Greene County Biographies
Greene County Biographies
From the Pictorial and genealogical record of Greene County, Missouri : together with biographies of prominent men of other portions of the state, both living and dead. Chicago: Goodspeed Bros., 1893 W. L. MACK - the present clerk of the Probate Court, of Greene County, Mo., has been a resident of this section since November 2, 1852, having come thither from Maury County, Tenn., where he was born August 24, 1833, his parents being John A. and Sarah S. (Mack) Mack, both of whom were born in Virginia and were taken to Maury County, Tenn., when about four years of age, where they grew up and were married. About 1852 they came to Greene County and settled fifteen miles south of Springfield on a prairie farm, which the father tilled and also practiced law, a calling he had previously followed in Tennessee. He died December 12, 1869, having first been a Whig and later a Republican in politics, and during the war he was a very strong Union man, and he and five of his sons were in the Union army. He was a member of Company B, Sixth Missouri Cavalry, and after serving several months was honorably discharged for disability. He held the office of circuit attorney, appointed by the Governor of the State, and was then elected Probate clerk, and later to the position of Judge of the Probate and Common Pleas Court, a position he was holding at the time of his death. He was also a member of the Constitutional Convention for four years. His wife died in September, 1874, having become the mother of nine children, six of whom she reared: Marshall H., who died in 1889; W. L.; Robert B., who is living seven miles south of Springfield, and was a lieutenant in the First Arkansas Cavalry; R. E. M., who was captain of Company G, First Arkansas Cavalry, and was killed in battle; Osman M., who died in the service of his country in 1863 while a member of Company B, Sixth Missouri Cavalry, at which time he was but nineteen years of age, and John A., who is living seven miles south of Springfield. He was a soldier in Company B, Sixth Missouri Cavalry, with which he served three years and eight months, receiving his discharge at the age of twenty-one years. The father became well known in Greene County, and to know him was to honor him. He and his wife were members of the Christian Church, and were very highly regarded by the citizens of the county. W. L. Mack was about nineteen years of age when he came to this county, and until the opening of the war he assisted his father on the farm. He then enlisted in Company B, Sixth Missouri Cavalry with which he served for some time, then recruited a company and served until the termination of hostilities, proving himself a valuable and faithful soldier. He was never wounded although he was in a number of fights and was out on scouting duty the most of the time. After the war be continued to farm until 1883. He was married before the war to Miss Amelia P. Dew, daughter of Wilford and Barbara Dew, and their union has resulted in the birth of six children: Maude E., wife of Joseph Dodson; Iona L.; Caddie S.; Rowan E. M., who is married and resides in the county; Edwin A., and Lillie B. Mr. and Mrs. Mack reside in the northeast part of Springfield, where there have a pleasant home, besides which they own some valuable land in Christian County. Mr. Mack has always been a Republican, and from 1865 to 1866 he held the office of deputy county clerk. In 1867-68 and 1873-74 he was deputy sheriff and jailer, and for the past five years he has been clerk of the 'Probate Court. He is a man of much prominence, is kind and charitable, a true friend and an upright, honorable and useful citizen. He and his family attend the Christian Church. HON. CHARLES HARLEY MANSUR. The "City of Brotherly Love" gave birth to Charles Harley Mansur on the 6th of March, 1835, and when only two years old he was removed by his parents to St. Louis, in which city they continued to reside until the father, Charles Mansur, falling into ill health, give up mercantile pursuits, and moved to Ray County, Mo., where he died in August, 1847. In this county Charles Harley Mansur grew to manhood and for three or four months annually, during the early part of his career he attended the public schools of his vicinity. In the spring of 1850 he was sent to Lawrence Academy, in Groton, Middlesex County, Mass., where he pursued his studies for about two and a half years. He then returned, to Ray County and for a short time was employed as a clerk in a store, after which he became deputy sheriff of the county. In the spring of 1855 he began the study of law in the office of Messrs. Oliver & Conrow and was admitted to the bar in the fall of 1856 by Hon. George W. Dunn, and moved to Chillicothe, Livingston County, Mo., where he entered almost immediately upon a lucrative practice November 1, 1856. In 1874 he was elected to the position of prosecuting attorney of Livingston County, was re-elected in 1876, during which time he discharged his duties in a manner calculated to win the highest regard of his brother attorneys, as well as the public at large. In 1872 he was the nominee of both the Liberal Republican and Democratic parties for representative in Congress from the Tenth District, received his nomination by a two-thirds vote in each convention, but the district at that time being strongly Republican, he was defeated, though running far ahead of the State and National tickets, after a very interesting and exciting campaign. At a later period he again made the ran for Congress, on the Democrat ticket, and this time was successfully elected, and discharged his duties in a manner highly satisfactory to his constituents. He is one of the best-known and most influential Democrats in Missouri, and is deservedly popular with his party. He has probably served as a delegate in more Congressional, State and National conventions than any other man of his age in the State, has served upon four State platform committees, and one National committee, exerting much influence in shaping the policy of his party. He was chairman of one State committee on resolutions and the author of the State platform. He was a member of the State central committee from 1865 to 1868 and was a leading supporter of Gen. Cockrell in his campaign for the United States Senate in 1875, and in 1876 nominated the present Governor of the State, Hon. John S. Phelps, in the State convention. As a speaker in advocacy of Odd Fellowship and Free Masonry and upon education and literary subjects he stands in the front rank of Missouri's orators. His wonderful strength with the people is shown in his native county--Livingston--which is a fair index of the whole district in which he lives. He is a bold and outspoken advocate of every measure tending to promote the educational interests of his State and country, and is a warm supporter of the free public-school system. His position as a leading lawyer and politician enables him to exert a healthful influence upon society and the State in which be resides. He has been Grand Master, Grand Patriarch, and Grand Representative in the I. O. O. F., and he is also a Master Mason, well known in the northern and central portions of the State. He was married in September, 1859, to Miss Damaris M. Brosheer, daughter of Thomas Brosbeer, a master mechanic of Palmyra, Mercer County, Mo. Mr. Mansur is liberal in his religious sentiments. BENJAMIN N. MASSEY. The learned professions have many disciples who aspire to honor and dignity in their chosen fields and all with greater or less reason to expect their efforts to be crowned with success. He of whom we have the pleasure of attempting a short biographical sketch is one of the many to woo the fickle goddess of fortune before the bench and bar. He was born in Jasper County, Mo., February 28, 1842, the second child and oldest son of Benjamin F. and Mariah (Withers) Massey, the former of whom was one of the early pioneers of the State, for as early as 1831 he took up his residence in St. Louis and embarked in business. From 1837 to 1839 he was a merchant in Fayette, Howard Co., Mo., but in the last mentioned year he moved to Sarcoxie, Jasper Co., Mo., where he remained until 1856, when he was elected secretary of the State of Missouri, which office he occupied until the breaking out of the late war, when he went south with the other officers of the StateGovernment. He was born in Chestertown, Kent Co., Md. In 1811, and is therefore well advanced in years. His father was Benjamin Massey. Benjamin N. Massey, the immediate subject of this sketch, received his early schooling between the years of 1856 and 1861 in a private school conducted by Prof. Berch and Prof. Shomaker, in Jefferson City, where he was preparing himself for entrance to the State University. This intention, however, was frustrated by the opening of the Civil War and he at once went South and continued a clerk in his father's office who was secretary of the State during 1861-62. -In the spring of 1863 he went to Howard County where he remained until the war closed, then began studying law in the office of Gen. E. L. Edwards, of Jefferson City. In the latter part of 1865 he came to Springfield and continued his legal researches in the office of McFee & Phelps, and after being admitted to the bar became a member of that firm which continued as Massey, McFee & Phelps from 1868 to 1876, at which time Mr. Phelps was elected Governor of the State. The firm remained Massey & McFee for about five years, and since that time Mr. Massey has practiced alone. He has always been an active member of the Democratic Party and is a man of great public spirit. During his law practice he has been prominently connected with different enterprises and is a director and stockholder and also attorney for the Metropolitan Street R. R. He is a director of the Bank of Springfield, is president of the Springfield Furniture Factory and is interested in lead mines in Arkansas, in which State he owns a large tract of unworked mineral land. Mr. Massey has lent valuable aid in building up and improving the city of Springfield and has been prominently connected with some of the most noted legal cases in which that city has been concerned. In 1862 he was united in marriage to Miss Mary S. Smith, of Jefferson City, who died in February, 1875, after having become the mother of one child: Benjamin Minor Massey, who is now taking a regular course in Washington-Lee University, Virginia. She was born in Cole County, Mo., in 1846. Her mother was a member of the well known Goode family. Mr. Massey's second marriage was to Miss Cirssie Boone, of Newton County, Mo., a daughter of E. B. and Mary V. (Crunwell) Boone, who came originally from Kentucky. To Mr. Massey's second union two children have been given: Robert and Alice. In July 1891 Mr. Massey was again left a widower. WILLIAM H. McADAMS. For twelve years this representative colored man has been connected with the public schools of Springfield and for six years has been principal of the Lincoln High School. He has been unusually successful as an educator, is a man of popular address and marked originality of thought and expression. He is thorough-going and progressive and holds the confidence and respect of the people. He is a product of Missouri, born in Springfield September 7, 1860, and is the son of Lewis McAdams, who has made his home in Springfield for years. The elder McAdams was born in slavery and belonged to one of the old residents of Springfield, William McAdams, who treated him with great kindness and gave him opportunities to accumulate something for himself. He learned the harness and saddle business of Mr. McAdams and became a good workman. He was freed by President Lincoln's proclamation. After the war Lewis McAdams engaged in farming and moved to Jefferson City, Mo., in 1870. In 1881 he returned to Greene County and bought property here which later sold to advantage. In 1884 he bought the home place, which now consists of 200 acres of fine farming land, and aside from this he owns property in town. He has prospered by industry and close attention to business and his fine farm shows the care and hard work that has been put upon it. It is believed that valuable lead mines exist on the farm. He is one of the well-to-do colored men of Springfield. He is the father of seven children, all of whom he educated except one, five of them having been teachers. Mr. and Mrs. McAdams are members of the Gibson Chapel Cumberland Presbyterian Church and Mr. McAdams has been elder, besides holding other offices. In politics he affiliates with the Republican party. Until thirty-five years of age he was a slave and was not taught to read or write. He has thus made his way against great difficulties and deserves much credit. His son, William H. McAdams, received his education at Lincoln Institute, at Jefferson City; and graduated from that institution in 1880. He then came to Springfield and began as third assistant of the colored school in Springfield. By diligence and ability he gradually worked his way to the front until he now has charge of the colored school of Springfield. He has been principal of the Lincoln High School since it was started and has brought it to its high state of perfection. He is a popular and successful teacher and is recognized as such by one and all. On August 26, 1886, he was married to Miss Ida V. Bryant, who was born August 16, 1867, and three children blessed this union: Orval E., born December 16, 1887; William H., born December 28, 1890, and Charles L., born May 9, 1893. Our subject was United States census enumerator in 1890 for the first and fourth wards of Springfield. Like his father, he is a stanch Republican in his political views. He stands deservedly high among the people of Springfield, where he passed most of his life and is doing a noble work in educating the colored people. DR. EDWARD H. McBRIDE. In pursuing the very important and noble calling of medicine, Dr. Edward H. McBride has met with a degree of success flattering in the extreme. He has not only shown that he is well posted in his profession, but that he can practically apply his knowledge, and as a very natural consequence his services have been greatly in demand, and he is kept busy almost day and night. He owes his nativity to South Carolina, born August 20, 1849, and is the son of Dr. William McBride, and the grandson of John McBride, who was a native of the north of Ireland. The latter came to America in 1760 and settled in eastern Pennsylvania. He was a Revolutionary soldier, serving for five years in Carolina and Virginia, and fought bravely for independence. His body is interred at old Alamance Cemetery, Guilford County, N. C. He reared two sons and three daughters, and of these our subject's father was the eldest. The mother of these children was Ellena (Ryan) McBride. The son (besides our subject's father) was Edward McBride, and the daughters were Anna, Margaret and Mary. All grew to mature years, married and reared families, the descendants now being scattered in many States. Mary married a Mr. Wood, lived and reared a family in Alamance County, N. C., where she died a few years ago. Edward married and removed to the State of Georgia, where he reared a family. He was a blacksmith by trade. He was stabbed to death in a personal altercation before the late war, while in his own shop. Margaret married a Mr. McLean, and removed with him to near Benton, Franklin County, Ill., back in the forties. They raised a family and some of the sons were in the army on the Federal side in the late war. Annie, the youngest daughter married James Weatherly, and the two removed to Denmark, Madison County, Tenn., one son, James Morrison, was the fruit of this marriage, the children of the latter, Cora, Annie and Joseph J., now live at Jackson, Tenn., and Sidney M., lives in Chicago, and does business on Quincy Street. The father of our subject, Dr. William McBride, was born in Pennsylvania, June 27,1784, and was a man of learning and more than ordinary ability. He secured a good practical education in the high school of a -village, but his classical education was the result of his own exertions. He grew to mature years in North Carolina, whither his parents had moved when he was young, and subsequently began the study of medicine. During the War of 1812 he was lieutenant of a regiment, and served wholly in Virginia, in the neighborhood of Norfolk. He was a brave soldier and a gallant and fearless officer. After his service, or in 1815, he began practicing his profession, and for twenty-five years was prominently known as one of the leading physicians of his neighborhood. He accumulated a large amount of property and was a great slave owner. During the latter part of his career he followed planting almost exclusively. Later he located in Chesterfield County, S. C., and there reared his family. Socially he was a life long Mason, and politically a Democrat, being very active in political matters. He received a land grant for his services during the War of 1812, and during the Civil War was a strong Union man. He held a number of county offices, being commissioner and sheriff, and discharged the duties of all in an able and satisfactory manner. The death of this worthy man occurred August 2, 1861, when seventy-seven years of age. He was married first in June, 1818, to Miss Mary Blackwill, a native of Darlington, S. C., and a family of four children resulted from this union: Samuel, Louisa, Lauretta and Carolina, all now deceased. After the death of this wife Dr. McBride was married, August 10, 1831, to Miss Harriet Bryan, a native of eastern North Carolina, and daughter of S. and Margaret (Coleman) Bryan. Mr. S. Bryan was a native of the Old North State, and a farmer by occupation. His death occurred in Chesterfield, S. C. His wife died in Mississippi when eighty years of age. They were the parents of four children: Mary, Robert, Henry and Harriet. Henry was killed in the Seminole War. All of them reared families, and Mary and Robert now reside in South Carolina and Mississippi. The second Mrs. McBride was reared in North Carolina, and by her marriage to Dr. William McBride became the mother of seven children, as follows: Calhoun, who was killed in 1861 when a young man; Henrietta, married David Green, of Texas; Ellen, the wife of William R. King, of Texas; William, a man of a family, resides in the Lone Star State; Thomas, married, resides in Texas; Franklin, was a soldier in the Eighth (Cash's) South Carolina Regiment, enlisting before he was fourteen years age, and fought in several prominent engagements. He died in the Confederate army before he was fifteen years of age; Edward H., our subject, and Sarah who married, reared a family, but is now deceased. William McBride, brother of our subject, was captain in the Twelfth Louisiana Regiment, and fought in the battles of Belmont, Shiloh, Corinth, Chickamauga, Franklin, Baker Creek and Peach Tree Creek. He was wounded in the arm by a shell at the battle of Franklin. He was a good soldier and served during the entire war. Thomas enlisted in the, army (Kelly's battery, South Carolina Artillery) before the age of sixteen, served as corporal, and went through the entire war without a scratch. Dr. Edward H. McBride, our subject, passed his early life on a farm in Chesterfield County, S. C., attended the high school at Chesterfield, and subsequently studied Latin under a private preceptor. After the war he began farming and continued that for six years, but in the meantime devoted all his spare moments to the study of medicine. On September 11, 1871, he entered the Louisville Medical College, from which institution he graduated with honors February 28, 1873. Returning to Chesterfield, S. C., he practiced his profession there until 1878, and became one of the most successful physicians in his section. Later he located at Abbeville, S. C., and continued his practice there until 1882, when he moved to Jackson, Tenn., where he engaged in the drug business until 1884. At that date he moved to Springfield, Mo., and has enjoyed a prosperous career as a practitioner of the healing art. He is a member of the Springfield Medical Society and President of the Southwest Missouri Medical Society. He is a strong Democrat and takes a deep interest in political matters. He was chairman of the Democratic Central Committee of Greene County in the presidential election of 1888. Socially he is a member of the Masonic Fraternity and the Royal Arcanum. The Doctor has held office in the different medical societies to which he belongs in South Carolina and Missouri, and was a member of the State Board of Health in the former State. In 1884 the Doctor was a member of the State Convention that nominated Gov. W. B. Bates for governor of Tennessee. In the May number (1821) of the American Journal of Medical Sciences, Dr. McBride, father of our subject, wrote an article which brought before the medical profession the virtues of May apple, or Podophylline, which article was quoted in Steel's Therapeutics. On January 22, 1874, the Doctor was married to Miss Lizzie Chapman, of Chesterfield, S. C., and the daughter of Capt. John C. and Sally (Robeson) Chapman. Mrs. McBride died July 9, 1876, and our subject's second marriage occurred October 11, 1885, to Miss Lizzie W. Cope, daughter of Dr. S. P. Cope, of this city, but formerly from the Blue-Grass State. Her mother's maiden name was Rebecca Gant, of Hopkinsville, Ky. To the Doctor's first marriage was born one child, Edward, and to the second union two children, William and Cornelia. Mrs. McBride is interested in church work and holds membership in the Presbyterian Church. The family reside at No. 421 South Grant Street, where they have a very pleasant home. J. P. McCAMMON. A most capable member of his profession in Springfield is attorney J. P. McCammon who combines ability and a thorough training in legal principles with an industry and close application to the interests of his clients. His reputation and record are first class for integrity and trustworthiness in all matters entrusted to him. Mr McCammon came originally from Iowa, born in Henry County, May 25, 1853, and is a son of Samuel and Mary E. (Brown) McCammon. The father owes his nativity to the Keystone State and inherited the sturdy characteristics of his Scotch-Irish ancestors, being industrious and economical. Samuel McCammon followed the occupation of a farmer for many years in his native State, but in 1854 he moved to Iowa and continued his former pursuit in that new State. He bought a wild piece of land in Henry County, but later moved to Davis County, where his death occurred in 1863. He became a good citizen and was well respected for his many estimable qualities. In politics he advocated the platform of the Republican party, was public spirited and enterprising, and held a number of local offices, discharging the duties of the same in a very creditable manner and at all times and on all occasions proving his worth as a man. Mrs. McCammon, the mother of our subject, was born in Washington County, Ind., near Salem, and was the daughter of one of the early pioneers of that State. This excellent lady is still living and makes her home in Ash Grove, Greene County, Mo. Of the five children born to his parents J. P. McCammon was first in order of birth. The second child, William H., is a merchant of Perry, Iowa ; Jessie, married John Irwin, of Belvidere, Neb.; Augusta, became the wife of I. Woodridge, of Stockton, Mo., and Samuel A., resides in Colorado. The boyhood and youth of J. P. McCammon was passed on a farm in Iowa,. and until fifteen years of age he attended the district schools. He then entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, and graduated from that institution in the class of 1877. The fall following this he began teaching in the university from which he had graduated and followed this profession until 1879, when he came to Springfield Mo. Here he continued his former occupation, and as he had studied law in Iowa and continued the same after reaching Missouri, he was admitted to the bar in 1881. While in the Hawkeye State he had studied law under J. B. Weaver, the greenbacker. He practiced his profession alone from 1881 until 1887 when he formed a partnership with Col. O. W. Thrasher and J. T. White, the same continuing until 1890, when Mr. Thrasher retired. Mr. McCammon continued in partnership with Mr. White and his law practice has grown to large proportions. During the years he has practiced his profession here he has shown himself to be endowed with superior ability, and his comprehensive knowledge of the law, together with the soundness of his judgment, secured him almost immediate recognition at the bar. He has ever been an active Republican and is a man interested in all public enterprises, no worthy movement being allowed to fail for want of support on his part. Mr. McCammon was elected city attorney in 1885, and served in that capacity until 1887. In the year 1889 be was married to Miss Lucy Owen, a native of Springfield, Mo., and the daughter of J. and Rush Owen. Two children have been born to this union, E. Rush, a bright little girl now three years old and John P. Jr. While actively following his profession Mr. McCammon is also interested in real estate and manufacturing. He is attorney for a number of corporations, and occupies an enviable place. HENRY MCCLURE is one of the prosperous colored men of Springfield, who by his industry has accumulated considerable real estate and other property. He was born in slavery in Dade County, Mo., in 1845, and his father and mother belonged to Alexander Long. In 1858 he was sold to Frank McClure, of Dade County, and remained with him until he was seized as a contraband by the Federals. He early learned to work, and while with Mr. Long began to learn the carpenter trade. Mr. McClure treated him with great kindness, and while with him he hardly felt the bonds of slavery. Mr. McClure paid $1,465 for our subject, and not having so much money on hand, went South for it. On his return he gave the money to Henry to pay the amount, thus showing his trust in him. Henry McClure's father was a handy man, and could make brooms, baskets, barrels and chair bottoms, and was a rough carpenter. In watching his father our subject had picked up a good deal of knowledge of these things, and he had earned and saved $35, which he loaned to one of Mr. Long's sons, receiving in payment a pony, which he sold for $50, Mr. McClure allowing him to keep the money. The latter encouraged him to trade from that time on, and he always had money on hand, and never less than $50. When the tocsin of war sounded Mr. McClure went South, and left Henry in charge of the family and farm, and he remained with them until ordered by the Federalists to Springfield. He was enrolled as a teamster, and served from January, 1862, until the close of the war. He drove a six mule team, and for the most part was engaged in hauling provisions from Raleigh to Springfield, and on to Arkansas. He received good wages, and saved his money. After the war he ran on a steamboat on the Missouri River, but later bought a team and returned to Springfield, a distance of 250 miles. Following this he worked for Col. Henry Shephard and Maj. Charles Shephard, of Springfield, for fourteen years, and still does work for the family. The Shephard family assisted him by loaning him money, and he bought property. He has been engaged in the carpenter business and contracting, and has met with unusual success, being now the owner of valuable real estate in Springfield. On June 22, 1881, he was married to Miss Emma L. Schultz, and they are the parents of two children, Henry F. and Maggie J. Mrs. McClure is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics Mr. McClure is a Republican. He has always been a hard working man, and by industry and thrift has accumulated a fair share of this world's goods. He was born a slave, received no schooling, but in spite of all drawbacks he accumulated a comfortable fortune, and deserves much credit for his enterprise and industry. Mrs. McClure received a fair education, and is an intelligent lady, almost white. She can do business for her husband. HON. J. W. MCCLURG, ex-governor of the State of Missouri. A man's life work measures his genius, and the man who devotes his powers to the accomplishment of an upright purpose is to be honored. If a careful study is made of the motives which actuate every man's life there is always to be found some object for which he lives. In Hon. J. W. McClurg it seems to have been an ambition to make the best use of his native and acquired powers and to develop in himself a true manhood. A native of St. Louis County, Mo., he was born February 22, 1818, a son of Joseph and Mary (Brotherton) McClurg and grandson of Joseph McClurg, who came to America during the Irish Rebellion of 1798. He succeeded in making his escape to this country by concealing himself in the hold of a vessel, and his family soon after followed him to America. He was a man of much energy, and a worker in iron, and soon made his way to Pittsburgh, Penn., where he erected the first iron foundry ever put up in the city, and in or near Pittsburgh he passed the remainder of his days. Although he owned a farm, the most of his attention was given to his foundry, and after he had retired the business was continued by his sons. Joseph McClurg, the father of Ex.-Gov. McClurg, was born in Northern Ireland and came with his mother to America when about twelve years of age. He and his brothers, Alexander and William, followed in their father's footsteps and became foundrymen, and while following that business in Ohio his career was closed. His widow died in St. Louis, having borne him two children: James B. (deceased) and J. W., the subject of this sketch. The last named was reared in Pennsylvania, whither he had been taken at the age of seven years, but the principal part of his education was received in Ohio, where he remained until about nineteen years of age. Anticipating the advice of Horace Greeley, for young man to "Go West and grow up with the country," he came to Missouri and made his home with his uncles, James and Marshall Brotherton, both of whom filled the office of sheriff of St. Louis County, and J. W. McClurg served as deputy under both of them for about two years. In the spring of 1839 he went to Texas, where he remained for some two years, and was shortly after admitted to the bar of Columbus, Tex. In 1841 he was married, in Washington County, Mo., to Miss Mary C. Johnson, a native of Virginia, and this union resulted in the birth of eight children, six of whom are living: Mary B., wife of Col. M. W. Johnson, of Lebanon; Fannie, wife of C. C. Draper, also of Lebanon; Joseph E., who is engaged in farming in Dakota; Sarah, wife of Thomas Monroe, of Lebanon; Dr. James A., a dentist at Lebanon, and Dr. Marshall J, also a dentist, at Carthage, Mo. After his marriage Mr. McClurg turned his attention to merchandising, which be carried on at Hazlewood and Linn Creek, Mo., until the opening of the great Civil War. In 1861 he enlisted in the Home Guards, was chosen colonel of his regiment, and in 1862 he became colonel of the Eighth Cavalry, Missouri State Militia, He was in this service until after his election to Congress, which was in 1862, from the Fifth District. He then resigned his position in the army to take his seat, and was re-elected in 1864 and 1866. Before the expiration of his last term of office he was elected in 1868, by the Republican party as governor of the State of Missouri, and served one term of two years. He then turned his attention to merchandising once more, also lead-mining and steamboating, which he carried on until 1885, at which time he came to Laclede County, and has since been retired from business. He is now in his seventy-fifth year, but is still quite well preserved and bids fair to be spared for many more years of usefulness. It has not been alone in politics that he has borne a conspicuous and honorable part, for to all public enterprises calculated to advance the interests of his city he has given the benefit of his voice and means. He is today as enterprising and energetic and as alive to the issues of the time as in his earlier manhood, and is a man whose good judgment has never been called into question. He has been very prominent in the affairs of Missouri, and has ever been a strong adherent of the Republican party. He and his wife, who departed this life in December, 1861, at Jefferson City, were members of the Presbyterian Church, but he is now connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has for some time been a resident of the city of Springfield, Mo., and is held in high esteem by its citizens. FLEMING McCULLAH is one of the prosperous farmers of Greene County, Mo., and has made his property by hard work and industry. He was born September 15, 1845, at Osceola, in St. Clair County, Mo. His master was William McCullah, a wealthy farmer, who died about 1858. Our subject was treated kindly but had no chance to get an education, beginning to work on the farm whet about ten years of age. After remaining on the farm and assisting for two years, he was hired out to a farmer, James Anderson, of St. Clair County, and afterward to John Smith, of Vernon County, with whom he remained until 1859. During the war he remained in Missouri, except going to Arkansas in 1862 and returning the same year. In April, 1865, when twenty years of age, he was set free, and his grandmother, mother and brothers were dependent upon him. In November, 1865, he moved to Springfield and worked for C. W. Crawford on his farm for one half of the crop. He saved some money and in 1868 bought forty acres of land in Taylor Township, Section 16, Greene County. This was partly improved and he added to the original tract by industry and good management until he owned sixty-two acres. He then, in 1882, traded for 120 acres of land north of Springfield, and this is now within the corporation line. This land was all in timber, and after a great deal of hard work Mr. McCullah succeeded in clearing and improving it. He now owns 115 acres cleared and five acres in orchard. His farm is well cultivated, and is worth at least $100 per acre. He has it well stocked and everything about his place indicates that he is a man of energy and determination. Both Mr. and Mrs. McCullah are members of the African Methodist Episcopal Church of Springfield, and assisted to build the church, in which the former is class leader and trustee. In politics he is a Republican. Mr. McCullah selected his wife in the person of Miss Jennie Ayers, who was born February 27, 1845, and their nuptials were celebrated on the 10th of December, 1867. Seven children have been born to this union: Evla M., born January 20, 1869; Emma M., born March 17, 1870, and died August 5, 1886, Edna M., born October 25, 1872; Ethel V., born August 3, 1874; James E., born January 23, 1876; David P., born July 31, 1880, and Lewis B., born March 4, 1886. Mr. McCullah has taken a deep interest in educational matters, and sends his children to the Lincoln School in Springfield, for which he pays $32 per year tuition. He served three years as school director, and is an honorable, industrious man. He began life as a slave, without any means and without an education. Everything was against him, but by diligence and perseverance he surmounted all difficulties and is a worthy example of what the colored man can accomplish by industry. Mr. McCullah and wife are intelligent, religious people and good citizens. Mr. McCullah educated his brother, James W., now a miner of Cripple Creek, Colo., and supported his grandmother and mother to the close of their lives. He learned to read and write after he was set free and after his twenty-second birthday, mostly at Sunday school. Mrs. McCullah learned to read and write during the War, being taught by a niece of her mistress. She belonged to the Danforth family, and her father was sold South before the War. He was one-half white. Mr. McCullah is also one-half white. F. M. McDAVID. Of the younger element of our prominent, energetic and influential citizens, none are better known than F. M. McDavid, attorney at law. He has already attained a standing in the legal fraternity, having drawn to him a good practice, and appeared in many important suits, winning victories over which older advocates, even, would feel exultant, and which are doubtless only fore-runners of the accomplishments of the future. He is a product of Montgomery County, Ill., born December 11, 1863, and the son of Thomas W. and Louisa J. (Blackburn) McDavid, both of whom have passed all their days in Illinois. The McDavid family is of the Scotch-Irish origin and the great-grandfather, Patrick McDavid, was an early settler of that grand old State, Virginia. His descendants moved to Tennessee, among them William McDavid, the grandfather of our subject. The latter was a soldier in the War of 1812 and also served in the Blackhawk War. He was with Jackson and participated in the battle of New Orleans. About 1819 he moved to Illinois and was one of the pioneers of Montgomery County, where he was engaged in tilling the soil. He was prominent in political affairs and was a public-spirited citizen. A member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church he was one who assisted in organizing that church in Montgomery County. His death occurred in 1865. In politics he was a Democrat. His wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Johnson, was a native of Tennessee. She died in Illinois in 1883 at the age of eighty-three years. They were the parents of a large family of children of which the father of our subject was the youngest son. The latter attained his growth on a farm, secured a good education and taught school, being one of the foremost educators of Montgomery County. When thirty years of age he became a minister in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and is filling a pulpit at the present time. In connection he is also engaged in farming. He was married to our subject's mother about 1856 or 1857 and a family of twelve children was the result, all now living: Dora, wife of M. B. Traylor. who is a merchant at Coffeen, Montgomery County, Ill.; Lizzie, wife of L. A. File who is a merchant at Irving, Ill.; Frank M. (subject); Ella, married M. R. Walker, and now resides in California; Maggie, married John Shepperd; Anna is a teacher in Coffeen, Ill.; Cook, Emmett, Minnie, Lena, Lester and Horace. The last five are single and at home. From an early day the McDavid family has been Democratic and Thomas W. McDavid is no exception to the rule for he is a stanch advocate of the principles of that party. He owns a fine farm of 400 or 500 acres, is an accomplished and polished gentleman, both by instinct and training, and possesses generous, true-hearted and hospitable instincts. He has devoted much of his life to church work. F. M. McDavid was born and reared on his father's farm and supplemented a fair education received in the common school by attending the High School at Hillsborough, Ill. Following this he taught school for six years in Montgomery and Madison Counties and was then principal of the Donnelson school for two years. Later he took up the study of law and in 1889 was admitted to the bar. He came to Springfield in September of that year, with George Pepperdine, and in company with him began practicing his profession. In 1890 be formed a partnership with William L. Atkisson and they have continued in company up to the present. They are most capable members of their profession and are highly reputable citizens. Mr. McDavid is single and resides at 571 East Elm Street. Socially he is a member of the Masonic order and the Modern Woodmen. He, is also connected with the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and in politics supports the platform of the Democratic party, having been an active worker for his party since coming to Springfield. He is a descendent of a long line of worthy people who have ever been interested in the welfare of the country, and he may well feel proud to look back over the record. JOHN C. MCKOIN. This gentleman is one of the oldest settlers of Greene County, and it is but just to say that he occupies a conspicuous and honorable place among its worthy residents, for he has always been honorable, industrious and enterprising, and as a result has met with more than ordinary success. He is a man well known in agricultural circles, and is recognized as a careful, energetic farmer, who by his advanced ideas and progressive habits has done much to improve the farming interests of his section. His father, Thomas G. McKoin, was born in Virginia and came of an old Colonial family, members of which took an active part in the Revolutionary War. After reaching man's estate he settled in Barn County, Va., and later in Logan County, Ky., where he wedded Susan Barham, daughter of Thomas Barham, who was for seven years a soldier in the War of the Revolution. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. McKoin a family of thirteen children were given: Mary, James, Dorcas, Minerva, Elizabeth, Cassandra, Angeline, Martha, Eli, Catherine, Jane, John C. and Clayton. In 1838 Mr. McKoin took up his residence in Greene County, Mo., settling on Leeper Prairie, two miles from the town of Ash Grove, at which time there were very few settlers in that region, the Leepers being about the only resident family there. Mr. McKoin entered 160 acres of land but after a few years made another location at Grand Prairie, but later sold this claim of 160 acres and entered 300 acres of prairie land and 80 acres of timber. In 1850 he moved to the farm now occupied by his son, John C. McKoin, which then consisted of 160 acres. He proved himself a shrewd and practical farmer, lived well, possessed the regard of his neighbors and acquaintances, for be was upright and honorable in all his business transactions, and was at One time the owner of quite a number of slaves. He was a captain in the old State Militia, was a soldier in the War of 1812 and in his religious views was a Presbyterian. John C. McCoin, the subject of this sketch, is a product of Logan County, Ky., where he was born June 1, 1836, and consequently at the time of his parents' removal to Greene County, Mo., he was about two years of age, and thus is one of the oldest settlers of the county, although just in the prime of life and vigor of manhood. His early educational advantages were of a limited nature but he was afterward an attendant of the College of Charles Carlton, of. Springfield, Mo., where he secured a sufficiently practical education to fit him for the ordinary duties of life. On June 10, 1861, he responded to his country's call by joining the Sixth Missouri Cavalry, which was disbanded three months later, after wbich Mr.McKoin served in the commissary department of General Fremont's army and later under General Wyman, in the same ca pacity, remaining in the commissary department until the close of the war, and participating in the battle of Springfield. He was married in Johnson County, Kan., on January 3,1866, to Miss Christiana Scott, daughter of William and Isabella (McCora) Scott, the former of whom was a Scotchman and married in his native land, where one child was born. He settled in the State of New York in 1842 but later removed to Wisconsin and in 1860 to Johnson county, Kan., where he still lives at an advanced age and in the enjoyment of a comfortable competency, which he has won by successfully tilling the soil. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church and in that faith reared their five children: Isabel, Christian, James, William and Cameron. William Scott, father of Mrs. McKoin, served a term as county judge, was twenty years coroner and served in the late war as veterinary surgeon in the Fifteenth Kansas Cavalry. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. McKoin settled on their prairie farm, called the Cold Spring Dairy Farm, to which they have added, by good management and industry, until they now have a fine 200-acre tract, the most of which has been cleared from the timber, and upon which many other valuable improvements have been made. The land is now considered very valuable. He has been largely engaged in stock dealing for about eleven years and dealt largely in mules throughout the South. His present farm is well stocked with fine animals and he conducts a large dairy. He and Mrs. McKoin have two children: William T. and John B., the former of whom died when about eighteen years of age, a well educated, honest and promising young man. The younger son first attended the public schools of Springfield, attended Drury College three years and later finished his education in a commercial college of Springfield, from which he graduated, Mr. and Mrs. McKoin are members of the. Congregational Church, and politically he is a stanch Republican and is an active member of the G. A. R., and socially a Mason. J E. MELLETTE. Few, perhaps none, save these who have trod the arduous paths of the profession, can picture to themselves the array of attributes, physical, mental and moral, and the host of minor qualities essential to the making up of a successful attorney. Suffice it to say that it brings into play the most versatile powers of his being and the man who succeeds in it is a fitting example of the "survival of the fittest." Mr. Mellette is a man whose efforts have been crowned with success and since locating in Springfield in January, 1893, he has won wide recognition as a successful attorney and has already gathered about him many friends. He was born in Henry Co., Ind., to Charles and Mary (Thomas) Mellette, the former of whom was an early pioneer is Henry County and in the State of Indiana he and his wife were married. He was a member of the Baptist Church in which faith he died in 1874. The Mellettes were among the first settlers of Virginia and the early ancestors were French. The Thomases are of Scotch extraction and the majority of the members on both sides of the family devoted their time to the tilling of the soil. To Charles and Mary Mellette five children were born: James T., who is a well known attorney of New Castle, Ind., Malinda (Mrs. Reed), resides in Henry County, Ind.; Arthur C., an eminent attorney, was the last governor of the territory of Dakota and after its division and admission into the Union as States served two terms in the same capacity in South Dakota, of which he is still a resident; Alethia was the wife of Dr. Benedict, of Henry County, Ind., and died in 1873. J. E. Mellette's early days were spent on a farm but in 1868 he entered the State University of Indiana, from which he graduated in 1872. Succeeding this he followed the occupation of teaching, having also followed it previously. After a short period spent in this manner he began the study of law at Muncie, in the office of Judge Buckles, was admitted to the bar in 1873, after which he began the practice of his profession in Muncie and there remained until 1886. He then went to Watertown, Dak. where he practiced until coming to Springfield. He has been associated in his profession with J. A. Frink and has gained the respect and confidence of the people of Springfield. Mr. Mellette has always been a strong Republican, has been active in the political affairs of the sections in which he has resided, and in 1884 was an elector on the Blaine ticket in Indiana, and was a member of the State Legislature from Delaware County in 1883. He also held the office of prosecuting attorney of Delaware County two terms. The good of his section has always been dear to his heart and he has shown his approval of secret organizations by becoming a member of the A. F. & A. M., Muncie Lodge. He is a man of family and has a pleasant home on Woodland Height. His wife, whose maiden name was Ella Dunn, was born in Bloomington, Ind., a daughter of Samuel and Margaret Dunn, a well-known family of Indiana. Mrs. Mellette was one of six children- Elizabeth, Samuel, William, George, Mary and Ella. The father was a merchant of Bloomington, Ind., and is now dead. The mother still lives and resides on the old home place. Mrs. Mellette was educated in the Indiana State University and at Oxford, Ohio. Two children have been born to them, viz.: Florence, B. and Arthur C. Mr. and Mrs. Mellette attend the Calvary Presbyterian Church of which Mrs. Mellette is a consistent member. JAMES R. MILNER, who since 1867 has made his home in Springfield, Mo., came originally from Jefferson County, Ohio, where he first saw the light on September 4, 1845. His parents, David N. and Mary A. (Chambers) Milner, were among the early pioneers of the Buckeye State, and came from Pennsylvania, having been born, reared and married in that State. James R. Milner was one of a family of six children, and was the youngest son. His early training was received in the common schools of Ohio, which he attended when not employed on his father's farm, and where he obtained a reasonably good common school education. He was inured to hard work during the early portion of his life, so that when the Civil Way came up be was far better fitted than the average to enlist in his country's cause. At an early day he enlisted in the Ninety-eighth Ohio Volunteers, and although not mustered in on account of being too young, he served with that command in various engagements in Kentucky, after which he returned home, and remained a year. At Columbus, Ohio, in 1863, he was mustered into the Ninety-eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, with which he served until the grand review at Washington, D. C., at the close of the war. The first engagement in which he participated was at Tunnel Hill, later at Buzzard Roost, and then in the engagements of the Atlanta Campaign under Gen. Sherman. He saw the hardest fighting at Bentonville, although the engagements at Peach Tree Creek and Kenesaw Mountain were hotly contested. He made an excellent soldier, notwithstanding his youth, for he was never sick, and was. always ready for duty. He was mustered out of the service before he was twenty years old, and at-the close of the war he was transferred to the Seventieth Ohio Regiment, and sent to Louisville, where he served in the mustering office until his division of the army was mustered out. Being anxious to improve his education he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, after his return home, in which noble institution of learning he pursued his studies for two years, graduating in the class of 1866 and 1867, as a full-fledged bachelor of law. Immediately thereafter be came to Springfield, Mo., with the interests of which place he has since fully identified himself. Although he is an-intelligent, well read and successful lawyer, he has not wholly confined his attention to that profession, but has also been an extensive real estate dealer, insurance agent and does an abstract business. For several years he was collector of revenue of twenty-one counties in southwest Missouri from 1869 to 1873, in the discharge of which duties, as well as in all else, he showed himself zealous and industrious. At the present time he is not only doing an extensive real estate and insurance business, but discharges the duties of president of the Springfield Foundry and Machine Company, and is a stockholder in the Springfield Pottery Company, besides being quite extensively engaged in the lumber business. He is one of the directors of the Greene County Bank, and in various other ways has been interested in the various progressive movements of Greene County. He is the owner of large tracts of timber, mining and farm lands, which are located in Greene and adjoining counties, and also buys and sells city property, and at present is doing a thriving business in this line, in both residence and business property. Politically he has always been a Republican, and has held the office of county superintendent of public instruction, providing himself to be the right man in the right place in this position. He has always been interested in the cause of education, and has helped to advance the interests of the schools of Greene County as much, if not more, than any other man residing in it. At one time he was a member of the board of the State Normal School of Missouri, a position he filled very acceptably for four years under Gov. McClurg, He was for some time a member of the city council, during which time he helped to establish the city water works, and won numerous friends by his support and aid in promoting worthy movements which tended to improve the community which he resides. He is a charter member of the Post No. 69, of the G. A. R. of Springfield, of which he was for some time commander, and is considered one of the leading members of that organization in the State of Missouri, having been on the State and national council of administration, and delegate to national encampments at several different times. Mr. Milner was married in Oberlin, Ohio, in 1876, to Miss Hattie Cormings, daughter of A. C. and A. J. Cormings. Mrs. Milner was born February 29, 1844, being one of six children born to her parents. The Cormings came originally from Vermont, but were among the first to locate in Ohio, where they became well known and prominent. Mr. and Mrs. Cormings have been residing in Springfield with their son-in-law, Mr. Milner, for a number of years. Mr. and Mrs. Milner are connected with the Presbyterian Church, in which Mr. Milner is a deacon and a member of the board of trustees. Mrs. Milner is a lady of much intelligence and natural refinement, and is not only an active church worker, but has always been interested in educational work also, and was the first lady principal of Drury College, with which institution she was connected for some, time. Previously she was with the State Normal School at Kirksville, Mo. for three years as principal of the ladies' department, leaving it to accept a position in Drury College. She is a leader in the social circles of Springfield, her grace and ease of manner and her fine conversational powers fitting her to shine in any society in which she might care to move. Their residence, located at 851 Benton Avenue, near Drury College, is a handsome one in all its appointments, and there Mr. and Mrs Milner dispense a refined yet cordial hospitality to their numerous friends the only child born to them died in infancy. In a business way Mr. Milner has been successful, and what he has in the way of worldly goods has been learned by honest exertion and honest industry. MISS ANNA M. MOONEY. Who for some time past has held the position of criminal court stenographer of Springfield, is a young lady whose pleasant address and superior ability has not only won a warm place in the hearts of the legal profession of Greene County, but in the hearts of all with whom she chances to meet. She is a worthy example of this progressive age and of what can be accomplished by the "weaker sex," when opportunity is afforded. Miss Mooney was born in Salt Lake City, December 28, 1871, to the marriage of P. C. and Margaret Mooney, and was the eldest of five children. The parents resided for some time at Little Rock, Ark., but after the death of the father, which occurred in 1889, the mother, with her children, came to Springfield, Mo. There she has made her home since. During the Rebellion Mr. Mooney was a faithful and efficient soldier and for many years was with the standing army, holding the rank of ______. Mrs. Mooney and children now reside at 976 North Main Street, Springfield, Mo., and Miss Anna is the main support of the family. This young lady received the rudiments of her education in the schools of Little Rock, Ark., while her parents resided there, but subsequently attended the St. Mary's Academy, under the charge of the Sisters of Mercy, where she gained a thorough knowledge of her profession. She spent much time to become a professional typewriter, and succeeded, for she is unusually rapid and accurate. After leaving school she took a place in the office of an attorney, became acquainted with legal terms, and in the early part of 1892 was examined by attorney John A. Pattern, F. A. Heffernan and C. V. Buckley, for the position of criminal court stenographer, and met all the requirements. During the time she has held the position she has reported for many important cases, such as the Bald Knob case and others of still greater importance, besides some of the most important murder cases of the county. Her sister, Miss ____________, is clerk and typewriter in the office of Harrington & Pepperdine, and is a young lady of superior attainments. Miss Mooney deserves much credit for the way in which she has surmounted the obstacles which have strewn her pathway, and her career is a useful object lesson to others of her sex to "go and do likewise." She has made numerous friends, and her future career is bright with promise. D. E. MORROW, D.D.S. It is no small debt of gratitude that the world owes to the dentist for this opportunity to gain comfort, and the care of the teeth is one of the utmost importance, for if not properly and promptly attended to they will eventually injure the health and cause much unnecessary suffering. Among the eminent dentists of Missouri may be mentioned Dr. D. E. Morrow, who has a pleasant, well appointed and convenient office in Springfield. He has been a resident of this city since December, 1882, having been born in Wayne County, Ohio, March 25, 1857, to James K. and Malinda E. Morrow. The family originated in Scotland and during the early history of this country settled in the New England States where they made names for themselves. The family finally became known in Ohio where James K. Morrow successfully tilled the soil until his death in 1880. His widow still survives him and is a resident of Cass County, Mo. Dr. D. E. Morrow received his education in a well conducted normal school in Missouri, having come to this State with his parents in 1865, and when not pursuing the paths of learning he was assisting his father to till the soil of the home farm. After deciding to make dentistry his profession he began his studies in 1878 with Dr. Johnson, of Holden, Mo., and after some time entered the Kansas City Dental College, which he attended until 1880. At the end of this time he opened an office at Harrisville, Mo., where he remained two years, at the end of which time he came to Springfield and here has built up an extensive practice. He has a finely appointed office at No. 234 Commercial Street, over the city drug store. The Doctor is an expert dentist, painstaking, careful and thorough in his work and his proficiency in his profession has become well known and he has all the work he can properly attend to. He has a neat and comfortable residence at 1234 Benton Avenue where he and his wife dispense a generous hospitality to their -numerous friends. He was married to Miss Sadie Canfield, of Kansas, a daughter to E. C. Canfield, a carriage and plow manufacturer. The Doctor and his wife have three sons: Eugene E. Clark E. and Alfred F. The Doctor and his family attend the Presbyterian Church, and in politics he is with the Republican party. The Doctor's patients repose in him the utmost confidence and he possesses all the modern instruments for carrying on his work and undertakes every sort of dental work at reasonable figures, including extracting, excavating, preparing cavities, and inserting gold and metal filling, crown filling, supplying false teeth in sets or singly; in fact, his work is all strictly first class. HON. HOSEA MULLINGS (deceased). There is no inheritance so rich as the records of the worthy lives of those who have parted from this world and have gone to receive the reward which awaits them in heaven. The gentleman whose name heads this sketch, although no longer on earth, still holds a firm position in the memory and affection of his family and the numerous friends be won by his correct mode of living. He was one of the pioneer settlers of Robinson Township, Greene County, Mo., his birth having occurred in South Carolina, in 1795, of English parents. He received a limited education in the common schools near the home of his boyhood, but being ambitious and enterprising he determined to seek a home for himself in the then far West, and while a resident of Marshall County, Tenn., he was married to Margaret Reed. In 1818 he drove through what was then an almost wilderness to Greene County, Mo., and located in the woods eight miles north of Springfield. At that time there were many Indians and but few white settlers, and he experienced the hardships, dangers and privations which have been the lot of the sturdy pioneer since time immemorial. He improved a good farm and on it spent the remainder of his days, dying January 8, 1882, at the age of eighty-seven years. For some years, in an early day, he did considerable teaming from Boonville for Springfield merchants, and while thus employed experienced a good many hardships. He was a soldier in the War of 1812 under Gen. Jackson, and being of rugged constitution and a man of good habits he bore the hardships of pioneer life and war well. He was a Christian in all that the term implies, being a consistent member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, and was generous and charitable, although at all times just, in his views of the faults and failings of others, and for this reason often served as judge of the court of Greene County. His wife was born in North Carolina in 1793, a daughter of John Reed, who became a farmer of Tennessee where he died. He and his wife, who was formerly Miss Esther Coffey, were members of the Presbyterian Church. She was also born in North Carolina, and there she and Mr. Reed were married. To Mr. and Mrs. Mullings eleven children were born, four of whom are living at the present time. John P., George, Margaret, wife of J. T. Walker, and Hon. Hosea G. John P. Mullings was born near Farmington, Marshall County, Tenn., and when a small lad was brought by his parents to Missouri where he was reared and received such educational advantages as could be obtained at that period. At the opening of the civil war he joined the Missouri State Militia, and after a short service joined the Home Guards, operating at Springfield and Yellville, Ark., with which he remained until 1863, when he became a member of Company E, Sixteenth Missouri Cavalry, which operated in the southern part of the State, holding the rank of first lieutenant. He followed Price on his raid through Missouri into Kansas. He made an excellent soldier, being on active duty the most of the time, and was neither wounded nor captured while in the service. At the close of the war he turned his sword into a ploughshare, and has ever since contentedly resided on the old home farm, the entire time spent on that place amounting to sixty years. He has never married, preferring to put up with the ills he has than to fly to those he knows not of. While in the Home Guards he was detailed with others to form what was known as the Sixth Provisional Regiment early in 1863, and he served as orderly sergeant until he joined the regular service in the fall. Hosea G. Mullings enlisted in Company A, Twenty-fourth Missouri Infantry, August 5, 1861, and was with it in Missouri, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi and Louisiana, being in the Red River expedition and in many hotly contested engagements with the Sixteenth Army Corps with Gen. A. G. Smith, serving as lieutenant from May 5, 1863. He was slightly wounded in the battle of Pea Ridge. He was mustered out at St. Louis, in October, 1864, after which he settled down to the life of a civilian. He took a prominent part in the political affairs of his section, and "three different occasions was elected to the State Legislature, serving from 1866 to 1872, and in 1888 was elected county judge, filling this responsible position two years. These gentlemen are law abiding citizens and are considered, and justly so, as among the foremost men of their section. JOHN K. MURRAY. No better citizens have come to Greene County, Mo. than those from Tennessee, and none have contributed more to the growth and development of this county than the native Tennesseean. Mr. Murray has been a resident of Greene County from early boyhood and during this time his career has not only been that of an upright and honorable citizen, but -of an intelligent and progressive man. He was born in Knox County, in 1829, a son of Hon. John and Sallie (Lettear) Murray, who were born in Virginia and Tennessee, respectively, both receiving limited common school educations in their youth. In 1833 or 1834 they came by ox team to Missouri, and after one year's residence in Pulaski County they came to Greene County, and located on a slightly improved tract of land in East Center township, later settling on a woodland farm on the edge of Grand Prairie, near where John K. Murray now resides. This he converted by industry, into a magnificent farm and on it his career closed in 1866. A short time after making a settlement here he was called out to fight the Indians. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, and was an active and prominent worker in the political arena, being judge of the County Court a few years prior to the opening of the Civil War. He was frequently offered the nomination of State representative, but as often refused. He was a Democrat all his life, and died when about sixty-seven years of age. He was the eldest of four sons and two daughters born to his parents, their names being: Ruma, who died at Ash Grove a few years ago, leaving a large family; James, who has resided in this section for fifty-five years, is now totally deaf having lost his hearing only a few days ago, after imagining he heard four cannon shots; Isaac, died in the Indian Territory a few years ago. He came to Greene County when a young man and here married and reared a family. He removed from here to Arkansas and later to the Indian Territory, where he died; Elizabeth is the deceased wife of Samuel Davis, who came to this State from Tennessee; and Malinda, who became the wife of Guy Leeper an early settler of this county. He died on the ocean en route to California, and his widow is now living with a daughter in Lawrence County, Mo. The wife of Hon. John Murray died in 1845, an earnest and consistent member of the Methodist Church. She was a daughter of William Lettear, who died in Tennessee, leaving a large family. After the death of Mrs. Murray, Mr. Murrav was married to Mrs. Annis McClure, a Tennesseean, who bore him one son, David, who is now in Arizona. John K. Murray is one of five sons and two daughters: James A., who is a merchant of South Greenfield, Dade County; William L., who was in the Confederate army, and is now residing in Colorado; John K.; Marshall Calvin, who died in Dade County, May 19, 1893, where he had lived some years. He was a soldier in the late war under Gen. Price, was captured at Vicksburg while on picket duty and was a prisoner at Camp Morton and other places about twelve months; L. H., of Springfield; Rhoda, wife of John McBride, of Murray township, this county, and Araminta, wife of Mr. McAllister of Colorado. John K. Murray was reared in the neighborhood where he -now lives but unfortunately received a very limited schooling, owing to the fact that be was compelled to walk three miles to a place of instruction during his early school days. At the age of twenty-one years he began farming for himself, and in 1850 was married to Miss Mary McClure, a daughter of Holburt and Annis McClure. Mrs. Murray lived only a year after her marriage, leaving an infant who also died. Mr. Murray's second marriage was celebrated in 1853, to Amanda, daughter of Theophilus and Ellen Sours, who came from North Carolina to this State in 1845, the mother's death occurring here. The father is now a resident of Texas. Mrs. Murray was born in North Carolina, and died in 1883, having become the mother of eight children. William H. (deceased); Timothy; De Witt; Pearl; Nettie, wife of William Clark of Dade County; May, wife of Philander Robinson, of Kansas; Ella, wife of F. L. Jones, and Maud. Since 1884 Mr. Murray has been married to Mrs. Dora Jones, daughter of C. C. Parrish, from Kentucky, and Margaret Parrish, who moved to this section from Indiana, Mr. Parrish being here killed by lightning, his wife still surviving him. Mrs. Murray was born in this county and has one child, Guy. When first married Mr. Murray settled on a woodland farm which he cleared and has since converted into the prosperous farm of 160 acres of which be is now the owner. He has always been a Democrat in his political proclivities and from early boyhood has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, as have also been his wives. Murray township, Greene County, was named for his family, as they were its first settlers and prominent in its affairs. Barbara (Julian) Murray, the paternal grandmother of Mr. Murray, was a French lady, but had resided in America from early girlhood. She was a niece of the man who built the great London bridge. LILBURN H. MURRAY, Springfield. The gentleman whose name heads this sketch is one of the best known men in Greene County. He was for many years engaged in business enterprises in which his name was always a synonym of integrity, and has in more recent years been the proprietor and publisher of the Springfield Democrat, which he has conducted in a liberal and able manner. He springs from sterling Scotch-Irish stock. John Murray, the father of our subject, was born in North Carolina, and received the common education of his day and married Sarah Luttele, in Tennessee, where he lived some time after marriage. In 1834, he moved to Crawford County, Mo., where he settled on a farm. He came to Greene County in 1835,and settled seven miles north of Springfield, and in 1837 he settled in what is now Murray Township, where he died in 1867. He was one of the substantial men of his township, owning 700 acres of land and some slaves. He reared a large family of children: James A.; M. L. John K.; Marshall C., who died at sixty years of age, the father of a family; L. H., Rhoda M., Arimentia T. and David L. All the children except L. H were born in Tennessee, within twenty, miles of Knoxville. Mr. Murray was one of the prominent pioneers of Greene County. In religious opinion he was a Methodist and one of the founders of the Methodist Church in this county. His house was the home of the Methodist circuit riders of those early days and many interesting religious meetings were held there. He was a Democrat in political opinions, and held the office of justice of the peace in his township and was county judge. He lived to the age of sixty-eight years. He was one of the honored and respected citizens in those early days. L. H. Murray, son of the above, born in Crawford County, Mo., September 15, 1835, on his father's farm, received the common-school education of his day, and was reared a farmer. He began his business life as a stock-drover and trader, driving horses, mules and cattle to Independence, Mo. He was engaged in this business until the spring of 1857, then crossed the plains to California, as one of the owners of a herd of cattle. He rode a mule all the way. He remained in California nine years engaged in the mercantile business, running a ranch in Napa County. He married in that county, Arceneth L., daughter of Young A. and Almira (Thompson)Anderson. Mr. Anderson went from Greene County, Mo., in 1855. Mr. Murray returned to Springfield in 1866, and engaged in the hardware and implement business in company with John McGregor, in 1867. He continued this business for nine years, during which time they prospered; he then engaged in farming, purchasing 300 acres of land, three miles south of Springfield, and carried on this farm for six years, mostly engaged in stockraising and trading, which business he conducted successfully. He then, in 1877, was one of a company of Springfield men who bought the Kansas City & Memphis Railroad and Mr. Murray was elected president. It was at that time simply a road bed and this Company put it on a moving basis and operated it until June, 1879, when they sold it to the Gulf Railroad. In politics Mr. Murray is a stanch Democrat, who has always been true to his political friends. In 1871 he was elected mayor of Springfield, and in 1874 was elected to the State Legislature. In September, 1881 he revisited California, on a pleasure trip. In 1885 he was elected president of the Exchange bank, which he had assisted to organize in 1883, and held this office until January, 1893. Mr. Murray was one of the founders of the Springfield Democrat, and in 1892, bought the entire property since which time he has been sole proprietor and publisher. The Democrat is the ablest and best conducted newspaper in southwest Missouri. Mr. Murray was a member of the County Court for six years; he is a public-spirited man and a general promoter of public enterprise. notably Springfield foundry, railroad, ate. Socially he is one of the members of the Masonic fraternity. Mr. Murray is a Methodist and has liberally assisted all the Springfield churches without regard to denomination. To Mr. and Mrs. Murray have been born Seven children: Harry B., Lilly Y., Frank E., N. A., Jessie, W. D. and Elton B. THOMAS J. MURRAY. Among the names which have acquired prominence on the wings of Springfield's prosperity is that of the subject of this sketch, who is one of the city's most popular and capable attorneys. As he is a native of this county, having been born here December 5, 1857, the people have had every opportunity. to judge of his character and qualifications, and no young attorney of the county has better prospects. His parents, William C. and Malinda (Stone) Murray, came from Sweet Water, Tenn., to Missouri, in 1855, and settled in Greene County, Boone Township, on a tract of land covered with timber. Years of industry and good management brought their reward, and the father is now the owner of a fine farm of 360 acres, on which he has made many improvements. To himself and wife have been born nine children, as follows: Thomas J., Mahala B., William B., Harvey, Malinda J., Sarah B., Mary E., Charles and George. Both Mr. and Mrs. Murray are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and socially the former is a member of the Masonic Fraternity Lodge at Ash Grove. They are highly-respected citizens of the community in which they live, and are liberal contributors to all worthy enterprises. Thomas J. Murray, son of the above, and subject of this sketch, was born on his father's farm, in Boone Township. Although he had but the educational advantages of the district schools of his neighborhood, be gained a good practical education, for he was naturally of a studious turn of mind. Later he taught school in Boone Township. He was reared to the arduous duties of the farm, but when still quite young he manifested a strong desire to study law and began his legal studies at home in 1879, when twenty-two years of age. The practical lessons of industry gained from labor made him patient and persevering, and after diligently pursuing his studies for two years he was admitted to practice law at the Missouri bar. Without influence and with nothing to aid him except his sturdy disposition to work, he began the practice of his chosen profession in Springfield in March, 1882. This young lawyer had many obstacles to encounter, and among other things the competition of able and highly-educated attorneys, long established in practice. His sterling characteristics, grit and ability to persevere, have been well demonstrated in his subsequent career. He had a good living business from the start, and as his abilities became recognized he entered upon a very successful career. He devoted most of his attention to probate and real estate business, in which he has a large clientage, having won by his ability and integrity the confidence of the people of Greene County. He certainly deserves to be styled a self-made man, for he has risen to his present honorable position entirely by his own unaided exertions. Mr. Murray was probate judge of Greene County from 1885 to 1887, and is attorney for the Springfield National Loan and Investment Association, and is a stockholder in that company. In politics he is a stanch Democrat, and socially a Knight of Pythias, in which body he has held the office of vice-chancellor, chancellor-commander and master of the walk. He is also a member of the royal Arcanum and holds the office of vice-regent. He selected his companion in the person of Miss Sarah M. Graves, daughter of George W. and Elizabeth A. graves, and their nuptials were solemnized on May 20, 1886. One child has blessed this union, Bessie T., a bright little girl only a few years old. Both Mr. and Mrs. Murray are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, are highly-esteemed citizens and have a host of warm friends. Mr. Murray takes a foremost place among the talented lawyers of the county and is a distinguished citizen of Springfield. His course has been consistently marked by earnest purpose and useful activity, and for integrity and probity no man in Missouri stands higher. PROF. WILLIAM L. MUSICK. It has been truly said that "a good education is the best inheritance that parents can leave their children." Riches may take to themselves wings and fly away, but a good education will last through life. One of the prominent educators of Greene County, Mo., is Prof. William L. Musick, who inherited his push, energy and enterprise from sterling Welsh ancestors, his grandfather, Uel Musick, having been born in that country. Upon leaving his native land to seek a home in America, he first settled in North Carolina, but later became one of the original pioneers of Missouri, which at that time was a territory. He was a pioneer of St. Louis County, Mo., where he cleared up a large farm of 300 acres from the heavy timber with which it was covered. With heart and soul he identified himself with every interest of his adopted country, and upon the opening of the War of 1812-14, he enlisted in the service and rendered effectual aid to the cause of the Americans. He died at the advanced age of eighty-five years on his old homestead in St. Louis County. His son, Francis M. Musick, was born on that farm in 1832 and his youth was spent in attending the common schools and in learning the details of farm life. He was married to Martha A. Twilly, a daughter of a prominent farmer Judge Allen Twilly, of Franklin County, Mo., and to their union a family of ___ children were given: Thomas W., U. S., Lulu, Mattie, and Bell. Mr. Musick served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War, and took part in the battles of Pea Ridge, Iuka, and Corinth. He is yet living, and has a comfortable home and a good farm in Franklin County, Mo., where he is highly regarded as a public spirited and law abiding citizen. William L. Musick, his son, and the subject of this sketch, was born on the old homestead, October 22, 1860, and after receiving a common school education he entered Jones' Business College of St. Louis, Mo., where he took a thorough course in its various branches, later studying shorthand in the Dickson School of Shorthand, at Kansas City, Mo. He then became stenographer for. the Pacific Express Company at Kansas City, after which he was offered and accepted a professorship, in the Central Business College of Leavenworth, Kan. In 1890 he came to Springfield and against a great deal of, competition founded the Queen City Business College, which is one of the best institutions for gaining a practical business education in the West. The curriculum embraced five courses of study: Commercial, typewriting, shorthand, the actual business course, and telegraphy. Besides superintending this institution Prof. Musick devotes personal attention to teaching, and has five congenial, effective and efficient aids. The attendance, at times, reaches 100 pupils, while the average attendance is about seventy, and the pupils not only come from the surrounding country, but are largely drawn from the neighboring States. They are carefully drilled, thoroughly instructed, and many of the graduates of the Queen City Commercial College are occupying important and lucrative positions. Prof. Musick's methods are original and unique, and in teaching the important study of writing business letters, he uses over 700 actual letters obtained from the letter books of some of the leading business men of the city, by permission, eighteen different heads of business being used, and thus the pupils acquire a practical experience in letter writing. The institution has five different offices arranged for teaching actual business--wholesale and retail, commission, banking and merchants' exchange. Another practical feature of the college is the actual work done for the business men of the city such as circular work, letter writing, copying, etc. The Queen City Business College is one of the most practical and efficient institutions for gaining a solid business education to be found anywhere in the West, and the people have begun to realize this fact. Prof. Musick is a fine penman, an expert shorthand writer and a practical educator, a man of action, a positive character, and is well informed on all subjects of general interest. He takes, a personal interest in the welfare and progress of his pupils, and those who come from a distance find good homes among the citizens of Springfield. Prof. Musick was married on the 25th of February, 1886, to Miss Lucy C., daughter of Judge Abner and Isabella (Johnson) Donaldson, of Harrisonville, Mo., and to them have been born two children: Elmer L. and Nellie. The Professor and Mrs. Musick are members in good standing of the Baptist Church and he is superintendent of the Sunday School, president of the Young Peoples' Society of Christian Endeavor and a member of the Y. M. C. A. DR. D. B. HAEBERLE. The medical profession of Springfield, Mo. is represented by a number of skillful practitioners, who have an extended knowledge of therapeutics, skill in their use and enviable reputations as physicians of ability. Prominent among them is Dr. D. B. Haeberle, who is the manufacturer and proprietor of Haeberle's; Compound Balsam, the great blood remedy. His office is at 319 West Walnut Street, Springfield, and he enjoys an extensive and liberal patronage. No ordinary use of language will overstate the merits of the Compound Balsam. From every part of the Southwest the doctor has received letters commending it in the most eulogistic terms, which would seem to be extravagant and exaggerated to those who have not witnessed its remarkable effects. Suffice it to say, that no physician who has employed this remedy in his practice will, under any consideration, be without it in his pocket case for emergency. The relief which it affords is truly marvelous. It only needs a trial to convince the most skeptical of its most wonderful healing powers. Dr. Haeberle is a native of Erie County, Canada, born September 3, 1847, and a. son of Peter Haeberle, who was born in Bavaria, November 19, 1819. About 1840 the older Haeberle emigrated to America and settled in Canada, where he made his home until the fall of 1866. He then moved to Franklin County, Mo., and where he has since made his home. He is interested in the Balsam remedy, and many years ago, in the old country, he became a student of medicine and graduated from several colleges. For twenty years he has practiced his profession in Canada and this country and is well known as one of the most successful practitioners of the healing art. About sixteen years ago he retired from practice, after a long and successful career. He married Miss Bartrain________ who was of Scotch parentage, and nine children resulted from this union, eight of whom are living, and all in Springfield. They are named as follows: D. B., George, Minia, Peter, Alexander, Jane, Susanna and John A. The mother of these children was killed by the cyclone that passed through Greene County in 1883. The Haeberle family has held membership in the Christian Church for three generations back Although nearly seventy-four years of age, time has dealt leniently with Mr. Haeberle, and he enjoys comparatively good health. For many years medicine was his life study, and about twenty years ago he began to prepare the Compound Balsam and for many years worked over this until it reached perfection. The medicine was patented in 1887, and since then Mr. Haeberle has been widely known. The original of this notice, Dr. D. B. Haeberle, received a good practical education in the common schools and graduated from the St. Catherine College in 1868. He then turned his attention to the study of medicine with his father and attended the St. Catherine Medical School, later beginning to practice his profession. This he has continued for ten years, and is represented by four traveling men who are in the States of Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas, Texas, Illinois, and in Mexico. Dr. Haeberle has resided in the city since 1870, and for thirteen years prior to that resided near. He was married in this county to Miss Alilia Roberts, daughter of the old pioneer, W. G. Roberts, and three children have blessed this union: Vennie, William and Florence, all attending school. For some time Dr. Haeberle was engaged in the real estate business, but gave that up later. Socially he is a member of the I. O. O. F. and politically he is a Democrat. He held the office of city councilman about four years and has ever been prominent in the affairs of the city. He is highly esteemed by all and his business is classed among the enterprises of the city. His family attend the Christian Church. R. P. HALDEMAN. The wide-awake business man whose name is at the bead of this sketch is the very efficient secretary and general manager of the National Loan and Investment Association of Springfield, Mo., which was incorporated under the laws of the State of Missouri in 1890, with a capital stock of $5,000,000. The benefits to be derived from investment in this association are incalculable, because it has few losses, its loans being repaid in small installments monthly, its interest and premium on loans are compounded monthly, an opportunity not possessed by any other class of financial institutions, and to the fast that its profits from fines, withdrawals, deposit stock and canceled loans add largely to its earning power. It is also a perfectly safe institution for its funds are invested in non-negotiable real estate mortgages, its management is economical and conservative, all the offices handling money are under heavy fidelity bonds, and it is already well established, having accumulated assets of about $200,000. It is readily acknowledged that building and loan associations do a great amount of good all over the whole country, and their shareholders are counted by the hundred thousand and the homes obtained through their instrumentality by the thousand. The ownership of a home is a guarantee of good citizenship, and provides at the same time a safe and popular method of investing small savings. They have come to be regarded as institutions of public as well as private benefit. The managers of this association, after much careful thought and study, have put into operation improved plans of loaning money on the monthly payment system, which undoubtedly places it in the lead as regards safety, equity and profit. The business is not alone confined to Springfield and Greene County, but it is a national concern and is doing a profitable business all over the country, and the gentlemen connected with it are, without doubt, men of discrimination, sound judgment, and keen commercial instincts. The president is George M. Jones; vice-president, Joseph W. Hall; secretary and general manager, R. P. Haldeman; and W. F. Howser, treasurer. The directors are, besides the officers above mentioned, T. J. Murray, J. F. G. Bentley, S. S. Hoblit, J. S. Ambrose and J. T. Howser. Mr. R. P. Haldeman is an able business man and conducts the affairs of the company in a masterly manner and to the unbounded satisfaction of all concerned. The offices are in the Baldwin Theatre building and are handsomely and conveniently fitted up. Mr. Haldeman is a native of Bloomington, Ill., where he received his early training and spent his early life. He finished his education in Butler University, of Indianapolis, Ind., and upon leaving school followed the road as a traveling salesman for a number of years. Later he became a clerk in the office of some of the best building and loan associations in Illinois and Minnesota, during which time he obtained a practical insight into the business, which has been of great benefit to him since embarking in his present line of work. The stockholders are treated most liberally and fairly, and it should be an object of patronage from all enterprising men. It saves money by systematic methods, and it is better than an insurance policy, from the fact that you need not die to get your profits, but secure them on withdrawal, and it is better than a savings bank, for it pays over eight times the profits, and its investments are better secured, and it is equally as safe as a Government bond and pays six times the profit. The plan on which the business is conducted has been tried for years and has by no means been found wanting, on the contrary, it has proven its worth and benefit to any community. Mr. Haldeman has made his home in Springfield since the establishment of the company, and is universally respected and esteemed. He is connected with the Pioneer Building and Loan Association of Minnesota and the Metropolitan Loan Association of Illinois. J. B. HAMPTON is a man of astute judgment, a good judge of human nature, clear and clean in his methods of conducting his business affairs, and well posted in the requirements of the abstract business, to which he has for some time devoted his time and attention. His business methods have always been such as to secure the fullest confidence and the result is that he holds a position in business circles that any man might envy, and is looked upon as a citizen worthy of the highest regard. He was born in Jackson County, Tenn., on the 10th of March, 1863, being one of the nine surviving members of a family of ten children born to John R. and Sarah J. (Hawkins) Hampton, the former of whom was born in Virginia, a son of George W. Hampton, who was a pioneer of the Old Dominion. Members of this family were active participants in the War of 1812 and in the War of Independence they also did valorous service. John R. Hampton is a prominent and prosperous merchant of Cookville, Tenn., and is known over an extensive tract of territory round about as a man of sterling business principles and whose word is as good as his bond. For twenty-two years he was a resident of Clay County, from the time of its organization up to 1893, and while there was honored by an election to the position of county collector, and for a number of years was a justice of the peace and discharged his duties with impartial fairness. He is a member of the Democrat party, has long, been a member of the A. F. & A. M. and the I. O. O. F. and he and his wife are connected with the Christian Church. In the management of his affairs he has shown the best of judgment and is known to be a man of means. J. B. Hampton secured such education, as could be obtained in the public schools of his native county and his first business training was secured in the mercantile establishment of Hampton & Kirkpatrick owned by J. B. and W. H. Hampton and J. R. Kirkpatrick, this business receiving the major part of his attention until his removal from Clay County, Tenn., to Nashville, Tenn., in February 1881, and remained in Nashville up to 1885. That year he embarked in the mercantile business with his brother, W. H. Hampton, at Springfield, the latter having been in business here for some time. His location in Springfield was an accident, for while returning home from a business trip to Texas he stopped in Springfield to visit his brother, and was so well pleased with the place that he decided to make it the scene of his future business operations. He followed the mercantile business during 1885, and in 1886 was elected probate clerk, and in 1887 started the abstract business. As he becomes better and better known his business increases in proportion, for the attributes of industry, perseverance and painstaking care are those that are justly highly regarded in business circles. He carries on his business in Room 2 of the Courthouse Annex. He is a Democrat of pronounced type, and has always taken a deep interest in the affairs of his section. He is a married man, the name of his wife having been Grace F. Perry, of Springfield, daughter of G. F. B. Perry, a merchant of Ozark. Mr. and Mrs. Hampton have one child, Georgie R., and she is a consistent member of the Christian Church. COL. A. HARRINGTON. As a leading citizen of Springfield, in its professional, business and social life, lending eminent strength to her bar, tone to her finance and grace to her society, Mr. Harrington commands attention from the historian who would wish to do the city justice. He is one of the ablest of attorneys, and has few, if any peers in his comprehensive knowledge of State and International law, and has conducted many cases to a successful issue. While a born orator he does not solely rely upon the rhetorical finish of his sentences, upon his fervid declamation or upon his rich imagery, but he has a substantial foundation upon which to build, and the result is not only charming to mental sensibility but convincing to the reason of his hearers. Mr. Harrington was born in Greene county, Mo., December 25, 1849, and soon after his parents moved to Springfield, that county. When little more than an infant he was left motherless and was reared by his father with the help of an old negro cook. While but a boy his father died and he was left to fight his own battles in life. When but ten years of age be went to live with a brother near the old home place, nine miles west of Springfield, and after remaining there for some time with a brother, he wandered off to make his own way in life. He worked for some time on a farm but later was in the Massic Iron Works in eastern Missouri, where he remained until the spring of 1861. Although only thirteen years of age at the breaking out of the war when he heard the fife and drum of Sigel's command, his patriotism was aroused and on the last of June of that year he enlisted for three months. August 19 of the same year he re-enlisted in the Twenty-fourth Missouri Volunteer Infantry and served three years and two months, being mustered out October 14, 1864. He fought bravely for the old flag and participated in a number of the most important engagements, among them Tupelo, Carthage, Pleasant Hill, fall of Ft. Derney, etc., and to this day carries scars from wounds received in those fierce engagements. He still suffers from these wounds, too. Although so very young when he entered the army Mr. Harrington was patriotic and loyal to the heart's core and was an excellent soldier. He now has in his possession a complimentary letter written him by Gen. Sigel in 1885. After cessation of hostilities he returned to Springfield and followed farming in the vicinity of that city for some time, He was married to Miss Nancy M. Merritt, daughter of Nathan Merritt, and as he had never attended school a day in his life, he learned to read and write while his family grew up around him. In 1876 he commenced reading law at his home fireside and in 1879 was admitted to the bar. It is said that poets are born, not made, and so are orators, and among those who are swayers of the human emotions by the right of -natural inheritance must be classed this able criminal lawyer of Springfield. He combines with his forensic genius the talent of painstaking and accurate analysis and careful arrangement of facts in almost impenetrable order and solidity, a talent which not all orators have. In 1880 he made a race for prosecuting attorney of Christian County but was defeated by a small majority. Later be moved to Ozark, opened a law office, and was elected to the office of prosecuting attorney on the Greenback ticket by an overwhelming majority. For two years he filled that position and continued practicing law in Ozark until 1888 when he moved to Springfield. He has been a partner with George Pepperdine, another prominent criminal lawyer of the city since November 24, 1890. When first coming to Springfield he carried on the practice in partnership with Hon. H. E. -----. He has had a great many murder cases and in fact has been identified with all. the important cases in the several counties of southeast Missouri. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., Findley Lodge, No. 156, Ozark, and is a member of Capt. John Mathews G. A. R. post, Springfield. The following children have been born to his marriage: M. J. became the wife of William Stevens of Springfield; William, married Miss Belle Thomas and resides on a farm near his father; W. P., died when three years of age Mary E., Leithe E., Almus C., L. C., and Roy F. All the family attend the M. E. church. Mr. Harrington has ever taken deep interest in politics and his vote was cast with the Republican party until the formation of the Greenback party to which he has adhered since, being an ardent believer in the necessity of political economy and reform in the interests of the laboring classes. C. A. HAYDEN. The above mentioned gentleman has been a resident of Greene County, Mo., since 1835, in which year he came with his father, Joel H. Hayden, to this section from Howard County, Mo., but originally from Kentucky, in 1826. During the Civil War the father died in Howard County, in which county the mother also passed from life some years before. Her maiden name was Martha Smith. Both parents were members of the Christian Church and became well known in Howard County where they tilled the soil and reared their family. The paternal grandfather, Anthony H. Hayden, was a captain in the Revolutionary War, enlisting in the service from Virginia, in which State the early members of the family resided, having originally come from England. The brothers and sisters of C. A. Hayden are as follows: Anna L., Martha, John S. and James H., but he is the only member of this family who is living at the present time. He was a young man of twenty-one summers when he came to Greene County, his birth having occurred in Bourbon County, Ky., May 9, 1813, and for a number of years after locating here he was in a land office, then turned his attention to farming. In 1841 he was married to Miss L. Weaver, daughter of Maj. Joseph Weaver, her birth having occurred in Tennessee, and immediately thereafter located on the farm where he now lives, which comprises a tract of 400 acres, a large part of which is under cultivation. In a business way he has been very successful and now has an abundance of this world's goods, and a pleasant, comfortable and handsome home. He has resided on this farm for about fifty years and during this time has been largely engaged in the buying and raising of stock. His children are all well-to-do and are honorable men and women, commanding the respect of all. Their -names are as follows: Joel H. is a farmer of Greene County; Martha H. is the wife of John Fullbright of Springfield; Judith M. is the wife of Levi Hubbell; Gabrielle L. is the wife of, W. M. Roundtree of Springfield; Mary E. is the wife of Mr. Blunt of this county, and John L., who died at the age of three years. The Democrat party has always received his earnest support, and he and his family have long been connected with Christian Church, of which they are highly honored members. For nearly fifty years lie has been a member of the Masonic Fraternity and is connected with the United Lodge of Springfield. In an early day before the war he was engaged in the manufacture of tobacco and helped to established the first factory in the city of Springfield, and for some time was a clerk in the old Bank of Missouri at Springfield, which was the first bank establish in the city. Joel H. Hayden, his son, has a fine farm adjoining the old home place and is a wide awake and prosperous farmer. He was born in 1848 and attended the early schools of the county, where he acquired a practical education. He was married to Miss Nannie Shears, daughter of Martin Shears, who was one of the early pioneers of the county and is still living, and their union has resulted in the birth of five children. Joel H. is with his father in regard to his political -views. He is quite an enterprising and successful stock raiser and is regarded by all as one of the prosperous farmers of the county. His valuable estate is about six miles from the city of Springfield. S. I. HAZELTINE, Springfield, Mo. The leading orchardist of Greene County comes from an old Colonial family of Scotch descent who were early settlers of Now Hampshire and Vermont. The grandfather of our subject moved from Vermont to Wisconsin in 1843 and settled in Vernon, Waukesha County. Ira S. Hazeltine, father of our subject, is also one of the principal orchardists of this section, owning the largest orchard in Greene County. He came to Greene County in 1871. S. I. Hazeltine, his son, and our subject, was born May 1, 1849, at Waukesha, Wis., received an academic education and passed two years in the State University, at Madison, Wis. He came to Springfield in 1871 and was station agent at Dorchester, on the "Frisco," a position which he has since filled. He assisted his father to set out 7,000 apple trees in 1871-4 and the orchard is in good bearing condition. In 1883 Mr. Hazeltine bought eighty acres of land in East Center Township and set out 3,912 apple trees-mostly Ben Davis variety--one mile north of his residence. The trees began to bear in 1888 and a crop of 300 barrels of merchantable apples was produced. and the next year 500 barrels were produced; in 1889 and in 1890, 2,400 barrels were produced, and in 1891, 3,600 barrels; in 1892 only 200 barrels were produced. This shortage was occasioned by continued wet and cold weather during the blooming season. In May of that year a cold, dry wind chilled the blossom buds, in addition to the frost of the spring of 1893, making an almost total failure of the apple crop for 1893. This orchard has received the best of care since it was set out, has been cultivated since planted, and hoed around the trees and mulched. For the season previous to this; the entire orchard has been kept thoroughly cultivated, with the idea that but one crop should be taken from the ground each season. Mr. Hazeltine has erected two stone storage buildings on the " Frisco " track capable of holding 5,000 barrels of apples, and one in the center of his orchard with a capacity of 13,500 barrels. These buildings have three floors each, are lined and have air spaces and are admirably adapted to the preservation of fruit, as they keep a cool and even temperature. Mr. Hazeltine has now one of the finest apple orchards in Missouri. He has carefully studied the business, and worked on an intelligent theory of his own, and has now a beautiful and thrifty orchard capable of producing in one year an ample remuneration for his labor. So far, the orchard has been moderately remunerative and is just now in condition to be very profitable. On Mr. Hazeltine's method it costs per year about $1,000 to keep it in cultivation. He is a man of education, understanding botany and its application to the fruit business; and be is a horticulturist of experience and brings into his business the force of a skillful and educated mind. He has invented a tool called a "weeder," which is now generally used; with this tool, in connection with other tools, he removes the borers from the trees effectually. Mr. Hazeltine married, November 23, 1871, Annie L., daughter of William M. and Mariana (Irving) Miller, of English and Scotch descent, and to Mr. and Mrs. Hazeltine have been born four children: Edwin I., Alfred E., Charlotte A. and May. Edwin I. is a graduate of the high school Of Springfield, class of 1893. Mr. Hazeltine is a member of the People's party and is noted as a man of broad ideas; he is a lover of nature and brings into his business not only good judgment but a patience which will insure success. CHARLES H. HEER. No other country upon earth can point to a great army of self-made men, the United States standing alone in the pre-eminence of having an array of citizens, who, without adventitious aid or accident of birth, attain to wealth or distinction in public affairs. This is the glory of the country, that every one has a chance to make and prove himself a man if he has it in him. This reflection naturally suggests itself when one considers the success that has attended the footsteps of Mr. Heer, of Springfield, who, from a small beginning has won a first place in the thriving city of Springfield. Mr. Heer was born in the Kingdom of Hanover, Germany, April 30, 1820, and is a son of Gerhardt W. and Mary E. (Klecker) Heer, the former of whom was a landed proprietor and for many years a justice of the peace in his native land. He died there at about the age of seventy- five years, a devout member of the Catholic Church and a man of honorable and upright character. Charles H. Heer never saw his father, who died three months before he was born. In his youth his advantages were excellent for acquiring an education, and while preparing himself for the priesthood in 1835, his mother married again and came with her husband to America, and, as a natural consequence, this cut short his educational career, for he accompanied his mother to this country. The family settled in St. Louis, making the journey from the port of landing, Baltimore, to Wheeling, Va., in a large, old-fashioned Pennsylvania wagon, the journey to that point occupying. three weeks. At that time Charles H. was but fourteen years of age, but can well remember the journey, which was made from Wheeling to St. Louis by water. The family at that time consisted of seven persons: Louis Heer, the stepfather (of the same family name as Gerhardt W. Heer), Mrs. Heer, Charles H. and his half brothers and sisters, Edward, Francis, Mary and Agnes. At St. Louis a situation was procured for Charles H. in a wholesale and retail queensware house, with which he remained until he was twenty-two years of age, when, having gained a thorough business education and some money, he determined to put both to his own use, and he at once started in business for himself, in company with R. Heitcamp, in the grocery and provision trade. Two years later Mr. Heer sold out and became a partner of D. L. Myer in the grocery business, which in a few years was enlarged to include a fine general line of goods. By over exertion and great devotion to his business, Mr. Heer greatly injured his health, and was threatened with consumption, but he at once gave up his labors, cast aside dull care and went South to battle with the grim destroyer. He received no benefit there, however, and taking the advice of a distinguished French physician then practicing in St. Louis, he left that city in 1847 and paid a visit to his parents in Illinois. During the few months that he remained there he so far recovered that he purchased a large farm in that State, near the home of his parents in Monroe County, which he conducted until 1850, at which time he rented the farm and engaged in the general mercantile business at Waterloo, Ill., where he continued to make his home until 1871. He had visited Springfield in 1868 and bought the lot now occupied by the Heer Dry Goods Companv, and upon which there was no building at that time. Shortly after buying the property lie erected the brick store building now occupied by the company, which he rented until his removal to that town in 1871, and he then stocked it with a general line of goods and has since done a wholesale and retail business. The business was incorporated in 1879 under the name of Charles H. Heer Dry Goods Company, all the stock being held in the family of Mr. Heer, and embraces all lines of dry goods, trimmings, notions, and boots and shoes It is the oldest as well as the largest business of the kind in the city, but is now entirely retail, tile wholesale department having been discontinued several years since. Mr. Heer has been uniformly prosperous, and owes his success to his own industry and economy. and to the fact that he has always kept out of debt. He has made it a rule of his life never to spend a dollar until he had earned it. He was one of a company of Springfield capitalists who bought the old Springfield & Western Missouri Railroad, now a part of the Gulf Railroad, and which was then only graded a short distance, owing to the fact that the company engaged in its construction had failed. The Springfield company built twenty miles of the road to Ash Grove and ran trains to and from this city. At the end of two years Mr. Heer and his friends in business sold out their interests to the present company, having taken up this project only to get the railroad in running order for the benefit of Springfield. Mr. Heer has been an extensive holder of real estate in Springfield, much of which he has, however, divided among his children. He was married January 6, 1846, in St. Charles County, Mo., to Mrs. Mary E. Bunnenan (nee Koenig), and to them seven children have been given: Charles H., Henry L., who died at the age of thirty years, a married man; Mary E.; Louis H., who died at the age of seven years; Agnes, Francis X. and Celia. All his life long Mr. Heer has been a devout Catholic, and for many years it was his earnest desire to found a Catholic college, and in 1892 this desire found fruition in the establishment of St. Joseph College at the corner of Jefferson and Chestnut Streets, Springfield, to which he donated $12,000 in property and money. He is a firm believer in the cause of education, both spiritual and mental, and it was his heartfelt desire in founding this institution that it should be a benefit to mankind and should testify to the power and glory of the Supreme Being. He believes in the higher education of the young, and by his generous gift has placed it within the power of many to gain thorough educations. The institution is now firmly founded, and is under the able management of that thorough scholar and perfect gentleman, Rev. Father Maurus Eckstein, a member of the religious order of St. Benedict, an organization devoted to the education of the young. He has always also liberally assisted the parochial Catholic schools, and has done his full share in assisting the Protestant institutions of the city, such as Drury College, etc. As a man and citizen Mr. Heer stands high above reproach and his whole course through life is a living and lasting lesson to the young. He is one of those remarkable men possessed of self denial, prudence and sagacity, who grow up a benefit to mankind, and surely in the establishment of a noble educational institution he has performed an act which will remain to his credit through all time to come. His father was a man of considerable wealth, but when Charles H. left Germany he was considerably under age, and his stepfather could not draw his share of the estate, and since that time he has never applied for the money due him, preferring, with characteristic independence, to make his own way in the world. He began as an errand boy in the establishment in which he first worked after coming to America, carefully saved his wages, and eventually he and a brother clerk, a former schoolmate in Germany, started out for themselves, and in this manner he laid the foundation of his present ample fortune. His mother was one of those noble-minded women who wielded a strong influence over the life of her son, and to such a noble use was her influence put, and so ably and intelligently did she guide his footsteps, both by precept and example, that to this day he has his unbounded gratitude and undying affection and respect. She was a devout Catholic, and instilled this faith into the hearts and minds of her children. Mrs. Heer, the first wife of the subject of this sketch, was a devoted mother, and reared a worthy family of children and lent valuable aid to her husband in his business and charitable projects and of her it might be truly said that "She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness." Her husband and children were called upon to mourn her death October 25, 1881, and Mr. Heer afterward took as his helpmate Sarah Barry, an intelligent and kind lady, with whom he is yet living. The life of Mr. Heer has always been regulated by a deep conviction of duty, and he has never sanctioned any measure that he did not believe to be in the interests of the people and community, and has always taken a decided stand on the side of reform in educational matters. His business methods have ever been such as to secure the fullest confidence, and the result is that he holds a position in business circles that any man might envy. He has always been a Democrat in politics, and in 1875 was a member of the City Council, the duties of which position he discharged in his usual conscientious and intelligent manner. F. S. HEFFERNAN. This intelligent and successful attorney of' Springfield, Mo., is one of those who has achieved considerable distinction in his profession, and who constitute the bone, sinew and brain of the commonwealth. He came to this city from Minnesota in 1867, and since that time has taken a deep interest in the progress and development of the place. Prior to leaving school in Milwaukee he had begun the study of law and he finished his preparation for his profession in this city. In 1868 be was admitted to the bar and since that time he has been one of the busiest and most prosperous attorneys of the county. As an attorney he is noted for his care and industry. His fidelity to the interests of his clients and the integrity and sagacity shown in the management of his client's interests, have enabled him to occupy a useful position in his profession. He has displayed fine business judgment and all the enterprises with which he has been connected have been brought to a successful issue. To him is due the establishment of several of the manufacturing plants in Springfield, such as the Electric Light plaint, started and owned by him and James Reilly; the Ice Factory was started and owned by him, Reilly and J. S. Ambrose; for years be was president of the Gas Company; a large stockholder in the Springfield Wagon and Plow Works, and the Springfield Foundry and Machine Company; he is the principal owner of the Grand Opera House and is the very efficient vice president of the Greene County Bank, and a director in the Queen City Milling Company. He is an able attorney and is one of the most enterprising of men and has proven himself a decided acquisition to the city. He has been associated with James Reilly in many business ventures, and he and Mr. Reilly are now owners of the Zoo Park, which is the largest in the State of Missouri, and is a beautiful and favorite Place of public resort. This park is located one-half mile north of the city limits and the question of quick and cheap transportation has been settled by the Metropolitan Electric Railroad Company and cars are run from all parts of the city direct to the grounds. The park comprises about 130 acres in all and may be truly said to be "a thing of beauty and a joy forever." It has many delightful natural nooks, and innumerable springs which bubble out of the hillsides, and expense has not been spared to add to the many natural attractions. Artificial lakes have been made, drives through the grounds laid out, a summer hotel complete in every detail erected, bath and boat houses provided, and a fine race track and stables for fair grounds will be completed this fall. They have a very fine collection of animals, which have been gathered together at large expense and with much difficulty, and these they expect to use for exhibition and also for breeding purposes, therefore their animals are well selected, large and healthy. They have a fine specimen of the tapir, a zebu, a majestic moose, a cape buffalo, a fine herd of graceful deer, which includes the fallow deer, the black-tailed variety, and the mule deer. The bear pit is an object of great interest and curiosity on the part of the visitors. This pit is hewn out of the solid rock with running springs and an iron cage, which altogether cost the managers a large sum. They have a brown, a black and a cinnamon bear, all magnificent specimens of their kind. There is also a family of monkeys, an African lion, a puma, two oscelots (leopard cat and tiger cat), a pair of urano, a pair of lynx and babboons, ant eaters, a cage of six varieties of rabbits, coons, foxes, wolves, badgers, elephant, camel, yak, nylhan, ibex, llama, alpaca, cape buffalo, ostrich, etc., fill out the collection, which is well selected and worth going miles to see. The hotel is a tasteful and beautiful building, with large and airy rooms, and a competent landlord is soon to be placed in charge. The dining room is spacious and the dancing pavilion built over the lake has a floor space of 40x40 feet. The water to be had at the park has been tested and pronounced perfectly pure and there is absolutely no reason why "Specific" park should not become a noted summer resort. The citizens of Southwest Missouri are greatly indebted to Messrs. Heffernan and Reilly for this magnificient park, and these gentlemen deserve the greatest credit for their enterprise, forethought and push. Mr. Heffernan was born in Wisconsin, March 13, 1846, and was educated in the public schools and Hamlin University. In 1867 he came to Springfield, and in 1882 was solicited to run for Congress. He was married April 29, 1872, at Springfi.eld, to Miss Alice Chambers, a native of Augusta, Ga. He has always delighted in seeking out new and untrodden paths, and the conception of the zoological park is entirely original with him in this section of the state, and there can be no question of its success under his shrewd and liberal management. Mr. Reilly is also a man of great business ability and any enterprise with which he is connected is assured of success from the beginning. DAVID C. HENSHEY. The man from Pennsylvania has always been a potential element in the civilization and development of Missouri, and in earlier days along the woodman's trail came men of all avocations and in every degree of social life. No better blood ever infused pioneer life; no sturdier arm set about the task of subduing the wilderness, and no less vigorous mental activity could have raised a great commonwealth amid the broken elements of nature within the limits of half a century. The distinctive Americanism which Missouri has maintained almost co-equally with the older Eastern States, against an unparalleled tide of immigration from every nation upon the globe, is due to the virility of the pioneer stock in which the Keystone State was so strongly represented. He whose name heads this sketch was born in Blair County, Penn., five miles north of the city of Altoona, and is a descendant of sterling Pennsylvania Dutch stock, his ancestors being of an old Colonial American family. The first one of the family of whom we have any record is John Henshey, the great-grandfather of our subject. He was a farmer of Lancaster County, Penn., and died in that State when seventy-seven years of age. His son, John Henshey, the grandfather of our subject, was born in the same county of Pennsylvania, July 1, 1776, and in the year 1811 moved to what is now Blair County, Penn., where he was one of the original settlers of that region. He became a prosperous farmer, owning large tracts of land, and was a man of prominence in his community in early days, holding a number of county offices. In religious views he was a United Brethren. The marriage of this worthy pioneer to Mary Detwiler occurred in Blair County, and he reared a family of six children: David, Samuel, Mary, Elizabeth, Barbara and Jane. The oldest son, David, the father of our subject, was born January 25, 1813, in Blair County, Penn., on his father's farm, and in 1834 married Miss Catherine Miller, daughter of Andrew and Margaret Miller. After marriage this young couple settled five miles north of Altoona and Mr. Henshey began for himself as a tiller of the soil, meeting with unusual success in this occupation. His record as an honorable man is untarnished and as a citizen he is always public-spirited and law abiding. For three terms he held the office of county commissioner and later was appointed, by the governor of Pennsylvania, State commissioner for the examination of insane institutions. In politics he is an ardent Republican and in religious belief a Baptist, being a prominent church member and clerk of his church many years. During the Civil War he was a strong Union man and had three sons fighting for the old flag, Thomas, Botsford and David C. Thomas was killed in the battle of Spottsylvania Court House, May 12, 1864, and was one of the bravest of soldiers. He was promoted from private to a corporal of the color guard, for which position only the bravest soldiers were elected. He was a soldier of Company M, Sixty-second Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and prior to his death had been a participant of eighteen engagements, being wounded at Gettysburg. Botsford enlisted as a private in the two years' service, One Hundred and Twenty-sixth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and at the battle of Antietam was transferred from the ranks to the hospital on account of his knowledge of drugs and medicine which he had gained as a clerk in that business. The father of these boys is still living and is a highly respected citizen in his community. He has lived a quiet life, looking after the possessions which a life of industry has secured him, and is in the enjoyment of a comfortable, refined and pleasant home. He and wife were the parents of twelve children, nine of whom lived to mature years: John, Andrew, Botsford, Thomas, Blair, Harry M., Ellsworth E., Alice C. and David C., all of whom are now settled near Altoona, Penn., except Thomas, who was killed in the war, and Andrew, who died in 1859, and our subject. John married Miss Matilda Meadwell and they have six children; he resides on the old. homestead and is a substantial farmer. Botsford, after serving his country as a soldier, became a clergyman in the Baptist Church and is now settled at Indiana, Penn; he is the father of four children. Blair is a single man and is clerk in the office of the Pennsylvania Central R. R., at Altoona, Alice C. married George Lackey and they have two children; Mr. Lackey is a queensware merchant at Altoona. Harry M. is head clerk of a large foundry and machine manufactory at Hollidaysburg, Penn; he is single. Ellsworth E. married and is in business at Punxsutawney, Penn. Catharine Henshey, the mother, died September 22, 1886, in her sixty-ninth year. For fifty-two years she was a member of the Logan's Valley Baptist Church, and was loved and respected by her church associates and noted for her acts of charity. David C. Henshey, the original of this notice, became familiar with agricultural pursuits when but a boy, and early imbibed the ideas of independence and industry which are essential to a successful career in any calling. Born on a farm, he involuntarily grew up with a knowledge of agricultural affairs, and at an early period he was made to feel that he was as equally responsible for harmony, justice and equity in governmental affairs as in social relations. The quiet home life of the farm, the absence from temptation and the moral teachings of a Christian family, have a decided tendency to firmly establish lifelong principles in the minds of those who are so fortunate as to come under these influences in early life. Under such circumstances our subject was reared and his primary education was received in the common schools. Later he attended Logan Academy. His father possessed a good library and took several of the leading daily and weekly papers, so that young Henshey acquired habits of reading valuable and instructive books, a habit which he has continued up to the present time. By means of this he has gained a fund of knowledge and added to the cultivation of his mind. At the early age of sixteen years, July 4, 1863, he enlisted in Capt. McKeage's Independent Battalion of Pennsylvania Militia, and was on guard service in the State for three months. After this he attended the Iron City Commercial College, Pittsburgh, Penn., in 1865, and graduated the same year, after which he began his commercial career in Altoona, remaining there for four years. On the 3d of April, 1869, he came to Springfield, Mo., and engaged as clerk for McElhaney & Jaggard, and after a year's time bought out the interest of Mr. Jaggard. For a year and a half after this the firm was McElhaney & Henshey, and then Mr. D. M. Woodbury was admitted to the firm and the name was changed to McElhaney, Henshey & Co. In August, 1873, Henshey and Woodbury purchased Mr. McElhaney's interest in the business and the firm name was changed to Henshey & Woodbury. This firm did a successful business in Springfield for five years. In 1878 the firm removed to Lincoln, Neb., where business was conducted for three years, after which Mr. Henshey returned to Springfield and engaged in business on the east side of the square. Later he became manager for J. A. Dittrick & Co., dry-goods merchant, and continued with them for four years. He was then elected treasurer of Greene County by the Republicans and led his ticket by a plurality of 1,204 over his Democratic opponent, and ran ahead of Harrison 414. Nothing could better illustrate his popularity and the confidence the people of Greene County have in his integrity and character. For many years Mr. Henshey has been known to the people as a man of excellent business ability and personal honor, and was supported by the leading mercantile houses of Springfield. He is a gentleman worthy in every particular and stands very high, not only in political, but also in business and social circles. He has always been a Republican, and while he has ever taken a deep interest in political affairs, he has never been a professional politician, and this was his first effort for a county office. Socially Mr. Henshey is a member of the Blue Lodge of Masons. In 1873 he married Miss Mary E. Estes, daughter of David and Mary Estes, whose father was a prominent contractor of Knoxville, Tenn., and died there. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Henshey: Alice E., Ora B. and Harry C. Our subject is a member of the Baptist Church and was treasurer of the same for nine consecutive years. Mrs. Henshey holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church. As a public official Mr. Henshey stands deservedly high in the estimation of the people of Greene County, not only on account of the prompt and honorable manner in which he fulfills his duties, but on account of his genial and gentlemanly bearing toward everyone. His long experience as a merchant, his skill and accuracy as an accountant enables him to fill the office of county treasurer in a capable and efficient manner. His daughter, Ora B., graduated from the Springfield High School in the class of 1893. The family name was originally Henshaw, but many generations ago was changed to Henshey. THOMAS B. HOLDER is a physician and surgeon of Greene County, Mo., who possesses a genius for his calling, and for that reason has attained an enviable reputation among the citizens of the county as well as his professional brethren. He is a product of Polk County, Mo., born in 1857, a son of Moses F. and Elizabeth (Jones) Holder, the former born in Alabama in 1833 and the latter in Washington County, Tenn., in 1840. When two years old Moses Holder was taken by his parents to Polk County, Mo., and there he received such education as could be obtained at the common district schools, married and spent the remainder of his days. He resided for some years about in the center of the county and when Thomas B. was a little boy removed to a few miles north of Walnut Grove where he died in 1887, a prosperous farmer. During the great Civil War he served in the Home Guards for about two years and then for three years, or until the close of the war, he was in Company H, Eighth Missouri Cavalry, Union Army, serving in southwest Missouri. He was a member of a large family of children, one of whom died soon after coming to the State. The others are. William, who died in Texas; John C., a farmer of Polk County; Benjamin, Burton and Jackson, all farmers of Texas; Lewis, who was killed in the Confederate Army; Martin A. (deceased); Samantha (Looney); and Amanda (Bray). Their father was Bledsoe Holder, a Tennesseean by birth, in which State he was reared, married and lived a few years, later going to Alabama where he spent some time. He came to Polk County, Mo., in 1835 and there improved a good farm on which he lived for many years. Later he removed to near Walnut Grove and just before the opening of the Civil War, he went to Texas for his health where he died, his wife's death occurring there also, a few years ago at the age of ninety-two years. She was of German descent, was very small and never weighed over 100 pounds. Mr. Holder was of English descent. Elizabeth Jones, the mother of the subject of this sketch is living at Walnut Grove and is in her fifty-second year. She has long been identified with the Baptist Church and is a woman of many noble traits of character. Thomas Jones, her father, was a Tennesseean and after his marriage in that State he came to Greene County, Mo., where he followed farming successfully until the Civil War, in the very early part of which he was wantonly killed while at his home. His widow died a few years ago, both have been consistent members of the Christian Church. Their children were as follows: George W., of California, was in the Federal Army during the. Civil War; William (deceased) was in the Confederate Army; James died soon after the close of the war; John M. resides in this county; Isaac L. is a resident of Polk County, Mo.; Nancy J. is the wife of John W. Blakey, of Polk County; Elizabeth (Mrs. Holder); Dr. Thomas B. Holder is the eldest of three children that were given to his parents; the other two members being Walter M., a farmer of Polk County, and Annie J. who died at the age of three years. The Doctor was reared on a farm and obtained a practical education in the neighboring schools, finishing his education at Morrisville Institute. At the age of twenty-two years be began reading medicine with Drs. J. K. Perry and Jefferson Lemmon of Walnut Grove and in 1880 he entered the Missouri Medical College, from which he graduated two years later. He practiced two years at Cave Springs and since then he has been located at Walnut Grove where he has an exceptionally large practice, due to his devotion to his profession, his thorough knowledge of it and his good habits. In 1880 be was married to Rosetta I., daughter of Robert and Mahala Davis, who came from Tennessee to this State in an early day and are now among the respected citizens of Walnut Grove. Mrs. Holder was born in Greene County, Mo., and she and the Doctor are the parents of four children: Winnie, Moses F., Robert Harry, and B----. The Doctor is a Mason and a member of O'Sullivan, Lodge, No. 7. PROF. H. A. HOLLISTER. There is no profession more useful than that of the educator. In all ages he has been honored above most of his follow men and many of the names that have come down to us through the ages and will be known of men to the end of time are those of teachers. True their methods differed from those of the modern teacher under the different conditions of their times, but their lore was handed down through generation after generation and formed the basis of the text books introduced after the invention of printing. The old philosophers so-called were teachers and many of our modern teachers are philosophers. The work of the teacher never dies, and he lives in the memory of his pupils after others are forgotten. He not only informs the human mind but he impresses the human heart for good or for evil, and many a good man has become good because his preceptor was good. Missouri has been fortunate in having many educational institutions of real merit, presided over by men who would ably fill the chair of any college in the land; and its public schools have been no less meritorious. One of the leading and most progressive educators in the State today is Prof. H. A. Hollister, principal of the Springfield High School, and something of a biographical character concerning him forms an essential portion of this volume. Prof. Hollister is descended from Puritan ancestors. Lieut. John Hollister, the founder of the family in America, was born at Glastenbury in the north of England. He came with his family to America in 1634 and settled at what is now known as South Glastenbury, Conn., nine miles below Hartford. He was a Puritan in his religious belief and like many of the early settlers of New England, he left his native land that he might worship God in peace and in his own, way, according to the dictates of his own conscience. He was one of the original settlers of South Glastenbury and was one of those sterling characters who assisted in establishing civil and religious liberty in the New England States. He died in Connecticut in 1665 at the age of fifty-nine years, having married in 1634 Joan Treat, who was born in Glastenbury, England, in 1608. Their son John was born at Glastenbury, Conn., in 1642 and died there in 1711. He married Sarah Goodrich in 1667, who was born at Glastenbury. Their son Thomas was born at Glastenbury in 1672 and died at the same place in 1742, having married, in 1696, Dorothy Hill, of Glastenbury. Josiah Hollister, their son, was born at Glastenbury in 1696, and died at the same place in 1766. He was married to Martha Miller in 1718 and their son Amos was born in 1724, dying at his birthplace, Glastenbury, in 1779, having married Bathsheba Wadsworth in 1750. Ashbel Hollister, their child, was born in 1755 at Glastenbury and died there in 1840, having been married in 1790 to Mary Pepper at New Braintree, Mass. The birth of their son Horace occurred at Pawlet, Vt., in 1798 at which place he died in 1876. He was married to Julia Smith of Pawlet in 1824. She died in 1836. Their son, William H., was the father of the subject of this sketch. For six generations the family were prominent citizens of Glastenbury and were farmers, soldiers, patriots and men of devout religious convictions. Ashbel Hollister, the great grandfather of the subject of this sketch, removed to Pawlet, Vt., in 1781 and was a soldier of the Revolution, serving under the renowned Polish nobleman, Kosciusko. He reared seven sons and two daughters. He was a miller, by trade and in religious belief was a Presbyterian. He was respected by the people of his native town and was a member of the Board of Selectmen of Pawlet in 1801. This was an office of importance in those days, as the board governed the affairs of the town and only men of high character and good judgement were selected for this office. His son, Ashbel W., was a member of the General Assembly of Vermont in 1842. The Hollisters were noted for their love of liberty. Ashbel was a soldier of the Revolution and Francis S., Albert E. and Willis H., all from Pawlet, were soldiers in the War of 1812; and members of the families have served in all the important American wars. Horace Hollister, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was the father of twelve children by his two wives. He was a wagon manufacturer and followed that occupation at different places in New York until his death at Westfield in 1876. He was an enterprising man of business and was considered wealthy. He was a Republican and a strong Abolitionist in politics. He was a man of exceptionally high character and an earnest member of the Presbyterian Church. His son William H. Hollister, was born at Warsaw, N. Y., in January, 1830, and was given a common school and academical education. He devoted his life to farming and in 1849 was married to Margaret, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Perry) Wilcox, by whom he became the father of the following children: William H., John J., George F., Alson A., Horace A., Ella M., Jane H. and Grace M. After his marriage Mr. Hollister settled at Westfield, N. Y., where he remained until after the birth of his third child in 1854 when he moved to Manchester, Delaware County, Iowa, and purchased a farm on which he still lives. He cleared this farm of timber and by industry and thrift has made his land one of the most valuable tracts in that section of the country. He has always been a stanch Republican in politics and keeps well informed on the vital questions of the day and in earlier life took an active interest in political matters. He was one of the organizers of his township and held the office of township trustee for several years. He has always been a friend of education and for a number of years was a member of the School Board and treasurer of his township. He was one of the first to take an interest in the organization of the Grange movement and was master of the county grange at different periods. He is liberal in his views, benevolent in disposition and kindly disposed to all and has never been found niggardly in his support of causes worthy his patronage. He has a high sense of honor and it may well be said of him that his word is as good as his bond. He is a lover of law and order and the people repose the utmost confidence in his judgment and honor. Horace A. Hollister, the subject of this sketch, was born on his father's farm in Iowa October 14, 1857, and early acquired those valuable habits of industry which have marked the career of the farmer's boy in whatever line of labor he may choose to follow. After attending the district schools he attended the high school at Manchester, after which he taught a district school in Delaware County for one year. Having a desire to gain a wider and more complete education he entered the preparatory department of the Iowa State University, having earned the where-with-all to pay his expenses, and there he fitted himself for the University. Following this he taught in the graded schools of Delaware, Masonville and Edgewood, Iowa, and for three years was principal of the Springdale Seminary in Cedar County. Thus while gaining his collegiate education, he also gained a wide and practical experience in his chosen profession. He took a full classical course in the university and graduated with honor in 1888. His vacations were spent in teaching and in this manner he procured means to pay all his collegiate expenses. After his graduation he became superintendent of the schools of Bellevue, Iowa, where he remained three years, after which he filled the same position for two years at Argentine, Kas., and in 1892 was appointed principal of the High School of Springfield. In his school work he believes in modern methods, and while he is a thorough disciplinarian, uses mild measures. He is an advocate of an extended course of study in the high school and is in favor of classical course which will fit pupils for college. Like his father before him, he is a man of liberal views and is keenly alive to the current issues of the day. Prof. Hollister was married March 16, 1881, to Emma A. Satchwell, whose father served in an Iowa regiment during the Civil War and died in camp at Vicksburg. They have three children: Edith M., Ethel A- and Noble P. The Professor and his wife are members of the First Congregational Church of Springfield and he has at different places been deacon of this church. He is an Independent Republican, and socially is a member of the National Union and was speaker of his lodge at Argentine, Kan. He is a practical educator, a man of broad and cultured mentality, a clear thinker and reasoner and an easy and forcible speaker, expressing himself at times with eloquence. He is in every respect fitted for the office he fills, which the citizens of Springfield are not slow to recognize; and being genial, refined and courteous in manners he at all times commands the respect of his pupils as well as their parents and all who know him. Mrs. Hollister's parents were George W. and Mandana E. (Shaw) Satchwell, the former of whom was a native of Broom County, N. Y., and of English descent. He married in the State of his birth and after settling at Epworth, Dubuque County, Iowa, followed the occupation of a farmer with success. He and his wife were the parents of four children: Manley E., Kate, Edith and Emma A. August 22, 1862, Mr. Satchwell enlisted at Epworth, Iowa, in Company F, Twenty-first Iowa Volunteer Infantry and was in the service of his country less than one year when his death occurred at Vicksburg June 22, 1863. He was a man of great energy, industry and of excellent character and was a worthy member of the Presbyterian Church. Prof. Hollister attributes much of his success in life to the influence of his wife, who adds to the many sterling qualities inherited from her parents, a good practical education, not only in the culture of schools but also in the affairs of the home and of society. S. H. HORINE. The industries of Springfield are principally of an important character, ably and successfully carried on, the products being such as to have secured for this western town a reputation of which any might well be proud. Prominent among the successful business men of the town is S. H. Horine who is the secretary and general manager of the Springfield Ice and Refrigerator Company of the place. He has filled many positions of trust in his lifetime, but since he has become the manager of the large ice manufacturing plant of this town, it has prospered and become one of the prominent enterprises of the county. This plant was established in 1889 with a capital stock of $45,000, and the first officers of the company were James Rilley, president; James Slaughter, vice-president; H. S. Heffernan, secretary; and J. S. Ambrose, treasurer and manager. Thus it continued for some time, but the stock was purchased by capitalists of St. Louis, and the officers are at present: Adolph Bush, president; August A. Bush, vice-president; W. H. Horine Jr., treasurer; and S. H. Horine, secretary and manager. The plant is located on Phelps Avenue, between Boonville and Campbell Streets, and is also located on the Frisco & Gulf R. R., with side tracks of its own. This is the largest plant of its kind in southwest Missouri. The building is a large brick, and twenty-five tons are manufactured to supply the city trade. Vast quantities are shipped to smaller towns in this section of the State, and a specialty is made of shipping car loads to other cities and towns. Ice is shipped to Kansas, Arkansas, Indian Territory and other places. This is really the most important business in a community and adds much to the city's reputation as a business center. The ice is taken to any part of the city by Mr. Horine's ice wagon and found to be of the purest and best. The plant has in contemplation a large cold storage room, and Mr. Horine is agent for the Anheuser-Busch Brewing Company of St. Louis. The office of the company is located at 230 Phelps Avenue, Springfield. Mr. Horine has made his home in that thriving city since 1871. He came originally from Waterloo, Ill., and when but a lad became clerk in a dry goods store, continuing in that capacity until the year 1871, when he came to Springfield to establish a dry goods store for Mr. Heer. He built up a good patronage and carried on the business until 1876 when he started a grocery house, following the same for two or three years. Later he embarked in the wholesale liquor business, continued this for some time, but lately he has represented the Anheuser-Busch Brewing Company of St. Louis. Mr. Horine is a thorough business man and is wide awake and enterprising. He resides at 804 East E; Street. He selected his wife in the person of Miss Mary E. Condon of Springfield and nine children were born to them. The family attend the Catholic Church and are highly esteemed by all. Mr. Horine is a Democrat and takes a deep interest in all public matters. Socially he is a K. of P., Lodge No. 86. JUDGE JAMES M. HOSEY. The gentleman whose name heads this sketch possesses that versatility, quick wit and perseverance so characteristic of his Irish ancestors, for from that country the founder of the family came in the, person of Andrew Hosey, and settled in Lancaster County, Penn. Matthew Hosey, his son, was born in Lancaster County, between 1765 and 1770, served as a soldier in the War of 1812, participating in a number of skirmishes while on the Lake Erie campaign. He became a substantial farmer of Clarion County, Penn., having moved from that region from Erie County in 1806. He became the owner of about 700 acres of fine farming land, and was deputy land agent for the Bingham Land Estate for a number of years. He was married to Jane Miller who also came of Irish stock and together they reared a family of nine children: Andrew, Isabella, Martha, Matilda, Sarah, Elizabeth, Louisa, Samuel, and Mary. Mr. Hosey died on the farm where he had labored so long and faithfully in 1843, at the age of seventy-five years, having been a prominent and respected citizen of this section and an earnest member of the Methodist Church. His son Samuel, was born in Clarion County, Penn., May 12, 1810, and in his youth attended the common schools in the vicinity of his rural home. Upon starting out to fight the battle of life for himself he followed in his father's and grandfather's footsteps, and became a farmer, eventually becoming the owner of one of the finest and most productive farms in that section of the State. He was married in his native county to Sarah Newell and to them were born seven children, four of whom lived to mature years: James M., Elcinda, Marvin M., and Benson H. At the opening of the Civil War Marvin M. joined the Twelfth Pennsylvania Cavalry and served as a private soldier two years, participating in a number of engagements. Mr. Hosey was a stanch Union man during the Rebellion, was an enthusiastic Republican and he and his wife were consistent members of the Methodist Church, in which he held various important offices. He was a man of strong convictions, his kindness of heart was proverbial and during the seventy-three years of his life naught was ever said derogatory to his honor. He died on his farm in Clarion County, Penn., in 1883. James M. Hosey, the subject of this sketch, was born on this farm, September 25, 1832, and received such education as could be obtained in the country schools, which he attended during the winter months, his summers being spent in assisting his father on the farm. He later entered Allegheny College, Meadville, Penn., from which he was graduated in 1858, after which he became principal of the Academy at West Freedom, Penn., and held the position until 1861, in which year he received the degree of A. M. from his Alma Mater. Very shortly after he enlisted in Company E., Seventy-eighth Regiment Volunteer Infantry, was elected captain by his comrades and was commissioned such by the Governor. He was an active participant in the battles of Stone River, Hoover's Gap, Missionary Ridge, and in the Atlanta Campaign at New Hope Church, Kenesaw Mountain and numerous skirmishes. He was also in the battle of Dalton. He was promoted to the rank of major by the petition of the regimental officers and received his commission in June, 1864. The 4th of November following he was honorably discharged from the service and returned home. He was on active duty all the time while in the service and made a faithful and efficient soldier and officer. He was in the hospital only three weeks while in the service. He was married Nov. 15, 1860, to Miss Genira Lawson, daughter of R. D. and Sybilla (Stopp) Lawson, and to their union the following children were born; Minnie T., Robert E., Matilda J., Samuel N., John C., Kate L., Annie L., Daisy and Belle. After the war Major Hosey settled in Venango County, Penn., and while there was engaged in boating oil and coal. In 1872 he came to Greene County, Mo, and the following year bought his present farm of 100 acres, which is advantageously located on Grand Prairie, eight miles southwest of Springfield. Mr. Hosey has always been a strong Republican in politics, and in the fall of 1882 his party showed its appreciation of his ability and usefulness to his party by electing him to the office of county judge, receiving a re-election two years later. He filled this responsible position with the greatest credit, discharged his duties impartially and with sound judgment, and his administration was a wise and satisfactory one. In 1889 he was elected to represent the western district of Greene County in the State Legislature and the reputation which he had previously gained as a wise and intelligent man, was fully substantiated during this time. He and Mrs. Hosey are members of the Methodist Church and he is a member of the G. A. R., Brookline Post, No. 397, in which he has held the office of Senior Vice Commander. There is not a man in Greene County who stands higher for honor and intelligence than Mr. Hosey, and it is needless to say that he numbers his friends by the score. S. M. HOUSTON. One of the prominent officials of Greene County and an honored citizen of Springfield is Judge Houston who springs from an old Colonial family, a member of which was the famous Gen. Sam Houston. The great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch came from Ireland, was of Scotch-Irish descent and a Covenanter in his religious views. Two brothers came to this country with him, one settling in Maryland and the other in Virginia, and from these two descends the Southern branch of the family, many of whom have become distinguished men. The grandfather of the subject of this sketch settled in Maryland, near Baltimore, and there paid the last debt of nature. His son, Robert, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Maryland, and when a young man was present as a teamster, at the battle of Havre-de-Grace, being too young to serve as a soldier. He went to Hamilton County, Ohio, and was there married to Matilda McMillan, daughter of Daniel McMillan, a prominent and extensive flour manufacturer, who finally settled in Indiana, in Fountain County, on the Shawnee Plains. Here he followed the occupation of a miller and the trade of a millwright, and was successful in the accumulation of a competency. He and his wife were the parents of three children: Sampson M., Ellen and Matilda; but after the death of the wife and mother in Ohio, Mr. Houston went to Indiana and was married there to Nancy Rock, who bore him three sons: William, Robert and James. The older Houston family were members and attendants of the Presbyterian Church, but Robert Houston and wife became members of the old Christian Church, in which Mr. Houston was a leader of the choir and a clerk. He held the rank of major in the Indiana Militia for a long time, and was a man of exceptionally upright and honorable character. Sampson M. Houston, his son and the subject of this sketch, was born in ________ County, near Cincinnati, Ohio, July 14, 1826, and there is a tradition in the family that the maternal grandfather once owned 160 acres of land on the site of that city. He was but two years of age when taken by his parents to Indiana, and at the age of ten years he went to live with his aunt, Mary Rogers, his mother's sister, by whom he was brought up on a farm near Crawfordsville, and during this; time he attended the district schools and learned the details of farm work. Not being satisfied with the education thus obtained he began devoting his evenings to study, and in this manner he gained a good education and became the teacher of the district school in his neighborhood before he was twenty-one, years of age. After pursuing this occupation for some time with commendable success, he prepared himself for the academy at Crawfordsville, which he attended one year, his expenses being paid with money, obtained by his own labor; in fact, he supported himself and gained his education from the time he was seventeen years of age. Having fitted himself for a higher course of education he entered Wabash College at the age of twenty-four years, where he pursued his studies for two years. Following this he taught in the public school at Crawfordsville, where he received a salary larger than that of any other teacher there, owing to the fact that he was a fine disciplinarian, and an intelligent and thorough instructor. After a time he turned his attention to general farming and stock raising, and at the opening of the great Civil War, having declined the nomination of representative to the State Legislature, he dropped the plow and harrow to assist in the organization of the State Militia, and received the appointment of colonel of the Montgomery Regiment, succeeding Gen. Lew Wallace, filled this position during the war and did effectual and valuable service in keeping order during these distressing times in his part of the State. Having been an earnest member of the Christian Church for some years he was ordained a clergyman in 1848 and began evangelical work, and when the war opened he was district evangelist. After the close of the war he engaged in the manufacture of brick and became a contractor, and erected many of the handsomest and most substantial buildings in Crawfordsville. in which business he continued until his removal to Indianapolis in 1873, in which city he turned his attention to the purchase and sale of real estate. During the eleven years that he remained there he held the office of active mayor of Irvington, a suburb of Indianapolis, and was justice of the peace and chairman of the committee that removed Butler University from Indianapolis to Irvington. In 1880 he was appointed, through the personal knowledge of Gen. Garfield, to organize and make effective the religious element of the Christian Church in Indiana, and act as controlling chairman in the interests of Garfield for his election to the presidency, and in this he succeeded, and received the personal thanks of Gen. Garfield after his election. In 1881 he came to Springfield, Mo., and bought both residence and business property, and as a means of livelihood engaged in the coffee and spice business and has also been engaged in the manufacture of apple products. In 1890 he was elected by a large majority to the position of associate county judge, a position which he still fills with credit. While making the race for second term he ran ahead of his ticket. Judge Houston has been a presiding elder in his church and is called the "father" of the south side Christian Church, as he was one of its prominent founders. In 1848 he was married to Maggie McCollough, daughter of James and Margaret (Maxwell) McCollough, a sister of Prof. McCollough, of Irvington College, California. To the judge and his wife four children have been given: James H., Alice C., May T. and Edward M. W. D. HUBBARD. No matter how disagreeable the outlook in life, or how little encouragement is received, there are some who will succeed in whatever they undertake, while others, placed in the same position, will give up in despair. Among those who have won universal respect by push and energy and by his adaptability to the profession of law, may be mentioned W. D. Hubbard who has come boldly to the front, and, with the perseverance and progressive spirit of the native Kentuckian, has surmounted all difficulties. In pursuing the very important and necessary calling of law, he has met with a degree of success flattering in the extreme, and has not only shown that he is well posted in his profession, but that he can practically apply his knowledge, and as a natural consequence his services have been greatly in demand. He is a native of Kirksville, Madison County, Ky., born on the third day of October, 1840, a son of John H. and Sarah A. (Brooks) Hubbard, the former of whom was also born in Ky., in 1816, a son of Daniel Hubbard who was a native of Virginia, to which State they removed from England taking an active part in the War for Independence in behalf of the Colonies. Harrison Hubbard, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a man of wealth but being an enthusiastic patriot it was all spent in behalf of the cause he espoused. His wealth was obtained by tilling the soil in Maryland, where he was living at the time of the struggle with the mother country, and he took a very prominent part in all the affairs of his State, being highly respected. His wife was a Miss Marier, who was connected with the well known King family, of Virginia. Her father was a leader of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in an early day he was appointed surveyor of the State of Virginia. In 1845, when the subject of this sketch was about five years of age, his father emigrated to Missouri and settled in Ray County but a year later removed to Caldwell County, and in 1851 to Clinton County where he became well known as a, politician and merchant. He possessed oratorical powers of a high quality, was eloquent, forcible, logical and convincing, and in the political arena was considered one of its brightest lights. He married his wife in Kentucky, she being a daughter of John Brooks, a prominent man of his section and a large slave holder. Although a native of Virginia he inherited English and Welsh stock of his ancestors. John H. Hubbard was an earnest and influential member of the Christian Church, and politically was first a Whig but later became a Republican and as such continued until his death, which occurred in 1877. Upon the opening of the great Civil War in 1861 he raised a regiment of cavalry, but in the early part of that great struggle he was shot in the thigh and was honorably discharged in Jasper County. His wife died in 1859, after having borne him ten children: Elizabeth E., who married L. Pardue, is living in Clay County, Missouri; W. D., the subject of this sketch; Charles H., who died in 1860 at the age of eighteen years; Moses, who is living in Kansas City, was a soldier in the Sixth Missouri Cavalry, was captured and sentenced to be shot. He is a successful merchant and a man of family; Mary L. is the deceased wife of James Logan; John Harrison was a merchant of Springfield and is now deceased; Sarah married a Mr. Smith, and upon her death left a family; Olive M. is living in Kansas City, Mo.; Olive is deceased, and Edward E., who is a successful miller and well-to-do citizen of Jasper County, Mo., is married and has a family. After the death of the mother of these children the father married again and by his second wife became the father of seven children. He was a member of the A. F. & A. M., and was a warm supporter of the cause of temperance. The early life of W. D. Hubbard was spent in northwest Missouri where he obtained a practical education in the common schools and art academy. At an early age he began teaching school, and while successfully pursuing this occupation he began the study of law and continued until the opening of the Rebellion, when he at once cast aside personal considerations to take up arms in defense of his country, and after serving for a short time in a volunteer company he became a member of Company B., of the Sixth Missouri Cavalry and served as a Cavalryman and officer for nearly five years, being in the Missouri Department. He was promoted to the rank of major, in May, 1862, being promoted to first lieutenant the following December, and serving s such until September, 1864, when he was appointed to the position of first lieutenant of the Thirteenth Missouri Veteran Cavalry, and from March, 1865, he was captain of that company. He was brevet major and brevet colonel of Volunteers, being promoted for gallant and valuable services, and was on the staff of John B. Saunders from November 1863 until September 1864. He was assistant commissary musterer of the Department of Missouri from 1865 till August, 1866, during which time he mustered in many officers and mustered out over 30,000 men. He was with Gens. Schofield and Pope, and at the battle of Lone Jack, Mo., he was wounded in the right leg, but being the commander of the troops during the latter part of that engagement, he successfully conducted their retreat. He was also in the engagements at Independence and Little Blue, and in 1862 was taken prisoner with his father and his brother Moses. He and the latter were sentenced to be shot, but the close of the war prevented this from being carried out. Soon after the termination of hostilities he came to Springfield, and was here married to Emily F. Powell, the daughter of Gen. Joseph F. Powell, a, prominent man of Greene County, and an active supporter of the Whig party, He was a wealthy trader of Springfield, because an extensive land holder and was very popular with all who know him. Mrs. Hubbard was born in Springfield, in 1847, and in the schools of this place and in St. Louis she received her education. She has bore her husband two children: Charles A., who is engaged in the mercantile business in Springfield, and Walter, who was educated in the schools of this city, after which he began the study of law, with his father, in 1890, and was admitted to the bar in 1892, after which he was appointed assistant prosecuting attorney of Greene County, Mo., and held the position under Hon. H. E. Havens, the prosecuting attorney. He is a young man of great promise and bids fair to follow in his worthy father's footsteps. W. D. Hubbard has always been an active politician and a stanch supporter of the Republican party, and in 1876 his services to his party were recognized by his election to the position of prosecuting attorney of Greene County, which he held during 1877 and 1878. In 1882 he was elected city attorney, and in the fall of the same year was elected county judge, the duties of which position he discharged in a very able and successful manner for six years. From 1874 to 1886 he was connected with the United States Circuit Court, and from 1871 to 1875 also held the position of justice of the peace. He has been an active practitioner, and his knowledge of law and his intelligence on all matters of public interest have won him a large clientage. His strength lies in his great fairness and liberality, coupled with a keen discernment of the motives behind actions. He himself never hesitates to explain fully his reasons for any line of action, and when he has explained them there is always a large following of friends who find that they agree with him exactly. Socially he is a member of New Harmony Lodge of the I. O. O. F., the K. of H., and is also much interested in the G. A. R. order. In his practice he has been connected with at least twenty of the most important criminal cases that have arisen in southwest Missouri, in several of which he has been ably assisted by his son. Their office is in the Baldwin Theatre building, Rooms Nos. 207 and 209, which are handsomely and appropriately fitted up and supplied with a good library. He has a beautiful and comfortable home on Springfield Avenue and enjoys the conveniences and luxuries which his own fine business qualities have gathered about him. REV. FATHER JOACHIN HUWYLER, O.S.B. was born August 12, 1850, in Dietwyl, Canton Argau, Switzerland. His father, John George Huwyler and mother, Rosa (King) Huwyler, were natives of that country also. The elder Huwyler was a farmer in good circumstances and a man of prominence in his native town, being mayor for many years. He is now deceased. Twelve children were born to this marriage, of whom Father Joachin was the youngest. The latter was educated at Engleberg, Switzerland, for the priesthood. In 1878 he came to America and on the 15th of October arrived at Conception, Mo., in company with three other fellow students. Father Joachin entered the monastery and studied philosophy and theology. He was ordained priest July 22, 1883. He was a professional musician, having acquired the art in Switzerland, and was choir master at Conception. After his ordination he was missionary priest from 1884 until 1886, and for two years and a half was pastor at Tipton, Mo. In May, 1889, he visited Europe, and his people in Switzerland, and visited the Paris Exposition and Berlin. He returned in October of the same year and remained at Conception one year as professor of theology and then was chaplain of Sacred Heart Convent at Yankton, S. D. He was called by the bishop to the Black Hills as mission priest in charge of six missions, and in 1893 he was called by his Abbott to become professor of music of St. Joseph's College, Springfield, Mo. Prof. Joachin has had the best advantages for the study of music in Europe and America, is a man of scholarly attainments and profound learning. He impresses all with whom he comes in contact as being an earnest, efficient and faithful laborer in his Master's service. CHARLES GALLOWAY. In the veins of the gentleman whose name heads this sketch, flows sterling Scotch blood, for his paternal grandfather, James Galloway was born in the land of "thistles and oatmeal" of Scotch parents. He immigrated to this country from the land of his birth in early manhood and later settled in the district known as the old Crab Orchard, Ky. He was the founder of the family in this country, and eventually passed from life in Knox County, Tenn. He was one of the pioneers of that State; was active in its development, and took part in a number of engagements with the Indians, when his home and that of his neighbors was threatened. Politically he was a Democrat. He reared a family of four sons and five daughters, Jesse Galloway, the father of the subject of this sketch being one of the former and a native of the "dark and bloody ground." He was taken to Tennessee when quite small and after residing there until about sixty years of age he removed to Indiana and in 1839 became a resident of Barry County, Mo., of which place he was a resident until his death ten years later. Like his father before him he was a Democrat and also like him he was active in assisting in the settlement of his section, which at that time was a very wild state, inhabited by plenty of wild game of various kinds. He took part in the Creek Seminole and Cherokee Indian wars, and was also a participant in the War of 1812. He was married in Tennessee to Miss Williams, who bore him three children: Dilla, Louie and Sallie, and after the death of his first wife, be again married in Tennessee, his second wife bearing him eight children: Mariah, Peggie, Elizabeth, Charles (the subject of this sketch), Alexander, Caroline, Mary and one who died in infancy. The mother died in Morgan County. Ind., in 1836, her birth having occurred in Tennessee, she being a member of a prominent old family of that State, by the name of Caldwell. The father's third marriage was to a Mrs. Coons who bore him three children: Melville, Anna and Francis. The last wife is still living, though advanced in years, in Barry County, Mo. Charles Galloway, whose name heads this sketch, was born in Knox County, Tenn., October 5, 1825, a son of Jesse Galloway, mentioned above. He grew to manhood in Barry County Mo., and as game was very abundant in those days he became a skillful marksman. When the Mexican War came up he enlisted as a private in Company G, Third Regiment of Missouri Mounted Volunteers, which company was raised in the vicinity of Springfield and was commanded by Capt. Samuel A. Booke. It was sent up the Rio Grande River and until the war closed was engaged in fighting with the Indians. Mr. Galloway rose to the rank of major, and while fighting with the Apaches was wounded in the foot, from which he yet suffers considerably. He returned to Springfield after the war ended and arriving on election day he cast his Vote for Cass and Butler. He was married in 1849, immediately purchased the old homestead and with his young bride settled down to farming, which ideal country life was broken in upon by the bursting of the war cloud which had so long hovered over the country, in 1861. The country round about was at that time infested by bushwhackers, and after a number of cold blooded murders Charles Galloway, without waiting for authority, organized a company in Stone County (formerly Barry) and tendered his services to Gen. Lyon, at Springfield, who at first ordered the company to remain on home guard duty, but be participated in the Dug Creek fight and returned to Lyon just after the battle of Wilson's Creek, having scouted for him. He and his men protected the families that had been threatened by bushwhackers, and in his vigilance and activity made it rather warm for these desperadoes during 1861-2. His capture was very much desired by the guerrillas and Capt. Galloway was in one quite severe engagement with the noted guerrilla chief, Bledsoe, and while the latter lost fifteen men, only one of his own men went down. He afterward made his report to Gen. Lyon and by that brave and gallant chieftain was made a scout and was requested to ascertain where Gen. Price had his forces, and this he succeeded in doing satisfactorily, and also in finding out the size of the force commanded by Price. Although he was out on scouting duty when the battle of Wilson's Creek began, he heard the firing of the guns eight miles away and hurried back to Gen. Lyon's assistance and fought bravely all that day. Upon learning that the battle was lost and that Gen. Lyon was killed he made his way to Stone County and succeeded in organizing a company which he later turned over to Gen. Fremont. He was frequently sent out on scouting expeditions under Col. John M. Richardson, the chief of scouts of Missouri. He captured with twenty others of his company by 150 Confederates sent out for that purpose, was taken to Keithsville and was confined in a corn crib for two days and nights, being allowed one meal every twenty-four hours. He was then taken before Judge Bird and when asked by him if he was willing to join the southern army he replied that he was not, and when in imminent danger of being hung, friends came to his relief and he returned home. Fourteen days before the battle of Pea Ridge he again became a scout and by gaining timely information saved a large train of supplies from being cut off by the enemy. In 1862 he was made a captain in the First Arkansas Cavalry and on August 7 was mustered into the service. On September 19 he and others captured the town of Cassville, Mo., killed fifteen and captured twenty men. On October 18 Capt. Galloway was ordered to Elk Horn and Lovejoy and while there did much dangerous scouting. December 1 he was sent out with a company of 100 men to break up Ewart's band of marauders, and found them about fifteen miles north of Fayetteville, Ark., where they had a fight in which Ewarts and one other man were killed and several wounded. Capt. Galloway seemed specially adapted to this line of work, for he was brave, determined, had a thorough knowledge of the country and when told to do a certain thing was disposed to do it. He lent valuable assistance to the Union cause, and his name will long be remembered by those whom be protected during the times of lawless border warfare. He was in many engagements through Missouri and Arkansas and on January 4, 1863, with only twenty men, made a dash into Ozark, Ark., and when ordered to halt gave his characteristic order to charge, the result being that a number of prisoners were taken, also several horses, and a number of guns and some stores destroyed. He was also sent to Crawford County to break up the gang of Peter Mankin's desperadoes, who were supposed to be hiding there, and while on route had a fight with Col. Dorsey near Ozark, in which be had only one man wounded while he repulsed, a large force of the enemy and killed a number. Near Wilson's farm in Crawford County he learned that the band of desperadoes numbered thirty men and were just across the Arkansas River in the cane brake, and he wisely decided it was impracticable to attack them, while Capt. Travis, who was with him insisted upon doing so and was killed with several of his men. After the war be settled at what is now Galloway Station, having purchased the land prior to the close of the war, but the cyclone of 1880 destroyed his house there and his wife was killed. Their marriage occurred in February, 1849, her maiden name being Susan Carney, a native of Illinois and daughter of Judge Thomas Carney, who came from Edwards County, Ill., to Barry County, Mo., where he was called from life. To Mr. and Mrs. Galloway eleven children were born, nine of whom are living: Catherine, wife of Richard King is living in Idaho; Thomas is a farmer in Kansas; Jesse is a resident of Greene County, Mo.; Nathaniel is a resident of Oregon; Charles; Susan J., wife of D. Thompson, is a resident of Greene County; Absalom is a farmer of Kansas; Alexander resides in Greene County and two, George and Sarah, died in infancy, and Andrew Jackson, the youngest, still makes his home with his father. After his house was destroyed and his wife killed, Mr. Galloway bought the farm on which he is now residing and is now living retired from the active duties of life. He was born October 15, 1825, and is therefore now in his sixty-eighth year. He has always been a Democrat politically and has ever manifested much interest in the political affairs of his section, but has. Never been a seeker after office. He has long been connected with the Baptist Church, and socially he was at one time a Mason. He has been successful as a business man, and his farm of 220 acres is considered one of the most valuable in the county. He has frequently owned much more than this but finds that his present estate is all he can look after properly. He is a man of sterling principles, of an agreeable and genial disposition and that he may live to goodly old age is the wish of all who know him. F. E. GATES HARDWARE COMPANY. The present is an age of machinery, the main efforts of inventive minds being directed toward labor-saving appliances, there being scarcely an industry or art that has not profited by man's success in this particular. The F. E. Gates Hardware Company took the above title in October, 1892, having prior to that time been owned by B. A. Bronson, who established in about 1885 on Boonville Street, where it still remains. Mr. Gates, the head of the present company, was born at Red Wing, Minn., February 9, 1863, a son of George W. Gates, and in 1870 the family came to Missouri and settled at Carthage, where the father died some six years ago. He was a contractor and builder by occupation, and to this occupation devoted his attention for many years. His widow died in Illinois in January, 1893. F. E. Gates was educated in Carthage, Mo., and in 1882 started upon a business career with S. A. Brown & Co., with whom he was connected for about ten years. In 1889 he became a lumberman and did a successful contracting business on Boonville Street, Springfield, which, he continued up to the time he purchased his present business. While engaged in contracting he erected a number of the handsomest residences and business blocks of the city, among which may be mentioned the residences of Mr. Lamoreaux, W. J. Johnson, C. W. McMasters and G. A. Ramsey. As a contractor he was remarkably successful, but the business in which he is now engaged offered better inducements and he embarked in it as above stated. He at once purchased a large stock of excellent goods, valued at $10,000, comprising shelf and heavy hardware, building hardware, stoves, ranges, and in fact everything that comes under his line of business. In addition to this he is quite extensively engaged in the manufacture of tin and sheet-metal goods, and now supplies a large local trade which was formerly supplied with these goods from other points. Under Mr. Gates' management the business has grown greatly and requires the entire premises at 305 Boonville Street, the building being 24xlOO feet, with three floors. On the first floor is their retail department and on the second the manufacturing department. Mr. Gates has been a resident of Springfield during the past twelve years, and during that time he has been the soul of honor in his business transactions, a secret, no doubt, of his success. He is industrious, enterprising and pushing, and although keenly alive to his own interests at all times it has never been at the expense of others, and he has the unbounded satisfaction of knowing that what he has in the way of worldly goods has been the result of his own earnest endeavor. Not only is he respected in business but also in social circles, and his good friends are legion. He was married in East Hampton, Mass., to Miss Harriet E. Clapp, and by her is the father of two children: Harriet E. and Frederick W. Mr. Gates owns a good residence at 1846 North Main Street and is also the owner of the property on Boonville Street where the lumber yard is located. He and his wife attend the First Congregational Church, and politically he has always been a Republican. James F. Gates, his brother, is the efficient bookkeeper for the company. He was born in Minnesota in 1868 and came to Springfield in 1882, having been educated at Carthage. He has been associated with his brother in the hardware business since the beginning of the business and is an active and energetic member of the firm. He was married to Miss Olive B. Haynes, of Springfield, and they are the parents of two children. Like his brother, he is a Republican, and like him, also, he is a public-spirited citizen. He began his business career about ten years ago as a clerk in a lumber yard, the most of the time being spent with S. A. Brown as business manager, and a very efficient one he made. He is business manager as well as bookkeeper of the firm of which he is now a member. He resides with his wife and two little daughters-- Helen and Marie--at 1353 Robberson Avenue, and they are regular attendants of the First Congregational Church. The brothers are most worthy men. and occupy a high place in the regard of all who know them. They are of the material of which worthy citizens are made and in all respects are model Americans. GAULT & DODSON. There is nothing that so certainly defines the vim and enterprise of a city as her first-class livery and sales stables, inasmuch as these are the barometers that indicate the pulse of the traveling public and those persons who are fond of a good ride behind a brisk team of roadsters. The establishments in this line in Springfield, Mo., are particularly prominent, the number including the finely-conducted house of Gault & Dodson, who, in all probability, stand at the head in this branch of business in this section. They have an excellent location on Walnut Street, and their stables are fitted with all the modern improvements, being well ventilated, healthy and comfortable. The building is a handsome two-story brick, modern in architecture and very conveniently arranged, and the upper floor is used for storing their carriages, while the lower floor is devoted to their excellent line of stock. These gentlemen keep a superb line of horses and carriages, and furnish first-classs turnouts of every description, and their place is a very popular headquarters for persons who are desirous of hiring a good team and buggy, the policy of the firm being one of strict attention to duty and to their patrons' interests. These gentlemen are old and tried business men, thoroughly understand every detail of their calling and are to be relied upon on all occasions. Their house is deserving the large patronage it receives, and of them it may with truth be said that when they have once secured a patron he is always a patron; a fact which speaks eloquently for the honor, promptness and reliability of the proprietors. MARK GAULT. The gentleman whose name beads this sketch is a native of Greene County, Mo., where he was born on September 14, 1852, seven miles east of Springfield. He is a son of Harvey W. and Margaret J. (Gibson) Gault, the former of whom was born in Franklin County, Tenn., a son of James Gault, who was of Irish descent. The latter was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and died in Tennessee. Harvey W. Gault came to Greene County, Mo., in 1843 and resided on a farm until his death in 1880. He was a Republican in politics, and was highly respected by all who knew him. His wife, who was born in Tennessee, was the daughter of John H. Gibson, who was a native of North Carolina and became an early settler of Greene County, Mo., where the remainder of his days were spent. Mrs. Gault died about 1889, having become the mother of eight children: Sarah, wife of C. C. Turner; John, who was a member of the Eighth Missouri Regiment during the Civil War, died at Jefferson City of exposure while in the service; Isabelle is the wife of G. W. Plummer, of Greene County; Mark; Mary is the wife of R. D. Smith, of Douglass County, Mo.; William B. is a stock trader of the city of Springfield; Lula is the wife of J. C. Gibson, of Springfield and Nathaniel, who is living on the old home place in Campbell Township. The parents of this family were very well and favorably known to the early settlers of the county, by whom they will long be remembered. Mark Gault was reared on the old home farm in this county and received the advantage of the district school in the vicinity of his rural home. When starting out in life for himself it was as a farmer near his old home, on the farm on which his grandfather Gibson had settled, but later moved to Taylor Township and in connection with Frank Smith began stock trading, in which business he was quite successful up to 1887. He then came to Springfield and opened a livery stable, by purchasing a half interest of A. P. Routh, with whom he was associated up to 1890, at which time he became sole proprietor. Since February, 1893, J. C. Dodson, has owned an interest in the business and the firm is known as Gault & Dodson. Their place of business is at 307, 309 and 311 West Walnut Street, Springfield, and they have built up a remunerative trade by upright business methods. Mr. Gault makes a specialty of his business and his barn is one of the handsomest and most substantial in the city, besides being exceptionally commodious and well adapted to displaying his many conveyances. Mr. Gault is a Republican in politics and has taken an active part in all public matters. He is decidedly public spirited and as a shrewd and far-seeing business man has not his superior in his section of the country. He is a member of the A. F. & A. M. Lodge, of Strafford, Mo., and the K. of P. Lodge of Springfield. He was married in January, 1880, to Miss Martha Claud of this county, a daughter of Calvin Claud. Mrs. Gault is a native of the county. JAMES M. GEAR. In looking, through any city, there is one thing that the beholder cannot help noticing and that is the large quantities of brick that are used in its construction and it stands to reason that if such a beholder were asked his opinion on the subject as to what formed the most important factor in its growth he would reply at once, "brick." This material plays a very important part in the building up of any city and therefore the brickyards and companies of any city must be considered as among its chiefest industries. In Springfield the firm of Gear, Lloyd & Co., brick manufacturers, stands at the head. Ephraim Gear, the grandfather of James M. Gear, was of Scotch-Irish descent and a resident of Wilmington, Del., for many years. He died in Philadelphia, where he and his wife are buried. They were the parents of four children: John, Washington, Joseph and Mary. John Morton Gear, the oldest child, was born in Wilmington, August 22, 1824, and was given a common school education in his youth. When young he learned the brick mason's trade, and after his removal to St. Louis in 1848 at the age of twenty-one years, he engaged in contracting and there erected some of the older buildings, among which was Ashbrook's Packing House. In 1852 be went to California by way of the Isthmus of Panama and was a gold minor in that region for about four years. At the end of that time he returned to St. Louis and shortly after to Waterloo, Ill., where be became a brick building contractor. In April, 1869, he came to Springfield and in the fall of the same year settled here with his family and at once began a contracting business which be followed for many years, becoming the most prominent brick contractor of Springfield. He built the Metropolitan Hotel, the Cotton Factory, Woolen Factory, Fairbank's Hall, Drury College and nine of the buildings on the west side of the public square, also the annex to the courthouse and many of the smaller business houses and residences. Socially he was both a Mason and an Odd Follow, and became a Knight Templar in the first mentioned organization. Politically he was a stanch Democrat throughout life and held the position of Justice of the Peace for one year, but resigned the office on account of ill health. He and his wife were members of the Southern Methodist Church, They were married June 10, 1849, her maiden name being Munn, a daughter of James and Eliza (Bates) Munn, the former of whom was born in Ohio, of Scotch parents and became a resident of St. Louis. He followed the occupations of farming and hotel keeping and in the latter part of his life was a member of the police force of St. Louis, and also held the office of Justice of the Peace for some time. He died in Henry County, Mo. To Mr. and Mrs. Gear five children were born: James M., Washington J., Sarah V., Addie M. and Joseph C. Mr. Gear was an honorable, intelligent and hard-working man and accumulated a comfortable property. He was respected by all and had few, if any, enemies. James M. Gear, his son, was born at Waterloo, Monroe County, Ill., April 11, 1857, and received a good common school education. He learned the trade of a brick mason and was engaged in contracting with his father until the latter retired from business, after which he engaged in the business in company with the present firm and they have long had all the work they can properly attend to. They built the church of the Immaculate Conception in 1887, the South Christian Church, the Second Congregational Church, the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and the First and Second Ward school houses, the Lincoln and Douglas school houses, the brick work of the new High School building and the Gulf Railroad shops, the Old Coon Tobacco works, Silby's warehouse, five stories high, the Godfrey and Russell block on Boonville Street, the Silby & Reinhardt building on Water Street, the Ellenburg block on the corner of Walnut and Campbell Streets, the Headly block on Boonville Street and many other business buildings. They are men thoroughly posted in their line work and can at all times be trusted to put up a substantial and symmetrical building in a short space of time and at reasonable figures. Socially Mr. Gear is a member of the Knights of Honor, and politically is a Democrat. Although a young man he is the senior member of his firm and stands deservedly high for reliability and skillful workmanship. This firm is also engaged in the manufacture of brick and have the only steam brick plant in Springfield. This plant has a capacity of 3,000,000 brick per year and can turn out more when run at its full capacity. Mr. Gear is a young man of high character, excellent business ability and his integrity is unimpeachable. JUDGE JAMES J. GIDEON. There is no man better known throughout the Ozark region than Judge, James J. Gideon, the subject of this sketch. Born on the soil and reared among the descendants of the pioneers, he is one of those self-made sons of Missouri, who while he has distinguished himself as a lawyer and jurist, has a far greater claim to the respect of the people in his sturdy integrity of character, and his life-long course as a friend of justice. He springs from a sterling Irish-Scotch ancestry of Colonial-American stock. James Gideon, the great-grandfather of our subject, was the founder of this branch of the family in America. He came from Dublin, Ireland, with his brothers, Reuben and Edward, and bringing his wife, Nancy. His sons were: Edward, William, Isham, James and John. They all settled on land in southwest New York. Edward, brother of James, was killed in battle during the Revolutionary War. All of the family moved to North Carolina about 1781 and settled on the Yadkin River. James Gideon moved to what is now Hawkins County, Tenn., in 1821, where he settled on land. He took with him the apple trees with which to plant his orchard. Several members of the Gideon family went with him besides his own immediate family. He was a substantial farmer and lived to be an aged man, passing the remainder of his days in Tennessee. William Gideon, his son and the grand- father of our subject, was born in New York State in 1789, and went to North Carolina with the family. He married there Matilda Wood, and to them were born: James H., Burton A., William C., Francis M., Woodson T., Green B., John A., Minerva and Elizabeth. Mr. Gideon moved to Tennessee in 1821 and settled on land. He was a hatter by trade and also a farmer. He was a member of the Baptist Church and an elder in his church for forty years. In his old age he became a Universalist. In the spring of 1836 he settled north of Ozark, Mo., two miles and entered 200 acres of land which is now known as the William P. Cox farm. He died in 1868, aged seventy-mine years. He was a well known pioneer citizen, a man of sterling worth and had no enemies and was highly respected in his community. William C. Gideon, his son and father of our subject, was born in Hawkins County, Tenn., February 15, 1824, received the common education of his day and was but twelve years of age when he came with his father to Missouri, and was reared among the pioneers of this State. He married at the age of twenty-one years, Melinda, daughter of James Byrd, and to them were born eight children: Thomas J., James J., Francis M., William W., John N., Martin V., George B. and Matilda, all of whom are now living. Mr. Gideon settled on a farm in what was then Taney County, now Christian County, Mo., and during his life settled on several farms in this section, and before the breaking out of the war, he had 480 acres of land in Christian County. Mr. Gideon was a typical pioneer citizen and cleared up several farms. During the war he was obliged to remove his residence to this county, settling four miles south of Springfield, on account of the depredations of the guerillas. He served during the Civil War in Missouri Union Home Guards, three months under Capt. Jesse Galloway, and on March 6, 1862, he enlisted in Company F, Missouri State Militia, and was mustered into United States service. He was promoted to sergeant and detailed as recruiting officer at Springfield, Mo., for Robbs' Battery, having been transferred to the Eighth Missouri State Militia. While in this service he was killed by a band of guerillas, in Christian County, at the home of his father on December 16, 1863. He was aged thirty-nine years. He was in the battle of Ozark, and on January 8, 1863, at the battle of Springfield when Marmaduke made his raid, and also at the battle of ______ In religion he was a Methodist. He was a man whose judgment was respected by the people and he was justice of the peace four years. In politics he was a Douglas or War Democrat and after the breaking out of the war became a Republican. He was a man of quiet and peaceful disposition, was honorable in character, and had the confidence of the community in which he lived. Judge James J. Gideon, son of above, and our subject, was born on his father's farm in Christian County, Mo., December 11, 1846. ; He received a common-school education, and when a boy, being fired with the patriotism of the youth of this country during the war, he ran away from school at the age of sixteen years, and on June 20, 1863, enlisted at Springfield, in Battery A, First Arkansas Light Artillery. He served a short time in this battery and then re-enlisted in Company L, Sixth Missouri Rangers, which service was also short. He then re-enlisted in Company H, Sixteenth United States Cavalry, serving twenty months. While in this regiment he was in the fight at Boonville against Price, at the battle near Jefferson City, at Big Blue, where Gen. Marmaduke was captured, and in the Newtonia fight and many skirmishes. He was promoted to corporal and honorably discharged July 1, 1865. During his service he was neither wounded nor imprisoned. At the close of the war he was elected captain of Company E, Ninety- ninth Regiment Missouri Militia, but saw no active service. After this he returned home, attended school and farmed, and on December 29, 1868, married Mary S., daughter of Capt. Jackson and Elizabeth (Keltruer) Ball. To Judge and Mrs. Gideon have been born four children: Percy P., Frederick F., Nora (deceased at thirteen years) and Kate M. After marriage Judge Gideon settled on a farm near Ozark, but having an active mind and possessing a desire for a more ambitious career, he combined his agricultural pursuits with the study of Blackstone with such perseverance and ability that he was admitted to practice at the bar in the State of Missouri in January, 1872. He immediately began the practice of his profession at Ozark, where he continued until 1886, establishing a successful business. During this time he won the confidence of the people of his county and filled the office of public administrator and prosecuting attorney for eight years. He also represented his county in the State Legislature one term and was elected to the State Senate from the Nineteenth Senatorial District in 1884 and served one term. On July 26, 1886, he moved to Springfield, where he resides at present and where he was successful in the practice of his profession from the start and his ability recognized, in 1888, by his election as prosecuting attorney for one term, and in the following year by his election as judge of the Criminal Court, which important office he now fills to the general satisfaction of the people. It is said that under his administration the business of the Criminal Court has been dispatched expeditiously, and that wisdom has accompanied his judgment, which are tempered with mercy. Judge Gideon is widely known throughout southwest Missouri as a successful politician. He has never been defeated before a convention or at the polls as a candidate for any office for which he has seen fit to run. Socially, he is a member of the Solomon Lodge of Masons, of Springfield, and at Ozark held all the offices of Friend Lodge, No. 352. He is also an Ancient Odd Follow. He is a member of the G. A. R., Capt. John Matthews Post, Springfield. Judge Gideon is one of those citizens of southwest Missouri who has risen from the humble position of a farmer's boy to occupy a place of great responsibility and trust. A soldier at sixteen years of age, he served his country faithfully, and as a citizen he is today one of those whose integrity stands without reproach. In politics he is a stanch Republican. THOMAS J. GIDEON is one of the leading attorneys practicing at the Springfield bar and a man who served his country faithfully as a soldier and bears the honored scars of wounds received in her defense. He is the son of William C. Gideon, an honored pioneer of Christian County. (See sketch of Judge James J. Gideon.) He was born on his father's farm in Christian County, January 24, 1845. He received the common education of the district school in the old log pioneer school house of those days. After the war he attended a private academy in Springfield for two years and thus gained a good education. On March 5, 1862, he enlisted in Company F, Fourteenth Regiment Missouri State Militia, same company and regiment as his father, being then eighteen years of age. He was appointed corporal and our young soldier was in the battle of Ozark, Mo., Talbot Ferry, Ark., Turner's Station and Springfield. At this last battle he was wounded by a piece of shell which ruined his left hand and wrist. He was also struck by a ball in the head and narrowly escaped death, falling insensible on the battle-field. He was picked up by his father and carried to the rear and regained consciousness. The ball had struck him above the frontal bone broken through the skull and losing its force plowed through the scalp to the back of the head. He was in the hospital two months. He was discharged on account of his wounds. Not being contented with his experience as a soldier and wishing to be of service to his country, in July, 1864, he recruited at Springfield, Company A, Fifty-first Missouri Infantry. In the spring of 1865 he recruited in Christian County a company of enrolled Militia to exterminate the bushwhackers and horse thieves which then greatly infested the country and was commissioned by Gov. Fletcher as first lieutenant. He acted as commander of his company, it having no captain. He was soon released from this service on account of the close of the war. In 1866 he was elected clerk of the County and Circuit Court and ex-officio recorder of Christian County and held the office until 1875. On September 3, 1868, he married Letitia F., daughter of Robert H. and Emeline (Bailey) Williams and to Mr. and Mrs. Gideon have been born five children: Mary B., Waldo G., Thomas H., Charles R. and Nellie G. In 1875 Mr. Gideon read law with his brother, Judge Gideon, and was admitted to the Missouri bar in 1877. He practiced successfully at Ozark until 1880 when he moved to Springfield, where he is now engaged in the practice of his profession and where he has built up an excellent business. Socially he is a member of the I. O. O. F., New Harmony Lodge, of Springfield and has held all the offices in his lodge and has been a member of the order twenty-eight years. He is also a member of the Solomon Lodge of Masons, of Springfield. He is a member of the G. A. R. Post, Capt. John Matthews, No. 69. In politics he is a stanch Republican. Mr. Gideon is one of those men who, when the country needed his services as a soldier, had no hesitation in facing bullets in her defense. As a lawyer and as a man he is widely known in southwest Missouri and his integrity is unimpeached. WALDO G. GIDEON is one of the rising young attorneys of Springfield, who begins the practice of law at the Greene County bar under the favorable circumstances of possessing an excellent general education and an accurate knowledge of law, besides coming from a family well known throughout southwest Missouri. He was born in Christian County, Mo., May 26, 1871, and is the son of Thomas J. Gideon, Esq., a prominent attorney of Springfield. (See sketches of Thomas J. and J. J. Gideon.) Waldo G. Gideon graduated at the Central High School, 1890, and then took a business course at the Southwestern Commercial College of Springfield. He then read law one year in his father's office, then attended the Columbian University at Washington, D. C., from which he graduated in the spring of 1898, and was admitted to the Missouri bar in September of the same year. He entered upon the practice of his chosen profession, in company with his father, under the firm name of "Gideon & Gideon." Mr. Gideon is a young man of excellent character and good business ability. He is industrious and able, and has more than ordinary enterprise and his prospects of success are assured. He is a member of the Christian Church, and in politics a Republican. R. L. GOODE. Of the many members of the bench and bar in the West, none has awakened more respect for his character and ability than R. L. Goode, of Springfield, Mo. He is descended from a long line of honorable ancestors who were noted for their patriotism and love of liberty. The family of Goode first became represented in this country by two brothers who, on account of their adhesion to the king in the parliamentary wars, were exiled by Cromwell in 1648. They settled at Norfolk, Va., where some member of the family has resided to the present day. The original home of the family was at Whitby, Yorkshire, England, but after coming to America they identified themselves with American interests, and upon the opening of the Revolutionary War several members of the family served in the Patriot Army, Richard S. Goode, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, being a colonel in the Continental Army. The grandfather, who also bore the name of Richard S. Goode, took an important part in the War of 1812, under Col. Richard Johnson, and was also a participant in the famous Black Hawk War. Richard S. Goode, at an early day, settled in the wilds of Kentucky, making his home in Henry County, where W. T. Goode, the father of the subject of this sketch was born and resided until 1860, from which time until 1868 Jefferson County, of the same State, was his home. He has always been a Democrat in politics, is still living and is a resident of Springfield, having lived there with his son for the past six years. He was united in marriage to Martitia E. Guthrie and by her he became the father of four children, a daughter named Virginia dying in infancy, Martitia, who lived to maturity, a son who died in infancy and R. L., who is the only surviving member of this family. The mother of these children died in Lawrence County, Mo., in 1876. In the late Civil War there were 100 men of the name of Goode took part in the struggle and all but three were members of the Confederate Army. R. L. Goode was born in Henry County, Ky., February 4, 1855, and lived in that State until he was thirteen years old, attending Jefferson and Harmonia Colleges. The family moved to Missouri in 1868, and he completed his education at Drury College, from which institution he graduated in 1876. Following this he was principal of the Springfield high school for two years, and superintendent of the city schools for one year. In 1879, three years after leaving College, he began the practice of law, having prepared himself for this profession with Col. Jerry Cravens. The day he was admitted to the bar he became a partner with his preceptor and since that time they have been associated, and during these long years that he has been a member of the bar, he has handled many important law cases and almost without exception has brought them to a termination in favor of his client. He is a gentleman of high personal character, and literary and legal attainments. He is possessed of a judicial cast of mind, a clear insight, cautious and deliberate judgment, and a thoroughness which leaves no effort untried in the management of business entrusted to him; is a clear and forcible debater, and both in court and public life exercises a marked and increasing influence; a man of courteous and pleasing manners, upright in character, and public-spirited in all his actions. He has been employed on some of the most important cases that have come up in the Southwest and has been on one side or the other of nearly all the important civil litigation which has occupied the Springfield courts. He has realized competency in the practice of his profession. Mr. Goode was married in 1885 to Miss Estella B. Maurer, daughter of Manuel Maurer of this city. She is a native of Fremont, Ohio. They have two children, Grace, who is seven years of age, and Katherine, who is three years old. Mr. Goode and his family attend the Calvary Presbyterian Church, of which Mrs. Goode is a member. Their home is at 588 East Walnut Street. DR. THOMAS J. GRAY. There are physicians and "doctors." The public faith in men so called is almost unbounded, but it is not deserved in equal degree by all of them. The doctor is a man who inspires confidence, because lie is worthy of it. His humanity is expressed and his interest in his patients is intensified by reason of tile concern lie has for them as well as for the experience he may gain that may be for the benefit of future sufferers. A student who loves knowledge and a physician devoted to his profession is Dr. Thomas J. Gray, who was born in Greene County, Mo., in 1836, a son of Daniel Gray. The latter's birth occured in Christian County, Ky., April 18, 1806, but he had meager advantages for obtaining a schooling and only acquired such knowledge of the "world of books" as the district schools in the vicinity of his rural home afforded. He learned the trade of a wheel-wright when a young man, and this occupation continued to follow for- many years in connection with farming. He was married in Kentucky in 1830, and in 1831 came by wagon to Greene County, Mo., of which he was one of the very earliest settlers. He located on a tract of land southeast of Springfield, which he improved and on which he made his home for a few years and sold out; then improved a farm further south, in what is now Christian County Mo. He was assessor of the county when it extended from Crawford County on the east to Indian Territory on the west, the Osage River on the north and the Arkansas State line on the south. He is one of only three surviving persons who assisted in removing the Indians from this country, the other two being Judge W. C. Price and Capt. Lucius Roundtree. Mr. Gray has always possessed a rugged constitution and has had but little sickness during his life, but about twenty years ago fell from a scaffold, which crippled him for life but did not impair his health. During the Civil war he was a stanch Union man. For a number of years past he has made his home with his son now residing in Jackson, Miss. He was married twice, first to Elizabeth Gallion, a native of Pennsylvania and a distant descendant of William Penn. She removed with her parents to Kentucky and died in February of 1848 in Missouri, her parents dying in the Blue Grass State. After her death Mr. Gray, leaving his six surviving children with trusted friends, in the spring of 1849 went to the gold fields of California, where he remained several years; returning, married Elizabeth Crumpley, who still survives. Mr. Gray had three brothers and three sisters: Dr. Robert, who lived some years in Cole County, Mo., was a member of the Legislature from that county, and afterward removed to Texas, where he died; Nicholas, who was sheriff of Cole County for some years, but also died in Texas; John, who lived in Cedar County; Nancy, wife of Patterson Crockett, a brother of the famous David Crockett; Polly (Mrs. Hawkins) and Hester (Mrs. Thedford). Great-grandfather Robert Gray was born in northern Ireland, where he grow up to manhood and married Margaret Wilson, emigrating to America in time to serve his adopted country as a soldier in the Revolutionary War under General Washington. He settled in East Tennessee and raised a large family, among them Grandfather Robert Gray, Jr. Grandfather Gray married a Miss Kenny and emigrated to Christian County, Ky., as one of the early pioneers in the days of Daniel Boone, and whose death occurred about 1820. The Gallions were of English and Welsh descent Dr. Gray, the subject of this sketch, is one of ten children by his father's first wife. He was educated in the common schools and at the Ozark Normal Institute. In 1860 he was married to Miss Mariah J. Davis, who was born in Greene County a daughter of Joshua Davis, of Tennessee nativity, but an early settler of Greene County, Mo., of which be became one of the foremost citizens, serving eighteen years as clerk of the courts, and later he and a son, William, edited and published the Springfield Lancet. He was a Benton Democrat, an active politician and an able writer. His wife died in 1863 at their old home three miles north of Springfield, and be died in 1856. Dr. Gray was employed in the quartermaster's department for some time during the Civil War up to early in 1864, when he went to Illinois and joined the 100-days' service, becoming a member of the One Hundred and Fortieth Illinois Volunteers, and was stationed at and near Memphis, at which place his command was in an engagement with Gen. Forrest. He was on clerical duty the most of the time and was mustered out at Camp Fry, Chicago. After the war he taught school at Cahokia, Ill., three years, and in the meantime attended the Missouri Medical College at St. Louis during 1865-66, and in 1868 and 1869 attended a second course of lectures at the Rush Medical College of Chicago. He practiced his profession at Walnut Grove, Mo., for some time, and for the past twenty-two years has been located at Ebeneezer, where he has a large patronage and is highly regarded by the medical fraternity and by the citizens in general. He is a member of the Greene County Medical Society, of the District Medical Association, and for some years was postmaster at Ebeneezer, at which place he and his wife have reared and liberally educated their four children (all ever born to them), and all of whom have attained their majority in years. The oldest are girls and married, the two boys, yet single, moral, industrious, respected young men. JOHN T. GREENWADE. The social, political and business history of this section is filled with the deeds and the doings of self-made men, and no man in Greene County, Mo., is more deserving the appellation than Mr. Greenwade, for he marked out his own career at an early day and has steadily followed it up to the present, his prosperity being attributable to his earnest and persistent endeavor as well as to the fact that he always consistently tried to do as he would be done by. He was born in Hampshire County, Va., October 14, 1839, a son of Moses T. and Mary Ann (Long) Greenwade, natives of Allegheny County, Md., where they were reared, educated and married, residing for a few years thereafter in Virginia where Mr. Greenwade owned some land. They later returned to Maryland and there the mother died when John T. was about fourteen years of age, after which his father was married to Miss Rhoda Allen, who survived him. Mr. Greenwade was a very successful farmer and stock raiser, was industrious and enterprising and was a public- spirited man and an active politician but by no means an office seeker. He was independent in his religious views, but the soul of honesty and morality. He died in 1858. His father, Moses Greenwade, came to this country with his parents from England when about six years old and settled in Maryland about ten miles east of old Fort Cumberland. It is supposed that he spent is life in that State, where his death occurred in 1852. His wife, Rachel, was of Pennsylvania Dutch stock. Their children were: John, who died in Maryland a few years ago, leaving a family well provided for; Nancy (Cheney), who has been a resident of Scotland County, Mo., for nearly fifty years; Mary (Parker), who died in 1893, in Hampshire County, Md.; Sallie (Miller), who died while visiting in Indiana, in 1883; Rebecca (Welch), who died in Maryland, in 1892; Daniel, who died many years ago, and Moses T. The wife of the latter was a daughter of Adam Long, who was a German by descent, but was probably born in Allegheny County, Md., and died in Harrison County, W. Va., to which place he had removed some fifty years ago. He was a farmer and left a fair property to be divided among his sons and daughters, whose names are as follows - George, who died in Harrison County, W. Va., in 1891, a farmer; Jacob, who also died there; John, who died in the same county, in 1892; William was a soldier in the late war, and died in that county; Jesse died there in 1892; Mary Ann (Greenwade); Sallie (McCray), who died before the way and soon after her marriage. Mrs. Greenwade became the mother of five-children: John T., the immediate subject of this sketch; Sarah C., wife of A. P. Race, of Greens County, Mo.; Mary Ellen, wife of John F. Dayton, of Mineral County, W. Va.; William. a farmer of Allegheny County, Md.; and Nancy, who was a twin with William, died young. John T. Greenwade spent his youthful days on a farm receiving a common school education, and after the death of his father he began doing for himself, and when only nineteen years of age rented a piece of land and began farming. In January, 1860, he was married to Ruhamah, daughter of Nimrod and Elizabeth Pugh, natives of Virginia, where they spent all their lives, Mrs. Pugh being still a resident of that place. She was of Irish, and Mr. Pugh, of Welsh descent, and they reared a large family. Mrs. Greenwade was born in Hampshire County, Virginia, and died, after becoming the mother of seven children: Edward Everett; Josephine, wife of John Brady; Jennie, wife of Dewitt Murray; Sallie, wife of Dr. J. I. Greves; Robert, Claude and Porter. In 1879, Mr. Greenwade was married to his second wife, Maggie Johnson, a native Kentuckian and a daughter of Samuel and Lucy Johnson who came from the Blue Grass State to Greene County, Mo., about 1870, and are now residing near Springfield. This wife died in ---, after having borne her husband three children: Mollie, Weldon and Ralph. On the 29th of June, 1892, Mr. Greenwade's third marriage was consummated, Nellie, daughter of Robert and Lizzie Shepherd, becoming his wife. Her parents came from England about five years ago and are now farming in Greene County, Mo. Mr. Greenwade lived in Maryland during the war and was not subject to military duty, owing to ill health. He was in sympathy with the South, but all the rest of his people were stanch Unionists. In the fall of 1866 he came to Greene County, Mo., and since 1867 has resided on his present farm of 162 acres, one mile east of Willard, all of the improvements on which have been made by himself. He was a Democrat until 1867, when he joined the Greenback party and is now a Populist. He has frequently been on that ticket for offices, and in 1878 came near to being elected treasurer of the county. He has been a justice of the peace, was a candidate for county judge and one for representative. He is a prominent Alliance man, having held nearly all the offices in that order.. He is of a decidedly public spirit, and being a successful organizer is an active worker for public good in every way. JONATHAN FAIRBANKS. Perhaps there is no man better known in the city of Springfield to all classes of people than the efficient and energetic superintendent of the city schools, and to no other man is more credit due for tbe building up and prosperity of the schools than to Jonathan Fairbanks, who has now been identified with their progress and growth for many years. He has been largely instrumental in establishing the excellent school system which has resulted in giving to Springfield one of the best equipped organizations for the education of the young in this or any other State. In him are strikingly exemplified those characteristics and principles which conduce to the occupation of positions demanding the display of great mental abilities. In tracing the genealogy of the Fairbanks family it is found that the first members of the family tree to take root in American soil came with a company of English Puritans in 1640. They made a permanent settlement in Massachusetts, and there, years afterward, the grandfather of our subject, Jonathan Fairbanks, was born. He grew to mature years in his native State, followed agricultural pursuits near Sudbury, and fought bravely for independence in the Revolutionary War. He married a Miss Parmenter, and twelve children were the fruit of this union, as follows: Col. Drury, Joseph V., George, Elbridge G., Jonathan, Eddy, Dexter, Zana, Mary and Elizabeth, are the ones remembered. Jonathan Fairbanks lived to be ninety years of age, and became a prominent and wealthy farmer. His entire life was passed in the State of his nativity, where he was honored and respected. His son, Joseph Varnum Fairbanks, father of our subject, was born in Sudbury, Mass., but left the old homestead when twenty-years of age, and went to Andover, Mass., where he found work in a woolen mill. He was married there to Miss Margaret Hadden, whose parents came from Scotland. She had one sister, Augusta. Shortly after marriage Mr. Fairbanks moved to Ballston, N. Y., and became superintendent of a woolen mill. There he prospered, and later engaged in merchandising and manufacturing, becoming the principal business man of the town. His death occurred when he was but twenty-eight years of age. He was an energetic, active man, possessed of excellent business acumen, and as a citizen and neighbor no one was more universally esteemed. He and wife held membership in the Congregational Church. To Mr. and Mrs. Fairbanks were born three children, one of whom died in infancy. The others were Jonathan and James Dexter. Mrs. Fairbanks lived to be sixty-five years of age, and was a lady of high character and unusual intelligence. The original of this notice was born in Andover, Mass., January 7, 1828, and at the age of five years he was left fatherless. He went to live with his aunt Zana who had married James Quinn. The latter was a farmer at Sudbury, Mass., and on his farm young Fairbanks remained until nineteen years of age. At an early age be became familiar with the arduous duties of the farm, working in the good old way, with hoe and shovel, and thus gained habits of industry and thoroughness which have remained with him through life. The district schools furnished him with his primary education, and later he attended the academy at New Ipswich, N. H., for two years. When twenty-one years of age he began teaching school, and was thus engaged one winter at Ashby, Mass. From the first he made a success of this calling, his school ranking number one, and his reputation as a teacher established. A citizen of the town receiving a call from an efficient educator from Wilmington, Del., recommended young Fairbanks as a live and successful teacher, and the latter accepting the position tendered him near that city, remained there four years, making many friends and firmly establishing his reputation as a successful instructor. In the early fifties he went to St. Mary's, Ohio, and there taught school for eight years, many of his pupils afterward becoming prominent men. In 1886 they hold a reunion at St. Mary's, returning from many States, and embracing all the professions of life. The greatest pleasure was evinced in reviewing the memories of their school days, and in grasping their old preceptor's hand. Prof. Fairbanks' school life at St. Mary's was interrupted by one year's teaching at Piqua, Ohio, and after the completion of his labors at St. Mary's was for nearly five years superintendent of the schools at Piqua, resigning to engage in business in Springfield, Mo. September 3, 1854, while teaching at St. Mary's, Prof. Fairbanks married Miss Angie Bowker, daughter of Samuel N. and Mary (Earl) Bowker. The Bowker family is of Scotch-Welsh origin, some of its members were among the early Puritan settlers of the Old Bay State. Capt. Daniel Bowker, the great-grandfather of Mrs. Fairbanks, was a farmer of Sudbury, and was a member of one of the oldest families of that town. He reached the unusual age of nearly one hundred years. The descendants of this family still live on the old farm. Daniel Bowker, son of the above, and grandfather of Mrs. Fairbanks, lived to be eighty-two years of age, and passed by is entire life on the old farm, as did his son, Samuel Bowker, Mrs. Fairbanks' father. The latter was the father of seven children, as follows: Mary, Eliza, Henrietta, Angie, Lucy M., Harriet M. and Frank M. Mr. Bowker was a man of fair education, and his children were all well educated for those days. The daughters received their scholastic training in the best Now England schools, Mrs. Fairbanks attending the New Ipswich Academy as well as a select school at Boston. In religious belief the Bowkers were Baptists. After marriage Prof. and Mrs. Fairbanks lived six years at St. Mary's, Ohio, and then went to Piqua, where they resided for some time. On November 10, 1866, Prof. Fairbanks came to Springfield, and engaged in the real estate and lumber business in which he continued for ten years. During this time he was a member of the city council and mayor of Springfield one year, also a member of the school board three years, during which time he was president two years. In the spring of 1875 Prof. Fairbanks was elected superintendent of the city schools. Now in regard to the public schools of Springfield: In 1866, when Prof Fairbanks first came to Springfield, there were no public schools in the city. Before the war there were excellent private schools, but no public schools. In 1867 the first attempt was made to organize the present public school system. During this year a school board was elected and organized April 24, 1867, with the following members: James Baker, president; W. C. Hornbeck, secretary; Charles Sheppard, treasurer, and Dr. E. T. Robertson, J. M. Kelley and W. R. Gordon. The schools were opened September 9, 1869 in the Matthias Building with an enrollment of sixty-eight pupils, the primary school in the Phelps' Building with 204 pupils, and the colored school in the colored Methodist Episcopal Church with forty-eight pupils. The school was seven months and a half, which was afterward increased to nine months. In the fall of 1875 Mr. Fairbanks was elected superintendent. The Central Building was then the only school building, and there were en- rolled during the year 1,000 pupils, the average attendance being 800, and twelve teachers. The colored school was still held in the colored Methodist Episcopal Church, and had an average attendance of seventy-five pupils' and two white teachers. There were no ward schools. The high school was organized in 1870, while Prof. Fairbanks was a member of the school board, and as assisted largely by his efforts. He arranged the course of study which was not, of course, nearly as complete as at present, and under this course two pupils were graduated in 1872. On assuming charge of the schools as superintendent, Prof. Fairbanks at once turned his attention to firmly establishing the high school, and improving its curriculum, and for a number of years not only attended to his duties as superintendent, but heard many classes in the high school, really acting as teacher of the senior class. His duties were very arduous, and his time fully occupied for many hours daily. The colored people were given the first ward school, called the Lincoln school, a building being erected in 1872, which was exchanged with Drury College for the present building. In 1882 the first school building in the sixth ward was erected on Center Street, and, was called the Bailey school. This was the first ward school building for white pupils. In 1884 a school building was erected on the corner of Grant and Mt. Vernon Streets, and called the Campbell school. In 1886 the Phelps school building was erected. Two years later the North and South towns of Springfield consolidated, and thus four more school wards were added to the cares of the superintendent. In 1891 an addition was built to the Rogers school on Boonville Street, costing $10,000. The following year a new colored school building was erected at a cost of $4,000. This is a fine brick building, and one of the handsomest structures in Spring- field. In 1892 and '93 the foundations for the new high school building at the corner of Center and Jefferson Streets were laid. This structure will cost when completed $65,000. It will be three stories high, built of stone and brick in the highest order of school architecture and will contain twenty-six rooms. Thus from small beginnings the schools of Springfield have grown within a few years until now there are eleven fine school structures. The high school has an attendance of 350 pupils, and the pupils in all the schools number 5,000. The high school is one of the most advanced in the State, and includes four courses of study-English, Scientific, Classic and Business. The schools are in an excellent condition, the standard of scholarship is high, and the attendance prompt and regular. The discipline is of a superior, order, and an able corps of teachers is employed. Prof. Fairbanks has been superintendent of the schools for eighteen years, and has devoted the best part of his days to the building up of the city schools. The schools are managed by the best modern methods, corporal punishment is nearly done away with, being discouraged by the board and the superintendent, and is seldom resorted to. The Professor exhibits the characteristics which have rendered him distinguished throughout his career, and which have made his life a succession of honors. Professor and Mrs. Fairbanks are the parents of five living children: Alban B., Annie, George B., John W. and James O. These young people are all graduates of the Springfield high school, and are engaged to business in the city as proprietors of a first-class book store, in which they have been successful. Socially Prof. Fairbanks is a member of the Knights of Honor and Scotch Clan, and politically he is a staunch Republican. He has the esteem and respect of the people of the county, and has held the office of county commissioner for twelve consecutive years, and has recently been elected for two years more. The Professor is entirely a self-made man, and all his success is the result of his own exertions. He is a man of great executive ability, broad and liberal views, a logical reasoner, and expressive talker, and his methods regarding educational work are unique, orderly and systematic. The able manner in which he has labored to develop the public schools of Springfield has gained him the respect of every thinking citizen, and it is universally admitted that much of the present excellent condition of the schools is due to his earnest efforts through the long period of nearly two decades. FARMERS' BANK OF ASH GROVE, MO. The well-known and substantial bank above mentioned was established In 1891 by W. C. Wilkerson, who is now its president; C. McCray, vice-president and D. McCray, cashier. They have a paid in capital stock of $20,000 and do a general banking business, loaning money on personal security, etc. The amount of deposits are about $30,000 and ever since it was established it has been on a paying basis. It is a notable example of success in the banking business and during its short existence it has grown to remarkable proportions and has become noted for its stability and for the liberality which has always characterized its methods of doing business. The president, Mr. W. C. Wilkerson, is a resident of Lawrenceburg, Mo., is a practicing physician by profession and is also extensively engaged in farming. He is a man of means, is a good business man and is highly respected in the community in which he resides. The vice-president, C. McCray, is a resident of Ash Grove, a man of family and a business man of more than ordinary ability. D. McCray, the cashier of the bank, also resides at this place, and like his brother is a shrewd financier, an honest and upright gentleman, and a man of family. The father of these wide-awake business men was a resident of Lawrence County for many years and there he reared his sons. They first came to Missouri from Tennessee in 1852, the founders of the family in this country having come from the Isle of Erin. The paternal grandfather was Thomas McCray, who served in the Indian War under Gen. Jackson. C. McCray, became a resident of Ash Grove, Greene County, Mo., in 1883, and D. McCray came in 1891, the brothers having been, previous to that time, merchants. Both these gentlemen live in the east part of the city and the building in which they do business is advantageously located in a large two-story building, built by the members of the firm in 1891 at an expense of between $3,000 and $4,000. The bank is handsomely fitted up, and is one of the most solid institutions of the kind in the country. L. G. FATH. Integrity, intelligence and system are characteristics which will advance the interests of any man and will tend to the prosperity to which all aspire. Such are some of the traits of the gentleman whose name is mentioned above, and who is one of the prominent justices of the peace of Greene County, Mo. He is a product of this State, born at Perryville, November 20, 1846, and the son of Leonard Fath, who was a -native of Alsace Lorraine. The elder Fath came to America in 1837, and being a blacksmith, followed that trade for years. Later he became a large landholder and a wealthy citizen. He was married in Perry County, Mo., to Miss Ellen Bergman, daughter of George Bergman, who was a native of Hanover, Germany, but who came to America where he became a prosperous farmer of Perry County, Mo. To Mr. and Mrs. Fath were born three children: John, now circuit clerk of Montgomery County, Ill.; Ellen, the wife of Dr. A. Keen, of Bollinger County, Mo., and L. G. our subject. The The mother died in the year: 1846, and about one year later the father married Miss Barbara Long, who bore him six children, as follows: Henry, Flora, Louisa, Thomas, Oscar and Velita. Mr. Fath moved to Montgomery County, Ill., in 1864, and there he invested largely in land and prospered. On this farm was passed the remainder of his days, his death occurring when he was about seventy-four years of age. He was a prominent citizen and a man universally respected. For many years he was a consistent member of the Presbyterian Church, and socially he was a prominent Mason. L. G. Fath, subject of this sketch and son of the above received but a limited education in the schools of Missouri, for his schooling was cut short when he was in his thirteenth year. He is almost entirely, self-educated, and being observing and possessed of much perseverance he is as well, if not better educated than the average man. He first became familiar with the duties of farm life and later learned the black-smith's trade which he carried on for many years. When twenty-one years of age he was united in marriage to Miss Laura A., daughter of John L. and Harriett (Lattimer) Marshall, natives of Columbus, Ohio. One living child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fath, Leo M. In 1864 Mr. Fath moved with his father to Montgomery County, Ill., where he worked at his trade and on his father's farm. He became a Democrat in politics and when twenty-six years of age, or in 1876, he was elected sheriff of Montgomery County and held that position two terms, to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. During that time he was thrown into intimate association with such men as John M. Palmer, John R. Rinika, Judge Thornton, Judge Jesse J. Phillips and other eminent men, and by means of these associations he gained a large amount of practical legal knowledge. He then read law and in 1886 came to Springfield, where be worked as a blacksmith in the Frisco railroad shops for three years. In 1890 he was elected justice of the peace and has since discharged the duties incumbent upon that position to the general satisfaction of the public, which is well attested by the amount of business that he does. Socially Mr. Fath is a -Knight of Pythias. He is a man who has gained his wide range of information in the practical walks of life. He has an unlimited fund of good common sense and is quick to arrive at correct conclusions. He is a great student and a wide reader of books and newspapers, keeping well-posted on the current events of the day. COL. HOMER F. FELLOWS. In these days of money making, when life is a constant struggle between right and wrong, it is a pleasure to lay before an intelligent reader the unsullied record of an honorable man. To the youthful it will be a useful lesson--an incentive to honest industry, Col. Homer F. Fellows is acknowledged by all to be one of Springfield's most public-spirited and honorable citizens. He has been largely identified with the public enterprises of that city, is a promoter of its improvements and the real founder of one of the largest mechanical industries in this part of the State. He springs from old Colonial stock, and is of English-Puritan extraction, two brothers of that name, John and Drane, having emigrated from England in old Colonial times. John Fellows, grandfather of our subject, was born in the town of Canaan, Conn., where his ancestors had settled, and served in the Revolutionary War, fighting bravely for independence. His wife, whose maiden name was Edna Deibold, was a native of Canaan, and came of French extraction. After marriage this worthy couple moved to Luzerne County, Penn., and settling on a farm went actively to work, to make many improvements in their new home. Indians were very plentiful at that time. About 1820 Mr. Fellows moved with his family to Tioga County, Penn., and there passed the remainder of his days, dying at the good old age of eighty-three years. He reared a family of six children: Horace, Asahel, Erastus, Merritt, Eliza and Hulda. As a man of intelligence and as one of the first citizens of his town he was well known and held in the highest esteem. His son, Erastas, father of our subject, was also a native of the old town of Canaan, Conn., and was but a boy when he went with his parents to Luzerne County. He obtained a fair education for his day, and when a young man went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he remained one year. Returning to the Keystone State he married a widow, Mrs. Elizabeth Johnson, nee Cole. Her father, Royal Cole, was born in New York State, but was of English extraction, He served as a soldier in the Revolutionary War, took an active part in several battles, Trenton and others, and was present at the surrender of Burgoyne. He also served in the War of 1812. Mr. Cole was a well-informed man, a wide reader, and a Universalist in his religious belief. To his marriage was born a large family. His death occurred at Wellsborough. Following his marriage Erastus Fellows and wife settled at Wellsborough, Penn., where, in connection with farming, he followed hotel keeping. From 1825 until 1865, he was proprietor of the Fellow's Temperance House, and was known far and wide as a man of sterling worth and high moral character. He was one of the early promoters of the cause of temperance, and accomplished much good by his determined stand. He was also a strong Abolitionist, a lover of liberty, and his house was the refuge for slaves escaping to Canada. He was ever fearless in the advocacy of any cause he believed to be right, and did not hesitate to express his views when it was necessary. The famous James G. Burney, at one time candidate for the presidency on the Abolitionist ticket, when lecturing in Pennsylvania, came to Wellsborough, but could find no place in which to deliver his lecture, as the Abolition cause was very unpopular. Mr. Fellows gave him the use of his dining-room, and there his lecture was delivered. In his political 'views Mr. Fellows was at one time an Old Line Whig, later an Abolitionist, and finally a stanch Republican. During the latter part of his days he became a prosperous and wealthy man. His death occurred in 1884, when eighty-four years of age. His wife was a lady of education for her day, and an old teacher's certificate bearing date as early as 1813, and issued to her by the directors of the district at Coeymans, Albany County, N. Y., attesting her ability to teach school, is yet in existence. Throughout her life she took an interest in literary matters, was a great reader, and was a poetess of no mean ability, writing many poems, some of which were published. She was a devout member of the Methodist Church, a woman of high moral worth, and a great strength of character. By her first husband she was the mother of two children, Newton and Almira, and her second union resulted in the birth of four children: Rachel A., Homer F., Norris W. and Mary E., all now living except the last named. Mr. and Mrs. Fellows passed all the days of their married life at Wellsborough. Penn. Col. Homer F. Fellows, son of the above and our subject, was born at Wellsborough, Penn., and his youthful days were divided between assisting his father on the farm and in attending the common schools. At the age of seventeen he began clerking in a dry-goods store in Wellsborough, and this business continued for about a year and a half. He then taught a district school, and later entered the Wesleyan University at Lima, N. Y., where he continued for one year. At the age of twenty-one, having acquired a good education for his day, he emigrated West with the intention of going to Texas. On reaching Rock Island, Ill., he was taken sick, and this interfered with his plans. However, he went on as far as Muscatine, Iowa, remaining there for some time, but later went to Burlington, that State, where he engaged as salesman for a mercantile firm, Gear & Baum. Subsequently he became a collector for Mr. Baum, and afterward managed a store for him at Chariton, Iowa, for a year and a balf. Following this he managed a general store for David Waynick for some time, and one for Joseph Mitchell, by whom he was sent East to purchase the stock. In the year 1856 he went to Plattsburgh, Mo., as a member of the firm of J. S. Sheller & Co., in the real estate business, and one year later he bought out the business and established offices at Warsaw and Springfield, Mo., under the firm name of Fellows, Todd & Robinson. This was in 1857, and the firm located many land warrants in the Platt Purchase and in southwest Missouri. Being a stanch Republican and possessing first-class qualities for the position, Mr. Fellows was appointed Register of Lands for the district of Springfield by President Lincoln in May, 1861. He continued in this office until the battle of Wilson Creek. In 1861 he visited Washington on military business in the interests of Gen. Seigel, and made the personal acquaintance of President Lincoln. Springfield then being occupied by the Confederates, the Union men remained away from the city, and Mr. Fellows engaged in general merchandising at Rolla, Mo., as a member of the firm of McElhaney, Jaggard & Co. In 1863 he was appointed Lieutenant Colonel of the Forty-sixth Missouri Militia. The regiment was called out under Gen. McNeil, mustered into the United States service, and was on guard duty during the last invasion of Missouri by the Confederates under Gen. Price. In the winter of 1864 Mr. Fellows sold out his interests in Rolla and engaged in the wholesale grocery business at St. Louis, the firm being McElhaney & Fellows. Continuing in this business until 1867 he then sold out and went to Arlington, where he established a general store under the firm name of Fellows, McGinty & Co. Arlington is on the S. F. R. R., and as the road was then being opened for business, Col. Fellows established stores at convenient points on the same, one being at Lebanon, and another at North Springfield. This business was largely wholesale. In 1871 Col. Fellows built a grain elevator, the first one erected in Springfield, and in 1872 he was induced to take charge of the Springfield Manufacturing Company, which had been organized but a few months, and which was in a bad condition financially. Finding the concern hopelessly involved the stockholders surrendered their stock and a new company was organized as the Springfield Wagon Company. The principal stockholders were Col. Follows, his brother, Morris W., and Capt. Boyden. New capital being invested, the company made the manufacturing of farm wagons a specialty, and from the start did a good business. In 1883 the plant was fire but was rebuilt after one year, and, the capital stock was increased from $25,000 to $50,000. One year later it was increased to $75,000. The. plant was greatly enlarged and the business increased, so that the demand has since been equal to the capacity of the works. This year (1893), about 3,500 wagons will be manufactured. The reputation of the Springfield wagon for utility and service has steadily gained, so that it now commands the highest price in southwest Missouri, Arkansas and Texas. Its equal is not manufactured by any firm in the United States, and it comes in competition, with all other wagons manufactured in this country, and ranks as the best. The Springfield Wagon Company gives employment to seventy-five men, and as an industrial enterprise, employing labor, is a direct benefit to the city. As a public-spirited citizen, Col. Fellows has done much to further the interests of the city, and in 1881 he was the chief promoter of a street railway between North and South Springfield, and was president of the company for three years. In 1859 he was one of the stockholders of the first telegraph line through Springfield. This line followed the overland stage road, and was established by Clowrey & Stebbens. Col. Follows built the first telephone line that came into Springfield, and it connected his office and residence. This was in 1877. The colonel was a liberal contributor to the Gulf Railroad, and is a subscriber to the railroad now projected. He was one of the organizers of the Springfield Water Works, and president of the company for three years. Originally a Republican in politics, in 1860 he was the only man in Springfield who openly voted that ticket, excepting John M. Richardson, a presidential elector. He now entertains liberal views politically. In the year 1876 he was mayor of Springfield, and for many years was a member of the city council and school board. He has ever extended a helping hand to the cause of education, and has done much to establish good schools in Springfield. Liberal in his views and progressive in his ideas, Col. Fellows has always assisted with his means the churches of the city without regard to denomination. Formerly a member of both the Masonic and Odd Fellow orders, he is now a member of the Knights of Honor. He selected as his companion in life Miss Martha Alvira McElhaney, of Springfield, and their nuptials were celebrated November 15, 1859. Three living children have blessed this union: Emma, widow of Charles T. Keet, resides in Springfield; Clara, wife of F. J. Curran, also resides in Springfield; and Ada, widow of George Rathbun, makes her home in Springfield. Mrs. Fellows was called from the scenes of this life on October 5, 1869, and on August 15, 1872, the colonel was married to Miss Minnie L. Boyden, of Neosho. One son, Homer F., was born to this marriage, and be is now in the office of the "Frisco" Railroad in St. Louis. Mrs. Fellows died September 24, 1881, and the colonel has since married Mrs. Matilda (Dickard) Jackson, widow of Mr. J. C. Jackson. NORRIS FELLOWS, Springfield, Mo., is one of the leading business men of this city and a gentleman well known for his integrity of character. He is of old Colonial American stock and the son of Erastus and Elizabeth (Cole) Fellows. (See sketch of Col. H. F. Follows.) He was born at Wellsboro, Pa., October 1, 1863, received a common school education and attended the Academy at Alfred Center, N. J., and a commercial college at Binghampton, N. Y. He learned farming, and in May, 1860, came to Missouri and began to clerk in his brother's land office in Springfield. In July of the same year he went to Fort Scott and was land agent for the first land office ever opened in Fort Scott. In March, 1861, he returned to Pennsylvania, and the spring of 1862 returned to Missouri and settled at Raleigh and became clerk in the Quartermaster's office under Capt. Grimes. In 1863 he was superintendent of the furnishing department of MeElhaney, Jaggard & Co., and in l865 this firm sold out to Mr. Fellows and A. C. McGinty, and the name of the firm was Follows & McGinty, who did a general -merchandise and forwarding business, and when the 'Frisco road was extended to Arlington, the firm located there and remained until the completion of the railroad. Mr. Follows sold out in 1868 and was in Hartwell in general merchandise business until 1871, when he sold out and returned to Pennsylvania and purchased the old homestead and engaged in farming and real estate, until 1875, when he came to Springfield and bought stock in the Springfield Wagon Company. Mr. Follows was elected treasurer, and most of the time has identified himself thoroughly with the interests of the company and is at present vice president of the company. Mr. Fellows married in 1869 Harriet N., daughter of Sebastian Duncan, and to Mr. and Mrs. Fellows have been born six children. W. H., Helen, Susie, Robert M., Norris L., and Harris. Mr. Fellows is a member of the K. of H. and of the Woodmen of the World, and is one of the trustees of the latter organization. Both Mr. and Mrs. Fellows are members of the Calvary Presbyterian Church. Politically, Republican. He has been a member of the city council and has taken an active interest in having good schools, and served on the school board nine years. He has an old powder- horn carried by his great grandfather, John Drake, in the Revolutionary War and in the War of 1812. It is carved finely with a representation of the harbor of New York and also the name of John Drake. Erastus Follows, the father of our subject, had seven uncles killed at the massacre of Wyoming. Very few of the settlers escaped. G. W. FERGUSON. In few branches of art or science have such developments or perfected improvements been made as in photography, and no establishment in the world shows more conclusive proof of this assertion than that of Mr. G. W. Ferguson, whose studios are located on Boonville Street, Springfield, Mo. He has always been a close student of art, and his splendid work is pronounced by those best capable of judging, to be fully equal to that of the best artists in the country. He has become celebrated throughout southwest Missouri for securing to sitters before the camera a graceful, natural pose and life-like and pleasing expression, and in all his work is to be seen the master hand of the thorough expert artist. Mr. Ferguson is a native of the Hoosier State, born at Indianapolis April 4, 1856, and the son of Isaac and Mary E. Ferguson who are now living on a farm about three miles east of the city of Springfield, and who are highly respected and well-to-do people. The original of this notice was educated at Louisville, Ky., whither he had moved with his parents when a boy, and was thoroughly trained in the schools of that city. Later he entered the Specerian Business College and graduated from that institution in 1876. After leaving school he engaged in the grocery business, continued this for three years, and then began the study of photography in one of the best photograph galleries in Louisville, Ky. In 1882 he opened up business in this city and has since met with the best of success. No one is more qualified to execute work in this; direction than Mr. Ferguson and no one has the happy faculty of meeting the requirements of all more than he. In politics our subject is a stanch Democrat and an active and influential man in all public affairs. Soon after coming to this city he became a member of the city fire department and his services were so appreciated that he was elected to every position in the company. In l892 he was elected chief of Department No. 1, and that position he still holds. He takes quite an interest in the department and has shown great nerve and skill in cases of emergency. The fire company of Springfield is in two departments, No. 1. on College street in Old Town, and No. 2, on Commercial Street, in North Spring6old. The fire department at large is controlled by districts and Mr. Ferguson is chief of District No. 1. The force is composed of alert young men of the city and the apparatus is of the latest improved kind and the power a direct pressure. Mr. Ferguson is recognized as an expert fireman and has admirable control of his men. Every portion of the city is provided with electric alarm boxes of the best pattern. Our subject is a member of the Royal Arcanum No.418, the K.of P. Lodge No. 213, and the Uniform Rank No. 21. He and family attend the Christian Church. His pleasant home in Springfield was presided over by his excellent wife, who was formerly Miss Mary Bedgood, their nuptials having been celebrated in Rising Sun, Ind. They had one, son, Clarence. Mrs. Ferguson died in Springfield, Mo., and Mr. Ferguson's second union was with Miss Leetsch, of Helena, Ark. To this union was born one son, Gussie. WILLIAM E. FOLEY. With the increase in population, refinement and wealth in the cities of the United States, has arisen a growing demand for the blending of the artistic and the beautiful with the utilitarian in architecture. The results have been extremely gratifying to the advocates of progress in this most vitally important profession. Among those who have acquired a wide reputation for their skill and artistic conception, ranks William E. Foley, who has been a resident of Springfield since 1882. He took up the study of his profession and first followed it at Newton, Mass., near Boston, and there soon found his services in considerable demand. He is a native of the Isle of Erin, where he was born in 1849, a son of Edward Foley, who. in 1851 came to this country and settled near the city of Boston where he followed the occupation of carpentering. He removed to Springfield, Mo., in 1882, and here he was; called from life four years later, his widow surviving him until 1890. William E. Foley received his early education in. and around Boston and his professional education was obtained in a private school, and since 1883 he has been actively engaged in the practice of a profession for which he seems naturally adapted, and for which he has a decided taste. He was for four years one of the professional men of Pierce City, Mo., but since that time his skill has been in requisition from Iowa to the Gulf of Mexico, and from the eastern part of the State through the Indian Territory. Among the many remarkably creditable specimens of his skill, may be mentioned the capitol building for the Choctaw Nation, the Centenary College at Lampasas, Texas, the Hotel Main at Ft. Smith, Ark., the Greene County Almshouse, the Rogers' School Building in North Springfield, the High School at Buffalo, Mo., the Warehouse of the Headlee Grain Co., the Headlee & Weaver Building on Boonville Street, the Barrett Academy, St. Joseph Academy, the Board of Trade Building, the Baptist College at Pierce City, Mo., many banks and school buildings throughout the Southwest, and the Catholic, Christian and First United Presbyterian Churches at Springfield. The residence of Dr. Robberson, on Walnut Street, is also the result of his skill, also that of Eli Paxton, on Walnut Street, J. W. Lisenby, L. W. Hubbell and D. R. Camp. Since 1882 he has made his name known over a wide territory, and during this time he has witnessed a great improvement in the style of architecture, and to his efforts; this has been in a great measure due. Socially, he is a member of the K. of H. Lodge, No. 2285, in which he has filled all the offices. He has always been a supporter of the principles of Democracy, in the success of which he has always been deeply interested, although he has been by no means an office seeker. Very public-spirited in his views, he is liberal in his support of worthy causes and has the interest of his section deeply at heart. His residence is at 173 E. Elm Street, where he and his wife, whom he married in the East and whose maiden name was Mary Sweeney, dispense a cordial hospitality to the many friends they have gathered about them. They have six children: William T., Mary, Nellie, Charles, Grace and Thomas. Mr. Foley and his family attend the Christian Church and are classed among the substantial citizens of Springfield. He has his office in the Baker building, and is ready to furnish plans of all kinds of buildings to those who may desire them. His father was a soldier in the Civil War, being a member of the Seventeenth Massachusetts Infantry, was one of those who lent valuable aid in preserving the Union, and all his after career was also one of honor and the respect of those who know him was accorded him without measure. JAMES A. FRINK, a well-known attorney of Springfield, Mo., is possessed of a reputation in professional as well as social life of which any man might feel proud. He is a thorough student, a man of strong and vigorous intellect, a concise and logical reasoner, and a politician of considerable prominence. Since March of the year 1889 he has been a resident of Springfield, and from that time up to the present he has taken a decided interest in the general public welfare of the county. In all matters pertaining to his profession his judgment is accurate, with intuitive conceptions of legal principles, sustained by a retentive memory. He has few equals when dealing with questions of fact, and his powers of separation and condensation of facts and their application are remarkable. His oratorical ability, however, is the mainspring of his popularity among the masses, being an earnest, energetic speaker, and one who carries conviction to his auditors. Mr. Frink was born in Madison, Wis., June 24, 1855, and is a son of Henry E. and Helen C. (Smith) Frink. The father was a native of the Empire State, born in Schoharie County, and was a son of one of the early pioneers of that State. Until about 1849 or 1850 Henry E. Frink remained in his native State and then moved to Ohio, settled in Columbus, where he was private secretary for old Gov. Reuben Woods until 1851. In that year he resigned his position to go to Wisconsin and there settled in Madison, where he passed the remainder of his days, dying in 1864. He became very prominent in that city and State, was a lawyer of more than ordinary ability, and became noted in political circles, being a stanch Republican. He was a Mason of long standing. While residing in Columbus, Ohio, he met and married Miss Helen C. Smith, a daughter of Dr. Smith, of Saratoga Springs, N. Y. The Smith family is of Scotch origin, and Dr. Smith, the maternal grandfather of our subject was the seventh son of a seventh son of a Scotch noble who, being banished by the King of England, came to America and settled in Louisiana. His descendants came to New York State and became prominent people there. Dr. Smith was an eminent physician, and was well known in the medical world in his day. To Mr. and Mrs. Frink were born two children: Frank H., who resides at Centerville, Iowa, engaged in merchandising, and our subject, James A. The mother of these children died in Ida Grove, Iowa, in 1885. She was an Episcopalian in her religious belief. The original of this notice passed his early school days in Madison, Wis., where he attended the high school, and later the college of that city. He then moved with his mother to St. Louis and she was there married to Isaac S. Lane, whom she accompanied to Centerville, Iowa, after residing in St. Louis seven years. Our subject, not caring to reside with his stepfather, became private secretary to Charles H. McComas, superintendent of construction of the Eads bridge at St. Louis. Later he went to Centerville, Iowa, attended school there, and from there returned again to Madison, where he entered the university, closing his school days by graduating in the class of 1879. After this he began the study of law, continued this for six months in the law office of Tannehill & Fee, at Centerville, Iowa, and was admitted to the bar in 1883. Immediately afterward he located in Ida Grove, Iowa, and practiced there until a number of months later, when he married. During the Presidential campaign of 1884, he edited a newspaper called the Maple Valley Era, and conducted this until the spring of 1887, when he went to Winfield, Kan. There he practiced law, but also purchased the Daily Telegram, and was interested in the real estate business during the boom in that city. He met with reverses and left that city to come to Springfield. This was in. the spring of 1889, and since then his time and attention has been given to his law practice. He is not only among the ablest attorneys of Springfield, but of southwest Missouri. He makes a specialty of Commercial law, and has a rapidly increasing practice. He is a prominent Republican, and is chairman of the Central Committee of the county. He was also a delegate to the State and Congressional conventions. For twelve years he has been a member of the Knights of Pythias order, and is the founder of Atlas Lodge, No. 213, of Springfield, and takes special interest in that order. He has been active in the Grand Lodge of the State, and in October, 1893, was elected grand vice chancellor of the State. Mr. Frink is an attorney for some of the large corporations of the city, and is public spirited and enterprising. He was married September 11, 1883, to Miss Ruth A. Ingman, daughter of L. D. Ingman, a dry goods merchant of Ida Grove, Iowa. She was born in the year 1861. Three children have been born to this union-two sons and a daughter- James L., Mary A. and Edward A. Mr. and Mrs. Frink attend the Cogregational Church. JOHN Y. FULLBRIGHT, Springfield, Mo., is one of the prominent, old settlers of Greene County. Springing from good old German stock, William Fullbright, grandfather of our subject, was born in North Carolina and could talk the German language. He married Ruth Hollingsworth and went to Tennessee, where they had a large farm and owned many negroes. In 1830 he came to Greene County, in the spring, bringing his family. The children were Ephraim R., Henry, John L., David L., Wilson, Samuel, William D., Daniel N. and Elkana. They all came in wagons, bringing thirty slaves. Mr. Fullbright had four brothers, who came to Missouri with families--David, John, Martin and Daniel--they settled where Col. Fellows' wagon foundry now stands, and from those brothers sprang the Fullbrights. Several of them settled in Laclede County, William being the only one to remain in Greene County, and he settled near a spring near the Gulf Railroad shops, and this spring was ever after called the "Fullbright spring." The spring where the city gets its water, four miles north of the public Square, is also called the Fullbright spring on account of William Fullbright having built a gristmill there, which was the first one in this county. He entered a large tract of land, most of the south part of Springfield being on this land. The country was open, covered with grass and with large trees scattered about, and presenting a beautiful appearance. The country was full of game-deer and wild turkey. Mr. Fullbright was a practical farmer, which business he carried on extensively, and provided the largely increasing immigration which came into the county with farm products. He had one unvarying price for his products without regard to the market prices. He made his price for corn fifty cents per bushel. It being a new country, corn was high and often sold for $1.00 per bushel, but he did not alter his price. Himself and wife were members of the Christian Church. Albert Patterson was his nearest neighbor eight miles south. Jeremiah Pearson lived eight miles east of the Fullbrights. The Roundtrees came about one and a half years after. William Fullbright lived to the age of about sixty years. He weighed 300 pounds, and was known far and wide among the pioneers. His house was always open to the early settlers and many of them made it a stopping place. Ephraim R., son of above and father of our subject, was born in 1809, January 15th, in North Carolina, and was about five years of age when his parents moved to Tennessee in 1814, and was a young man of twenty-one when the family moved to Springfield. He was reared a farmer and received but little education, but could read and write and do ordinary business. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John and Abigail (Brouton) Yount. John Yount was of German stock and settled at an early day at Jefferson City, owning several hundred acres of land and slaves. To Mr. and Mrs. Fullbright were born eight children: Telitha, Francis A., Henry V., John Y., William W., Abigail, Mary E., Annie S., all born in Greene County, Mo., except the first, who was born in Cole County, Mo. The above is the proper order of birth. Mr. Fullbright remained after marriage at Jefferson City but one or two years and then returned to Springfield. The town of Springfield did not, as popularly supposed, receive its name from the many springs in its vicinity, but in the following manner: The old settlers, meeting together to name the young town, and as several of them came from near Springfield, Tenn., one of them suggested that the town be named after that place, which was accordingly done. Mr. Fullbright settled on the old homestead, engaged in farming until 1862 when he moved to Boone County, Ark., where he settled on a farm. He has now reached the good age of eighty-five years and retains; his faculties well. He was one of the prominent old settlers before the war and owned thirty negroes. He lost greatly during the war; his farm buildings and fences were burned. All through his life he was a peaceable and hard-working man, of great industry and an energetic farmer, and brought up a respectable family of children. John Y. Fullbright, son of above and our subject, was born on his father's farm near Fullbright Springs, May 2, 1836, and received his education at Arkansas College, at Fayetteville, Ark., and engaged in farming. He married Martha H., daughter of Charles A. and Louisa Ann (Weaver) Hayden. Mr. Hayden was of an old American family of English descent, and born in Kentucky. His father was a Christian preacher and the first one to preach in Greene County, and the first to register in the United States land office at Springfield. Col. Charles A. Hayden was an officer in the Missouri State Militia before the war, has been a prominent farmer and citizen, and is yet living and doing business in this county. After marriage Mr. Fullbright settled on land two and one half miles west of Springfield, and here he still resides. This is a fine farm of 160 acres, besides which Mr. Fullbright owns 340 acres in Greene County, some of which is near the corporation and is valuable. To Mr. and Mrs. Fuillbright have been born four children, Lucy, Charles, Mary and William. Mrs. Fullbright is a member of the Christian Church, and socially Mr. Fullbright is a member of Solomon Lodge of Masons, of Springfield, and was master of his lodge eleven years, and was district deputy grand master four years. Politically he is a Democrat. Mr. Fullbright has devoted most of his attention to agriculture and stock raising. He is a member of the State Board of Agriculture and holds the office of vice-president. He is a man of education, good business ability and stands high as a man of integrity of character, and comes from one of the oldest and best Southern families. Charles R. married Laura Hornbeck; they have one child, Max. He is a merchant of Sparta, Christian Co., Mo. Mary E. married Shirley Corson, who is in the grain business in Springfield; they have two children, Lucy M. and Annie G. Lucy E. married Joel H. Hubbell, a druggist of Clinton, Mo. William M. is a boy at home. JAMES B. EADS, C. E., LL. D. The United States of America can justly claim the honor of having produced James B. Eads, the greatest of living civil engineers whose genius has triumphed over nature's most formidable obstacles.. He was born in Lawrenceburg, Ind., May 23, 1820, but unfortunately his early education was only such as the common schools of that day afforded, and even this was cut short by an accident which robbed his parents of all their earthly possessions and required his services to assist in the support of the family. When very young his genius began to develop itself and when only eight years old he was interested in all kinds of machinery. When he was nine years old his father removed to Louisville on an Ohio River steamboat, the engineer of which observed that the lad was deeply interested in the action of the engine and kindly explained to him its parts and powers, and the information thus gained furnished him much food for thought. Before he was twelve years old he took to pieces and readjusted the family clock and a patent- lever watch, using only an ordinary pocket knife. Machinery possessed so great an attraction for him that his father provided for him a small work-shop and a set of tools and there much of his time was spent in constructing, inventing, fitting, molding and adapting pieces of mechanism to his various wants. Out of these labors came steam engines, fire engines, electrifying machines, and a host of similar articles, all of which showed that the boy had genius, and only lacked skill gained by practical experience. At the age of thirteen, while accompanying his parents to St. Louis, the steamer on which they sailed was burned and Mr. Eads and his family escaped with only the clothing they had on their persons. Being left penniless it became necessary that each member of the family should contribute to the general support and James at once became a vender of fruit, peddling his merchandise from a basket in the streets. During this time he did not neglect to cultivate his genius and his leisure hours were spent, as, before, in evolving new ideas from his busy brain. In the winter of 1833 he built a locomotive, which was simply an ingenious toy, having as a motive power a concealed rat tied by the tail on a tread-wheel, with a hole in front through which the motor was trying to make its escape. His miniature mercantile operations were of short duration for he soon obtained a situation with Messrs. Williams & Duhring, then one of the first dry goods establishments of the West and he availed himself of the kindness extended. to him by Mr. Williams and made good use of' that gentleman's extensive and carefully selected library. Here he laid the foundation of that vast store of knowledge he has since acquired and which enabled him, later in life, to achieve the first rank among the civil engineers of the nineteenth century. When nineteen, failing health compelled him to seek another occupation, and having stored his mind with useful facts regarding civil engineering, mechanics, machinery, etc. he was well fitted for the life he was subsequently to lead. During nearly all the following eighteen years he was on the river in some capacity and in 1842 he formed a connection with Case & Nelson, boat builders, and for a number of years was employed with a working vessel to recover cargoes from sunken boats. His first effort was near Keokuk where a boat had gone down in eighteen feet of water and after various experiments had been tried Mr. Eads devised a diving-bell of very simple construction, to-wit: a whiskey barrel with one head knocked out and the open end so loaded with led as to sink it regularly. The diver refusing to risk his life in this frail construction Mr. Eads himself descended and brought up some of the cargo from the wreck. After this a rapid improvement was made in diving bells and the work was soon reduced to an effective system along the Mississippi and its tributaries. In 1843 Mr. Eads disposed of his interest in this business and began the manufacture of glassware in St. Louis, the first factory of the kind to be established west of the Mississippi, but difficulties interposed which neither ingenuity nor industry could remove and the effort was abandoned in 1847. Mr. Eads then returned to the river and became a member of the firm of Eads & Nelson, whose capital amounted to about $1,500, but within ten years such was the successful management of the business that the capital had increased to the value of nearly one-half million dollars. In 1854 Mr. Eads went to Europe-for the benefit of his health, but in 1857 owing to continued ill health his connection with Mr. Nelson was dissolved and he retired from business with a well earned competence. When the Civil War began it became of the highest necessity that the Mississippi River should be controlled by the Union forces and Mr. Eads' extensive knowledge of the business and of the river were soon called into play. After some experiments had been tried in the way of war vessels for the Mississippi, the Quartermaster-General, in July, 1861, issued proposals for building an iron-clad fleet for the service and Mr. Eads was found to be the best and lowest bidder. Seven boats were to be built of six hundred tons burden, to draw six feet, carry thirteen heavy guns, to be plated with iron two and one-half inches thick, and to steam nine knots an hour, and sixty-five days were allowed in which to complete them. The work was performed according to contract, and the energy and skill of one man had built and equipped eight gun-boats and successfully launched them on the river. They were capable of resisting powerful batteries and of clearing the river of all piratical and contraband crafts. The Government was by no means prompt in refunding to Mr. Ead's the money he had spent in constructing these vessels and at the time they run the batteries of the Island No. 10, they were really the property of Mr. Eads. His services were again called into requisition in 1862 by the Navy Department and he constructed a number of musket-proof vessels and built four heavy mortar boats. The aid be lent the Government during this time cannot be over estimated, for without his assistance the Mississippi could not have been opened to navigation. For rest and the recovery of his strength Mr. Eads went to Europe while the war was in progress, but in 1865 he returned and two years later became chief engineer of the St. Louis & Illinois Bridge Company, and owing to his practical and creative genius, the long cherished scheme of a bridge across the Mississippi River was realized in July, 1874, work having fairly begun on the bridge in 1868. Caissons were used in the construction of this bridge and marked a new era in civil engineering. The bridge is a model of grace and beauty, and what is far more important, strength, and is the perfection of modern civil engineering. Notwithstanding the marvels wrought by his genius, it was reserved for him to grasp and control the mightiest river of the world, to direct its currents and to remove the obstructions to navigation it had itself formed, thus opening a ship channel to the sea. In 1874 he proposed to Congress the creation at his own and associates' expense, of a wide and deep channel to the Gulf of Mexico and this work was to be paid by the Government as certain widths and depths were attained. As usual his design was attacked with much virulence by the press and by brother engineers, but Mr. Eads' demonstrations were stronger than the sayings of others and on the 3d of March, 1875 the Act was approved, authorizing him to open the South pass (a more difficult one than the one he had selected), by jetties; for which he was to receive $500,000 when the channel was twenty feet deep and two hundred feet wide, and other payments when. still greater depths and width had been secured. He at once began the work and as it progressed, one after another of its opponents came to see the feasibility of the project and the absolute certainty of ultimate success. In recognition of the pre-eminent merits of Mr. Eads, foreign scientific associates have done themselves the honor to enroll his name as an honorary member of their bodies; potentates have done honor to his overmastering genius, and the University of Missouri has voluntarily conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws. Although he has never been robust he yet gives promise of many years of usefulness. He is possessed of the loftiest virtues as a citizen and he adorns every station he endeavors to fill, as well as the age in which he lives. VERY REV. FATHER MAURUS ECKSTEIN, who has recently established a valuable educational institution in Springfield, St. Joseph's College, deserves move than a passing notice in our work. He is a product of German soil, born in Landenbach, Baden, March 5, 1852, and received a college education at Mainz, Germany, and Engelberg, Switzerland. When twenty years of age he crossed the ocean to America and continued his studies at Conception, Mo., at the New Engelberg Abbey, where he studied philosophy and theology. In 1880 be was ordained priest by Bishop J. J. Hogan, of Kansas City, and shortly afterward he was appointed professor of mathematics in the New Engelberg College, and in 1881 superior or prior. He was also engaged in missionary work throughout northwest Missouri. In the year 1892, after the death of Father L. Porta, Father Maurus was temporarily appointed to take charge of the church of the Immaculate Conception of Springfield. While engaged in these labors Mr. Charles Heer, a prominent merchant of Springfield, proposed to give $10,000 in property at the corner of Jefferson, and Chestnut Streets, to found a college for young men, and Father Maurus was appointed superior. Five thousand dollars in addition was donated for the improvement of the buildings and the college was open for instruction October, 1892. The first class numbered twenty-five students. The curriculum will embrace the regular collegiate studies as well as a commercial course, and the institution is meeting with satisfactory success. Besides these duties Father Maurus is -pastor of St. Joseph's congregation. He is yet a young man, highly educated, with unassuming and kindly manners, is devoted to the noble work in which he is engaged and in the cause of improvement among the people of his charge. He is interested in establishing an educational institution in Springfield that will rank with the best. He is a clear thinker, a logical reasoner, an expressive talker and a man respected by all classes in general. Father Maurus has for an assistant in the college Prof. Basil Odermatt, of Conception, Mo. WILLIAM P. ELSON. A biographical compendium of Greene County, Mo., would be incomplete were not mention made of the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch, for he is a man of much public spirit; he donates liberally to all public enterprises and gives his influence to every just measure for the promotion of the public good. He was born in Stark County, Ohio, in 1837, a son of John Harris and Osee (Wilson) Elson, who were born in Hancock County, Va., in 1806 and Stark County, Ohio, in 1815, respectively. When about twelve years of age Mr. Elson accompanied his parents to Ohio and there he grew to manhood and was married. He has always been active, industrious and honest and as a natural consequence he is one the well-to-do agriculturists of that county. He has always been a great reader and is well informed on all subjects of interest. Formerly a Whig in politics he is now a Republican. His brothers and sisters are as follows: Edward, a bridge builder of Steubenville, now deceased, leaving a family; William, who died in the South, leaving a wife; Richard, who was a farmer of Stark County, and died leaving a family; Thomas W. who tilled the soil in Wayne County, Ohio, and died leaving a family of fifteen children; George, who died in Ohio on his way to his home from Indiana, leaving a family; Polly is the wife of George McCormick, of Columbiana County, Ohio; Rachel died near Warsaw, Ind., as the wife of Michael Bowman; Charity, died in Stark County, the wife of Robert Wilson. Their father's name was John Harris Elson, in all probability a Virginian by birth, in which State he was reared and- married. In 1818 he became one of the pioneers of Stark County, Ohio, where he died in 1821, a well-to-do farmer. He was a sturdy frontiersman and served in some of the early Indian wars as captain of militia, holding a commission from Gov. Randolph, of Virginia.. He was of Scotch descent and was a prominent man in the affairs of his day. His wife, whose maiden name was Margaret Wiggins, was also a Virginian. Douglas Wilson, the maternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born in Pennsylvania in 1778, and his wife, Osee Haines, was born in 1782 and they died in 1846 and 1854 respectively. They were among the very earliest settlers of Stark County, Ohio, having removed to that region prior to 1812. Mr. Wilson was a farmer and he and his wife became the parents of children as follows: James, born in 1802 and died in 1828; Benjamin C., born 1804 and died about 1888; Nancy, born in 1805 and died many years ago; Robert, born in 1807 and died in 1883; Isaac, born in 1810 and died in 1845; Douglas, born in 1812 and now a resident of Stark County; Osee (Mrs. Elson), born in 1815 and died in January, 1892, in Stark County; Peter, born in 1817 and died at the age of fifty-five years; Phoebe, born in 1821 and now living in Ohio; John, born in 1823, now a resident of Indiana; Thomas, born in 1825 and died in 1828 and Jonathan, born in 1829 and died in infancy. Willliam P. Elson is the third of thirteen children born to his worthy parents: Sarah Ann, wife of James Wilson, of Washington County, Penn.; James W., who died at the age of thirteen years; William P.; Douglas Wallace, who died in childhood; John Harris, who was born in 1840, joined the Benton Cadets in Missouri at the breaking out of the war and later became a member of the Fifty-first Ohio Volunteer Infantry and at the battle of Murfreesboro received his death wound; after a few days in the camp hospital he was taken to Nashville where he died soon after. Henry Clay, was born in 1842 and is now a resident of Stark County, Ohio. He was in the Nineteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Col. Sam Beatty and later by Senator Manderson, of Nebraska, and served throughout the entire war in the Army of the Tennessee. He was captured at Murfreesboro and was confined in Libby Prison and Castle Thunder for about six weeks when he was paroled and a little later exchanged and rejoined his command: Vilona Virginia, died in Stark County; Vanelia Osee, wife of John P. Frame, a prominent farmer of Greene County, Mo.; Edwin W., was born in 1850 and in 1878 came to Greene County, marrying here and becoming one of its most -prominent farmers; Emma is the wife of J. J. Jones, of Greene County; Benjamin F. is a farmer of Stark County, Ohio; Florence Nightingale, died at about the age of thirteen years. William P. Elson, was given the advantages of the common schools and of Mt. Union, College, Stark County, Ohio, and in the meantime learned the details of farming. After leaving school he began teaching school and followed this occupation in Ohio, Indiana and Illinois, also laboring a part of the; time as a traveling insurance agent. During the Civil War he was in Illinois and Ohio and in 1866 came to Greene County, Mo., and the same year made a crop on a part of his present farm. He owns about five hundred acres of fine farming land on Leeper Prairie, two miles east of Ash Grove, on which is a handsome farm residence, good barns, fences and other improvements. He gives considerable attention to the breeding of horses and sheep, in which he has met with good success. He was married in 1875 to Elizabeth Cordelia Frame, a native of Montgomery County, Ind., a daughter of S. P. and Elizabeth Frame who were born in Kentucky and Virginia in 1826 and 1828 respectively. They were married in Indiana and there lived until 1869 when they came to Greene County, Mo., where Mr. Frame has since followed merchandising and farming. He was a soldier in the Federal Army during the war and in their religious views he and his wife are members of the Dunkard Church. Mrs. Frame was a daughter of Jacob Harshbarger who came from Virginia to Indiana, his death occurring in the last mentioned State. To Mr. and Mrs. Elson the following children have been given: Vinnie R., John Harris, Charles Henson, William Robert, Richard Parker and Archibald. Mr. and Mrs. Elson are Presbyterians and he is a member of Ash Grove Lodge of the A. F. & A. M. and the A. O. U. W. DR. JAMES EVANS. Prominent among the enterprising and much esteemed men of Greene County Mo., stands the name of Dr. James Evans, who was originally from the Hoosier State, born in Wayne County, June 6, 1829, on his father's farm. The latter, whose name was Jonathan Evans, was of Welsh descent, his grandfather having been born in Wales. The grandfather of our subject, David Evans, was a native of Pennsylvania and was a soldier in the War of 1812. He moved to Pickaway County, Ohio, at an early date, was among the pioneer settlers, and became a prominent farmer. On the farm that he had carved out of the wilderness this brave pioneer passed away after years of usefulness. His children were named as follows: Lemuel, John, Evan, Jonathan, David, Aaron and Samuel. Mr. Evans was a member of the Baptist Church and a man of upright, honorable character. His son, Jonathan Evans, was born in Pickaway County, Ohio, in 1803, and was early taught the duties of farm life. The common schools afforded him a fair education and he was married in Pickaway County to Miss Margaret Bell, daughter of James Bell, who was a native of the Green Isle of Erin, a successful farmer, and one of the pioneers of Pickaway County. He came to America in 1806 and was a soldier in the War of 1812. Wide awake and progressive he was accustomed every year to ship his produce on a flat boat down the river to New Orleans. In his religious views be was a Seceder, of that branch of the Presbyterian Church, and a man of upright character. His death occurred when about sixty years of age. Directly after his marriage Jonathan Evans settled near Hagerstown, Wayne County, Ind., on wild land, and subsequently purchased of the Government 100 acres. This he cleared and resided on for eleven years when he sold it for $15 per acre and moved to Boone County, Ind. There he bought --- acres of wild land which be soon converted into a good farm. By industry and thrift he added to this tract until he finally owned 320 acres of fine land on which be passed the remainder of his days, reaching the age of fifty-five years. Seven children were born to his marriage: Susannah, James, Jane, David, Elizabeth, Jonathan and Elmira E. Mr. Evans was a member of the Baptist Church and for many years held the office of clerk in the same. In politics he was a Democrat, was much respected by the people and held the office of justice of the peace, as well as other township offices. Public spirited and progressive he took a deep interest in educational matters and was classed among the best citizens of the county. His son, Dr. James Evans, subject of this sketch, was reared on his father's farm in Wayne County, Ind., and at an early age showed a decided taste for work. In this he was encouraged by his father and at an early age he would drive a team to LaFayette, a distance of forty miles, often being four days in making the journey. There were no railroads in those days. Young Evans received his scholastic training in the common schools and in the academy at Lebanon, Ind., the county seat of Boone County whither be went with his parents when ten years of age. Much of his education was received evenings by the fireplace at home. When sixteen years of age be began the study of medicine under Dr. Hardy, of Northfield, Boone County, and then went to Indianapolis where he was under the tuition of Dr. Presley. Later he entered Rush Medical College of Chicago. This was in 1851 and 1852 and again in 1853 and 1854, when he graduated. For six or seven winters after this he attended medical lectures at the Ohio Medical College where be had hospital practice. In 1849 he began practicing medicine at Lebanon, Boone County, Ind., and practiced there for twenty-three years, meeting with success and establishing a large and lucrative practice. On the 3d of May, 1855, he married Miss Louisa A. Thompson, daughter of Jesse and Elizabeth (Allen) Thompson. Mr. Thompson was born in Kentucky and descended from an old Colonial family. At an early date be settled in Boone County, Ind., and became a prosperous farmer. To himself and wife were born twelve children. After marriage Dr. Evans settled at Lebanon and there reared four children, Alpha D., James B., Elizabeth E. and Fred. In 1871 Dr. Evans came to Springfield, engaged in the drug business for four and a half years, and then bought a farm of 240 acres on Wilson Creek, a few miles above the battle field. On this farm he resided for four and a half years. In 1880 be bought 240 acres at Nichols Junction and added to this until he owned 330 acres. In 1882 he laid out the town of Nichols Junction, which is a thriving village beautifully situated near Springfield. Dr. Evans has been identified with the laying out and building up of two other towns. In 1854 he laid out Bunker Hill, in Indiana, and this is now a thriving town, and subsequently made additions to the town of Lebanon, Ind., the same amounting to more than half the town. Dr. Evans is a large land owner in Greene County and at one time owned 810 acres. Part of this he has given to his sons. The Doctor also owns 240 acres adjoining Nevada, Mo. In 1871 he bought forty acres adjoining Springfield, made improvements and sold it out into lots at a good profit. He bought and sold a good deal of property in Springfield and built a large brick building on South Street, the same being occupied by Hall & Co., wholesale druggists. When young, Dr. Evans was identified with both the Odd Fellow and Mason Fraternities. He and Mrs. Evans are members of the Baptist Church, and in politics he is a Democrat. For some time he was a member of the council in Springfield. Dr. Evans is now leading a somewhat retired life but is still a public-spirited citizen and is deeply interested in the real estate business, being an active dealer in the same. All his life he has been active and industrious and is entirely self made, all his property having been accumulated by industry and thrift. He stands high as a man of integrity of character, and gives freely of his means to further any enterprise for the advancement of the comnaunity. He has ever been a friend of the poor and has assisted many poor men to get a home, frequently making a sale of a lot or farm to some man who had not a dollar to pay down, selling entirely on long credit and in this way has made many a sale which could not otherwise have been made. He has carried this so far as to often pay for the entire cost of the papers transferring the property, relying entirely on the honesty of the purchaser to make the payments. When unable to meet their agreements, he generally granted an extension of credit. Nichols Junction is on high ground and is pleasantly located. The climate is mild and delightful and possesses the invigorating properties to be found only on the Ozarks. The dry and pure air has been found greatly beneficial to persons suffering with asthma and bronchial troubles, and the Doctor contemplates, in the near future, erecting a sanitarium at this health-invigorating place. Nichols Junction is but four miles from the public square of Springfield, and one mile and a quarter from the West Addition to the city. It can be reached by both the Frisco and Gulf railroads, there being eight trains daily, four each way. There are also three public highways to the city and in a short time it is expected to connect this beautiful village with Springfield by an electric railroad. It will then be a very superior suburb residence place. People who wish the delights of a rural home, will find every advantage at Nichols. The soil and climate are adapted to the raising of all the fruits known to the temperate region. Lots are sold at very reasonable prices and on long time. Nichols Junction has the advantage of two churches, Congregational and Christian, and it is expected that the Missionary Baptists will erect a church within a year. An offer is open to any church, of any denomination, who will erect a church edifice, a choice lot free, and the liberal proprietor will, besides, aid the enterprise financially. The town has an excellent common school and a new two-story frame school building will be erected the coming fall after which an excellent graded school will be started. Nichols has three nurseries in its immediate vicinity, two general stores, a post-office and four hotels. The town is abundantly supplied with pure water easily reached by means of wells. About ten years ago Dr. Evans began the study of theology and has devoted much of his time to this important subject. He soon became an efficient minister of the gospel and now preaches in different States, without money and without price, following the examples of the Apostles of old. He has engaged in several theological discussions with success, notably one with Rev. R. S. Parkhurst, of Independence, Kan., which has been printed and fills a thick pamphlet of 152 pages. Dr. Evans' views on the subject of the resurrection are clearly expressed in it. He is a man of vigorous constitution and at sixty-four years of age, possesses the activity of mind and body of a man of fifty years. He has pronounced views on all subjects of importance and is a clear thinker, a logical reasoner and a man whose words carry weight. His life of temperance is well illustrated by the exclusion of saloons at Nichols Junction. He makes it a condition in his deeds to the property, that no liquors can be sold or given away on the premises. The Doctor is a philosopher of his own school. His immense brain power, in connection with his vigorous body, his high ideas of morality, strict sense of justice, his naturally enterprising and energetic disposition, combined with his practical ideas of life, make him at once a man of force, originality and a public benefactor.
Missouri Records Kansas Records Cemetery Transcriptions
Census Transcriptions Marriage Records Obituary Index
Family Research Research Requests Email Webmaster

free web counter
Alienware Computer Coupons