Jackson County Biographies
Jackson County Biographies
From The Memorial & Biographical Record of Kansas City and Jackson County, Missouri LEWIS DEARDORFF Was for many years one of the most prominent and honored business men of Kansas City. His life history most happily illustrates what may be attained by faithful and continued effort in carrying out an honest purpose. It is the story of a life whose success is measured by its usefulness - a life that has made the world better and brighter. There was no man who did more for the upbuilding of the city and the promotion of its commercial interests; and the welfare of every community depends almost entirely upon its commercial activity. There is no task which falls to the lot of the historian more difficult than that of the portrayal of character, the reasoning back from effect to cause, the analyzation of the principles and motives which enter into action and result either in success or failure; but in the life of such men as Mr. Deardorff there are some traits that stand forth with startling clearness. Among these were an unfaltering perserverance, a laudable ambition, determined energy and above these an honesty of purpose that was never questioned. In the history of Kansas City no one is more deserving of prominent mention than the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch. He was born February 14, 1830, near Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, and there spent the days of his childhood. He learned the trade of carpentering in Philadelphia, serving a regular apprenticeship, and when about twenty years of age removed to Springfield, Ohio, where he followed that vocation in connection with an elder brother, a contractor there. After he had accumulated some capital he emigrated to Tipton, Iowa, where he purchased land and engaged in the manufacture of brick. In 1856, he came to Kansas City, where he engaged in the general contracting business until 1860. In that year began his connection with the lumber trade. He entered into partnership with Mr. Smith, of Leavenworth, Kansas, where they established a large lumber-yard and built up a good business. Mr. Deardorff, however, continued his residence in Kansas City and the outbreak of the war disposed of his interest, once more turning his attention to contracting and building in this place. In 1865, however, he resumed the lumber business, in connection with his brother, John Deardorff, with whom he had entered upon his business career in Springfield, Ohio, and who invested capital in the new enterprise, while Lewis assumed the active management. The firm of Deardorff Brothers continued until 1866, when our subject bought out his partner. He had established a yard at the corner of Eleventh and Main streets, and his constantly increasing trade caused him to frequently enlarge his facilities. There were two other small yards in the city at the time he established business. He was one of the most important factors in the establishment of this line of endeavor, his own business growing rapidly until he was at the head of the largest enterprise of the kind in Kansas City, and one of the largest west of the Mississippi. His trade assumed very extensive proportions, and the boundaries of the yard were continually enlarged and the stock increased. At the time of his death he was also the oldest lumber merchant of this place. Through his well directed efforts, his capable management, sound judgment and honorable dealing, he won a high degree of prosperity, and as success came to him he also made judicious investments in other lines. He became the owner of a large cattle ranch near Dodge City, Kansas, where he had a numerous herd, retaining his ownership of that property until his death. He was also to some extent a cattle shipper. Mr. Deardorff became interested in the banking business as one of the stockholders in the old Mechanics' Bank, one of the first institutions of the kind in Kansas City. It was succeeded by the Bank of Kansas City, and he served as one of its directors. His real-estate holdings were quite large. Besides his ranch in Kansas he owned 212 acres of valuable farming land just outside the corporation limits of this city, together with a large, double brick 5 story business block which he erected at Nos. 1216 and 1218 Union avenue. Mr. Deardorff was married in Kansas City to Miss Carrie W. Shouse, daughter of Judge William O. and Harriet (Bryan) Shouse, natives of Shelby county, Kentucky. They were numbered among the pioneers of Jackson county, where they located in 1837. The judge became the owner of 2 farms, the old homestead lying just outside the present city limits on the East. This was sold in 1883, at a good price. He continued to live on that farm until 1863, when on account of the border troubles during the war he removed to the city, where he made his home from that time, and for several years was engaged in the grocery business. His death occurred in August, 1892, at the age of 80 years, and his wife passed away the following year. In politics he was a democrat, and at an early day acceptably served as county judge. He was a fair representative of the old Kentucky stock, dignified, decided and courteous. The members of the Shouse family yet surviving are Mattie V., wife of J. C. Morgan, of Kansas City; J. A., of Dade county, Missouri; and Mrs. Deardorff. The last named was born on the old farm in the suburbs of Kansas City, here spent her maidenhood days, and acquired her education in Liberty, Missouri. She still survives her husband. Her children are Martha S; Lewis J.; Harvey L.; Frank M.; and Myrtle L., now the wife of Thomas J. Brodnax, of Kansas City. In the early days of his residence here Mr. Deardorff served as a member of the city council, but had no desire for political preferment. His support was given the democratic party. He attended the First Baptist church, of which his wife is a member and made liberal contributions to the cause. He was a man whose integrity and honor were above question, and whose well spent life commanded the confidence and gained him the esteem of all with whom he was brought in contact. His life's labors were suddenly ended by an attack of erysipelas, and he was laid to rest in Grand Avenue cemetery. Thus one by one the pioneers are passing away, but the memory of such a man will remain green in the hearts of all who knew him for years to come. The old family homestead still stands at the corner of Twelfth and Central streets, but Mrs. Deardorff has removed to Troost avenue. She has also erected a 3 story double brick dwelling at the southwest corner of 11th and Pennsylvania streets, and the family still holds the realty of the estate, nearly all of which is of an improved character. ALFRED BAXTER SLOAN, M.D. Has not only been prominently connected with professional interests in Kansas City, but is also numbered among the honored pioneers of Jackson county. He has seen much of the wild land transformed into beautiful homes and farms, has watched the growth and development of this place, and has ever given a hearty support to those interests calculated to promote the county's welfare. Here he attained an enviable reputation as a medical practitioner, and now, after a useful business career is living retired, enjoying a rest which he richly merits. Dr. Sloan is numbered among the native sons of Missouri, his birth having occurred at Cole Neck, Cooper county, September 24, 1827. The family comes from the Emerald Isle, his grandfather, Alexander Sloan, having been a native of Belfast, Ireland, whence he came to America at the age of 15 and settled in the colony of Pennsylvania, for it was before the days of American independence. When the colonies, no longer able to withstand the oppressive measures heaped upon them, sought to obtain independence in the long and bloody war of the Revolution, he loyally joined the army of his adopted country. When success had crowned the American arms and the British troops had returned to their native land, he located in Virginia, where he was married. Near the close of the century he became one of the pioneers of Tennessee, sharing the hardships of frontier life, and later removed to Christian county, Kentucky. In 1819 he brought his family to Missouri, and after residing in Howard county for a time, went to Cooper county. His last days were spent in LaFayette county, where he died, at the age of 84. Rev. Robert Sloan, father of our subject, was born in Tennessee in 1801, and accompanied his parents on their various removals. He entered the ministry of the Cumberland Presbyterian church when a young man, and for 40 years he devoted his life to that calling. His death occurred in Cass County, Missouri in 1869. In 1826 he had married Margaret Davidson Ewing, a native of Todd county, Kentucky, born in 1807. They became the parents of 12 children, 9 of whom reached adult age, namely: Alfred B.; Mrs. Fannie K. Jones, of Kansas City, wife of Greenup J. Jones; E. MacGready, of St. Louis, grand secretary of the Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Missouri; Alexander Thompson, a farmer of Cass county, Missouri; and Hon. Charles William, of Harrisonville, who has served as judge of the circuit court of Cass and Johnson counties; the others have passed away. On the maternal side also has the Doctor descended from honored ancestry. His grandfather, Rev. Finis Ewing, was a Virginian and a distinguished minister of the Cumberland Presbyterian church, which he helped to found. For many years he resided in Missouri, and was noted for his conspicuous talents and abilities, and became active and influential in the public affairs of his adopted state. Several of his children became prominent in political and professional circles, and the name is one that is honored throughout the South. When the Doctor was a child of 6 years his parents removed to LaFayette county, and in 1845 located near Lee's Summit, Jackson county. In these counties his childhood days were passed, the family living on a farm. He began his education in the district schools, and when 20 years of age continued his studies under the direction of Dr. Boggs, of Independence. He afterward pursued a course in the medical department of the Transylvania University, of Lexington, Kentucky, at which institution he was graduated in 1849. He began practice in Bates county in 1848. It was then a frontier region; but slightly improved, and there were but 3 physicians in the entire county. A year later he came to Jackson county, and in 1850 started overland to California, attracted by the discovery of gold on the Pacific slope. He remained there for 2 years engaged in farming and mining, and in 1852 he located in Harrisonville, Cass county, where his father had settled in 1851, and he practiced there until the outbreak of the war. In 1862, Dr. Sloan joined the army of General Price at Osceola as a surgeon, and served with the 16th Missouri infantry in Missouri and Arkansas. Later he became quartermaster for that section of the army stationed along the Arkansas river. He thus served until the close of the war, when, at Shreveport, Louisiana, he surrendered. Immediately afterward the doctor returned to Missouri, and in 1865 came to Kansas City, where he was actively engaged in the prosecution of his chosen profession until failing health caused him to abandon this work. Dr. I. M. Ridge is the only physician now in Kansas City who was practicing here at the time of Dr. Sloan's arrival. He has not only been a pioneer in the work here, but while in active practice occupied a foremost position in the ranks of the medical fraternity. He has been an honored member of the local, state and national medical associations, was one of the founders of the Kansas City Medical Society, and for 12 years its president. He was treasurer and vice-president of the State Medical Society, for 6 years one of the judicial council of the American Medical Association, and was a member of the International Medical Congress of 1887 held in Washington. To the medical literature of the country he has made many valuable contributions, and his articles have appeared in many of the standard magazines of the country. On the 20th of December, 1855, was celebrated the marriage of Dr. Sloan and Miss Mary A. Raly, of Harrisonville, Missouri. She was born in Kentucky, and died in Cass county, Missouri, April 9, 1887, at the age of 49 years. Her life was a noble one, characterized by deeds of kindness and mercy, by devotion to her family, and to the cause of right. To the Doctor and his wife were born 6 children, namely: Charles, a farmer of Knox county, Tennessee; Sallie, wife of William Hoggsitt, of Kansas City, Robert T., who is engaged in the practice of medicine in Kansas City; Roland, a fruit farmer of Howell county, Missouri; Alfred, also a fruit grower of Howell county; and Alice, at home. In his social relations the Doctor is a Mason. He joined that order in Harrisonville in 1855, and has since been active in the work of the lodge and chapter of Kansas City. His life has been marked by conscientious fidelity to duty, by devotion to what he believed to be right, and both in social and professional circles he occupies a most enviable position. A. LOUIS MICHAELS, A.M., M.D. A physician and surgeon of 15 years' successful practice in Kansas City, was born in LaSalle county, Illinois, August 25, 1854. His parents, Newton and Evaline (Mathis) Michaels, were born in Ohio, of German ancestry. The father was a stock dealer and farmer who was very successful in business and a prominent man of his county. He was a pioneer in Illinois, settling in LaSalle county in 1830, previous to the Indian troubles that broke out soon after and led by the noted chieftain, Black Hawk. Subsequently he removed to Kansas, where he died in 1881. Of his family of 8 children, our subject is the eldest. He was reared in his native county till 14 years of age, receiving elementary instruction in the common schools and later in a private school at home. He subsequently attended the normal school at Valparaiso, Indiana, where he graduated in 1872, becoming at once an adjunct professor of natural sciences, which position he filled for 2 years. He then entered medical college at Louisville, Kentucky, where he took a course of study; and subsequently he entered the Starling Medical College, at Columbus, Ohio, at which he graduated in 1881. Proceeding to Kansas City, he began practicing, and became police surgeon - a position he filled 3 years. In 1894 he was appointed professor of diseases of women and electro-therapeutics in the College of Physicians and Surgeons, of Kansas City, Kansas, being also a trustee of said college. He enjoys a large general practice and has an acknowledged standing in the profession. He is a surgeon of Company A, Veterans, and examiner for the Provident Bankers' Association. In Masonry he has reached the 32 degree. His reading has been wide of scope and great thoroughness, not altogether in the line of his profession but embracing a careful research into the various sciences, literature, etc. In mineralogy he is practically interested, and among his treasures is a large cabinet of carefully selected ore specimens, which he has been years in collecting. His marriage to Miss Z. L. Grayson, a native of Alabama, was consummated in 1882. they have 2 children: Emma E. and A. Louis, Jr. He and his estimable wife are members of the Episcopal church, and take a prominent part in the social and charitable work of the church. Doctor Michaels ably represents what may be accomplished in getting on in the world with no other aid than one's own efforts. At the age of 14 years he became dependent upon his own resources, and with the assistance of a dollar he persistently worked his way through school and college, defraying his expenses with money earned by performing odd jobs at intervals. Courage and a willingness to do with all his might whatever his hand found to do has carried him to success and fortune. He is a gentleman of perfect physical development and sound health, is of courteous manner and address and of a pleasing, striking personality. HENRY TOPPING A retired attorney and civil engineer, who is numbered among Kansas City's leading residents, was born in Rochester, New York, October 30, 1835. His childhood and youth, however, were passed in Ohio, his early boyhood being spent in Ravenna, while later he lived in Cleveland. His father, Alexander Topping, was reared on a farm in Dutchess county, New York, but, being possessed of natural mechanical ability, upon his removal to Rochester he took up the carpenter's trade and afterward that of gunsmith. He married Lucy Cleveland Ward, a native of Poultney, Vermont. Henry attended the common schools for a time, but afterward entered a private school and took a course in civil engineering in Cleveland. Subsequently he engaged in railroad work - except the summer of 1855 spent in mining engineering in the copper mines on Lake Superior - from 1853 until 1858. He assisted in the original survey and in the construction of the river division of the Cleveland & Pittsburg railroad, having charge of a portion of this line. Mr. Topping started out in this line of business when a boy of 17 in the humble position of rodman, but his ability won him rapid promotion until he was advanced to the position of assistant engineer, and as such he had superintendence of the construction of 14 miles of road. He had at this time not yet passed his 20th birthday. He was a close student and lover of mathematics and the sciences, and was especially proficient along those lines. This naturally led him to engage in the work of civil engineering. After his marriage in 1857, and partly owing to the panic of that year and the consequent stoppage of public works, he took up the study of law in St. Clairsville, Ohio. His thorough research and steady application fitted him for admission to the bar in 1859, and he at once entered into practice, in connection with his former preceptor, with whom he remained for 2 years, or until the outbreak of the war, which changed the current of his life like that of many others. In October, 1861, Mr. Topping was appointed by Governor Dennison, of Ohio, as adjutant of the 3rd battalion, first Ohio cavalry. Later he was made regimental adjutant, and served with General Buell's army in Kentucky and Tennessee, and was in General Thomas' division, which acted as reserve for General Buell's army at Shiloh. He remained with his command until after the occupation of Corinth, when General Halleck, who was in command, ordered all staff officers to the cavalry and artillery not company lieutenants, -- holding such appointments unauthorized by the army regulations, -- to be mustered out. This order included Lieutenant Topping, and in June, 1862, at Paducah, Kentucky, he was honorably discharged. He was at once, however, attached to the engineers' corps as a civilian assistant engineer on topographical work. He was at first connected with General Rosecrans' command, and later was sent to the Shenandoah valley, in Virginia, where he was maily engaged in making surveys for military maps. In the summer and fall of 1862 he was with Rosecrans at the battles of Iuka and Corinth, and in the winter of 1862-3 was with Grant's army in Mississippi and Tennessee. He accompanied Colonel Dickey, Grant's chief of cavalry, in the raid on the Mobile & Ohio Railroad, and afterward served in West Virginia, participating in Crook's and Averell's raids and engagements in that state, receiving special mention for valuable service at the battles of Droop mountain, Moorfield and on Averells' raid on the Virginia & Tennessee railroad in the winter of 1863-4. When the war closed he was in the Kanawha Valley, in West Virginia. During the year succeeding Mr. Topping was employed as engineer by the Averell Coal & Oil Company of New York, opening coal mines, building railroads, etc., in the Kanawha valley. In the spring of 1866 he came to Kansas City, and has since been prominently identified with its interests. Here he embarked in the grocery trade, which he carried on for 2 years, when he removed to his present farm, a mile and a quarter East of the corporation limits. Since 1869 he has been extensively and successfully engaged in fruit growing. In connection with his brother-in-law, W. H. Tallman, of Wheeling, Virginia, he purchased the farm of Judge Boarman, who had largely planted it with fruit. It comprised 80 acres and was bound on the North by 12th street and South by 18th street. After cultivating the entire amount for 17 years, in 1886, Mr. Topping sold a portion of the place, and has platted the remainder, calling it “Belmont Heights.” He has opened streets and made other improvements, and this is now a desirable building site. In his political views, Mr. Topping is a stalwart republican, who maintains a deep interest in all public affairs, and is thoroughly well informed on all question of the day. He has made a special study of one of the most engrossing questions of the present, -- the money question, -- and an open letter from his pen, published in the New York Tribune, sets forth the question in a somewhat new light, and ably demonstrates the result of his careful investigation. Mr. Topping wrote: “I have just read Mr. Horr's article entitled 'Honest Dollars' in the Tribune. Like everything from his pen, it is earnest, honest, clear, concise and convincing, and I agree with every word except those paragraphs conceding the quality of honesty to the 'greenback dollar.” “That the government had the right to compel the people to take such dollars, however much depreciated in time of national peril, is conceded by every one, and I agree with Mr. Horr when he says, 'Such a law in time of peace would be thoroughly dishonest.' But when he says, 'I do not believe any nation on the face of the earth ever resorted to such legislation except in time of great national distress and as the only means of preserving national existence,” I think he is not sustained by the facts of our own recent history. “Thirteen years after the close of the war, by the act of May 31, 1878, forbidding the retirment of greenbacks, the government re-asserted the power to stamp the flat value inherent in the legal-tender quality upon its circulating notes, and the supreme court decision of March 3, 1884, fully upholds the act and the power. “I believe the legal tender acts, thus upheld in time of peace as well as in time of war by the supreme court, have introduced a principal as hurtful to sound national finance as the doctrines of the Dred Scott decision were demoralizing to the national conscience. I believe the decisions of 1870 and 1872 to be 'good law' and that of 1884 'bad law;' but so long as the latter stands unreversed the advocates of flat money have a 'standing in court.” “True, the court only affirms the power and leaves the expediency to the discretion of congress; but when the power is so broadly asserted the expediency is likely to be inferred. I believe that a decision ought to be reviewed and reversed in the court of conscience, as the Dred Scott decision was, or, better still, overruled by a constitutional amendment.” “We will never get rid of financial heresies so long as congress is supposed to have the power and right to compel the people in time of peace to accept for their labor or other think of value a piece of paper having no value.” Mr. Topping was married on the 1st of October, 1857, in Bridgeport, Ohio, to Mary R. Tallman, daughter of John C. Tallman, of Bridgeport, Ohio, a well-known banker. Mrs. Topping still has considerable interests there in manufacturing concerns. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and a most estimable lady. To Mr. and Mrs. Topping have been born the following children: George, a farmer of Chase county, Kansas, who married Miss Louise Grinnell, of Cedar Rapids, Michigan, whose paternal ancestors came over in the Mayflower; John, secretary of the Aetna Standard Iron and Steel Works at Bridgeport, Ohio. He married Miss Minnie Junkins, a merchant of Bridgeport. Wilbur, secretary and general manager of the Bellaire Stamping Company, of Harvey, Illinois, manufacturers of the Columbian Enamel Ware, gold and enameled signs, etc. He married Clara Taylor, daughter of Elder John Z. Taylor, formerly a Christian minister of Kansas City; Albert, who is in the office of the Aetna Standard Company, in Bridgeport, Ohio; Ellen, wife of Samuel Hazlett, teller in the People's Bank of Wheeling, West Virginia, and a son of Dr. Hazlett, of that city; Lucy, who became the wife of John M. Wilfley, who was for a number of years with the Kansas City National Bank, and afterward removed to Kokomo, Colorado; and Cornelia, who is now attending the high school. Mrs. Wilfley died in Leadville, Colorado, in February, 1895, and was buried in the Elmwood cemetery of Kansas City. In 1886 Mr. Topping erected his fine residence. It is a beautiful and commodious surbuban home, 1 ¼ miles East of the city limits, and stands on a commanding eminence surrounded by a beautiful lawn, while within it is supplied with all the comforts and many of the luxuries of life. BENJAMIN F. RECORDS, M.D. A physician of the regular profession, was born January 6, 1834, in Bracken county, Kentucky, and is descended from one of the honored pioneer families of that state. He traces his ancestry back to England, where in 1700 was born John Records, the founder of the family in America. Braving the dangers that attended an ocean voyage in the early part of the 18th century, he crossed the Atlantic and became a resident of Sussex county, Delaware, where occurred the birth of his son, Josiah Records, the great-grandfather of the Doctor, on the 1st of December, 1741, O. S. His grandfather, Laban Records, was born in the same county in 1765, and by occupation was a farmer. He went to Kentucky in 1775, and afterward rendered efficient service to the government during the Indian war as a scout. He was one of the pioneers of the state, when forests stood in their native grandeur, and the famous blue-grass region was an uninhabited tract. The Doctor's father, Laban S. Records, was born in Kentucky, May 11, 1807, and in his early life followed the profession of school teaching, but subsequently devoted his energies to merchandising. He was united in marriage with Martha Stites, a daughter of Samuel Stites, who was born in New Jersey, in 1760, made farming his life work, and died at the advanced age of 88. His father, William Stites, was a native of Wales and came to America in 1740. Laban S. Records and his wife removed to Illinois in 1840. Both died in Liberty, Missouri, the former at the age of 68 years, leaving a family of 5 surviving children, namely: Mrs. Sarah J. Brown, of Junction City, Kansas; William P.; who is living in Leadville, Colorado; Mrs. M. E. Long, of Kansas City; James M., of this place; and the Doctor. During his early boyhood, in 1840, Dr. Records accompanied his father's family on their removal from his native place near Augusta, Kentucky to Illinois, when they located near Paris, that state; and Benjamin attended the public schools of the neighborhood. Thoroughly mastering the branches therein taught, at the age of 19 he began teaching school, and while thus engaged he devoted his leisure hours to the study of medicine under the direction of the well known firm of Drs. Herrick & Mills, of Midway, Illinois. Subsequently he entered the St. Louis Medical college, and was graduated from that institution. Having now fitted himself for his chosen calling, Dr. Records opened an office and began practice in Paradise, Missouri, where he met with good success, but removed to Liberty, Missouri, in 1878, and to Kansas City in the Spring of 1889. Not long after his arrival he was appointed to the position of assistant city physician - unsolicited on his part, -- in which capacity he served until March 1891, when he resigned and opened an office for private practice, and is now at the head of a large and constantly increasing business, which is a tribute to his ability and professional skill. Dr. Records has been married 2 times, his second wife having been Miss Mattie B. Williams, of Platte county, Missouri. He has a family of 4 living children: John W.; who is now acting as general foreman of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe shops, Argentine, Kansas; James L., who is superintendent of postal station “A”, in Kansas City; and Lucy McC., wife of James L. Reikerd, engineer, Kansas City, Missouri; and W. C., the youngest, clerk in Hammer Brothers' grocery. The Doctor is prominently connected with medical societies, and is a valued member of the Kansas City District Medical Society, the Kansas City Medical Club, and the State Medical Society of Missouri. The Doctor is a close student and devotes his time exclusively to his professional interests, taking no part in politics aside from casting his vote in support of the men and measures of the democracy. He and family are members of the Baptist church, and in social circles hold an enviable position. Success comes as the result of earnest application, unfaltering determination and the exercise of those powers with which nature has endowed him, and that Dr. Records has made the most of his opportunities is shown by his large and well merited practice. He was made a Mason in 1866, exalted a Royal Arch Mason in 1867, and has filled all the leading offices in lodge and chapter, and served 4 years as district deputy grand master; is a member now of Temple Lodge, No. 299, and Orient Chapter No. 102, of this city. DAVID MERIWETHER Is a prominent merchant of Westport and a recognized leader in business circles in this place. He has been a resident of Jackson county for more than a quarter of a century, and while he has never sought prominence in political or public life, he belongs to that class of citizens who always faithfully perform each day's duty as it comes and are the elements of true strength and stability of any community. Our subject was born on the 24th of February 1842, in Monticello, Jasper county, Georgia, and comes of one of the old and honored families of that state. His great-grandfather, Frank Meriwether, was one of the pioneers of Georgia, locating in Oglethorpe county in 1784. Though many years the family was honorably and prominently connected with the history of that state. The grandfather, Thomas Meriwether, had accompanied his father on the removal in 1784, their home having formerly been in Virginia. The father of our subject also bore the name of David and was a native of Georgia. He was married 4 times, his 4th union being with Mrs. Matilda A. Young, nee Pearson, who was born in the “Cracker” state. From the age of 18 years he was a resident of Jasper county, where his death occurred in January, 1867. His wife afterward came to Missouri and in 1875 departed this life. By their marriage they had 7 children, 6 of whom reached mature years, while 3 sons and 2 daughters are yet living, namely: Thomas, a resident of Monticello, Georgia, who married Miss Walker and has 3 living children; David, of this review; Sarah, wife of Clark Bailey, of Sandtown, Georgia; Charles Matthews, who was named in honor of his grandmother, a daughter of Governor Matthews, of Georgia, and is now living with his family in Social Circle, that state; and Lucy M., wife of John W. Lewis, of Marietta, Georgia, by whom she has 2 children. Her husband's father reared and educated Governor Brown and James Brown, of Georgia, 2 of the most prominent characters in that state. Mr. Meriwether, of this review, the 3rd in order of birth, was reared in the county of his nativity and remained at home until after the civil war was inaugurated, when, true to the principles and interests among which he was reared he offered his services to the southern cause and became a member of company D, 10th Confederate cavalry, which he joined on its organization. The regiment was commanded by Colonel C. C. Good and operated principally in east Tennessee, Virginia and Georgia. For 3 years he followed the standard to which he had pledged his loyal service, experiencing all the difficulties and hardships of war, and demonstrating his bravery on many a battlefield. He was within a few feet of Major General Walker when he was shot from his horse near Atlanta, Georgia, July 22, 1864, and was present at the surrender of General Joseph E. Johnston in North Carolina. The war having ended Mr. Meriwether returned home and resumed the quiet pursuits of the farm, his time being thus passed through the 2 succeeding years. His residence in Jackson county, Missouri, dates from 1868, at which time he located on a farm in Westport township. With characteristic energy he began the cultivation and development of his land, which, owing to his perservering efforts, was soon highly improved and yielded to him a golden tribute in return for the care and labor he bestowed upon it. In 1877 he came to Westport and effected the purchase of the store formerly owned by William Riley. He has since been numbered amojng the successful merchants of the city, his progressive methods, his energy and his enterprise well entitling him to be thus accounted. He carries a large and complete stock of staple and fancy groceries, flour and feed, and his courteous treatment of his patrons, his earnest desire to please them and his honorable efforts have secured to him a liberal and constantly increasing patronage. On the 5th of December, 1865, Mr. Meriwether was united in marriage with Miss Martha J. Mastin, an estimable lady, whose social nature has made her many warm friends. She is a native of Athens, Tennessee, and a daughter of Thomas W. Mastin, now deceased, who was a very prominent man in that state. Mr. and Mrs. Meriwether now have 3 children, namely: Ada May, wife of H. F. Anderson, of Westport, by whom she has 2 children, Harry Forester and Lois; William Wheeler, who is his father's partner in business and married Miriam Klock, a native of Oneida, New York, by whom he has two children, Francis Miriam and Martha; and Lucy Anna, at home. They also lost one child, Elizabeth Mastin, who died at the age of 5 years. The family is widely and favorably know in Westport society circles and their home is a favorite resort for many friends. In his political views Mr. Meriwether has been a long-life democrat and has been elected on that ticket to the city council of Westport, where, while serving, he acted as chairman of the public improvement committee and did much to advance the city's interests. He also served for 11 consecutive years as city treasurer and his long continuance in office as custodian of the public funds well indicates his fidelity to duty and the confidence reposed in him. He has also been a member of the school board of Westport township, and the cause of education finds in him a true and tried friend. He is a valued member of the Masonic fraternity of Westport. His name is a synonym of honorable business dealing, and in all the relations of life he has proved himself faithful to the trust committed to him, while upon his record there falls no shadow of wrong or suspicion of evil. His success is attributable to his own energy and perseverance and he is esteemed by all who know him. AVIS ELIDA SMITH, M.D. In no country in the world are the advantages offered to women that America affords. Almost every avenue of business which she chooses to enter has been open to her, and the world acknowledges that her progress equals that of man. She no longer has to seek a justification for her entrance into business life, for her power, ability and usefulness are now universally recognized. Especially in the medical profession has she won a place and name that reflect credit upon the sex. When a woman gives her time and energy to this work, she has not only the thorough knowledge of theory to which all may attain, but in practice she also possesses a sympathy and intuitive comprehension which her brothers of the fraternity often lack. Dr. Smith today stands in the front rank among the members of the medical profession in Kansas City, and is enjoying a large and lucrative practice. She was born in Winnebago county, Illinois, October 17, 1851, and is a daughter of James H. and Huldah (Howland) Smith. Her father was a native of Delaware county, New York, born August 28, 1821, and by occupation was a farmer. He died in 1893, at the age of 71 years, and his widow is still living, at the age of 73. In the family were but 2 children, Avis E. and Dana R. Dr. Smith's paternal grandfather, Elijah Cleveland Smith, was born in Chatham county, New York, May 20, 1788, and died in Delaware county, same state, in 1873. Through his mother, Abigail Cleveland, he traced his ancestry back through Elijah, Joseph and Samuel to Moses Cleveland, who came in 1635 to Massachusetts from Suffolk county, England. He was the founder of the Cleveland family in this country. His father, Peter Smith, was born in Connecticut, in 1742, and died in Delaware county, New York, in 1843, at the age of 100 years. The family was early founded in America, though by whom it is not known. The Doctor's maternal grandfather, George Howland, was also a native of the Empire State, his birth having occurred at Hamden, Delaware county, August 1, 1793. By occupation he was a farmer, and during the War of 1812 he served as a member of the colonial army, doing valiant duty. He died in 1873, at the age of 79 years. He was a man of sterling integrity of character and highly esteemed by all who knew him. Six months after his death occurred that of his wife, when she had attained about the same age. His father, Joseph Howland, was born in 1767, in Rhode Island, was an officer in the Revolutionary War, barely escaping starvation, having at one time to kill a horse for food. He died in 1849, at the age of 81 years. He married Miss Avis Chase and had a large number of children. Of his father, Gershom Howland, little is known. He was born in 1734 and served with credit in the French and Indian war. Of his father, Joshua Howland, nothing is known except that he was born in Freetown, Massachusetts, married twice and had 13 children, who were hardy, upright men and women, prominent in church and state. Samuel, the father of Joshua and son of Henry, the founder of his branch of the family in America, was one of the original proprietors of Freetown, Massachusetts. He was a selectman of the town and assessor of the same in 1694. Henry, one of 3 brothers founding the family in America, arrived at Plymouth from England before the year 1625. The early records of Plymouth say that none have a better record for integrity, thrift, uprightness and piety than he. Many of the early members of this family were Quakers and were subjected to much persecution on account of this fact. Henry, in particular, was fined again and again for attending their meetings and harboring the despised sect. The usual penalty was fine of 5 Lira or a whipping. The high moral and religious element which was a characteristic of the early members of the family has largely entered into the lives of their posterity. Though possessing a fair share of public favor, they have never possessed an inordinate desire for social or political favor. Dr. Smith passed her girlhood days in McHenry county, Illinois. On completing a high school course she began teaching, which profession she followed for several years, when she determined to devote her life to the medical profession. She wished, however, to have as a foundation for her medical studies a broader general culture, and to this end entered the Illinois State university at Champaign, at which institution she graduated in the class of 1877, with the degree of Bachelor of Science. Next she resumed teaching, continuing therein for 3 years in Champaign, after which she began reading medicine under the instructions of Dr. H. C. Howard, of that city. Later she entered the Woman's Medical College at Chicago, now a department of the Northwestern university, of Evanston, Illinois, and was graduated in 1883, with the degree of M. D. Not content, however, with the knowledge she had already gained, she went to Boston and pursued a course of study and training in the New England Hospital for Women and Children. She arrived here in Kansas City in 1884 and immediately commenced the practice of her chosen profession; and while she is engaged in general practice she makes a specialty of the diseases of woman and children. For several years after her arrival here she had charge of the medical department of the Woman's Refuge and Maternity Hospital, and in 1893 became connected with the Scarritt Bible and Training School for Nurses, holding the chair of obstetrics, in connection with Dr. R. T. Sloan. She is now connected with the Woman's Medical College, of Kansas City, where she is professor of the diseases of children. She is a very successful physician, and her thorough knowledge of the science of medicine and her adaptation of it to the ills of the human system is shown in the excellent results which follow her practice. She is a lady of great force of character, broad and high ideals, and could never be content with mediocrity in her calling. Therefore she has worked her way steadily upward to the high position she now occupies. She is a member of the Jackson County Medical Society and the American Medical Association. In 1891 the University of Illinois conferred upon her the degree of Master of Science. As to her religious relations, she is a member of the Congregational church, of Kansas City. WILLIAM HAMILTON In the early history of Jackson county the name of this gentleman finds conspicuous mention. The Hamilton home was long a familiar landmark in this section of the state. A typical country tavern, its hospitality and good cheer were ever extended to its guests, whether friends or strangers, by the genial, kindly, loving couple, known throughout all the surrounding country as “Uncle” William and “Aunt” Eliza Hamilton, whose memory is still cherished in the hearts of those who knew them, although the snows of many winters have fallen upon their graves, and the birds with their joyous carols have announced the approach of returning spring for almost 20 years. The familiar faces of loved ones may be seen no more, but their memory remains as a blessed benediction to those with whom their lives were closely interwoven. Through almost a century William Hamilton watched the passing of time and the change that the years brought; and through the long period his own honorable, upright life, marked by fidelity to every manly principle, won him the love and confidence of all with whom he was brought in contact. The first decade after the signing of the Declaration of Independence was not yet completed when he opened his eyes on the light of this world. He was born in Virginia on the 21st of April 1786, and was the eldest son in a family of 8 children, whose parents were William and Ruth (Wilson) Hamilton. As far back as the ancestry can be traced it is seen that the eldest son of each generation has borne the name of William. The paternal grandfather of our subject, William Hamilton, was born in Dublin, Ireland and married a Scotch lady whose family name was Alse. Shortly afterward he emigrated with his bride to the new world, becoming the founder of the family on American soil. For a short time they resided in Pennsylvania, and then removed to Virginia, where they reared a family of 4 children, the eldest of whom was William, the father of our subject, and also a native of Old Dominion. When 40 years of age he was joined in wedlock with Miss Ruth Wilson, then 22 years of age. During the struggle for independence he joined the colonial army and valiantly aided in that warfare which resulted in the establishment of this republic. His wife was a granddaughter of Colonel Francis Moore, a warm personal friend of George Washington. It is with a high degree of gratification that the biographer enters upon the task of perpetuating by written record the life of one so worthily connected and whose own career was so well worthy of emulation as that of William Hamilton, of Jackson county, Missouri. His childhood and youth were marked by no events of special importance. He was married on the 10th of February, 1819, to Eliza Lillard, the wedding ceremony begin performed in Kentucky, after which the young couple took up their residence in Boyle county, that state, where they remained until 1849. In that year Jackson county gained 2 of its best citizens. Mr. Hamilton brought his family to Missouri, and from that time until his death was prominently connected with the best interests of the community. He located in Sibley, now Fort Osage township, and purchasing a house opened the country tavern before mentioned, which he conducted until just before the breaking out of the civil war. Selling his property he then removed to a farm in Fort Osage township, which continued to be his place of residence until he was called to the eternal home. His residence was ever noted for its hospitality, and both he and his wife extended to all who came beneath their roof that good cheer and kindliness to characteristic of the pioneer homes. He was a man of strict honor and unquestioned integrity, straightforward in business, social in home life and reliable at all times. Although he was a slaveholder at the time the civil war was inaugurated, he did not believe in the dissolution of the union, but hoped that the stars and stripes might float over an unbroken country. Reared in the South, his sympathies were with his own section of the country, but he was true nevertheless in his allegiance to the national government. He never turned from his door either a confederate or union man who sought food, and the respect in which he was held by both armies is shown by the fact that his home ws the only one that stood for miles around, undestroyed by fire. His wife shared with him all his hopes and desires, and the love of the entire community was given to “Aunt” Eliza Hamilton, whose great warm heart had a sympathy for all mankind, and as especial tenderness for those in need or distress. For 58 years this worthy couple traveled life's journey together, sharing its joys and sorrows, its adversity and prosperity. They celebrated the 50th anniversary of their marriage in 1869, at which time were present all their living children and grandchildren. It was a happy occasion, not only for the old people, but also for their many friends who gathered with words of congratulation and best wishes to commemorate the day when young in years they started out together to meet whatever the future had in store for them. 8 sons and 2 daughters came to bless their home, of which number of children 8 reached years of maturity, namely: Joseph W., John T., William A., James A., Artimesia, Mary E., Andrew and Charles G. James and Abraham died in infancy. Mrs. Hamilton, who was born June 9, 1804, passed away on the 18th of July, 1877, at the age of 73 years. On the 15th of September of the same year, Mr. Hamilton closed his eyes in death, being then 91 years of age; and the two, who were so long loving companions on this earth, were united once more in the home beyond, where all separations are over. They were members of the pioneer Baptist church at Buckner, their names appearing on the church charter, and in the work of the congregation they were most active and faithful. CHARLES G. HAMILTON It is interesting to know that the old Hamilton homestead is still in possession of a member of the family and that the representative who occupies the place wears worthily the honored name he bears and is accounted one of the leading and most esteemed citizens of the community. Only 5 years of age when he came to Jackson county, his entire life, almost, has been passed here, and with its agricultural interests he is prominently identified. Charles G. Hamilton was born in Boyle county, Kentucky, on the 15th of July, 1844, and in 1849 was brought by his parents to Fort Osage township. He was reared to the labors of farm life and has always been engaged in the tilling of the soil and the other duties which fall to those who follow this honorable calling. He acquired his education in the common schools of the neighborhood and assisted his father in the cultivation of the fields until after he had attained his majority. He lived here through the period of the civil war, and retains a vivid impression of the horrors inseparable from warfare. On the 12th of October, 1869, Mr. Hamilton was united in marriage to Miss Mollie Hall, a daughter of T. G. Hall, of Fort Osage township, and a lady of many excellencies of character that endeared her to a large circle of friends. They began their domestic life on the old home place, dear to our subject from the associations of his boyhood and the abode of his parents; but after a few years, thinking to improve his financial condition, Mr. Hamilton removed with his family to Texas, where for 3 years he engaged in stock raising. He afterward followed the same pursuit in Dade county, Missouri, for 2 years, and then returned to his present farm. Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton became the parents of 2 children: Christine, who was born December 30, 1871; and is now the wife of Cornelius Childs; and Andrew M., born May 25, 1874. The son is still with his father, whom he ably assists in the work of the farm. A dark and heavy shadow fell over the household in 1876, for on the first of September the wife and mother departed this life. She was a woman of many noble qualities, a member of the Baptist church, and to those who knew her best, especially to husband and children, her loss was irreparable. Mr. Hamilton still resides on the farm, which is one of the best in the county. His home is a large brick residence situated on a hill and thus commanding an excellent view of the surrounding country. His barns and outbuildings are models of convenience and the neat and thrifty appearance of everything about the place indicates the careful and intelligent supervision of the owner. He also raises a high grade of stock and his excellent business ability and enterprise have brought to him success in his undertakings. This place is indeed “home, sweet home” to Mr. Hamilton. Here he worked and played as a boy, to this abode he brought his bride and now it is hallowed to him on account of the many memories which cluster around it, memories of his kind parents, his loved wife of his children. Religiously he is connected with the Baptist church of Buckner, while in politics he is a stalwart democrat. Those who know him best are numbered among his warmest friends, -- a fact which indicates a well spent life; and the name of Charles G. Hamilton, like that of his parents, is well deserving a place on the pages of the history of his adopted county. WESTERN DENTAL COLLEGE In 1890 the Western Dental College was established, beginning its existence with a faculty that included some of the foremost dentists and physicians of Kansas City. There is probably not a school of the kind in the country that is a parallel for its successful career. It entered upon its first year with 60 students and in 1895 228 students matriculated! All of the modern appliances of dentistry are used in the lectures and the courses of study. The management of the college is now completing a chemical lab to accommodate 100 students, and is establishing a dental library to be used for purposes of reference by the students and dentists in general. There is now at the college a valuable and interesting collection of specimens, showing the diseases to which the teeth are subject and also many nteresting specimens of dental work done by students, demonstrating their proficiency in the mechanical part of the professional labor. The rapid growth of this school has necessitated a change of quarters, and plans are now being perfected for the construction of a larger college building to accommodate the increasing membership. The course of study is such that whether in lectures, operatives or medical dentistry, the student has every advantage known to modern dental science to fully equip him for practice, and the diploma of this school enables the graduates to practice anywhere in America. The Western Dental College became a member of the National Association of Dental Faculties in the United States in 1894. This school is conducted under the coeducational system, and many ladies are included among its students. The faculty for the year 1895 is as follows: D. J. McMillen, DDS, Dean and Professor of Operative Dentistry, crown and bridge work; George Halley, MD, Professor of Oral Surgery; Robert L. Green, MD and C. E. Wilson, MD, Associate Professors of Anatomy; J. M. Allen, AB, MD, and A. M. Wilson, AM, MD., Associate Professors of Materia Medica, General Pathology and Therapeutics; R. R. Hunter, MD, PHG, Professor of Chemistry; W. F. Kuhn, AM, MD., Professor of Physiology; J. H. Thompson, MD., Professor of Histology; John Punton, MD., Professor of Neurology; John H. Johnson, MD., Professor of Hygiene and Clinical Professor of the Eye and Ear; J. M. Gross, DDS., and T. H. Cunningham, DDS., Associate Professors of Dental Pathology and Therapeutics; K. P. Ashely, DDS., Professor of Prosthetic Dentistry; Edward Bumgardner, DDS., Professor of Metallurgy and Demonstrator of Histology; and William J. Brady, DDS., Professor of Orthodontia and Dental Technics. In addition there is a large corps of special lecturers and demonstrators on the clinical staff. To Dr. McMillen, who has served as dean of the institution from the beginning, the success of the college is largely due, and he certainly deserves great credit for the establishment of a school in the West that is the peer of any long established dental college in the East. MATTHEW WILLIAM ANDERSON President of the First National Bank, of Independence, Missouri, is a familiar figure on the streets of this city and has long been a prominent factor in its affairs. A sketch of his life cannot fail to be of interest here; indeed, without more than a passing mention of him a work which purported to review the lives of the representative men and women of Jackson county, would be incomplete. Mr. Anderson is a native of the “Pennsylvania of the West” being born in Jackson county, Missouri, December 20, 1836, son of Mr. & Mrs. George W. Anderson, one of a family of 8 children - four sons and four daughters - he being the eldest son. His family, who was a carpenter by trade, but whose chief occupation was that of farming, died in Blue township, this county, in the year 1859. His mother, whose maiden name was Sarah Stewart , survived her husband some years, her death occurring early in the 80's. Matthew W. continued to reside on the home farm with his parents until he attained his 22 years. His educational advantages were limited to those of the common schools. He, however, made the best of his early opportunities and by reading and close observation in later years has acquired a range of knowledge equal to, if not surpassing that of the majority of business men. While yet a member of the home circle he served 2 years as deputy tax collector. In 1860 he was elected township constable and held that position about 1 ½ year, after which he went to Mexico, remaining there until 1864. That year he returned to his native place and engaged in farming, to which occupation he gave his attention until 1868, when he was appointed deputy sheriff of Jackson County, under Charles Doughterty, and held that position 4 years. In 1872 he was elected revenue collector of the county, and the next 4 years he spent as the incumbent of this office, performing faithful and efficient service. About this time he became interested in the banking house of Brown, Hughes and Company, which was later incorporated under the name of Anderson, Chiles & Company, he being chosen its president. Still later it was changed to the First National Bank, and again he was honored with the presidency of the institution, which position he still ably and acceptably fills. Mr. Anderson has always taken a deep interest in political affairs and especially those of a local nature, and has ever exerted an influence that has been felt for good. He has been a member of the city council of Independence for many years, has been a stanch advocate of all substantial public improvements, and is highly appreciated as a citizen of sterling worth. He is the owner of valuable farms in Jackson county, comprising some 1,000 acres, and has for years been largely interested in agricultural pursuits; and he has also been engaged in the cattle business for some years, not only in this county but also in Colorado and Texas. Mr. Anderson is a man of family. He was first married in the year 1861 to Miss Julia Daniels, by whom he had two children, Katie B., now the wife of Robert Turner; and Miss Nellie. Mrs. Julia Anderson departed this life in August, 1886. The present Mrs. Anderson was formerly Miss Mary W. Erwin. Her father, Colonel Eugene Erwin, was an officer in the Confederate army and was killed in the engagement at Vicksburg. Colonel Erwin's mother was a daughter of the Hon. Henry Clay, the distinguished statesman. By his union with Miss Erwin, Mr. Anderson has two sons, Henry Clay and Matthew William, Jr. Not only in business and political circles, but also in those fraternal and religious, do we find Mr. Anderson an honored and influential member. He has been identified with the Masonic order since he was initiated into its mysteries in 1865, and is a charter member of McDonough Lodge, of Independence. Also he is a Knight of Pythias and a member of the grand lodge of the state of Missouri. The church of his choice is the Episcopal, of which he is a staunch and consistent member. LINVILLE HAYES Has for 53 years resided upon his farm in Westport township, Jackson county. The family located in Missouri when it was a wild and desolate region, there being few settlements west of St. Louis. For miles stretched uncultivated prairies and unbroken forests, which served as hunting grounds for the Indians, while the timbered regions were the haunts of many wild animals, native to this clime. Mr. Hayes is a descendant from a family of pioneers. His paternal grandmother was a daughter of Daniel Boone, the explorer who first made his way into the wilderness of Kentucky, traveling over the “dark and bloody ground” before another white man had set foot upon the soil of that now rich and populous state. His daughter and 2 girls of the name of Calloway were captured by the Indians, but a party soon started in pursuit and they were retaken. The grandparents were married in Kentucky, and the grandfather was killed there. A large family was born of their union, including Boone Hayes, father of our subject, who was the oldest. After the death of his father, he went to live with his grandfather, Daniel Boone, and with him came to Missouri, locating in St. Charles county. After he had arrived at man's estate he returned to Kentucky, where he married Lydia Shull, a native of that state and a representative of one of its old families. He then took his bride to his home in St. Charles county, and about 1820 removed to Callaway county. In March 1837, he became a resident of Jackson county, where he purchased 160 acres of land owned by Daniel Boone, Jr. 12 acres of this tract was fenced, while the remainder was in its primitive condition. The locality was indeed sparsely settled, the Indians being far more in numbers than their white neighbors. The father also purchased 120 acres of land from Governor Boggs and improved his property, transforming it into a fine farm. In 1849, after the discovery of gold on the Pacific slope, he crossed the plains to California, accompanied by his 3 sons, Amazon, Linville and Upton. After a 3 month journey with ox teams they reached Sacramento. At Weaverville, California, then called Hangtown, the father established a boarding house, which he conducted for several years. His death occurred there, while his wife died in this county, about 1840, and was laid to rest in the family cemetery. He was a typical pioneer, fearless and undaunted and honorable in all things. Before moving to Missouri he served in an Indian war. Boone and Lydia Hayes were the parents of 10 children who grew to maturity. Alfred, the eldest, died in 1838. Louisa became the wife of Thomas Krump, and both are now deceased. They had 3 sons: Henry, of Independence, Missouri; Richard, who is living in Clay county, Texas; and Daniel, a resident of Saline county, Missouri. Shrelda became the wife of James McMurtrie and they also have passed away. Their children were Levi, who is living in Wichita Falls, Texas; James, of California, and Samuel, who was killed in the civil war. Eleanor married Francis Chick, and they also have departed this life, leaving 2 living children: Martha, of Callaway county, and Lydia, who is living in northern Missouri. Fannie Robinson, living in western Kansas. Amazon married Agnes McMurtrie, who died leaving 1 son, James, who is now county judge of Bates county, Missouri. After the death of his first wife he wedded Mary Berry, and they have 3 daughers: Sophie, widow of John Booth, who is serving as postmistress of Westport; Fannie, wife of Teson Howell, of Paola, Kansas; and Anna, wife of Green Bates, also of Paola. Linville is the next in order of birth. Samuel, deceased, married Rebecca Berry, who has also passed away, and the members of their family are as follows: Mary Lob; Robert, of California, who married Miss Muir, now deceased; Jennie, wife of Foster Asbury, of Westport township, by whom she has one daughter, Mary Agnes; Lou, deceased; Fred, the wife of William Smith, of Independence, Missouri; R. F. Hayes, who is living in Las Vegas, New Mexico; Amazon, of California; Upton, who resides in Las Vegas, New Mexico; and Ella, deceased. Miriam, the 8th member of the Hayes family, became the wife of David McMurtrie, and both have passed away. They had 2 children: Mary Agnes Utz, of California; and Calvin, of Callaway county, Missouri, who married Lizzie McCubbin. Mary wedded Amstead Hughes, and they died living 3 children: Reece, of Callaway county, Missouri; Linville and Laura Peters, who were also living in the same place. Upton, now deceased, married Miss Margaret Watts, and had 4 children: John N., who married Lillie Mills and lives in California; Bettie, wife of Thomas Mutrey, of California; Fleeda, wife of Tim Eppeson, of California; and Jenup, wife of Joseph Whitesides, of California. Two sons of this family were soldiers in the civil war. Upton raised a regiment for the Confederate service and was commissioned colonel. His command was attached to the army of General Joseph Shelby, and he was a brave and able officer, beloved throughout the regiment. He was shot through the head at the battle of Newtonia, and was buried on the field. His remains were afterward transferred to the Confederate cemetery in Kansas City in 1871, and now rest in Forest Hill cemetery. His memory is still green in the hearts of those who knew him. Linville Hayes, whose name introduces this review, was born in Callaway county, Missouri, October 20, 1821, and was a youth of 16 years when he came with his father to Jackson county. He remained under the parental roof until 21 years of age, and in 1842, having married, located on the farm which is still his home. It was covered with a dense growth of timber, but entering the forest he cut down the trees, prepared the material and built a hewed-log cabin. There was no one then between him and the vast Indian country to the west. Tree after tree fell before his ax and the bright sun streamed down upon the cleared land, ripening the grain planted there. Mr. Hayes continued to improve and cultivate his farm until 1849, when he went to the gold mines of California, in connection with his father and others, and after spending 20 months there arrived at his home on the 28th of December, 1850. In June, 1842, Mr. Hayes was united in marriage with Miss Lorinda W. Halloway, a native of Kentucky and a daughter of James A. Halloway, one of the early settlers of the county. She was born April 21, 1827, and died August 13, 1890, after a happy married life of nearly half a century. To her husband she has been a faithful companion and helpmate, ably seconding his efforts in all possible ways. By her marriage she became the mother of 11 children, and in their youth surrounded them with loving care and attention. Eliza Ann, the eldest, born September 12, 1844, became the wife of Henry c. Rout, who was killed during the war. They had one child, James H., now of Westport. Mrs. Rout afterward became the wife of Joel Franklin Thomas, now deceased, who served as a lieutenant in Colonel Hayes' regiment. She died March 24, 1881, leaving one child, Effie, wife of Charles Ellis, of Westport. Alfred, the second of the family, born September 11, 1846, now lives in California. He married Mattie Collins, and their children were Barbara, Oletta, Maggie, William and James. Fannie E., born October 22, 1848, died 4 days later. Isaac T., born September 22, 1851, died April 5, 1852. Van D., born January 20, 1853, lives in Texas. Temperance J., born January 20, 1856, is the wife of James Foster, and their children are Lillie, Benjamin, Edwin, Harry, Carrie and John. Eugene E., born March 11, 1858, died February 1, 1861. Henry Upton, born August 14, 1860, died August 14, 1866. Linville Wiley, born January 7, 1862, is married and lives in Texas, and has one child, Harry. Benjamin T., born October 23, 1868, died October 6, 1869. James M., born May 19, 1871, completes the family. After his return from California, Mr. Hayes engaged in freighting across the plains for the government, making trips from Kansas City and Leavenworth to Fort Union, Fort Laramie and Fort Craig on the Rio Grande river. In 1864 he joined the army, was elected first lieutenant of Captain Milton Shull's company and commanded the company until the close of the war. He went with Colonel Williams' regiment to Texas and Louisiana and participated in a number of engagements, including those at Little Blue, Big Blue, and Byram Ford. He was the first to cross the Big Blue in the face of the federals and acted as guide to General Shull all through that district of the country. Mr. Hayes remained in Texas until the Fall of 1865, and after the war resumed freighting. He served as wagonmaster of a train going from Kansas City to old Fort Kearney and to Julesburg. Their route lay by way of Fort Laramie, Fort Reno and Fort Smith, and on the way they had a battle with the Indiana and remained at Fort Smith until a company of United States soldiers arrived to guard them on their trip. Mr. Hayes afterward made another trip to Fort Craig on the Rio Grande. His life since has been devoted to the more quiet pursuits of agriculture, and he still makes his home upon the farm which has been his place of abode for 53 years. In politics he is a democrat and since 1856 has been a member of the Baptist church of Westport. A worthy representative of one of the most honored pioneer families of Jackson county, no one is more worthy of representation in this volume than Linville Hayes. ANCEL COLLINS Is numbered among the progressive real estate dealers of Kansas City. He now resides at No. 4800 Independence Avenue, on what was a part of the old family homestead. Here he has lived for more than 60 years, and has therefore witnessed the entire growth and development of Kansas City, watching its transformation from a mere hamlet to one of the important cities of the West. He well deserves mention among the honored class that opened the way to civilization in this region and made its development and progress possible. Mr. Collins was born in Estill county, Kentucky, October 26, 1826, and was only in his 8th year when, in April, 1834, his parents came to Missouri. His father, Michael Collins, was a native of Virginia, and his mother, who bore the maiden name of Rebecca Noland, was born in Kentucky. They settled on a farm which embraced the present home of our subject, 61 years ago, and at different times Mr. Collins entered land from the government until he had become the owner of 300 acres. He was a general farmer, an industrious man and extensively carried on that business, cultivating his land with the aid of slave labor. The old family homestead was located on what is now 12th street, and near by he erected a mill, which was operated by horse power, and which was one of the first built in this section of the state. He was prominently identified with the pioneer history of Jackson county, and largely aided in its early development. His death occurred on the 12th of May, 1850, at the age of 58 years, and his wife survived him about 12 years. In the family of this worthy couple were 9 children, 4 of whom are living at this writing, namely: Sarah, the widow of Miletus Brown, of Kansas City; John, who resides in Oregon county, Missouri; Gabriel F., who is living with Mrs. Brown on the old farm; and Ancel, of this review. Few residents of Kansas City can boast of having so long made their home here as our subject. In the days when all the region round about was a wild and unimproved tract of land, he aided his father in the development of the farm. The family had many of the usual experiences and hardships of pioneer life, but as the years passed their labors were crowned with prosperity, and the rapidly increasing population of Kansas City caused a corresponding rise in land values. Mr. Collins continued to work on the farm until 1857, when he began business on his own account, having inherited a part of the old homestead, and for some years did an excellent business as a market gardener and general farmer. He still owns about 68 acres of the old homestead. Of this about ½ has been platted, and, lying just outside the city limits, forms an excellent suburban property. For several years he has been engaged in the real estate business, buying and selling property, much of which he has highly improved. He now owns realty of various descriptions in the various sections of the city, and by his foresight, well directed efforts, sagacity and sound business judgment has succeeded in accumulating a handsome property. On the 12th of June, 1850, in Kansas City, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Collins and Miss Sarah Ann Williams, daughter of John Williams, of Clay county, Missouri. For almost 42 years they traveled life's journey together, and then the wife was called to the home beyond this life April 10, 1892. Their family numbered the following members: Lizzie, wife of Arland Wimsett, of Bates county, Missouri; Ann Eliza, wife of George Greenwood, who is living near Independence, Missouri; Minerva, wife of John Clemons, a gardener of Kansas City; Jeff D., who married Ianthe Corder, daughter of Nathan Corder, of Kansas city, and is engaged in gardening on the old home place; Rebecca, Lorena and Mattie. The last 3 are at home. The deceased are: Asenath, who died at the age of 12 years; Almeda, who died at the age of 10 years; and Ancel, the last born, died in infancy. In 1887 Mr. Collins erected his present fine residence. He belongs to the Central Methodist Episcopal church, at the corner of 9th and Lydia St., and was one of its first members. He is an honored and valued citizen, and the history of his adopted county would be incomplete without mention of this worthy family. HENRY SAMUEL MILLS In the death of this gentleman one more name was added to the list of those whose life's labors were ended and whose record was closed with the words “well done.” A man whom to know was to honor, true, gentlemanly, companionable, he commanded the respect and admiration of all and won the friendship of many. He was an illustrious prototype of a self made man. Success is not measured by the heights which one holds, but by the depths from which he has climbed; and Mr. Mills worked his way upward from a very humble position, pushing aside the barriers which obstructed his path and surmounting all obstacles until he reached the mountain top of prosperity. His life history is as follows: born in Jefferson county, New York, on the 25th of July, 1820, he was a son of Samuel and Sallie (Smith) Mills, representatives of old New York and Connecticut families. The father died when Henry was but 5 years of age, leaving the family in very limited circumstances. After 2 years the mother took her little son, then a lad of 7, and made her way to Salem, Illinois, where her only daughter, who was married, was then living. She provided for herself and child until he was able to care for her, when he repaid her by his loving attention for all that she had done for him. As soon as old enough he began to earn his own living, and was ever faithful to the duties devolving upon him. When hardly more than a boy he was made postmaster of Salem, Illinois. Subsequently he established a little store. He lived 75 miles from St. Louis and walked to that place in order to purchase goods, after which he hauled his merchandise home in a wagon that he had borrowed from a friend. Much of his goods he disposed of from the sidewalk, for he had no store building. He met with only fair success in this undertaking, and resolved to try his fortune beyond the Mississippi. Accordingly, in 1844, he removed to Saline county, Missouri, locating in Arrow Rock, where he opened a store. His mother accompanied him, and always found a home with him until her death. Mr. Mills had but little capital, but he possessed a resolute purpose and indefatigable energy, and succeeded in working up a large business. During this time he was married. On the 29th of January, 1852, he wedded Miss Dorothy P. Scott, daughter of Ezekiel F. Scott, an extensive pioneer of Saline county and a native of Kentucky. He gave to each of his children 400 acres of land; but Mr. Mills, not being in a very good health at that time, sold the property which his wife inherited. His entire time and attention was given to his mercantile interests, and in this undertaking he prospered, building up a large trade. Later he extended his efforts into other fields of labor, purchased farms and began dealing in cattle. From that time forward he was prominently connected with the agricultural and stock raising interests of Missouri. Another line of endeavor claimed his attention - the banking business. He established a bank at Arrow Rock, which he conducted throughout the war. This state, situated on the border between the 2 sections, was always a region of danger. On one occasion, fearing for the safety of his deposits and determined that no one should lose through him, he buried his money. At the same time he shipped by rail several kegs filled with nails, the public supposing that these contained the money. Union officers were detailed to guard the kegs until they were placed on a boat was saved and not a single cent was lost to the depositors and the doors were closed only during the time the money was buried! In 1880 Mr. Mills closed out his banking business at Arrow Rock and sought a broader field of labor and usefulness in Kansas City. The following day after his arrival here he opened the banking house of H. S. Mills, arrangements having previously been made by his son, Scott Mills, who was then a young man in his minority. The new establishment was opened for business on the 1st of September, 1880, and was called the Bank of the State of Missouri. To this he gave his personal attention. Some time afterward this bank was closed and a new one established by the firm of H. S. Mills & Son, which was successfully conducted until the death of the junior partner, on the 6th of April, 1886. A short time before H. S. Mills passed away, he foresaw the closing of his business in case of his own demise, and hence incorporated under the name of the bank of H. S. Mills. He was a most capable financier, who studied closely the attitude of the country on the money question and was most thoroughly informed concerning it. In his own banking institution he received a liberal patronage, for the thorough reliability of Mr. Mills was well known and his integrity and honor above question. In connection with his other enterprises he was largely interested in farming in Saline and Pettis counties, holding large tracts of valuable land. His reliable judgment of human nature always enabled him to secure good men to operate his land, and from this branch of his business he secured a handsome income. His relations with tenants were always pleasant, and many of them remained on his farms for a number of years. At the present time one of his farms is being operated by a man who has lived upon it for 18 years. Scott Mills devoted his service entirely to the bank, and became a most capable banker. As a boy he had learned the printer's trade, and edited a small paper at Arrow Rock. He was interested in journalistic work, but decided to remain with his father, whose judgment he held in great esteem. He was closely attached to his parents, and his death came as a stunning blow to them. He was taken ill on the 1st of April, 1886, and on the 6th of that month passed away. Both the father and mother felt his loss very keenly. He stood not alone in the relationship of son to the former, but they were also companions, friends and business associates, and the death of the son no doubt hastened that of Mr. Mills. The latter gave his attention untiringly to his business until his own health compelled him to seek a change. In the family there were also two daughters, -- Zella and Emma. The former became the wife of Joseph Field, of Slater, Missouri, and died at the age of 39, leaving 3 children, Henry W., Percy C. and Lucile Mills, who now reside with their grandmother. Emma is the wife of E. B. Field, cashier of the bank which was founded by her father. Entirely without capital save a courageous spirit, determined purpose and enterprise, Mr. Mills started out in life for himself. His success seemed almost phenomenal, but it came not as the result of a combination of fortunate circumstances, but as the reward of earnest and persistent labor, sagacity and laudable ambition. The history of his business life is somewhat familiar to the public, and the lessons contained in his private career are none the less exemplary. He was a prominent member of the Calvary Baptist church, to which his wife also belongs, and took an active part in erecting the new house of worship. He was deeply interested in the welfare of his fellow men, and often extended the right-hand of fellowship and aid to those less fortunate than himself. He seemed imbued with the benevolent spirit that underlies the Masonic fraternity, of which he was a lifelong and active member, joining the organization soon after attaining his majority. While in Kansas City he served as high priest or Orient chapter. He was also a member of the Commercial club, and took an interest in its advancement. It was probably in his home, however, that his true life was manifest. He was devoted to his wife and children, and did all in his power to promote their welfare. He erected a handsome residence at No. 1118 E. 8th Street, and supplied it with all the comforts that wealth could secure and art devise. A library of choice books indicates the literary taste of the family. Mr. Mills was himself a great reader, and even when a poor boy he purchased and eagerly perused a number of standard volumes which are still in the bookcases. He was very familiar with the best literature of the world, and was especially fond of history and poetry. He frequently would write little poems which contained beautiful thoughts and displayed considerable poetic ability, but his attention was given to his business. He was also a deep lover of music, and heard some of the finest performers of the present day. In the Fall of 1890 Mr. Mills went to the East, where he spent several months in rest in New York City and at Ocean Grove. In November he started homeward, but died in Chicago, on the 9th of that month. His remains were brought back to Kansas City, and with Masonic honors were interred in Elmwood cemetery. ISSIE J. RINGOLSKY Attorney at Law, Kansas City, is a native of Leavenworth, Kansas, born September 24, 1864, of Jewish descent, and a son of Joseph and Rachel Ringolsky, who emigrated to America in 1844. They had been married a short time before embarking. At the breaking out of the gold excitement in California he made an overland journey to that distant coast. He engaged in mining there and was finally successful, remaining 3 years. He returned to the states by the way of the Panama route and rejoined his wife at St. Louis, and immediately proceeded to Leavenworth, settling there in 1853, where they now reside. For many subsequent years he followed merchandising in Leavenworth, and is now living in retirement, enjoying the accumulations of a well spent life. To them were born 9 children, of whom 5 are now living. The early educational discipline of our subject was secured in the public schools. In 1881 he entered the University of Michigan, where he took the full literary and law courses and graduated in 1886. Following his graduation, he opened a law office in Kansas City, of which place he has since been a resident and practiced his profession. His success in the law is attested by a large clientage and the prominent position he occupies at the bar of Jackson county. He is a speaker of good ability, and is thoroughly informed in the law. Although but 36 years of age, Mr. Ringolsky has made a remarkable career as a lawyer. When 25, he made a fee of $5,000 in the famous case of Rector against Anderson, and in November, 1895, made a fee of $12,000, in the famous Nickells-Graham case, which was in litigation for 15 months. The former case was in court 82 days. Socially he is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Knights of Pythias and several popular college fraternities. Mr. Ringolsky has never sought office, his ambition and aspirations being to rise in his profession. In politicial sentiment he is democratic, and warmly espouses the principles of his party. In 1889 was consummated his marriage to Miss Josie Lowen, of St. Louis, who has borne him one child, Sidney I. He and his estimable wife are members of Temple church. REV. THOMAS JOHNSON On The pages of western history this name stands prominently forth. Its wearer was a man of influence, accomplishing a work for good during the early days of this section of the country that cannot be estimated. He was ever the champion of the oppressed, the advocate of progress, and his name will descend to future generations as a benefactor of the Indian race. Mr. Johnson was a native of Nelson county, Virginia, born July 11, 1802, and was reared in the Old Dominion. His school privileges altogether would not cover a period of more than 13 months, and he walked to and from school, a distance of 5 miles, at the same time doing the chores on the farm. In 1820, when a young man of 18 years, he accompanied his father's family on their removal to Howard county, Missouri. He was of an earnest nature and deeply religious turn of mind, and when about 16 years of age began preaching. As a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church he preached upon a circuit in Texas during his early manhood, and received his pay in raw cotton, which he hauled 20 miles to have ginned. Subsequently he had charge of a Missouri circuit, and in 1828, as one of the pioneer ministers on the frontier, he established a mission between the present towns of Argentine and Turner, in what is now the State of Kansas but then formed a part of the Indian Territory. It was called the Shawnee Mission and was carried on for about 5 years. It included an Indian manual-labor school, where the children of the tribes in that locality were taught not alone to read and write but were also instructed in useful occupations, which would make them self-supporting citizens and materially benefit their condition. This mission was under the auspices of the United States government and the Methodist Episcopal church missionary board, with headquarters at Nashville, Tennessee, each bearing half the expense. Rev. Mr. Johnson had full charge of this mission from its inception until 1873, and its privileges were enjoyed by the Shawnees, Wyandottes, Delawares and Ottawas. In addition to these there were some few members of the Miama, Sac and Fox tribes and a few Sioux and Flatheads. Mr. Johnson put up all the necessary buildings and had the entire care and management of the mission. There were from 100 to 150 children who attended the school and worked on the farm. Between 600 and 1,000 acres of land were thus cultivated. There was a blacksmith shop in which the repair work was done. A mill ground the grain for the needed bread stuffs and a store supplied the other necessary commodities. The Indian maidens did the spinning and weaving and made the clothes, and almost everything used by the mission was either raised or manufactured by the members except shoes, and even they were partially made by them. During a large portion of the time Mr. Johnson had charge of 3 missions - the Shawnee, the Delaware, about 15 miles from the first, and the Kaw mission at Council Grove. He was a close student of the different tribes, their habits, methods and needs, and no man on the western frontier did more for the betterment and upbuilding of the Indian race. Mr. Johnson was ably assisted in all his labors by his estimable wife, who bore the maiden name of Sarah T. Davis, and was a native of Bourbon county, Kentucky. She was born June 22, 1810, and was a daughter of George Davis, of Kentucky. Some of her relatives were taken prisoners by Indians at Ruddle's mills, in that state. Her father came to Pike county, Missouri, at a very early day, and there was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Johnson and Miss Davis, on the 7th of September, 1830. They at once went to the mission, and Mrs. Johnson assumed charge of the indoor work, nursing the sick, preparing and administering the different medicines, and acting as counselor and guide to all the women of the tribes, many of whom gave her their warm friendship. That Mr. Johnson won the confidence and the regard of the Indians, who when once their friendship is given never falter in their allegiance, is evidenced by the fact that he was always given a seat in their councils and stood especially high with the Shawnee tribe. These worthy people continued their labors among the red race until 1843, when the ill health of Mr. Johnson forced him to leave the frontier, and he returned to Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1844 a split occurred in the church, and our subject took the stand for the Methodist Episcopal Church South. After preaching there for 1 year, Mr. Johnson returned with his family to Howard county, Missouri, and purchased a farm about 1 mile from Fayette, where he lived for 3 years. In 1847, he returned to the Shawnee Mission, of which he was again given charge and continued to faithfully labor among them for some time. The tribe gave 2 sections of land to the missionary board of the Methodist Episcopal church, south, and the board then transferred it to the Rev. Thomas Johnson, condition that he bear all expenses of the mission, including board, clothes and tuition. These terms were agreed upon, but the church afterward claimed the land and the heirs of Mr. Johnson had to establish their prior claim in the department of the interior, at a cost of over $20,000. When the Shawnees ceded their land to the government they gave to Mr. Johnson 1 section in return for a beef, which he provided them for their annual feast, and these 3 sections eventually become the property of his heirs. About 1858 he removed his family to a farm which he owned 2 ½ miles East of Westport, but still retained control of the mission, although he left his son, Alex S. Johnson, in charge. On the 3rd of January, 1865, he received $1,000 in money, but paid it out the same day. This latter fact, however, was not known by a band of 8 robbers who came to his house at 12:00p that night with the intention of securing the money. At their first call he opened the door and answered some of their inquiries. They then dismounted and were passing around the house ostensibly to get a drink of water. As they neared the door they made a rush for him, but he succeeded in closing it. They then fired through the panels and a ball struck him in the abdomen. He fell and never spoke again. As he was falling it is thought that he turned the key and locked the door. His wife was at his side in an instant, and soon aroused her son, William, who was sleeping upstairs, and a hired man. She carried up a shot gun and a small pistol. William stepped to a porch in front of a window and attempted to fire on upon the crowd, but the gun would not go off. He then found that the hired man had a musket and 3 charges. He directed the man to open fire upon the men, but the fellow was so frightened that he shot one charge into the air. Mr. Johnson then leveled the pistol at him and told him to surrender the gun or he would be instantly killed. Peering out into the dense darkness Mr. Johnson saw an object which he supposed to be a man and fired at it, but the next morning it proved to be a large black kettle. Next, seeing an object move, he fired and later found that he had shot a man through the leg. His ammunition was then exhausted. He heard one of the men say, “Look out, boys! Will is at home!” then they left. When he first stepped out upon the porch a ball from one of their guns pass through his beard close to his throat. Before the robbers left they set fire to the rear porch of the house, but the mother stepped outside the door and extinguished the fire with a few pails of water near by. The father was buried on the 5th of January, and the funeral was the largest ever attended in this locality. From far and near came friends to pay their last tribute of respect to one whom they had loved and honored, whose noble life was ever a source of inspiration, help and encouragement to them. Though he is gone his memory remains to those who knew him as a blessed benediction, and his influence for good is still seen in the lives of those with whom he came in contact. Mrs. Johnson remained at the mission until the year following the death of her husband and then removed to Kansas City, making her home at the corner of 9th and Main streets, and afterward removing to Walnut streets. In 1869 she built a resident on 9th between Locust and Cherry streets, and her death occurred at the residence of Judge Holmes, September 26, 1873. Her family numbered 13 children, 7 of whom reached maturity, namely: Alex S., who was born July 11, 1832, the first white child born in what is now the State of Kansas, married Prudence Funk, October 7, 1852. She died leaving 1 child, who survives her - Mrs. Nellie Fargo, of Chicago. Alex S. Johnson afterward married Zippa Tewksbury. For many years he was the land commissioner of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company, but is now living retired in Topeka, Kansas. Eliza S., the second child, born April 20, 1836, was married September 20, 1854, to John B. Wornall, now deceased. She passed away July 5, 1865, leaving 2 children - F. C. and Thomas J. A. M. and W. M. were the 3rd and 4th member of the family. Laura L., born July 22, 1847, was the wife of Frank Waterman, and died in 1883, leaving 2 children - William H. and Avis. Cora E., born August 22, 1849, is the wife of Harry W. Fuller, general passenger agent of the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad. They have 2 daughters - Nellie and Louise, and reside in Washington, DC. Edna, born June 6, 1853, is the wife of W.J. Anderson, a stock broker of Kansas City, and has 2 children - Sadie and Jamie. Rev. Mr. Johnson and wife were life long members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South. He was a pro slavery man, but did not believe in the overthrow of the union. In the political affairs of Kansas he took a very prominent part. He presided over the house during the first session of the first general assembly of Kansas, that noted body convening in his home. His son, Alex, was a member of the Senate at the same time. The father was the first delegate to congress from Kansas, and Johnson county was named in his honor. He was president of the Union Bank, the First State Bank in Kansas City, and educational, social, political, moral and material interests are all indebted to him for his efforts in their behalf. William M. Johnson, who like his honored father has been prominent in the public life of the West, was born July 6, 1845, in Howard county, Missouri, and was reared at the Shawnee Mission, his playmates being the Indian children. He began his education there under his father's instruction, and afterward attended the Emery and Henry College, of Washington county, Virginia, where he was a student at the breaking out of the Civil War. He was then only 15 years of age, but he joined the Washington mounted rifles and served during the Virginia campaign in the 1st year of the war. He then returned home and started out again with Colonel Upton Hayes and served throughout the struggle, participating in many engagements. He received a sabre cut in his hand and a bullet wound in his head. After the war he became a resident of the suburbs of Kansas City. Few men are more familiar with the history and development of the West. He has engaged in freighting across the plains, is familiar with the experiences of the frontier, and has many times journeyed across the Rocky mountains. On the 25th of November, 1869, was consummated the marriage of William Johnson, and Miss Lizzie Price, daughter of Richard M. G. Price, who was killed at Wakarusa, Kansas in 1856, an officer in a company from Clay county, Missouri. Mrs. Johnson was born in that county, March 4, 1849, acquired her preliminary education there and completed her studies in Lexington, Missouri. 3 children were born of this union, but all are not deceased. After the war, Mr. Johnson lived for 2 years in Kansas City, and then removed to Clay county. In October, 183, he located on his present farm, where he owns 55 acres of very valuable land, all highly cultivated and improved. He is a prominent Mason, holding his membership in the Blue Lodge and Chapter of Kansas City, and Kansas City commandery, No. 10, K. T. In politics he is a democrat. His wife belongs to the Baptist church of Westport, and in social circles they occupy a most enviable position, while throughout the community their circle of friends is very extensive. MAJOR B. F. JONES Probably no one in Kansas City is more widely known than this gentleman; and during one of the most trying periods of its history, when the city was divided into two factions, he has won a host of friends who hold him in the highest regard for his honorable course, his straightforward business policy and his uniform courteousness. As secretary and general manager of the Water Works Company he has so conducted affairs that differences between the company and the city have been in great measure obliterated, and yet without swerving in the least degree from his fidelity to the company that reposes in him the utmost confidence and respect. Major Jones was born in Gwinett county, Georgia, on the 20th of June, 1831, and in the common schools acquired his education, after which he entered upon his business career as clerk in a country store near his home. With a young man's desire to see something of the world and seek a wider sphere of usefulness and activity, he left home at the age of 20 years and went to New York City. With most commendatory letters he carried with him he found no difficulty in obtaining employment, securing a situation in a dry-goods and carpet house on Cortlandt street. A year later he entered the service of Whitlock, Nichols & Company, a noted grocery firm, which was afterward succeeded by B. M. & E. A. Whitlock & Company. In the service of this house he traveled all over the south and was its representative at the time of the breaking out of the civil war. He utilized the information and experience that he had acquired through travel and business knowledge to the advantage of the newly organized Confederate government in some papers containing suggestions on the tariff, export duties, etc., which may be found among the proceedings of the first Confederate congress. He was a southern man by birth and training, and, true to the principles and teaching in which he had always been trained, when the war was inaugurated he hastened to Rome, Georgia, and in April, 1862, joined the Cherokee artillery, and company already organized, in which his brother was serving as a non-commissioned officer. This company went into the camp of instruction, and was shortly afterward organized into a battalion, of which, on account of his previous business training and special fitness for the position, he was made quartermaster. Until the Fall of 1861 this battalion did service in the vicinity of Richmond, Virginia, and Weldon, North Carolina. During the winter of that and the succeeding year it was engaged in Tennessee, and afterward in detachments did service between Knoxville and Bristol, its labors being to keep in order the discontented elements of east Tennessee. Finally they were sent to hold the mountain pass of Cumberland Gap. In June, 1862, Mr. Jones was promoted to the position of brigade quartermaster, and ordered to take charge of the post at Chattanooga; where devolved upon him all the important work of that post, and in addition he had to superintend the purchase of horses, the manufacture of wagons and the preparation of all goods to be transported for General Braxton Bragg's army. Upon the evacuation of Chattanooga, in September 1863, Major Jones was temporarily sent to organize the post at LaGrange, Georgia, and in May, 1864, was ordered by the secretary of war to report for inspection duty to General Bragg, who then occupied the position of commander-in-chief, under the president, of the armies of the Confederate states. He had his headquarters in Richmond, and instituted a most rigid investigation into the irregularities of the various departments of the government, and especially the quartermaster and commissary departments. Major Jones was selected as one of the confidential inspectors for this important work, and with characteristic energy entered upon his duties, traveling as far west as the Mississippi river and examining and reporting on every quartermaster and commissary along his line. In many places he found great evidences of demoralization, and his reports were so full and comprehensive, and showed such perfect knowledge of the subject matter in hand, that he was highly complimented by those in authority, who seldom complimented any one. When the war was over Major Jones took up his residence in Rome, Georgia, where he engaged in merchandising, building up a large and lucrative trade; but the approach of hard times, the shrinkage of values and the low price of cotton impoverished the people and caused him, as it did a great many others, to withdraw from the business. His next undertaking was the manufacture of pig iron, which he continued from 1871 until 1873, but the panic of the latter year again demoralized trade and he was forced to abandon this industry also. About this time the Kansas City Water Works were built by a private corporation, which entered into a contract to furnish water for the city; but trouble ensured and the difficulty was augmented as time went on. When the works were completed and the company had to select some one to take charge of their affairs, the choice fell upon Major Jones, who accepted the position of secretary and general manager of the company, removing with his family to Kansas City. He might well be called the apostle of peace. His position was a difficult one and it required the touch of a skilled and difficult hand to amicably adjust and carry on affairs. By this time a very bitter feeling existed between the company, the city government and the citizens, and matters had been carried so far that the acceptance or rejection of the works by the city was made an issue in municipal politics to the exclusion of every other subject. To pour oil upon the troubled waters was a work which Major Jones undertook to perform. Largely through his efforts the bad feeling that existed was allayed, obstructions to a better understanding were removed, explanations on both sides were made that cleared away difficulties, and his uniform courtesy transformed enemies into friends. The result of his conciliatory measures was that the city authorities and officers of the company met together in an amicable conference, the difficulties were removed one by one, the basis for a compromise of conflicting interests was laid point by point, and finally an understanding was reached that was satisfactory to all concerned, and Major Jones was the man who brought about this state of affairs. He knew how to handle and manage both parties, for his far-sighted dealing and extreme fairness enabled him to plan and arrange with superior skill, and both sides recognized and appreciated his justice and honor. Owing to his efforts the comparatively harmonious relations existed between the city and the company from 1877 until 1889; but in the latter year troubles broke out anew. The claim was made that the company had not complied with the terms of the contract in the construction of the plant; that it had also violated the contract in operating the system, and in consequence the city was absolved from all obligations to the company. This led to much correspondence and negotiation, in which the diplomacy in which the Mayor is an adept parried every blow with consummate skill. He answered question after question with the readiness and power of a lawyer, and met the opposition of the city with unanswerable logic and argument. In 1891 the city authorities undertook to ignore the contract and build an independent system of water works. In consequence, in December of that year, the company commenced proceeding in the United States circuit court to enjoin the city; and that litigation, in varied forms and shapes, has since been continued, and is now about reaching a conclusion with a decree that the city must buy the works of the company at a valuation of $3,000,000, which was consummated September 1, 1895, and is now in possession of the city. During all this long contest every feature of the system, its construction, operation, efficiency and earnings have been under consideration, and in all these matters almost daily demands have been made upon Major Jones for information regarding these various points; and he has been constantly on guard, watching every movement of the enemy. To no one is greater credit due for the splendid results obtained than to the Major. The fight has been made splendid results obtained than to the Major. The fight has been made in the face of the most intense prejudice on the part of the people, and yet so great has been his tact that he has scarcely a personal enemy in the city, and has many friends among the opposition who admire and respect him for his straightforward course. He has been unflinching in his loyalty to the company, the officers placing in him unbounded confidence; but, with his urbanity of manner and uniform kindness to all, the people have only manifested an increased admiration for the man who can so conduct affairs under such trying circumstances. The Major possesses in an uncommon degree that indispensable quality known as common sense. He is a man of superior and executive ability, possessing a sagacity and perseverance that are essential qualities in success. He is a man of liberal views and broad general information, very familiar with the wide field of literature, and is an accomplished conversationalist, a companionable gentleman and an unswerving friend, his uniform kindness and courtesy arising from a kindly feeling and genuine sympathy for others. He is a member of the Central Presbyterian Church, and is now serving on its board of deacons. PHILIP E. CHAPPELL A retired banker and one of Kansas City's capitalists, has for many years been prominently connected with the business and political history of Missouri, and his name is an honored one in commercial and social circles. The fitting reward of every well-spent life is an honored retirement from business care. When an individual has devoted the best efforts of his manhood to a chosen calling and by his honorable dealing gained the confidence of the public and a liberal competence, he should have a season of rest in which to enjoy the fruits of his former toil. The career of this gentleman has been a worthy one, and he ranks foremost among the prominent business men of his native state. When William the Conqueror, in 1066, sailed from Normandy to England and succeeded in subjugating that isle, there was numbered among his followers one Chapelle, who became the founder of the family in that country. The name was afterward anglicized by dropping the final “e”. History tells of Robert Chappell, who lived in England about 1550, and his son, William. The latter was a profound scholar, becoming a bishop of the church of England, and was stationed over the diocese of Cork, Ireland. William lived about 1580. Another son, Captain John Chapell, became a sailor and commanded the ship Speedwell, a trading vessel, sailing between England and the colony of Virginia. On one of his voyages he was accompanied by his son Thomas, a native of Southhampton, England. The son took up his residence in Warwick county, Virginia, at the mouth of the James River, where they landed May 28, 1635. He became the father of 3 sons - Robert, Thomas and Samuel. The last named is numbered among the direct ancestors of our subject. He became the father of Thomas Chappell, who lived in Charles City county, Virginia, from 1660 until about 1710. Then about 1690 was born his son Thomas, who, having attained his majority, removed across the river to Prince George county and settled in the city of Petersburg, where he was engaged in business as an Indian trader, from about 1720 until 1740. He married Sarah, daughter of John Jones, and they had a family of 6 children, 3 sons and 3 daughters. This number included John Chapell, who was born in Amelia county, Virginia, in 1722, and died in that county in March, 1775. He was an extensive tobacco planter and became a wealthy man. He married Prudence Tucker, who belonged to a renowned family. It was their son, John, who was the paternal grandfather of our subject. He was born in Amelia county, Virginia, in 1752, and removed to Halifax county in 1782, carrying on business there as a farmer and tobacco planter, becoming very wealthy. He was twice married and had a large family. His death occurred in 1812, when he was aged 60 years. The father of our subject also bore the name of John Chapell and was a native of the Old Dominion, a farmer and planter. In 1836 he removed from Virginia to Missouri, locating in Callaway county, where he developed a fine farm and became an extensive land owner. He was joined in wedlock with Mary F. Adams, daughter of Philip Adams, a native of Virginia and a granddaughter of John Adams, who had three sons - John, Philip and Sylvester, who located in Fluvanna and Pittsylvania counties, Virginia, about 1740. John Adams emigrated from Wales to America in the early part of the 18th century and spent his remaining days there. As before stated, his sons removed to Virginia, but John is the only one who had a family. He became the father of 6 sons and 2 daughters - William, Richard, Sylvester, John, Philip, Benjamin, Elizabeth and Martha. Their descendants are scattered throughout the South and West. The grandfather of our subject, Philip Adams, was an extensive tobacco planter and served as a soldier in the War of 1812. His family numbered 4 children. Mr. & Mrs. John Chappell had 5 children - 2 sons and 3 daughters, namely: Sarah, wife of Dr. Lenoir, of Columbia, Missouri; Philip E.; Henry, deceased; Fannie W., wife of Judge J. L. Smith, of Kansas City, Missouri; and Martha, wife of Colonel Henry W. Ewing, of Jefferson City, Missouri. The father was a man of considerable prominence in Virginia, serving for many years as county surveyor and also as collector of revenue. He died on his farm in Callaway county, Missouri, in 1860, at age 73 years, and his wife passed away in 1869, at the age of 58. They were both members of the Methodist church, South. Philip E. Chappell, whose name introduces this sketch, was born in Callaway county, Missouri, August 18, 1837, and under the parental roof spent his boyhood days. He acquired his education in the University of Missouri, at Columbia, and afterward engaged in steamboating on the Mississippi river until the breaking out of the civil war. About 1865 he embarked in the banking business in Jefferson City, Missouri, and for 20 years was connected with one of the leading financial institutions of that section of the state, -- the National Exchange Bank. In 1872 he was elected mayor of Jefferson City, and its interests were materially promoted during his administration of the municipal affairs of that city. In 1881 he entered upon a four-year term as state treasurer, and in 1885 retired from office as he had entered it, with the good will, confidence and regard of the general public. Immediately afterward he removed to Kansas City and accepted the presidency of the Citizens' National bank, serving in that position until 1891, when he resigned. He now owns extensive cattle interests and much valuable property. He served as a member of the first board of public works of Kansas City, and has given an active and liberal support to the various interests that have had for their object the advancement of the community. On the 3rd of July, 1861, Mr. Chappell married Miss Teresa E. Tarlton, daughter of Colonel M. R. and Mary (Locke) Tarlton. They have had 5 children - 2 sons and 3 daughters - namely: Claudia, who became the wife of L. C. Krauthoff, and died leaving one son, Philip Chappell; Logan, who is engaged in farming and cattle raising, and married Rena Corder, by whom he has 2 children, Teresa and Hazel; Mary, wife of Hal Gaylord, by whom she has one child, Claudia; John, deceased; and Alice, at home. In politics Mr. Chappell is a democrat, and in his social relations is a Mason. THOMAS GLENN HALL President of the Bank of Buckner, was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, October 6, 1821. His father, Joseph Hall, died about 1836, and his mother, who bore the maiden name of Polly Glenn, died in 1830. They left 2 sons and 3 daughters, of whom our subject is the eldest. Upon his mother's death he went to live with his maternal grandfather, Thomas Glenn, who resided in Jefferson county, Ohio, and was a farmer by occupation. He resided there until 27 years of age and became familiar with farm work in all its departments. For 6 years he operated a threshing machine and in this way he secured the money with which he made his first purchase of land. While living in Ohio, Mr. Hall was united in marriage, on the 16th of January, 1849, to Miss Nancy Martin, who was born near Wellsville, Columbiana county, Ohio, October 26, 1826. On leaving Jefferson county he removed with his wife to Wyandot county, Ohio, where he purchased a farm, clearing the land and making his home thereon for 5 ½ years. He then sold and removed to Butler county, Iowa, thinking that he might secure a better home farther west. There he entered 400 acres of land, improved the property, and continued to make it his residence until July, 1866, when, selling out, he came to Jackson county. He now took up his residence in Fort Osage township, and has since engaged in the cultivation of its rich lands. He is today the owner of a valuable and highly improved farm of 425 acres, and derives from this an excellent income. In the midst of well tilled fields stands a comfortable residence and good outbuildings, and the neat and thrifty appearance of the place indicates his careful supervision. In the spring of 1892 he aided in the organization of the Bank of Buciner, and was chosen its president. This bank is now in a prosperous condition and ably conducted. Mr. and Mrs. Hall have become the parents of 5 children, but the only one now living is Maggie, wife of Nathaniel McCune, of Fort Osage. Mary became the wife of Charles G. Hamilton and died in Fort Osage township, at the age of 26 years; and Ella died at the age of 10 years. The parents are supporters of the Presbyterian church, of which Mrs. Hall is a member. In politics he has always voted with the Republican party. Success has crowned his efforts, and today he is enjoying a prosperity that is a just reward for his well-directed and energetic labors.
Missouri Records Kansas Records Cemetery Transcriptions
Census Transcriptions Marriage Records Obituary Index
Family Research Research Requests Email Webmaster

free web counter
Alienware Computer Coupons