and they
had five children, of whom Franklin was the youngest. He resided with
his parents until 1842, and in that year was married to Miss Martha E.
Copeland, of Cumberland County, Virginia. To them were born eight
children: William F., Mary, Laura V., Augusta M., Charles, Mattie J.,
Louisa and Anna. In 1859 Mr. Choice, leaving his native state,
emigrated to Missouri and settled in St. Clair County, on the place
which he now occupies. He has eighty acres in his farm, it being very
productive land, and upon it is a good residence. He is most thorough
in his transactions, and this is the cause of his success. In politics
he is a Republican. He was a member of the militia under Captain Cook
during the late war.
JOSEPH CLARK, section 24, was born November 30, 1848, in
Macoupin County, Illinois, his parents being Randall and Lucy (Gray)
Clark. The former was a native of South Carolina and the latter was a
Virginian by birth. They moved to Macoupin County, Illinois, in an
early day and there reared thirteen children, of whom Joseph was the
sixth. He grew up on a farm at his birth place, and there remained
until October, 1871, when he settled in St. Clair County, Missouri.
Here he now owns a farm of 240 acres of land. Mr. Clark was married
August 9, 1871, to Miss Jane Walker, a native of Illinois. To them
have been born seven children: Edgar F., Theodore E., Bertha, Branton
L., Ethel O., Valentine and Katie.
WILLIAM D. CLARK was born February, 18, 1844, in DuPage County,
Illinois. His father, David K. Clark came from New York when a boy,
and his father built the first frame house erected in Chicago. His
mother's maiden name was Mary Jarvis, born in Rochester, New York.
William was third in a family of five children. At the age of fourteen
he went to Wausekea, Minnesota, where he remained three years.
Returning, he enlisted in February, 1862, in Company F, Fifty-third
Illinois Volunteers, and in the battle of Jackson, Mississippi,
October 5, 1863 he was wounded in the lower limb and for some time was
in hospital at Vicksburg, and afterwards in Chicago. As soon as able
he was assigned duty at Camp Douglass, where he remained till 1865,
when he was discharged. In 1867, Mr. Clark came to Missouri, and
engaged in farming in St. Clair County. In 1874 he embarked in the
grocery business at Appleton City, which he has since continued, now
enjoying about the finest trade in the city. He was married November
8, 1870, to Miss Matilda Walker, a native of Madison County, Indiana.
They have two children living: Ora M., and Ethel E. Mr. Clark has been
entrusted with some official position nearly all the time since living
in the town. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. fraternity and is
connected with the Presbyterian Church.
P. H. CLEAR is the son of Philip Clear, who was a native of
Pennsylvania, his father, Jacob Clear, also having been born in that
state. Parmelia Clapp was the maiden name of the mother of P. H. The
subject of this sketch was born in Randolph County, Indiana, July 25,
1841. He grew to manhood in his native county and there received the
advantages of the public schools. August 9, 1862, he enlisted in the
sixty-ninth Indiana Volunteers and at the battle of Port Gibson he
received a wound which caused the amputation of one of his lower
limbs. He was discharged July 5, 1865. Returning to Indiana he
followed farming in the summer and teaching during the winter months.
In 1869 he moved to Ohio, but in 1872 retraced his steps to Indiana
where he taught school until 1876. At that time he came to St. Clair
County and was occupied in teaching until 1882 when he became manager
of the Lowry City Association. They carry a general stock of goods and
are doing a good business. Mr. C. owns one of the best improved farms
in this township. He is a member of the Christian Church and also
belongs to the I. O. O. F. fraternity. January 19, 1867, Mr. Clear
married Miss Sarah A. Fisher, a native of Indiana. They have seven
children: Arthur B., George W., Luther E., Oscar, Henry D., Grace and
ALONZO A. CLEVELAND, farmer, stock raiser and dealer, section
13, was born in Randolph County, Indiana, December 1, 1853, and was
the son of Morgan H. Cleveland, of New York, who married Miss Lucinda
Brandon, of Ohio, a daughter of John Brandon, originally from Ireland.
They had nine children. Morgan Cleveland was a merchant for thirty-
five years in one town in Indiana. He went to California in 1849, and
remained long enough to acquire quite a fortune, and on his return he
bought 1,600 acres of land. He came to St. Clair County, Missouri, in
1865, and died in 1870. Alonzo A. received a good education in youth,
and had advantages of a thorough business training in his father's
store. At the age of eighteen, he commenced teaching school, and
followed it at intervals for several years. In 1878 he started a store
in Chalk Level, and after conducting it four years, sold out and
bought his present farm of 140 acres. Politically he is a very active
Greenbacker, having done much in organizing the party.
B. W. COCK, farmer and stock raiser, section 23, is a son of
Robert P. Cock, who was born in Virginia September 26, 1814. His
father was Benjamin Cock. November 16, 1833, Robert was married to
Miss Mary Pulliam, a Virginian. B. W. was born in Hanover County,
Virginia, January 16, 1837. When only two years old his parents moved
to St. Clair County, Missouri, where he grew up on his father's farm,
receiving a common school education. He has followed farming through
life, and now owns a landed estate of 520 acres. June 1, 1861, he
enlisted in the Confederate army and was captain of Company B,
Sixteenth Missouri Infantry, afterwards being promoted to major. He
was in many important battles. May 1, 1861, Mr. Cock married Miss Mary
Barnett, of St. Clair County, Missouri. They have a family of five
children: Mattie, Ida, Stella, Della and Blanche. They have lost
three: Lemuel, Robert and Hugh.
THOMAS A. COCK, section 6, was born October 5, 1846, in Warsaw,
Benton County, Missouri. His father has been twice married, first to
Miss Mary Bradley, who subsequently died, leaving thirteen children,
nine of whom are living: Elizabeth, George C., William H., Martha,
Mary, John F., Susan, Francis R. and. Thomas A. In February, 1860,
Miss Sarah Effinger, of Hickory County, became his second wife. In
1864 they removed to Osceola Township, St. Clair County, Mr. C. here
purchasing 500 acres of land, on which he remained for about fifteen
years. Selling it, he located in Clinton, where he has since resided.
His second wife is deceased and he now makes his home with his son,
William H. Thomas A. Cock was married October 25, 1876, to Miss
Melissa Rice, and they are the parents of three children: Lena, born
September 23, 1877; Paul, born November 3, 1880, and William Archie,
born May 27, 1882. In 1877 Mr. C. settled upon his present farm, where
he has since devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits and the
raising of stock. His religious preferences are with the Methodist
denomination, to which church his wife belongs. In politics he is a
H. P. COCKRELL, farmer, section 12, is the son of Peter B.
Cockrell, a native of Bourbon County, Kentucky, who was married in
Cooper County, Missouri, to Miss Elizabeth Sproul, originally of
Virginia. H. P. was born in Cooper County, Missouri, May 23, 1839.
About the year 1847 he came to St. Clair County, Missouri, where he
now has a farm of eighty acres. In 1863 he enlisted in the Missouri
State Militia Cavalry, served two years, one month and two days and
was mustered out as sergeant. In December, 1869, Mr. C. was married to
Miss Harriet J. Sproul, a native of St. Clair County, Missouri. They
have had four children, three of whom are now living: Margaret G.,
Nellie S. and Mollie A. E.
JAMES G. COFFIN, a well known and prominent citizen of Monegaw
Township, was born in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, April 23, 1848.
J. G. Coffin, his father, a native of Massachusetts, was born in 1816,
and married Miss Isabella C. Anderson, a Virginian by birth. James G.,
the eldest son of a family of seven children, grew to maturity in his
native county, his primary education having been given him by a
private tutor. After a preparatory course he attended and graduated at
the Western University in 1867. Upon completing his studies he was
engaged in clerking in the banking house of William H. Williams & Co.,
in Pittsburg, one year. He then was employed in the office of his
father, who was the general western agent of tile Franklin Fire
Insurance Company. Coming west in 1869, he purchased land in St. Clair
County and engaged in handling stock. In November, 1871, he returned
to Pennsylvania and worked in the office with his father three years.
In 1875 he again came to St. Clair County and commenced farming and
the stock business. In 1878 he was interested in the mercantile
business at Appleton City. Mr. Coffin was married in this county
November 4, 1879, to Miss M. Virginia Wilson, daughter, of J. W.
Wilson. Mr. C. has 200 acres of land with forty acres in cultivation.
He was appointed a justice of the peace of his township in 1881. He is
identified with the Republican party and is well posted on the
political issues of the day. He was nominated by his party and elected
justice at the election of 1882. Mr. Coffin has been a delegate to
numerous county and state conventions.
JUDGE WILLIAM COLLINS, a well known citizen of this county was
born in Pulaski County, Kentucky, May 17, 1819, and is the second son
of William and Sarah Collins, nee Porterfield, both natives of
Washington County, Virginia. The former was born in 1784, and the
latter in 1790, they having been married in 1810. Young William
remained at home until eleven years of age, when he went to Adair
County, Kentucky, to live with an uncle. Here he received his
education, and spent the rest of his time in working upon farms there,
until 1854, when he came to St. Clair County, Missouri, settling in
what is now known as Collins Township (then Washington). In the year
1847, he was married in Russell County, Kentucky, to Miss Anna L.
Miller, a daughter of the late Nathaniel Miller. To them were born
eight children: Nathaniel J. Charles P., Martha M., William S., Milly
A., John S., Sallie J., and Mary E. Politically, Mr. Collins is a
Republican, and in 1866, was nominated by that party for judge of the
county court. After an exciting campaign, in which the Democrats
exerted themselves nobly, he was elected and served faithfully and
well, winning the approbation of all. During his administration, the
act known as "The New Township Act," was passed, and in accordance
with its provisions, Washington Township was divided, one part
retaining the name of Washington. It becoming necessary to name the
territory thus taken off, the name of him who had served so well and
had discharged his official duties with such good judgment, was
proposed and so thereafter called. Judge Collins has now retired from
political life, and is devoting his attention to the cultivation of
his farm at the same time filling the position of postmaster of
Collins. He owns 160 acres of land.
LEWIS CONAUT, dealer in general merchandise, was born in
Androscoggin County, Maine, in May, 1830, being the son of Benjamin
Conaut, of Bridgewater, Massachusetts, who was a soldier in the war of
1812. His father, Lott Conaut, was also born in Massachusetts and
participated in the revolutionary war. Benjamin's wife, formerly E.
Staples, was born in Maine. Lewis was the eighth child of a family of
ten children. In 1853 he emigrated to VanWert County, Ohio, and after
several business ventures engaged in the grocery and provision trade
and as agent for the American Encyclopedia, in which he was
satisfactorily successful. He enlisted during the war and served four
months. In 1866 he came to St. Clair County, Missouri, and in 1870
engaged in his present business with W. A. Dale as partner, and after
two years he bought Mr. Dale's interest. He is the oldest merchant in
the city. John Butcher was with him for eleven months and James H.
Linney was his partner fifteen months. In 1882 he put in operation an
apple evaporator, and in the fruit season did a successful business.
He was married January 1, 1862, to Miss Angelina S. Williamson,
daughter of John W. Williamson, a native of New Jersey. They have
three children: Lewis H., Arthur B. and Albert E. Mr. C. is a
Republican in politics and his religious belief is with the
Universalists. He is a Mason and a member of the A. O. U. W.
JOSIAH J. CONN, farmer, section 21, is the son of Josiah Conn,
originally from Tennessee, who in 1837 left that state, emigrating to
Cooper County, Missouri. After living there some time he removed first
to Camden County and thence to Dallas, where he died in 1863. The
subject of this sketch was married in 1850 to Miss Evaline Stockton,
daughter of Josiah Stockton. She died, leaving one child, Elizabeth.
In 1854 Mr. C. was again married; this time to Miss Amanda Hendricks,
of Dallas County and a daughter of Mark Hendricks. They have been
blessed with a family of ten children: John A., Felix S., James L.,
William H., Columbus T., Mary I., Virginia T., Dorothy C, George F.
and Minnie E. Two of these are deceased. During the late war Mr. Conn
served in Company G, Chitwood's command of the Missouri State
Volunteers, in the capacity of corporal. He is a Master Mason and
belongs to Modern Lodge, No. 144, of Humansville, Polk County. His
farm embraces 200 acres of land. He was formerly occupied in the stock
business, but on account of failing health was obliged to give it up.
CAPTAIN BENJAMIN F. COOK was born in Franklin County, Virginia,
August 31, 1816. His father, John Cook, who was born in Franklin
County, Virginia, was the son of Captain James Cook, of the same
state, who was killed at Sansbury, South Carolina, in the
Revolutionary war. The family are of English descent and are from the
same locality as was Captain Cook the navigator. The mother of
Benjamin was formerly Aura Belcher, of Virginia, and of French
ancestry. Their family consisted of nine children of whom Benjamin was
the sixth. He was reared there and learned the trade of tobacconist,
working at that employment forty-four years. In 1858 he came to
Missouri and settled in St. Clair County on a farm. In 1862 he
organized a company of Union troops for the Sixtieth Regiment Enrolled
Missouri Militia and was elected captain. Afterwards Company H, of the
Provisional Regiment was raised and he was put in command. In the
spring of 1864 he organized a company of volunteer mounted militia
whose duty it was to keep track of marauding parties, in which
capacity he acted until the close of the war. In 1863 he was elected a
member of the state legislature, performing the duties of that
position with much ability. Mr. Cook married Miss Julia A. F. Mitchell
in September, 1842. She died in 1849, leaving three children: William
B., Mary E. and Lafayette. In 1850 he married Susan A. F. Meridith,
daughter of James Meridith, of Virginia. They have seven children:
Sarah V., Eliza D., Susan E., James H., John Rives, Mirand A. and
William R. Politically Mr. C. is a Republican. He is an active member
of the Grange.
DAVID W. COONCE, only son of Jacob Coonce, was born in
Washington Township, this county, January 2, 1850. He received a
limited education at home, but in 1867, went to the Notre Dame
College, Indiana, and took a commercial course of two years. He
married Miss Mary Clevenger, of St. Clair County, in 1880. They have
two children: James Elmer and an infant. Jacob Coonce, the first man
to settle in the county, was born in St. Charles County, Missouri
Territory, February 6, 1806. His father, Jacob Coonce was born in
Pennsylvania, and was a miller by trade, and also a farmer. Young
Jacob left home when fourteen years of age and made his way alone from
that time. The first money he ever earned was a silver dollar, which
he kept as long as he lived, and now it is the property of Elder W. W.
Warren, his son-in-law. He was in the Black Hawk war with General
Dodge in 1833, and in the Mexican War under Colonel Doniphan. He
married Mrs. Lovina Wamsley in 1839, a daughter of Jedediah Waldo, of
Harrison County, Virginia. They had three children: Mary E., now Mrs.
W. W. Warren, Elizabeth O., who married Thomas Dudley, and died in
1871, and David W. Mr. Coonce came to this county in 1827, and
selected a site for a home near a large spring in the township of
Washington, some fourteen miles south of Osceola. In 1831, he returned
to this county, and afterwards made his home near this spring during
life. He died in 1878. His claim embraced 720 acres. Mrs. Coonce died
in 1868. Mr. C. was a great hunter, and spent much of his time in an
early day in roving o'er hills and dales. In an Indian battle he
received a severe wound on the head by a tomahawk, five in his party
capturing sixteen Indians. Mention of this pioneer is made elsewhere
in this work.
M. L. COOPER, farmer, section 5, was born in Greene County,
Tennessee, July 21, 1840, and was a son of John A. and Sarah (Law)
Cooper, both natives of Tennessee. When M. L. was five years of age
his parents moved to West Virginia, and in two years to Clinton
County, Missouri, where he became grown. March 17, 1864, he was
married to Miss Lucy A. Estes, a native of Missouri. He followed
farming in Clinton County, Missouri, till 1867, when he moved to Ray
County, and in 1870 came to St. Clair County where he now has a fine
farm of 250 acres. During the war he held a commission as captain in
Slack's Division, and participated in many important battles. He has
been constable of his township for six years. He is now a member of
the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and also belongs to the Grange. Mr.
C. is the father of eight children: Sarah E., George W., John B.,
Albert L., Charles B., Elmer M., Archibald and Ann C.
THOMAS COPENHAVER, was born in Kentucky, August 2, 1815. His
father, a Virginian by birth, emigrated to Kentucky in an early day,
and after being married removed to Alabama. His wife was formerly Miss
Hannah Barrier. They had a family of nine children, of whom Thomas is
one of four and the only son now living. The senior Copenhaver died
February 17, 1836, and his widow in 1855. Our subject was married
February 2, 1835, to Miss Nancy Looney, daughter of Isaac and Anna
Looney, of Jackson County, Alabama. Their family consists of fourteen
children, eleven of whom still survive. Peggy was married to Jacob
Harper, John was married to Miss Eliza Copenhaver, of Lincoln County,
Missouri. Sally A. is the wife of Benjamin Hall; Samuel married Nancy
Thompson; Hannah is now Mrs. Pleasant A. Jones, of Kansas; Benjamin
married Mary A. Hudson; Isam married Louisa Thompson; Nancy J. married
Thomas Wilkerson; Mary E.; Thomas married Cynthia Green, and Caruthers
B. married Mary Brown. In 1842, Mr. Copenhaver came to Missouri and
settled in this county and township. Though in declining years, Mr. C.
has the satisfaction of knowing that his life has not been a failure,
and he has acquired a comfortable competency. His son, Thomas N., is a
blacksmith and farmer by occupation, and was born in this county March
29, 1856. His wife was a daughter of Granville and Martha Green, of
this county, to whom he was married September 21, 1877. They have
three children: Armetta, Thomas G. and Delsia M. Mr. T. N. Copenhaver
now has a farm of 160 acres on section 26. He does some work at his
trade, but attends principally to his farming interests. He and his
father are Democrats. They belong to the Baptist Church.
J. E. CORBIN, farmer, section 7, is a native of Ohio and was
born in Licking County February 9, 1836, being a son of William and
Sophia (Boyer) Corbin, both Virginians by birth. J. E. was the
youngest in the family, which consisted of eight children. In 1844 he
moved with his parents to Noble County, Indiana, where he grew to
manhood, there completing his education. In 1856 he went to LaPorte,
of the same state, and in 1861 to Sangamon County, Illinois, where,
from 1863 to 1867, he was employed as wood workman in the car shops of
Springfield. In 1867 he moved to Missouri, locating in Bates County
till 1869, when he came to St. Clair County, where he now has a farm
of 240 acres, which, in regard to improvements, is surpassed by no
farm in the county. December 30, 1863, Mr. Corbin was married to Miss
Sarah E. McKinney, by whom he has three children: Oliver E., William
and Jennie B. Mrs. C. was born in Sangamon County, Illinois, September
3, 1844. She was reared and educated in that county, where she resided
till her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Corbin are members of the Christian
JAMES FLETCHER CORBIN, one of the earliest settlers of St.
Clair County, was born December 31, 1831. His father, David Corbin, a
Virginian by birth, born in 1790, was married in 1813, to Miss Annie
Erwin, originally of Kentucky. Their family consisted of eleven
children, of whom James was the youngest. In 1839 the senior Corbin
removed with his family to St. Clair County, Missouri, they being
among the pioneers here. In the fall following his arrival (1839), he
erected his first dwelling of round logs, it being just fourteen feet
square, and in this house of one room, fifteen persons ate and slept
for seven months. The next spring an addition was placed upon it,
which when completed, measured 20x18 feet. During this time the meat
used by them was procured with the rifle. Mr. Corbin and his sons
built the first frame house erected in Osceola. This structure was
constructed of whipsawed lumber, sawed by them, and after being
finished it was occupied by a Frenchman as a tailor shop. This was
located near the present site of the Upper Osceola Mill. James F.
Corbin resided with his father until 1853, when he was married to Miss
Nancy O. Beckley of this county, and a daughter of John W. Beckley.
They have eleven children: Anna L., David F., Susan M., John H., James
W. Nancy B., Carolina B., Joseph P., William T., Leona M., and Mary J.
Mr. C., through his own industry and good management, has accumulated
a good competency, now owning a farm of 200 acres.
ALFRED GRIFFITH CORNELIUS, deputy county clerk; was born in
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, in 1825, and is the son of James Cornelius, of
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, who was married in 1820 to Elizabeth
Elliott. Her father, James Elliott, came from Ireland. In 1837 the
family moved to Morgan County, Ohio, where Mr. C. was engaged in
business for many years. Mrs. Cornelius died in 1872, and her husband
in 1880. Alfred G. received a good primary education at home, and then
entered Granville College, remaining two years and qualifying himself
for teaching school, which profession he followed for some time. In
the spring of 1853 he formed a partnership with his father in the drug
trade in Morgan County, which he continued for two years. Selling out
he embarked in general merchandising, in 1857, but soon after was
burned out. In 1859 he opened a grocery store and continued the
business until 1861. In July of the same year he enlisted in the
Twenty-fifth Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry, Company H, and was
appointed orderly sergeant. His regiment participated in the second
battle of Bull Run and he was also in many of the engagements of the
Potomac. For meritorious conduct he was promoted to lieutenant, and
then to captain, and made a capable and efficient officer. After
returning home, in October, 1865, he came to Missouri and farmed in
Johnson County until 1869, when he resumed general merchandising, this
time in Taberville. In 1878 he sold out. In the spring of 1879 he was
appointed deputy county clerk, and served three years. In the spring
of 1883 he was again appointed deputy county clerk. Mr. C. married
Miss Emaline Miller, of Pennsylvania, in 1854. They have three
children: A. Branch, Edward M. and Kate M. The latter married Mr.
Thomas David, of this city. Politically he is a Democrat, and he is a
Royal Arch Mason.
WILLIAM COWIN, farmer, came originally from East Tennessee,
where he was born in 1833. His parents were George and Lydia
(Thornton) Cowin, the former born in July, 1800, and the latter on the
first day of the first year of the nineteenth century. Their marriage
occurred in 1823, and to them were born eight children, of whom
William was the youngest. He lived in his native state until 1836,
when he accompanied his father to Missouri, settling in Saline County.
There he was reared upon a farm and enjoyed the advantages of
attending the schools of the locality, gladly availing himself of such
opportunities. In 1870 he was married to Miss Elizabeth Fizer, of
Saline County, a daughter of Henry Fizer. Mr. Cowin now owns a fine
farm of 200 acres. Politically he is a Democrat. He and his wife are
members of the Baptist Church.
DR. PLEASANT M. COX. No man in St. Clair County is better or
more familiarly known than Dr. P. M. Cox, and no name is more of a
household word than his, he being the first physician in the county.
He was born in Daviess County, Kentucky, November 12, 1809, and was
the son of Meredith Cox, a Virginian by birth, whose father, Samuel
Cox, came originally from Ireland. Meredith Cox married Miss Margaret
McFarland, who was also born in Virginia. Pleasant, the fourth of five
sons, accompanied his father to Missouri when nine years old, the
senior Cox settling in Lincoln County, where he died, in 1835. In the
fall of 1836 our subject moved to Osceola, this county, with his
mother, who died in the following year. Pleasant M. was deprived in
early life of such educational advantages as he desired but still
devoted his entire energies to the study of medicine. He read under
the instruction of Dr. Eastern, of Pike County, and also with Dr.
Nash, and after a thorough preparation, attended lectures at the
Transylvania University, at Lexington, Kentucky, in 1830-31. He
subsequently practiced his profession in Lincoln County, Missouri,
until 1836, when he came to this county, practicing for some twenty
years. In 1839 Dr. L. Lewis settled in Osceola and formed a
partnership with Dr. Cox, which relation existed for several years.
The latter entered portions of section 17, 20, 21 and 22 in this
township, became a large land owner and a prominent citizen in
southwest Missouri. Building a residence and store he was in company
with Z. Lilley and others occupied in trade, and at the outbreak of
the war was one of the wealthiest men in the county. In 1858 he was
elected a member of the state legislature. During the war he was in
Texas, and in 1865 went to Fayette, Arkansas, where he opened a drug
store, sending the children of his daughter, Mrs. Dr. Harris, to
school. In 1875 he returned to Osceola, but at present resides on his
farm known as the Dr. Harris' place, which is managed by his son,
Pleasant M., who is a large stock raiser and dealer. The Doctor was
married in October, 1833, to Miss Elizabeth M. McClannahan, daughter
of Elijah McClannahan, of Virginia. They have two children living:
Margaret A., widow of Dr. E. E. Harris, and Pleasant Madison. Edwin
Eugene Harris, M.D., was born in Albermarle County, Virginia, March
30, 1828, his parents being Major Samuel W. and Sarah Miller (Ward)
Harris, of Virginia. He attended school for ten years and in 1840 came
to Osceola, Missouri, and subsequently studied medicine with Dr. L.
Lewis. He attended medical lectures at Louisville and graduated with
honor in 1850. October 6, 1853, he married Miss Margaret Cox, daughter
of Dr. P. M. Cox, and to them were born three daughters: Bettie
Virginia, Sarah Eugenia and Agnes M. During the war Dr. Harris entered
the military service of the Confederate army as surgeon in General
Clark's Cavalry Division in the Trans-Mississippi department and was
one of the most faithful and capable of surgeons. He died in Arkansas
before the war closed.
WILLIAM M. COX, section 28, was born in Hopkins County,
Kentucky, May 22, 1833. His father, Howell B. Cox, originally from
North Carolina, was a son of Samuel Cox, of Richmond, Virginia, whose
father early came from England. William's mother, formerly Henrietta
Steen, of Hopkins County, Kentucky, was a daughter of Nathan Steen, a
Kentuckian by birth, and a friend and companion of Daniel Boone.
Howell Cox was for many years engaged as pilot on the Mississippi
River, and was also interested in a successful business in which he
became very wealthy. But serious reverses overtook him and he lost his
property. He died in Kentucky in 1849, his wife having preceded him in
1835. In 1853 William M., the only surviving son of his parents, went
to California and was occupied in milling a portion of the time, also
having an interest in the Pilot Creek Canal and being agent for the
company. He remained there for three years with satisfactory results;
then returned to Kentucky and attended school for a time, when he came
to Missouri, settling in St. Clair County. Purchasing a farm, he
commenced its improvement, and has since been largely interested in
raising, handling and shipping stock. In 1868, the political parties
being in an unorganized condition, he took an active part in bringing
the Democratic party back to its former status, and received the
nomination for probate judge. In 1876 he was elected county sheriff,
and in 1878 was elected clerk of the county, serving for four years.
Mr. Cox now has a fine farm of 785 acres in this township. He is a
member of the M. E. Church South, is a Royal Arch Mason and belongs to
the I. O. O. F. and the A. O. U. W. fraternities. He married Miss
Phebe H. Cox February 12, 1856. She was the daughter of William M.
Cox, of Tennessee, and she died November 5, 1873, leaving three
children: Howell S., Cargill C., and Phebe T., since deceased. His
second wile was Mrs. Mary E. Palmer Clark. They have two children,
Eudora and Agnes.
SAMUEL G. CRAIG, merchant and postmaster at Ohio post office,
was born in Lawrence County, Pennsylvania, September 12, 1853, his
parents being Joseph and Eliza (Kennedy) Craig, both natives of
Ireland. They emigrated to the United States in 1840 and located in
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Samuel G., the youngest son and sixth child
of a family of seven children, spent his youth on a farm in his native
county and received a good common school education, supplemented with
a course at Copp's Commercial College at Paynesville, Ohio. After
completing his studies he engaged in farming two years. In January,
1877, he went to Oregon, spent one year and in the fall of the same
year returned and located in St. Clair County, Missouri. He was
occupied in farming about four years, and in 1882, he embarked in the
mercantile business at his present place. He carries a good stock of
general merchandise, and is doing a fair business. Mr. Craig was
appointed postmaster of the Ohio post office in October, 1882. He was
married February 26, 1879, to Miss Emma M. Holden, a daughter of Henry
Holden. She is a native of and was reared and educated in Illinois.
They have three children: Joseph D., Ettie T. and Charles H. Mr. and
Mrs. Craig are members of the Presbyterian Church.
FRANZ POWELL DANIEL, harness and saddle manufacturer, was born
in Poland, Prussia, February 19, 1836, his parents being John and
Hannah W. Daniel. He learned the harness trade, commencing when
fourteen years of age, and in October, 1857, he enlisted in the German
army, in the cavalry service, and was detailed as saddlemaker of the
regiment. June 28, 1866, he emigrated to America, and settled in
Chicago, Illinois, where he worked at his trade. He came to Osceola,
Missouri, December 28, 1868, and in April of the next year he opened a
harness shop, and is now proprietor of the oldest establishment in
town, and he is having a prosperous trade. Mr. Daniel married Miss
Antonia Dierfield, of Germany, in January, 1863. She died in Chicago
June, 1867, leaving one son, Powell. His second wife was Bertha
Dierfield (sister of his first wife). By this marriage they have four
children: George, Agatha, Tell and Anna. Mr. D., politically, is a
Democrat, and he is also a member of the A. O. U. W. and Masonic
DR. A. C. DAVIDSON, a prominent physician and surgeon at
Taberville. His father, Alfred Davidson, was a native of Kentucky, as
was also his mother, whose maiden name was Mary J. Adams. A. C. was
born in Warren County, Kentucky, October 22, 1848. In August, 1857, he
moved with his parents to Shawnee County, Kansas, where they located
on a farm and lived till the fall of 1865. Coming to Missouri they
settled in Hickory County, and in 1874 our subject located in
Taberville. In 1878 he began the study of medicine under Dr. J. H.
Newman, and in 1874 commenced his practice, and has since been very
successful. He was also engaged in the drug business from 1874 till
September 28, 1882, when his store was burned. Since living in this
county he has been county coroner several terms. Dr. Davidson was
married November 12, 1876, to Miss Ida L. Baker, who was born in
Cooper County. Missouri, March 18, 1861. She died August 19, 1880. He
was married again April 9, 1882, to Miss Rosa Ayers, a native of
Saline County, Missouri, born August 19, 1862. The doctor is a member
of the Masonic fraternity and of the I. O. O. F.
MORRIS S. DAVIS was born in Yates County, New York, January 16,
1816. His father, Malachi Davis, was a native of Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania, and his mother, formerly Catherine Kress, was born in
the same state. They reared eight children, Morris being the second.
When he was eight years old the family removed to Allegany County, New
York, where he grew up, and from his fifteenth year he was engaged at
the trade of cabinet maker, which he continued three years. For the
following three years he worked at the millwright trade, and then gave
his attention to carpentering and farming till 1869. Moving to Bates
County, Missouri, remained till October, 1870, then coming to Appleton
City, where he embarked in the hardware business, opening the first
store of the kind in this city. He received the first bill of goods
which entered the place, obtaining them before the town was named.
After two years of mercantile life he disposed of his stock. In 1872
he was appointed justice of the peace, and in 1873 was elected to the
same position, and served by re-election nine years. During that time
he was a notary public and still holds this position. He is now a
member of the city council. Mr. Davis was married June 16, 1839, to
Miss Hester Ketchum, of Allegany County, New York. They have three
children: Freeman I., Latanius M. and Lavina M., the latter two being
S. G. DAVIS, farmer and plasterer, section 16, was born in Cole
County, Missouri, July 20, 1842, and is a son of Peter E. and
Catherine (McKinsey) Davis who were natives of Kentucky. The subject
of this sketch was reared to the occupation of farming and the trade
of plastering, which his father also followed. In 1859 they moved to
Benton County, Missouri, where S. G. followed his present business
till 1875. He then went to Polk County, Missouri, and one year later
came to St. Clair County, where he has since resided. He now has a
farm of 160 acres. February 1, 1860, Mr. Davis was married to Miss
Eliza J. Bowman, who was born in Benton County, Missouri, September
16, 1843. She died June 19, 1881, leaving six children: Eugenia,
Peter, Jasper, Charley, Ella M. and Preston. Mr. D. is a member of the
Missionary Baptist Church.
JOHN DAWSON, owes his nativity to Patrick County, Virginia,
where he was born March 30, 1822. His father, Elijah Dawson,
originally from Maryland, married Miss Henrietta Coble, of North
Carolina, and a niece of the Hon. Howell Coble, of Georgia. They came
to Missouri in 1832, and settled in Crawford County. They reared a
family of seven children, of whom John was the third in number. His
education was obtained at home and he taught school and also clerked
in a store for several years, coming to this county in 1848. He
afterwards taught at Pierce City for eight months. Mr. D. early made
claims of land lying on Weaubleau Creek, and after improving it sold
the property and bought elsewhere, and in this he was very successful.
Finally selling out he came to Roscoe and engaged in clerking. In 1861
he enlisted in the six months' service under Captain J, J. Tulley's
Twenty-seventh Missouri Mounted Infantry, and on December 18, 1861, he
entered Company A, Eighth Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry,
Captain David Stockton, commanding. On May 7, 1863, he was honorably
discharged to accept the appointment of county clerk for St. Clair
County, and this position he held for one year, then resigning. In
November, 1864, he was appointed county treasurer, and served as such
by appointment and re-election for six years. During his official term
he was also occupied in selling goods, having the office of treasurer
in his store. Purchasing a farm he still continued business in the
city, but in 1876 moved upon this place, which is in section 3,
containing 350 acres of excellent land. Mr. Dawson was married
December 22, 1848, to Miss Edna Cole, of this county, who died October
11, 1866, leaving one child, Henrietta Ruth, now the wife of W. O.
Mead. His second wife was Miss Narcissus E. Devin, to whom he was
married February 24, 1867. Her father was Judge W. R. Devin, of Polk
County, Virginia, and also of Tennessee. There is one child living by
this marriage, Vista Lucetta, born January 4, 1872. One son, Thomas W.
died August 26, 1871. This wife died August 30, 1874. Mr. D. was
married the third time May 17, 1875, to Mary Ann Josephine George, of
Polk County. Politically he is a Republican. He is a member of the
Masonic fraternity. In all positions of life, Mr. Dawson has proven
himself a competent and honest man, both in and out of official
JAMES MADISON DELOZIER owes his nativity to South Carolina,
where he was born in 1813. Edward H. Delozier, his father, born in
Maryland in 1779, was married in 1812 to Miss Frances Dyre, a
Virginian by birth, who was born in 1784. James M. Delozier is
recognized as being one of the earliest settlers of this county,
having come here while it was in its unimproved state, and after years
of toil and privations, encountering many difficulties, has succeeded
in securing a landed estate of 140 acres on King's Prairie, situated
out of the line of bluffs bordering Weaubleau Creek. In 1847 he was
married to Melissa Jane Todd, daughter of John B. Todd, of this
county. They have had fourteen children: George W., Joseph J., Mary
C., James E., William J., Martha J., Rebecca F., John A., Francis M.,
Henry, Robert, John W., Margaret and Lucy A. Politically, he is a
Republican of the strongest type. During the late war he served in the
Eighth Missouri under Colonel McClurg.
CHARLES C. DISNEY, a prominent contractor and builder at
Johnson City, was born in Anderson County, Tennessee, November 3,
1851, and is a son of Judge Elias and Tabitha (Lovely) Disney, also
natives of Tennessee. In 1856 the family moved to Missouri and located
in Gasconade County, where they resided about two years, coming thence
to St. Clair County in the spring of 1859. Elias Disney has since been
elected and served as county. He was also a lieutenant of a militia
company during the late war. Charles C. was the third child of a
family of three sons and one daughter. He spent his youth on a farm
and received a good education in the English branches, and after
completing his studies he engaged in teaching in the public schools,
and now ranks as one of the best instructors in the county. He has
taught the last three years in Johnson City. He has also learned the
carpenter's trade, and when not occupied in teaching follows the
business of contractor and builder. He has worked at this during the
summer seasons for the last four years. Mr. Disney was married
December 22, 1872, to Miss Macy Herndon, of Ozark County, Missouri,
and a daughter of Henry W. and Martha A. C. Herndon. They have four
children: Walter Eugene, Estella Rose, Elva Eveline and Edgar E. They
lost one child, Minnie Belle, who died in February, 1879.
ABRAM C. DITTY, section 26. One of the oldest settlers of St.
Clair County, is he whose name heads this sketch. Mr. Ditty has lived
in this county nearly half a century, having been brought here in
1838, when but one year old. He was born in the adjoining county of
Henry on November 3, 1837, his father subsequently settling on the
farm, upon which the son now lives. The senior Ditty dying in 1847,
the remainder of the family returned to Tennessee, where Abram lived
with his grandfather until sixteen years old, when he again came to
St. Clair County. In 1862 he served a short time in Company E,
Sixteenth Regiment, and in 1864 in Company A, Wood's Battalion of
Price's army, and was with the forces at the surrender at Shreveport
in May, 1865. Spending a few months in Saline County, he then came
back to St. Clair in August of the same year, and on the 22d of the
following February was married to Miss Fannie Yonce, daughter of
Andrew Yonce. She was born in St. Clair County October 11, 1840. Seven
children have been born to them: William F., Robert E., James M.,
Ollie N., Charles A., Wade H. and Edna E. Mr. Ditty's farm contains
140 acres, well improved, upon which, at a cost of several hundred
dollars, he has built a commodious house. He is prominent in the
educational matters of this district.
JAMES DITTY, section 35. Prominent among the pioneer settlers
of this county is James Ditty, who was born June 27, 1817, in Wythe
County, West Virginia. His parents were Abraham and Jennie (Ferguson)
Ditty and while he was yet in his infancy they removed to Tennessee
and settled in what is now Putnam County. In 1839 James Ditty came to
St. Clair County and settled where he now resides. He has been married
three times, first to Miss Charlotte Fergus, December 8, 1842. She
died in the following November and April 14, 1850, he married Miss
Elizabeth Burke, who died October 26. 1862, leaving four children:
John B., Samuel H., Frances J. and James A. His present wife was Miss
Susan Sproul, a native of Missouri. They were married November 5,
1864, and have five children: Francis R., Pike M., Dilly A., Nora and
Elizabeth. Mr. Ditty has a farm of 335 acres, 300 of which are well
improved. He is one of the leading farmers of his section of the
county and has done much in developing the interests of St. Clair
JOSIAH DODGE was born in Washington County, Tennessee, November
19 1827. He was there reared till seventeen years of age, when he
settled in Pulaski County, Missouri, engaging in farming. In 1846 he
enlisted in the Mexican war under Captain Stein at Fort Leavenworth,
Kansas, and served in Company D. First Dragoons of Kentucky, till
September 28, 1848. During his service he was wounded with a lance in
the thigh, and at Tucker's Bayou was thrown from his horse, which
disabled him for some time. In 1848 he returned to Pulaski County,
Missouri, where he remained till 1850. Emigrating to California, he
mined and dealt in stock till September, 1879, when he came to St.
Clair County, Missouri. He has a fine farm of 200 acres under
cultivation. Mr. Dodge was married September 8, 1853, to Miss Lucy
Willoughby. They had six children, four of whom are living: Ellen,
Charles, Jefferson and William. Mrs. Dodge's death occurred in
January, 1863. He was again married January 18, 1864, to Miss Margaret
Underwood, of Jackson County, Missouri. They had one child, Josiah B.
His second wife died in August, 1866, and he was subsequently married
to Elizabeth Eames September 28, 1868. His present wife was formerly
Betty Kirby, a native of Tennessee. They have had five children:
Kirby, Lydia, Lucy, Jeriel and Jessie.
WILLIAM HENRY DOOLEY, farmer and stock raiser, is the owner of
120 acres of land on section 20. He was born in Polk County, Missouri,
in January, 1838, being a son of Henry E. Dooley, of Georgia, who was
born in 1800. His mother's maiden name was Jane Cornelius, of South
Carolina. They came to Missouri in 1830, and settled in Greene County,
near Springfield, arriving here before the Indian title became
extinct. They were forced to return to the eastern part of the state,
remaining there until 1832, when they again came back and once more
located near Springfield. In 1836 he moved to Polk County and settled
in Bolivar, building the first house, which was afterwards used for a
court house for some years. In 1843 they went into Greene Township,
Hickory County, where Mr. D. bought several hundred acres of land and
made extensive improvements. He died in 1849. Mrs. Dooly is yet living
in Hickory County, and is eighty-six years old. They had seven
children, of whom Wm. H. was the youngest. He resided with the family
in Hickory County until 1873, when he purchased a farm in Speedwell
Township, where he now resides. He married Amanda E. Nance in 1869.
She was the daughter of Saunders Nance, who came here in 1835, from
Virginia. They have five children: John L., Leanna, Azalin, Henry
Emmet, and Ezra.
NEWTON DOWERS, section 17, was born in Ripley County, Indiana,
December 29, 1843, his parents being Alexander and Kisiah (Lacock)
Dowers, natives of Indiana. Newton was reared in his native county,
and was there educated in the common schools. About the year 1861 he
went to Edgar County, Illinois, where he was employed in farming until
1878. Then he came to St. Clair County, Missouri. He owns a farm of
eighty acres. Mr. D. is a member of the M. E. Church, and also belongs
to the I. O. O. F. order. December 22, 1864, he married Miss Caroline
Gilkey, a native of Illinois. She died February 13, 1878, leaving five
children: Allen A., John O., Erie A., Emma and Ira B. August 21, 1879,
he was again married to Mrs. Katie Penrodd, of Texas. They have three
children: George W., Nellie and Charles W.
WILLIAM DUDLEY, a native of Lancaster County, Virginia, was
born February 2, 1811, being the son of Landron and Mary Dudley, nee
Rivier, also Virginians by birth, and the former served in the war of
1812, and was killed in service. They had six children, three of whom
are living, two sons and one daughter. Mrs. D. died in 1813 in
Virginia. Leaving the state of his birth at the age of eighteen years,
William Dudley moved to Lincoln County, Missouri, purchased eighty
acres of land and remained upon it for one year. In 1833 he married
Miss Almeda Jemmerson, of Lincoln County, who died there, leaving one
son, David L. He died during the late war. His second marriage
occurred to Miss Nancy Stevens, also of Lincoln County. To them were
born three sons and two daughters of whom only Almeda (wife of William
J. Horn of this township) and Mary A. (wife of Samuel J. Hurst, of
Cedar County) are living. In 1848, Mr. Dudley came to St. Clair County
and has since lived in Doyal Township. He first purchased a half
section of land and in 1861 owned 1,000 acres, but after dividing much
among his children only has now 440 acres. He deals quite extensively
in cattle and other stock and his farm is among the best in the
township. Mr. D. was one of the constituent members of the Christian
Church at Pleasant Hill, this county, and has been connected with the
Christian Church for half a century. His wife and three daughters
belong to the same church. In his political views he is a Greenbacker.
D. N. EDWARDS, section 3, was born in Casey County, Kentucky,
March 10, 1837, being the son of William and Maria (Bledsoe) Edwards.
When D. N. was about six years old his father moved to Johnson County
Missouri, where the family remained four years. After this they went
to Benton County, where our subject was reared and educated. In 1854
he settled in Henry County, and was engaged in farming until 1860,
when he came to St. Clair County. His farm contains 400 acres of as
good land as there is in the township. In 1861 he enlisted in Company
C, Missouri State Militia, and served until the close of the war. Mr.
E. is a member of the Christian Church. December 3, 1859, he married
Miss Mary Rothgib, a native of Ohio. They have six children: Carrie
E., William B., Lewis, Laura E., Elsa and Cora.
FREDOLIN EGGER, was born June 5, 1827, in canton of Glarus,
Switzerland, being the oldest of five children. born to John B. Egger
and his wife, formerly Anna Elmer. During the persecution of the
followers of Martin Luther in 1530, the Egger family emigrated from
Austria to Switzerland, where for many years they occupied a prominent
position in the history of that country. Fredolin Egger, grandfather
of Fredolin was a leading citizen of the canton of Glarus, one of the
first manufacturers of Switzerland, and very prominent in the state
until his accidental death in 1817 in the fifty-sixth year of his age.
his son, John Balthasar Egger was born June 5, 1794. in the canton of
Glarus, where he was a manufacturer of paper. He died in 1870. The
maternal grandfather of Fredolin was John Henry Elmer, a well known
politician of Switzerland, and at one time ambassador to Sardinia, and
representative of his canton in the Swiss Congress. His son, Jacob
Elmer also represented the canton of Glarus in council. Fredolin Egger
attended the high schools of his Canton until sixteen years old, when
he was sent to the university of Lausanne, Switzerland. On leaving
college he traveled for one year through France. Returning home he
became salesman and traveling agent for his father, and was thus
engaged until 1850. In that year he came to America, traveled through
the Mississippi valley, and located in the Swiss colony of New Glarus,
Wisconsin. At that place he was occupied in merchandising until 1853,
when he returned to Switzerland. In the spring of 1854, having been
appointed agent for the colony he returned to Wisconsin and for two
years performed duties pertaining to his position. He received high
commendation from his employers in the form of a written certificate,
as follows: The undersigned emigrant committee certify by these
presents that Messrs., Fredolin Egger and Frederick Streiff, of New
Glarus, Wisconsin, appointed by power of attorney, dated 1854, as our
representatives, have as such affected a complete liquidation of the
interests of our society in the colony of New Glarus, to our entire
satisfaction, and that we have found their accounts with us in perfect
conformity, as well as duly received the ultimate balance in favor of
this society. The undersigned regard it further as their duty to
testify their sincere thanks to said Messrs. Egger and Streiff, for
the intelligent and energetic manner in which they have conducted our
affairs in the colony, relieving them herewith of all and every
responsibility in this matter. At the same time, and in conclusion,
the undersigned cannot help expressing their deep regret at the
ungrateful behavior on the part of our former countrymen who have
enjoyed our protection have blamed themselves by the continual
vexation of ourselves and of our said representatives. Done in
Schwanden, Canton of Glarus, Switzerland. To the President of the
Emigration Committee. [SEAL] PETER JENNY, Counselor and Member of
Government. Mr. E. acted as agent for the colony for two years and at
the end of that time started in the mercantile and private banking
business. He also served as postmaster and justice of the peace until
1874 when not being suited with the condition of the country and
wishing to change his business he settled at Appleton City, St. Clair
County, Missouri, and engaged in the banking business. He is a member
of the Swiss Reformed Church and also belongs to the Knights of
Pythias. He was married April 22, 1854, to Miss Anna Streiff, daughter
of Thomas and Anna (Elmer) Streiff, of the Canton of Glarus, of
Switzerland. They had eleven children, six of whom are living: John
B., Thomas, Fredolin, Catherine, Fannie and Anna. Mrs. Egger died
December 21, 1865, and Mr. E. was married June 10, 1866, to his second
wife, Mrs. Catharine (Zweife) Walcher.
J. J. ELGAN, farmer, section 15, was born in Greene County,
Indiana, September 10, 1855, and is the son of James M. and Leah
(Guthrie) Elgan. The subject of this sketch came to this county in
1876 and now owns a farm of 300 acres. He married Miss Rebecca J.
Doyal in 1878. They have a family of three children. Mrs. Elgan's
father was H. L. M. Doyal, a native of Illinois, who moved to this
county in 1866, and he became one of the large farmers of St. Clair
County. In 1882 he moved to Texas, where he now resides. He married a
Miss L. Copeland, of Tennessee. To them were born seven children.
JAMES ELLIOTT, who for a period of twenty-five years has been a
resident of St. Clair County, owes his nativity to Ireland, from which
country he emigrated at an early day and settled in Carroll County,
Ohio. In 1855 he removed to Linn County, Iowa, and lived there until
1858, when he came to this county. During the late war he served three
years in the state militia. He owns nearly 1,500 acres of land and is
one of the large tax payers of the county. His homestead on section 22
is noted as being the place where the first county court was held, it
then being in the possession of Ebenezer Gash. Mr. Elliott holds the
office of justice of the peace. He was married in 1855 to Miss Mary
Scott, of Linn County, Iowa. By this union there are eleven children
living: Jane, John, Josey, James, Abraham L., Sarah, Richard, Scott,
Millie, Celia and Rebecca. Three are deceased.
THOMAS ADDISON EMERSON, blacksmith and wagonmaker, was born in
Cumberland County, Kentucky, in 1849. His father, Samuel R. Emerson
was born in Green County, Kentucky, in 1801. His grandfather came from
Ireland. Thomas' mother, Elizabeth H. Bledsoe was born in Cumberland
County, Kentucky. Her father was Benjamin B. Bledsoe, of England.
Samuel Emerson came to Missouri, and settled in Georgetown, Pettis
County, in 1851, making a claim on the land where Sedalia now stands.
He was an attorney for many years, and after living in Taney, Benton,
and Johnson Counties, he finally located in Bolivar, Polk County, and
bought a farm, and for a while divided his time between farming and
his profession. He subsequently devoted his time to the farm until his
death in 1865. His widow died in 1871. He was the third son of a
family of seven, all of whom were attorneys. The subject of this
sketch is the eighth of nine children, of whom but three sons survive:
Samuel F., W. B., and Thomas A., and all are blacksmiths. In 1869, Mr.
E. came to this city and is now doing a good business at his trade. He
married Miss Sally E. Prock, October 26, 1874. She is the daughter of
Ambrose Prock. They have two children: Ralph, and Rosa Bell.
Politically he is a Greenbacker. He was deputy sheriff of this county
and jailor for five years.
JOSEPH L. ENGLISH, was born in St. Louis, February 12, 1830.
His father, E. English, who was born in Norfolk, Virginia, in 1788,
was a carpenter by trade, and came to St. Louis in 1816. He married
Miss Catherine Foulks, born in Pennsylvania, March 18, 1800. Her
father was Christopher Foulks, originally from Germany, and a
tobacconist by calling. Mr. English died in St. Louis, August 14,
1866, and his wife died November 28, 1882. They raised a family of
twenty-one children, twelve boys and nine girls, Joseph L. being the
seventh. He learned the tinner's trade at his birth place, and when
twenty-one years of age went to Chester, Illinois, and open a tin and
stove store. In one year he sold out, and returned to St. Louis, and
commenced the brewing business, which he continued for four years. In
1853, he came to Warsaw, and resumed the tin and stove business. In
1860, he came to Osceola, and conducted a drug business with
Washington Dorrell. In 1862, Osceola was burned, and his stock shared
the fate of the city. After remaining here for a year, he returned to
St. Louis, entering into work for the government at his trade, and
continuing it until the close of the war. After one year's residence
in Sedalia, he came to Osceola, and in 1867, formed a partnership with
William Shelton, and they, built the first tin and stove store in
town, and one of the first buildings erected in the town. Since 1870,
he has been alone, doing a very successful business. In 1883, on
account of poor health, he disposed of his stock of goods and stoves
and retired from business. In 1855, he married Miss Mary Dorrell, the
daughter of Dr. W. Dorrell. She died in 1870, leaving two children,
Alonzo and Lillie. His second wife was Sarah M. Stovall, of Franklin
County, whom he married in 1873. Her father was Thomas Stovall. They
have two children, Thomas and Maud. Mr. English votes the Democratic
ticket. Mrs.E. is a member of the Baptist Church. He belongs to the I.
O. O. F. and the A. O. U. W. fraternities.
BIRD ESTES, farmer, section 10, was born in St. Clair County,
Illinois, September 6, 1841. His father, Jackson Estes, was a
Kentuckian by birth, while his mother, whose maiden name was Abigail
Jackson, was a native of Illinois. When Bird was but a child his
parents moved to Benton County, Missouri, where he grew to manhood,
there being engaged in farming till 1867, when he went to Henry
County. In 1869 he came to St. Clair County. and here has since
resided. His farm contains 120 acres. In August, 1862, he joined the
Enrolled Militia, and in December, 1863, he re-enlisted in the state
militia under Colonel Philips, being mustered out July 11, 1865, as
sergeant. September 3, 1865, he was married to Miss Lucy A. Bradley,
of Henry County, Missouri, born December 15, 1845. They have four
children: Eugenie B., Nellie D.. Agnes D., and Harry C. Mr. and Mrs.
E. are members of the Baptist Church.
S. M. EVANS, farmer and stock raiser, section 3, was born in
Pickaway County, Ohio, December 11, 1834. His father, James Evans, a
native of Pennsylvania, married Miss Hulda Morris, who was born in New
Jersey. When S. M. was two years old his parents moved to Hancock
County, Illinois, where he was brought up and educated. He followed
farming there until 1857, when he came to St. Clair County, Missouri.
His present farm contains 110 acres. In 1874 Mr. E. was elected
justice of the peace. He is a member of the Christian Church, October
21, 1859, he married Miss Margaret Hilliges, a native of Ohio. They
have six children: Sarah P., David W., Joseph H., Michael H.,
Christina and Ella May.
JOHN NATHANIEL EVERETT was born in Henry County, Missouri,
February 28, 1858, his parents being Simeon and Ann Rebecca (Thornton)
Everett, Virginians by birth. The father of the former was Nathaniel
Everett, also of Virginia, his wife being a daughter of J. F.
Thornton, of Virginia, born in 1800. Simeon Everett came to Missouri
and settled in Henry County in 1842, John T. Thornton having located
there in 1839. He owned the ferry across Grand River in Osage
Township. Mr. Thornton is now eighty-three years of age and has been
deaf for thirty years. He now lives with his daughter, Mrs. A. R.
Everett, in Brownington. The subject of this sketch worked hard on the
farm from the time he was a small boy until 1870, when the family
moved to Clinton, and he entered the Democrat office and learned the
printer's trade. He worked in that office eleven years. He came to
this city in October, 1882, and is now foreman of the Voice printing
office. Mr. Everett married Miss Maggie Schrewsberry April 3, 1881.
They have one child, Nellie May, born September 14, 1882. Politically,
he is a Democrat. He belongs to the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.
JACOB J. EYE, section 4, is a native of Pendleton County, West
Virginia, and was born October 20, 1840. he was brought up in the
occupation of farming, and continued it at his birthplace till March,
1870, when he came to Missouri, locating in Henry County, near the St.
Clair County line. In 1872, he settled on his present farm. He has a
fine tract of 282 acres, well improved. Mr. Eye was married May 10,
1862, to Miss F. Davis, who came originally from West Virginia. They
have eight children: Mary P., Floyd D., Ulra C., Jacob F., Robert L.,
James V., Gertie M., and an infant. Mr. E. was a soldier in Company K,
Twenty-fifth Virginia Regiment, and served through the war.
WALTER R. FARNHAM was born in Genesee County, New York, June
24, 1835. In 1842 his father's family removed to Erie County, New
York, where they resided till 1850, in that year going to Winnebago
County, Illinois. Here Walter farmed till May, 1869, when he came to
St. Clair County, Missouri, locating on a farm near where Appleton
City now stands. Since his arrival in this county he has improved
several farms and has done more than his share toward the improvement
of this township. He settled on his present place, which consists of
250 acres, 200 being In one body, in the spring of 1883. Mr. Farnham
was married February 10, 1861, to Miss Clara A. Mann, a native of
Canada, born August 11, 1832. They have three children living: Etta
A., Helen M. and Eunice F.
JOHN C. FERGUSON. "Died at his residence at Osceola, Missouri,
November 15, 1881, John C. Ferguson, in the thirty-seventh year of his
age." This brief notice tells of the closing of the life of one of the
most brilliant, accomplished and rising young men in the state. He
came to Osceola in the year 1868, commenced the practice of law, and
it was not long ere his mental strength manifested itself. In 1870 he
was appointed prosecuting attorney for St. Clair County, and in 1872
was elected to the lower house of the general assembly, where he
became, by his ability, one of the leading members of that body,
although one of its youngest. Public attention was attracted to him by
the able and vigorous manner in which he advocated and defended the
celebrated "Assumption Bill." He was chosen presidential elector for
this district in 1876 and made a brilliant canvass. But in no sphere
was labor so congenial or his reputation greater than in his chosen
profession. As a lawyer he was learned and able, a safe and judicious
counselor, a bright and polished orator; he stood throughout the
southwest with but few equals and no superior. As a citizen he was
ever ready to aid and assist in every movement to advance the
interests of his county and her people. As a man he was modest and
retiring, generous to a fault, scorned a mean act and had a contempt
for shams. Ever kind and considerate to the poor, his very last act
while on his bed of sickness was one of charity. He was ever tender to
the weak, only defiant to the strong. He was married in 1873 to Miss
Mary F. Outhwait, who, with two children, a boy and girl, survive him.
JAMES D. FLETCHER, farmer, section 28, is the son of Oliver
Fletcher, a native of Kentucky, who was there married to Miss Jane
Harvey, of the same state. They came to Cole County, Missouri, in
1843, where James D. was born December 28, 1849. In 1854 the family
came to St. Clair County, Missouri, and here our subject was reared
and attended school. He has since followed farming in this county
except from 1869 to 1874, which time he spent in Texas, the Indian
Nation and Arkansas. He owns a farm of 160 acres. August 3, 1879, Mr.
Fletcher married Miss S. Lyons, a native of Indiana. They have one
child, Walter S.
REV. THOMAS B. FREEMAN, minister and farmer, section 19, is a
native of Roane County, Tennessee, and was born November 8, 1825. His
father, John Freeman, was a son of James Freeman, originally from
England and a revolutionary soldier. The mother of our subject, whose
maiden name was Susan Davis, was born in North Carolina. Thomas B.
grew to manhood on the farm at his birthplace and received his
education in the common schools. He was engaged in trading in stock in
Tennessee until 1847, when he enlisted in the Mexican war, remaining
in service until its close. Then he returned to Tennessee, and in 1851
moved to Greene County, Missouri, where he followed farming and
dealing in stock until 1865, at that time going to Howard County. In
1868 he came to St. Clair County. Mr. F.'s landed estate consists of
500 acres, well improved. He was ordained a minister of the Baptist
Church in 1864, and since that time has been occupied in the ministry
at different places. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Mr.
Freeman was married March 20, 1849, to Miss Martha Alexander, also of
Tennessee. She died September 2, 1877, leaving seven children: Sarah
E., Lulu H., Samuel H., Mary E., George B., Marion M. and Margaret D.
He was again married June 27, 1878, to Mrs. Mary A. McBride, a
daughter of Joseph H. Green. She was born in Tennessee November 20,
1826. She was first married to James Carlisle in April, 1848. He died
in 1854. They had one child, David W. She was again married August 26,
1860, to Phillip McBride, who died July 3, 1864. They had one child,
E. H. FRENCH, physician and surgeon at Chalk Level, was born in
Belmont County, Ohio, August 30, 1825, and was a son of William and
Mary (Bunda) French, the former of Maryland and the latter of North
Carolina. He grew to manhood on his father's farm in Ohio, receiving a
collegiate education in the colleges of Barnesville and Delaware. At
the age of twenty-two he began the study of medicine with Dr. John
Young, remaining with him two years. In 1846 he went to Illinois and
continued his studies till 1848, when he entered the Ohio Medical
College, of Cincinnati, from which institution he was graduated in
1849. Then he located in Bloomington, Illinois, where he was engaged
in the practice of his profession for several years, and afterwards in
Story County, Iowa. In 1859 he settled in Neosho, Newton County,
Missouri. From 1863 till 1865 he was surgeon in the United States
army. In 1865 he located in Austin, Cass County, and in 1867 he went
to McDonald County. In 1872 he came to his present residence, where he
has enjoyed a lucrative practice, having here met with much success.
While in McDonald County he was county surveyor for five years, and
also held other minor offices. August 9, 1860, Mr. French was married
to Miss Mary J. Mason, of Greene County, Missouri. She died May 15,
1865, leaving one child, Eliza J. He was again married September 6,
1868, to Miss Elizabeth Bailey, of Indiana. They have six children:
Charles, William, Rosa, Ella, Albert and Franklin.
ANDREW MONROE FUQUA, proprietor of the Leveta Mills, was born
in Fleming County, Kentucky, in 1823, and was the son of Colonel
Washington Fuqua, of Virginia, who moved to Kentucky in an early day.
In 1851 he went to Edgar County Illinois, where he lived until his
death in 1879. Andrew's mother was formerly Rebecca Wilson, a
Kentuckian by birth, and of Irish descent. She died in 1875. They had
a family of fourteen children of whom Andrew M. was the fourth child.
He worked while a boy with his father at the carpenter trade, and When
seventeen years old he went to milling. building and repairing mills,
etc. In 1851 he moved to Coles County, Illinois, and settled on a
farm, and fitted up a horsepower saw mill which he operated winters.
He afterwards built a steam saw and grist mill. In 1867 he came to
Missouri and settled in Osceola. He first repaired a mill on Ogle
Creek, in Hickory County. He then bought and repaired one on Weaubleau
Creek. Purchasing an old mill at Warsaw, he set it up at Taberville,
but subsequently disposed of it and came to Osceola in 1871, erecting
the first grist mill in the place. He is a half owner of the Eclipse
Mills, of this city which his son runs, and also owns and conducts the
Leveta Mills besides a fine saw mill. He has owned and operated seven
different mills in the county. Mr. Fuqua married Miss Ellen Saunders,
in 1845. She died in 1847, leaving one child, Marion. He married for
his second wife, Malina Grose in 1847. They have four sons: James E.,
David P., Joseph N. and Riley F., all millers. One son, William, while
at work on a railroad was killed by the cars, and another son, John,
died in Illinois.
JAMES E. FUQUA was born in Fleming County. Kentucky, June 23,
1850. He came to Missouri with his father in 1867 and settled in
Taberville, St. Clair County, where he remained for some time. James
E. has been educated to the milling business, and in connection with
his father who owns one half of the Eclipse Mills, he has operated and
owned more saw and grist mills in St. Clair County than any other man
in the county. Mr. Fuqua married Miss Anna E. Shields October 20,
1873. They have four children: Laura, Beeta, Edmond and John. Crickett
died September 5, 1882. Politically he is a Democrat.