Greene County Biographies
Greene County Biographies
From: Past and Present of Greene County, Missouri Early and Recent History and Genealogical Records of Many of the Representative Citizens by Jonathan Fairbanks and Clyde Edwin Tuck JONATHAN FAIRBANKS. The name of Jonathan Fairbanks recalls the history of the public school system with which he has been identified for forty years and the successful development of which is due largely to his untiring efforts and capable administration as superintendent. A man of enlightened views, he has been while eminently practical while liberal in his consideration of the various propositions which enter into the scheme of modern education. His pupils and those who have been under his general care as head of the schools are filling places of honor and trust in all the walks of life in this community and elsewhere. Some who have been prepared in these schools for prosecution of their studies in higher institutions of learning in a manner which has reflected credit upon all concerned while the great majority whose period of tutelage ended with the completion of courses in the common schools have found themselves well equipped on entering the University of Life to continue their progress in a manner which has given an insight into its lessons enabling them to reach attainments in which they are not far behind the graduates of many colleges. Early in his career, "Professor" Fairbanks, as the head of the schools was called in the old days, made his mark as a disciplinarian. And, yet, he was gentle while firm. He insisted on strict observance of the rules and regulations prescribed for the students but he was so human in his treatment of dereliction that he won the good will as well as the esteem of all. No stickler for the text, he was insistent on a knowledge of the principles of the subject with the result that the pupils of the schools became imbued with the love of knowledge for its own sake rather than with the desire for credits, diplomas and degrees, the value of which is problematical. This disposition has been made manifest also to those who have come in contact with him in his capacity of county superintendent and the various associations of school teachers. Always a student, he will be found today reading scientific works embracing the latest discoveries of the world's specialists on all that relate to the problem of life in its various aspects. This is the habit of a life-time and he has always given freely of what he has received from whatever source. In fact, he has regarded himself more as an instrument for the transmission of knowledge than as the possessor of it. He has been a fellow student with his pupils and teachers, rather than a preceptor, just as in his discipline he appealed to the self-esteem and ambition of all to keep them from delinquency and attain high standards of deportment. He is public spirited to a degree and has forgotten more about politics than has ever been learned by some who have attained leadership in different parties. He is progressive in his views on this subject, but as on all others, he has never permitted himself to become dogmatic in his expressions thereon. He is a modest, kindly man whose open friendship for all he meets has won him favor on every hand. He is a humanitarian, a student, a teacher, all that is implied in the fullest significance of these words. The boys and girls of other days in Springfield have in the course of their lives and in the pursuit of knowledge met various teachers, professors and eminent specialists but the quiet unpretentious man who directed them early in the paths of learning holds a place in their memory and claims an influence on their careers, greater perhaps than that of any other with whom they have come in contact. The people at large, in view of the visible results, are prone to believe that Jonathan Fairbanks is entitled to a niche in the local hall of fame which shall bear testimony for many years to his efficiency, general worthiness and the great popular esteem in which he is held by all classes of people in the city of Springfield, in Greene county, and wherever he has been known. The man who has thus endeared himself to the people here, comes of one of the oldest New England families whose members have displayed singular talents and virtues wherever their lots have been cast in the great country to which they have assisted in bringing the blessings of civilization during a period of three hundred years. Hardy pioneers, they have been noted for patriotism, public spirit, devotion to the ideals of the republic and persistent application to tasks through which they sought the attainment of the higher ends of life. A well kept book of their genealogy brings the record of their lives in orderly precision and ample detail down to the present time showing that they have been prominent in each succeeding generation of people who in the proper conduct of business and the manifestation of care for the general welfare have led in 'the upbuilding of communities and the development of the country in various ways. A majority of them have- followed the pursuits of agriculture returning thereto often after adventures in business which have not proven profitable, sustaining reverses with equanimity, and bravely beginning the reconstruction of their fortunes after the failures which so often come in the magical changes of American life for which none are so well prepared as those who are imbued with the spirit of the patriot pioneers which has been the making of the Great Republic. Their work in this country was begun by an immigrant family the head of which is known in their genealogy as Jonathan Fairbank (Fairbank, Fairbanks), of Dedham, Massachusetts, a town which he helped to establish after coming to Boston from England in 1633. He came from Sowerby in the West Riding of Yorkshire. He was born prior to 1600. The family had an interesting history in the old country, mementoes of which are found among the heirlooms of the old Fairbanks home at Dedham, built in 1636, and now preserved as a memorial after having been continuously occupied by the builder and his lineal descendants longer than any other homestead in New England. The-first Jonathan Fairbanks passed from the scene of pioneer activities to another life at Dedham in 1668,. In the fifth generation another Jonathan Fairbanks was born at Holliston, Massachusetts, March 29, 1755. He was a soldier of the Revolution and died after a long and useful life at Sudbury, Massachusetts, February 28, 1840. One of his sons was Joseph Bradley Varnum Fairbanks, father of our Jonathan, who engaged in wool manufacturing at Andover, Massachusetts, and Fort Edwards, New York. With the assistance of two brothers, he built up an extensive business but when they were stocked up with a surplus they were bankrupted by a change in the tariff in 1833, Joseph Bradley Varnum Fairbanks married Miss Margaret Hadden in 1827. She was born in Scotland, February 25, 1803. They had three children, Jonathan, born in Andover, Massachusetts, January 7, 1828; James Dexter, born in Monroe, New York, August 19, 1830; Joseph Bradley Varnum, Jr., born in Sudbury, Massachusetts, August 29, 1833. The head of the family never recovered from the shock of his disastrous failure in business. He died at Monroe, New York, shortly afterward, May 20, 1833. The youngest child followed soon afterward, October 31, 1833. The mother had taken him to Boston, where she had gone to live, the two elder boys being placed in charge of relatives. The family had thus been reduced from affluence to poverty and broken up in a very short time. The widow made her home in Boston for a number of years and afterward moved to Worcester, Massachusetts, where she died October 19, 1865. Jonathan Fairbanks was just five years old when with his younger brother, James Dexter, he went to live with James Quinn and his wife, an .aunt of the boys. Beginning to learn the hardships of country life at this tender age, he mastered all the details of the work so thoroughly that his relatives parted with him reluctantly when the time came for him to leave the farm at the age of nineteen. He had up to that time received no compensation for his labor except his board and clothes and the privileges of the district school, taking advantage of the meager advantages thus afforded for obtaining an education with such earnestness that there was little left for him to learn there. Realizing the necessity of seeking a betterment of his condition he struck out for himself with resolution. In starting away he passed through a field in which James Reilly, a nephew of his wife's husband was working. "Where be y' going 'Jonton,' " said the Irish lad. "To look for a job." "But y' have no moneys, here's a 'sovron' for you.'" The gift was accepted in proper spirit, for the boys were somewhat of comrades. It was the first money Jonathan Fairbanks had ever received and he took it with the intention of returning it, although he had spent all the years of his young life in labor on the farm which Reilly was to inherit. Jonathan went to Boston, where he called on his mother and remained five days; after which he returned to the neighborhood in which he had been raised and went to work on the farm of another relative, Nelson Fairbanks, who paid him wages at the rate of ten dollars per month. In the meantime James Dexter had left the Quinn farm after remaining there a short time and gone to Concord where he grew up, learning the painter's trade in shops where he was under the tutelage of skilled work- men and became an expert, afterward making his mark in the business. He was wounded while serving a second term as a veteran volunteer in the Civil war and died October 19, 1864. He had married Olive Green, November 2, 1855. They had five children. The widow moved to Worcester, Massachusetts, where she died June 11, 1886. Jonathan remained with his cousin, Nelson Fairbanks, a year, working eight months of the time and attending school four months. He had an excellent tutor here, who in addition to assisting Jonathan to rapid advancement, induced him to prepare for entrance to the academy at New Ipswich, an institution famous as a training school for teachers and preparing students for college. Hither the two journeyed together the next year, -master and pupil, to complete their education in the same excellent school. Jonathan took with him fifty dollars, the savings from his first year of work as a wage earner. He had. received eighty dollars for eight months' work and had spent thirty dollars for clothing, books and other necessities. He was now twenty years of age. He remained at New Ipswich two years, working his way, and at the completion of his course there started out as a teacher. He was successful in his first application for a position. He spared no pains when he entered upon his work at Ashby. He taught night school four nights in the week for the benefit of ambitious students, specializing in arithmetic, penmanship and rhetoricals and preparation for a great exhibition at the end of the year. The people said that they had never had such a school and that the young tutor would never teach such another. They took it for granted that he was working for a reputation, when as a matter of fact his single purpose had been to do all he could for his pupils. But that first year's work opened the way to great opportunities. The president of the school board at Wilmington, Delaware, had written to his father-in-law at Ashby to send him the name of some young man whom he could recommend, some up-to-date teacher who could come down to Wilmington and "wake 'em up." Jonathan Fairbanks was mentioned in complimentary terms and correspondence led to his employment at Wilmington. He says, speaking of his experience at that place: "I spent four years at Wilmington. It was like a heaven on earth. , I was told that if I would get married and settle down in Wilmington the people would build me a house. I formed lifetime friendships there and have corresponded with one of my pupils of those days for sixty years." But he was persuaded to go west with his old teacher, George G. Parker, and so they went together to Ohio, as they had gone to attend the academy at New Ipswich. Mr. Parker stopped at Dayton but there was no school for his friend to be found at that place. Never dismayed Jonathan Fairbanks continued his quest and began seeking a country school. Finally, after meeting Mr. Parker again at Piqua, he was informed of an opening at St. Mary's and started over in company with Ardivan Rogers. Passing through the Ohio woods, a land of leaf and moonshine, he seemed to come under a mystical influence in which he received an impression of something unusual about to happen. He was in no desperate straits but repeated failures to find employment at this time had been discouraging., He arrived in a canal town, St. Mary's, at 3:00 A. M. There he was informed that they wanted an assistant teacher. Without waiting to sleep after his long ride he called on the members of the board as soon as they were awake, with the result that he was engaged. Rogers was employed as principal and instituted an unusual division of the pupils. The boys of the school who worked on the canal part of the time had the name of being a hard lot The people said they knew when school was let out, because they could hear for a distance of two miles the noise made by the boys as they came down stairs. One teacher after another had failed to restrain the disorder and it was said that nobody could discipline that school. Now the principal turned over the boys whom he could not handle, the larger ones in a body to his assistant, himself taking charge of the older girls while the smaller boys and girls were left in charge of lady teachers. The first thing Mr. Fairbanks did was to get well acquainted with his boys and explain to them the advantages of having order in the school, showing how it would promote their advancement and the interests of all concerned. The boys fell in with his ideas and he soon had them coming in and going out in orderly fashion with their arms crossed behind them. This kept their hands from meddling with those in front of them. After a couple of days there entered school a taciturn stubborn boy and there were knowing smiles when the teacher began to question Luther Bradley, who it was soon learned had been the leader in mischief in the school. Luther was cross-eyed and the teacher could not tell where he was looking, at him or the grinning boys. To the questions, have you studied this and have you studied that he answered a reticent "yes, sir" or "no, sir" without any particular respect in voice or manner. He was told to take his place and after a little was dismissed for recess with the rest of the boys. When they came back all entered in order with their arms crossed behind them, all except Luther, who despite instructions, came swinging his arms. The new teacher stepped up to him quickly. The boy was stocky and almost as large as the teacher, but the wiry little man grabbed the delinquent by the coat collar, gave him a jiu jitsu twist and the lad's feet flew out from under him. He went up in the air and bumped his head hard on the floor as he came down. It was a hard jolt but he was not hurt badly, but all the rebellion had been knocked out of him. The punishment was more severe than the teacher had intended. He merely meant to give the boy a good shaking but lost his hold on the coat collar with the result described. After helping Luther to his feet the teacher restored order and everything moved smoothly during the rest of the day. That evening some one on the street who had heard of the occurrence asked one of the reputed tough boys how they were getting along with the new teacher. "I dunno, he don't punish, he kills 'em." Mr. Fairbanks never had to "shake" another boy in that school. But the irrepressible Luther Bradley came in for it just one more time. Passing along in front of the class looking out of the corner of his eye, the teacher saw Luther drop a paper wad into his pocket. Quick as a flash he turned and grabbed Luther and shook him till his teeth chattered and the bones in his body seemed to be unjointed. Never again did Luther trouble the teacher, but on the contrary they became fast friends. At the end of the year, Mr. Fairbanks was offered fifty dollars a month to teach the school in the summer time but he had made an engagement to teach at the Piqua high school, an exclusive private institution. There he had for pupils fifty-seven fine boys and it was a pleasant and profitable year for all concerned. Then he returned to St. Mary's as principal of the schools. He remained there seven years, leaving behind him an enviable reputation when he resigned for the purpose of engaging in another business. He had acquired an interest in a new patent steam engine and was to put it on the market. The time was not propitious however. The Civil war had upset business throughout the country. Mr. Fairbanks then accepted an invitation to return to Piqua, where he remained teaching during the next five years. At the end of that time he received all kinds of offers to continue teaching. Almost any position in the public schools of Ohio was open to him. But he had other ideas. The best that was offered to the school teacher in those days in the way of remuneration was but meager compensation compared to the rewards of ability and energy in business. Mr. Fairbanks had received a flattering offer from the West, a place called Springfield, in the heart of the Ozark region and the principal city of southwest Missouri, from J. C. Wilber, who was close to Col. John M. Richardson, then prominent in the affairs of the city. The school teacher, who was bent on changing his vocation, arrived in Springfield, November 10, 1866. He found a prosperous town of two thousand in the midst of a region of such great resources that he was satisfied there would be extraordinary development. There was so much building in progress that there was an unprecedented demand for lumber and when Fairbanks and Wilber opened up in the sawmill and planing business they had all the orders they could attend to. They increased their facilities and their business expanded rapidly. Mr. Fairbanks worked early and late. Some weeks he would leave home Monday morning and eat, sleep and work at the mill until Saturday night. He and his partner prospered for nine years, while his family grew up around him, he built a comfortable home and the prospects of life were fair from every point of view. Then came the hard times following the panic of 1873, in which men possessed of property amply sufficient to secure all their obligations under ordinary circumstances were bankrupt before they knew it. Mr. Wilber had borrowed fifteen hundred dollars and Mr. Fairbanks had signed a note for the amount and in the general crash of credits he was called upon to meet the, obligation for its payment. Friends tried in vain to help him. The holder of the note; perhaps himself pressed by creditors, was inexorable and the money had to be forthcoming. The real estate owned by Mr. Fairbanks embraced one hundred and ten acres located in what is now a populous part of the city between Washington avenue and the National boulevard. Different tracts and numerous town lots estimated at the time to be worth eight thousand dollars were sold to satisfy the note for fifteen hundred. John M. Richardson purchased much of the land, which was resold at great advances. Mr. Fairbanks, acting as agent for Colonel Richardson, afterward sold forty thousand dollars worth of property. He bought back his old homestead from the heirs and still lives there. Following the climax of his misfortunes which came in 1874, Mr. Fairbanks made preparations to leave Springfield. He -was on the point of returning to Ohio, when Hon. John McGregor, president of the Springfield school board, following a suggestion made by Hon. L. H. Murray, came to him with a proposition to take charge of the schools of this city. Mr. Fairbanks accepted, assuming the duties of superintendent the next year. From that time down to the present, forty years, his work in connection with the schools of this city is well known. However, it may not be amiss to recall some of the incidents connected with this part of his extraordinary career. There had been half a dozen superintendents of education during the years immediately preceding the beginning of the forty years administration of Jonathan Fairbanks. The chairman of the school board complained that the board had been called together nearly every week for a while to consider cases which should have been disposed of by the superintendent. On coming into office one of the first things which Superintendent Fairbanks noticed was the absurdity of some of the rules which had caused trouble. The pupils were forbidden by one of these from entering the school building after a certain number of minutes during the noon hour when a number of them who lived at a distance had no other place to eat their lunches. This rule was quickly abrogated, the children being left free to enter the building at the noon hour and special provision was made for their comfort in other ways. The students of the high school were put on their honor, the pupils of the lower grades were treated with consideration, the schools were in a manner reorganized on a basis of reciprocal justice and kindness. Changes were-made in the course of study by which the interests of practical education were conserved with continuous progress in liberalizing and otherwise improving it. Various other changes were made to meet the demands of the times and the efficiency and popularity of the schools continued to increase from year to year. The teachers of the Springfield schools welcomed the change to an enlightened administration at the beginning of Superintendent Fairbank's first term and became loyal supporters. He was re-elected without opposition for another term, and again and again until his re-election at the end of each consecutive year became a mere matter of formality. In politics, Mr. Fairbanks has been a Republican all his life, though liberal-minded, progressive and independent in his views. In view of this fact, the Greenbackers having made great progress in this section in 1878, and wishing to put out a strong county ticket, sent a committee to Mr. Fairbanks soliciting him to allow them to use his name as their candidate for county school commissioner. As a concession to the spirit of reform represented by their movements, he gave his consent with the result that he was elected by a majority of four hundred. Results similar to those which had followed his assumption of the duties of city superintendent followed throughout the county. The teachers of the country schools, as those of the city, had soon felt the inspiration of Jonathan Fairbanks' presence and helpfulness in all their works. So he was re-elected county commissioner at the end of the term. He was re-elected continuously during a period of twenty years until the office was merged in that of county superintendent. In the last election he received one thousand seven hundred majority over three other candidates for county commissioner. In the administration of that office he did much toward the complete systematization of the county schools. Among other things, he kept a complete record of the proceedings of the boards and everything done in connection with the county during the twenty years of his incumbency. The record was unfortunately lost in a fire in Superintendent Bradley's office in recent years. Superintendent Fairbanks never made a practice of punishing boys for fighting. His plan for dissipating this kind of trouble was to call them up and make them explain their differences and come to some kind of an understanding. Some interesting stories are told in this connection. Other problems which have vexed less capable minds were disposed of in a similarly happy manner. Summarizing his observations on the subject of discipline Superintendent Fairbanks said in a recent conversation: "Teachers should assume as far as possible that there are no bad pupils. Boys and girls will do the best they know how. The thing to do is to make clear to them the reasons for the requirements made of them. They often do wrong when they think they are doing right. Reason and consideration will go farther in securing compliance with the wishes of the teacher than anything else. There is not nearly leniency enough in the world." The Jonathan Fairbanks of today is as busy as though he had but begun his life's work at the end of the three-score years and ten allotted to-man. He is still a student teacher and reader, though no longer under necessity of hearing sixteen recitations a day, the first one at 7 A. M. and often continuing his tasks by lamplight and then getting up at 2 A. M. to go over the lessons in advance of his classes in preparation for the work of the following day as he used to do at the beginning of his career as Superintendent of the Springfield schools. Much of the success and happiness of this venerable man's life is attributed to the helpfulness of the excellent woman who became his wife in youth and journeyed with him far toward the final rewards. Jonathan Fairbanks and Miss Angie Bowker were married September 3, 1856, in Sudbury, Massachusetts. She was born there June 13, 1832. She was a daughter of the Puritans, her parents, Samuel N. and Mary Earl Bowker, being descended from early settlers of New England, of Scotch-Welsh extraction. Children of Jonathan Fairbanks and Angie (Bowker) Fairbanks: Grace Ida, born in St. Mary's, Ohio, June 4, 1857, died October 1, 1958. Joseph Maybin, born in St. Mary's, Ohio, March 12, 1859, died May 19, 1865. Mary Caroline, born in St. Mary's, Ohio, April 7, 1860, died February 5, 1862. Alban Bradley, born in St. Mary's, Ohio, June 22, 1862, died in 1911. Annie, born in Piqua, Ohio, March 20, 1866, died June 21, 1899. George Bowker, born in Springfield, Missouri, April 16, 1868. John Wilber, born in Springfield, Missouri, November 13, 1870. James Otis, born in Springfield, Missouri, October 30, 1873. George Bowker Fairbanks is engaged in the general merchandise business at Foose, Dallas county, Missouri. He married Sarah Davis, July 31, 1910. Two children have been born to them, Perry George Fairbanks, September 23, 1911, who died March 11, 1913; and an infant daughter, Harriet. John Wilber Fairbanks married Annie Jugram, June 5, 1902. They have one child, John Howard Fairbanks, born March 10, 1904. James Otis, Fairbanks married Miss Golden Sands, January 13, 1913. Mrs. Fairbanks died December 29, 1912. She was a consistent member of the Baptist church. WILBUR M. FALLIN. The Missouri mule has a reputation throughout the world. That reputation in some sections is not the kind that would be pleasing to him if he but knew, for there are times when he is unruly, stubborn and inclined to show his displeasure by means of his heels. But nevertheless, when it comes to quality and fine points in his anatomy he is not excelled on the globe and he has done much to advertise the "Show Me" state abroad. There are few foreign armies where he is not found, and nearly every war of importance increases his demand. However, by nature he is not a warrior and no doubt prefers the peaceful plantations and the lazy negro drivers of the cotton and cane districts of the South, where, for three-quarters of a century these animals have been sold in ever increasing numbers. Throughout this state men may be found who devote their exclusive attention to dealing in mules, finding it a desirable and profitable business. Among these the firm of Fallin Brothers of Springfield, composed of Wilbur M. and Walter A. Fallin, is the best known in southwestern Missouri, and is one of the oldest and most successful. Wilbur M. Fallin was born March 31, 1872, in Greene county, Missouri. He is a son of Joseph S. and Polina (Reed) Fallin. The father was born in middle Tennessee in 1841, and there grew to manhood and attended school, emigrating to Greene county, Missouri, in the early sixties, where he established the future home of the family, and here his death occurred on March 26, 1909. He was a stone mason by trade, but devoted most of his life to general farming and stock raising. He left his farm in 1884 and moved to Springfield. His wife was born in 1843, and she died in 1877. They were married in Arkansas. To this union five children were born, namely: Anna died about 1889; Minnie lives in Springfield, Missouri, Wilbur M., of this sketch; Emma Belle lives in Springfield; Walter A., who is a member of the firm of Fallin Brothers. Wilbur M. Fallin received his education in the ward and high schools of Springfield. He had an inclination toward the livestock business when very young and began his career by buying and selling hogs and calves. He also learned the trade of stone mason under his father, but did not follow this long until he returned to the livestock business and also engaged in farming a few years. In the year 1900 he formed a partnership with his brother, Walter A. Fallin, who gave up his position as machinist in the Frisco shops, and they engaged in the horse and mule business, under the name of Fallin Brothers, buyers and sellers, and were successful from the first. They have continued in this line of endeavor ever since and have built up an extensive and lucrative business. They were first located on the sough side of the city lot, remaining there until 1914, when they bought and built three commodious and substantial barns, including 5the erection of a modern two-story brick building, one hundred and twenty by one hundred feet, on Market street and Mule alley, where they are at present located, owning two hundred feet on Market street and one hundred and seventy-five on Mule alley. They keep a large number of high-grade mules on hand at all seasons, buying and shipping to various markets continuously. Wilbur M. Fallin was married on December 10, 1902, to Mary Elizabeth Roper, who was born in Polk county, Missouri, June 12, 1884. She is a daughter of J. W. Roper and wife, who live on a farm in Polk county. Mr. Roper's wife was known in her maidenhood as Vine Davis. Mr. Roper moved from his farm to Springfield and engaged in mercantile pursuits for some time, and he is still living in this city. Three children have been born to Mr. And Mrs. Wilbur Fallin, namely: Wesley Edwin, born September 7, 1904; Alfred M., born August 18, 1906, died December 10, 1909; and Orin, born August 29, 1909. Politically, Mr. Fallin is a Republican, and he and his family belong to the Christian church. Walter Augustus Fallin, of the firm of Fallin Brothers, was born October 23, 1877, at the Fallin homestead near Springfield, and here he grew to manhood and attended the ward and high schools. He learned the machinist's trade when a boy and for some time worked at the same local Frisco shops, where he remained until 1900, when he formed a partnership with his brother and began dealing in horses and mules, as related in a preceding paragraph. He was married on April 7, 1901, to Hattie G. Price, who-was born in Greene county, August 29, 1882, and was here reared and educated. She is a daughter of William K. and Ellen (Gregory) Price, the father a native of Ohio, and the mother was born in Greene county, Missouri. Mr. Price came to Springfield when a young man and has long been employed in the local Frisco shops, where he has charge of, a department. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Walter A. Fallin, named as, follows: Lawrence A., born September 25, 1903; Walter Harold, born, June 12, 1908; Joseph Price, born March 31, 1912; Earle Augusta, born August 9, 1914. Politically, Mr. Fallin is a Republican. Fraternally, he belongs to the Court of Honor, the Maccabees, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the United Workmen, also, the Travelers' Protective Association. He is a member of Central Christian church. The Fallin boys are excellent judges of mules and horses, and have gained and retained a reputation for prompt and fair dealings, consequently have always enjoyed the good will and confidence of their score of regular customers and patrons. Both Wilbur and Walter Augustus served ten months in the Spanish-American war, enlisting for service, and on May 3, 1898, were called out. Their company went first to Jefferson Barracks, then to Chickamauga, Tennessee, and from there to Lexington, Kentucky, then to Albany, Georgia, where they were mustered out, March 3, 1899. EDWARD FARMER. To the person who closely applies himself to any occupation which he has chosen as his calling in life, there can only come one result, that of success and a high place in the esteem of those among whom his lot has been cast. Edward Farmer, chief engineer of the state Pythian home at Springfield, is no exception to this rule, and he has also during his residence here of nearly forty years manifested much interest in the city and county where he located his permanent home, taking a just pride in their general development. Mr. Farmer was born at Belsfield, Prince Georges county, Maryland, January 26, 1861. He is a son of Alfred and Susanna (Dugan) Farmer, the mother a native of the same county and state as our subject, where she grew to womanhood, attended school and was married. She lived in a number of states until she removed with her family to Springfield, Missouri, where she spent the rest of her life, dying here in 1898, at the age of seventy-two years, and was buried in Maple Park cemetery. The father of our subject was born in England, where he spent his earlier years and attended school, immigrating to the United States in 1840, landing in New York City. He had learned the bricklayer's trade in the old country, which he followed as his chief life work. However, he was a deep sea sailor for ten years. After leaving the seafaring life he located in Maryland, where he married, after which he resumed his trade of bricklayer, which he continued to follow the rest of his life, eventually developing into a contractor and builder, his work taking him practically all over the state of Maryland, and he became well known and successful in his vocation. Upon the breaking Out of the Civil war he went to the state of New York, locating in Onondaga county, continuing his occupation until he joined a large colony of New Yorkers in 1871 and went to the state of Kansas, where he remained three years. They were on their way to Florida when his death occurred in Carrollton, Arkansas, in 1875, at the age of forty-six years. He was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows before the Civil war, and he belonged to the Methodist church. To Alfred Farmer and wife six children were born, namely: Albert met an accidental death in Oklahoma a number of years ago; Edward of this sketch; George, who was engaged in business in Kansas City, is deceased; Frank is a landscape gardener and lives in California; Ellen, who lives in Baltimore, Maryland, is the wife of Frank Chappell, a railroad man; John died in infancy. Edward Farmer received a limited education in the common schools, and when only twelve years of age he went to work helping his father as mortar mixer, which he continued two years. In 1876 he removed with his mother and the rest of the family to Springfield, Missouri, and went to work running a picking machine in a cotton mill, in which he remained three years, where he was also employed as fireman and engineer. Then he went to the Queen City mills as engineer in 1882, and later became chief engineer of the Meyer Milling Company, with which he remained over thirty-two years, having charge of both Model and Queen City flouring mills. He became an expert in his line and was a very faithful and trustworthy engineer, as may be surmised from his long employment here. He had four men under his direction most of the time, and during his long service there he saw many changes made in employees and also in the methods of operating the mills, many of these changes having been made at his suggestion. He left this concern in September, 1914, the work having become too heavy for his advanced years, and accepted the position he now holds, that of chief engineer at the Pythian Home, where he is residing, although owning two good residences in Springfield. Mr. Farmer was married in 1887 to Pauline Dyer, a member of an old Springfield family and a sister of Fillman Dyer, a retired veteran of the Civil war. Here Mrs. Farmer grew to womanhood and spent her life, dying in October, 1907, and is buried in Maple Park cemetery. To our subject and wife two children were born, namely: Eva has remained single and is keeping house for her father; Nicholas is a Frisco clerk in the general offices at St. Louis. Mr. Farmer is an independent voter. He belonged to the National Association of Stationary Engineers, and for seventeen years he has been a member of the Knights of Pythias. OSCAR FRANKLIN FARMER. Although Oscar Franklin Farmer has long been sleeping the "sleep that knows no waking," like the great huntsman and Scottish chieftain, of whom we read in Walter Scott's "Lady of the Lake," he is still remembered by many of the older residents of the northern part of Greene county as an excellent business man and helpful citizen--one of the sturdy pioneers who did much for the early development of his locality, and his name is therefore entitled to special mention in the present volume. Mr. Farmer was born on August 15, 1835, in Tennessee, but was a mere child when he emigrated with his parents, Moses Farmer and wife, to Missouri, the family locating in Cass county on a farm, where Oscar F. grew to manhood and received a common school education, and he was married near Pleasant Hill, Missouri, to Jane Wann, to which union two children were born, namely: Mrs. Elizabeth Ross, who lives in Washington state, and Charles O., deceased. Oscar F. Farmer remained in Cass county until 1865 when he removed with his family to Greene county and located in Cass township, purchasing the old Evans grist-mill which he operated for four years, supplying the early settlers with the material of which they made their bread, many of his customers coming from very remote distances, for grist-mills were few in those days. In connection with his mill he also operated a farm successfully. Later he traded his mill to Samuel Appleby for a farm of one hundred and twenty acres where his widow now resides. In the early development of Willard, Mr. Farmer was active, establishing a general store when he first came here, and operated the same until his death, which occurred on October 8, 1887, at the age of fifty-two years. His widow subsequently sold the store to David Appleby. Mr. Farmer's second wife was Anna Appleby, whom he married in 1870. She is a daughter of William and Emily (Hurt) Appleby, both natives of Tennessee. To the last marriage of Oscar F. Farner was born five children, namely: Fred, who lives in Springfield; Samuel, a farmer of this township; Claude, who lives in Willard; Carl, whose death occurred in 1913, and John, who is living in Willard. John and Claude Farmer now operate a general store in Willard, under the firm name of Farmer Brothers, and are doing a large and thriving business, both being active and energetic and good respectable citizens who have the confidence of their many customers. Mrs. Anna (Appleby) Farmer was born on August 6, 1848, in Cass township, Greene county, and here she grew to womanhood and was educated in the early-day schools. She is making her home with her son, John Farmer. She is a quiet home woman of noble character. Her father, William Appleby, was born in 1806, and his death occurred in Greene county in 1879, at the age of seventy-three years. His wife, Emily Hurt, was born in 1808, and died in 1861 at the age of fifty-three years. To these parents eight children were born, namely: Mrs. Eveline Williams is deceased; Samuel, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; Mrs. Cassander Looney lives in Boone township, Greene county; Anna, widow of the subject of this sketch; John lives in Cass township, this county; two children died in infancy. The Farmers have been one of the best known and most influential families of Willard and Murray township from the pioneer days to the present and have all borne good reputations. SAMUEL A. FARMER. Reform movements travel slowly. The wearing-out process of the virgin fields of the United States has extended over a long period of years of agitation on the part of experiment stations, county experts and farm weeklies, but each year the farmers of the Middle West are showing improvement in their method of handling the soil. judicious crop rotation, in which one of the legumes is often included, is having much to do in bringing about an increased yield per acre. There has not been, and will not be, a spontaneous movement to restore the soil's fertility. Farmers are no exception to the average of mankind. Some will take the initiative, others will doubt, still others will learn by example, and yet another class will wait until forced by a depleted soil and a decreased yield to take up the great work of rebuilding the soil. One of the farmers of Murray township, Greene county who has been a careful student of modern farming conditions and has kept his farm in a high productive state through judicious and timely management is Samuel A. Farmer, one of the most progressive farmers and one of the most widely known stockmen in the northern part of the county. Mr. Farmer was born in the above named township and county on May 5, 1875. He is a son of Oscar and Anna (Appleby) Farmer, both prominent old families of this locality. The father was born in eastern Tennessee in 1835, and his death occurred in I887. A sketch of the father will be found on another page of this volume. Samuel A. Farmer was reared on the home farm near Willard which village was built near his father's farm of one hundred and twenty acres of excellent level land. He received his education in the local public schools. On October 7, 1897, he married Stella Alsup, a native of Greene county where she grew to womanhood and was educated. She is the only daughter of Andrew Jackson Alsup and Pernecia (East) Alsup. The father was born on February 15, 1852, in Greene county, Missouri, and was a son of James and Mary (Slaughter) Alsup. James Alsup was a native of Tennessee from which state he came to Greene county, Missouri, with his parents when a young man and settled in Franklin township, having made the long overland trip in wagons. Later the father took up a claim from the government, consisting of one hundred and sixty acres or more, and this he cleared and improved and lived here until his death. After his marriage, Mr. Farmer left the home farm and rented what was known as the Polly Watson farm for one year, then moved to his present farm of one hundred and seventy acres where he has been actively engaged in general farming and raising cattle and hogs. His place is called "Farmer's Stock Farm" and is an ideal location and a most excellent place for the breeding and raising of live stock. He has raised and shipped from year to year cattle and hogs, and is now making a specialty of breeding Hereford cattle. During the past few years he has been quite an extensive shipper of cattle and hogs, but recently he has been disposing of his stock in his own community. He has a well-improved farm in every respect, a good home and up-to-date barn, large silo and is a man of decided advanced ideas both as to farming methods and implements and success has been the result of his industry and good judgment. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Farmer has resulted in the birth of one child, Clifford Farmer, born on December 21, 1898, who is at home with his parents. Politically, Mr. Farmer is a Democrat, but often votes independently in local elections. Fraternally he belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America at Cave Spring, this county. And he is a member of the Presbyterian church at that place, and he has been superintendent o the Sunday school there for the past ten years, and has helped build up a large and interesting Sunday school. His wife has been a teacher of a class in the Sunday school there for the past ten years, and both are active in the general work of the church, giving liberally of their time and means to the support of the church. WILLIAM CLINTON FARMER. One of the successful business men of Springfield, who has mounted the industrial ladder unaided is William Clinton Farmer, organizer and manager of the Electric Bottling Company. He has been a close observer of modern methods and is a student at all times of life as we of the twentieth century live it, and is therefore a broad-minded man of affairs, who is no doubt destined to still greater accomplishments in the future. Mr. Farmer was born in Milford, Illinois, January 11, 1866. He is a son of William Wallace Farmer and Melissa (Willis) Farmer. The father was born on a farm near Attica, Indiana in 1843, and was a son of pioneer parents of that place, and there he grew to manhood and worked on the home farm, and received a country school education. Leaving the homestead when he became of age he went to Milford, Illinois, where he engaged in the grocery business, married and remained there until 1879 when he removed with his family to Emporia, Kansas, and engaged in the live stock business, handling imported horses, for the most part, the first ever sold in Lyon county. He remained there until 1886 when he located in Osceola, St. Clair county, Missouri, where he engaged in the livery and transfer business until his death in November, 1908. Politically he was a Democrat, and fraternally was a Mason. Melissa Willis, mother of our subject, was a native of Ohio, married Mr. Farmer in 1865, and her death occurred in 1909. William C. Farmer received a good education in the schools of Milford, Illinois, and Emporia, Kansas. He studied pharmacy and went in the drug business in Collins, St. Clair county, Missouri, in 1887, continuing the same successfully for a period of twelve years, then went to Osceola as agent for the Pabst Brewing Company, of Milwaukee, where he remained until 1905 when he came to Springfield as distributor for that company, continuing with the same until 1907, giving the firm eminent satisfaction in every respect. Desiring to go into business for himself he organized the Electric Bottling Company in 1907, which has proven to be one of the leading concerns of its kind in southern Missouri, and he is now owner and manager of the same. It is located at 545,West Phelps avenue, but was first started at the same number on South Campbell street. It was successful from the first, under Mr. Farmer's able management and has rapidly grown in volume and importance with increasing years until its products are now finding a ready market over a wide territory, and are regarded as of a superior quality. A variety of popular carbonated beverages is manufactured here. About four hundred cases a week were manufactured at first, but this output has increased to three thousand bottles daily, the present output. The plant was retained at its first location for four years, then moved to its present convenient location, a substantial one-story brick building with nine thousand feet of floor space, with a capacity of two carloads per day. The plant is equipped with every modern device for the rapid manufacture of high-grade stuff, and fifteen competent assistants are constantly employed. A sterilizing and washing machine has just been installed at a cost of over six thousand dollars. Everything about the place is kept ship shape, is thoroughly sanitary and managed under a superb system. The principal products of this well-known plant are coco-cola, Farmer's root beer, ginger ale and sodas of such flavors as orange, lemon, cherry, cream, grape, strawberry, lemon and lemon sour. A specialty is made of Polar distilled water, one hundred per cent puire, having a capacity on this product of seven hundred gallons daily, and a very large sale is made from this department alone. Pabst "Blue Ribbon" beer is also handled. Mr. Farmer was married in July, 1888, to Myrtle Pritchard, of Weaubleau, Missouri. She was born in 1868, and she received her education at the Christian College of that place. She is a daughter of J. E. and Elizabeth (Orr) Pritchard. Her father devoted his active life as millwright. To Mr. and Mrs. Farmer four children have been born, namely: Wallace E., born on April 23, 1889, is assisting his father in the bottling works, William C., Jr. born in 1891, is engaged in business with his father; Pauline (Mrs. Hykraft, Jr., of Nevada, Missouri) was born in 1893; and Vesta, born in 1895. Politically, Mr. Farmer is a Democrat. Fraternally, he belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Loyal Order of Moose. LEONARD FAWCETT. We may not always realize it, but quite often little things rob a farmer of the joy of farming and living in the free open country. It may be a broken-down gate, a half-destroyed string of fence, a leaky roof or a dozen other similar things that ought never to be found on a farm. These seemingly trivial things are responsible not only for keeping the owner in a bad temper but also positively occasion loss in many ways. The wise husbandman during his spare moments from his crops and in the long winter months looks after these defects one by one until everything is efficient and in ship-shape, for he deems it a shame to let such little things rob him of the pleasure of farm life. Leonard Fawcett, of Jackson township, Greene county, is this kind of farmer. The stranger finds everything in good repair and in its place when visiting his farm. Such a man sets a good example for his neighbors. Mr. Fawcett was born in Keokuk county, Iowa, September 8, 1868. He is a son of Melville and Susan Jane (Shipman) Fawcett. The father was born, in Ohio, November 9, 1838, but when a small boy his parents removed to West Virginia and there he grew to manhood and attended school. When nineteen years of age he came to Iowa, where he married and began life for himself on a farm, became owner of eighty acres and remained in that state twenty years, removing from there to Missouri in 1877, settling south of Springfield in Greene county, where he purchased a farm of two hundred acres. He was very successful as a general farmer and there he spent the rest of his life dying in 1909. During the Civil War he served in the Union army, having been drafted into the service in 1863. After serving a year he was discharged at Mobile, Alabama. He belonged to the Methodist Episcopal church. The mother of the subject of this sketch was born in Canada, July 28, 1836, and there she was reared on a farm and educated. Remaining in her native country until twenty years of age she then moved to Michigan, later went to Iowa, where she met and married Mr. Fawcett. She is now advanced in years and is living on the farm adjoining that of her son, our subject, making her home with her daughter. To Melville D. Fawcett and wife ten children were born, namely: Herbert, deceased; Warren, Robert, Ira is deceased; Lucy, Leonard of this sketch; Jesse H., Mrs. Lottie Rogers, Rolland and William. Leonard Fawcett lived in Iowa until he was nine years of age, when he removed with the family to Greene county, Missouri, and here he has since resided. He received a common school education. He remained at home working for his father until he was twenty-six years of age, in 1894, then married Rosa Putnam, soon after which he began life for himself as a farmer. He and his wife moved to their present farm nine years ago. This place consists of one hundred and two acres, which is well located, well improved and is kept well stocked. Our subject carries on general farming and stock raising and he has for many years dealt extensively in live stock, being one of the best known stockmen in this country. He has a good home and substantial outbuildings. Mrs. Fawcett was born in this county, August 20, 1876, on a farm, where she grew to womanhood, and she was educated in the rural schools. She is a daughter of Elijah and Maranda (Wood) Putman. Her mother is deceased, but her father is living in Fair Grove, Greene county. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fawcett, namely: Harry, born August 1, 1895; and Johnie, born April 22, 1901. Mr. Fawcett is a Democrat in his political relations; fraternally he is a member of the Masonic order, and religiously, he and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal church. EDWIN L. FAY. Among the best known railroad men of Springfield is Edwin L. Fay, who has been railroading for nearly a half century, and for over forty years, connected with the Frisco system, at one time being superintendent of a division, and for the past quarter of a century has been a passenger conductor. His long and honorable record is one of which he may be justly proud. He has been regarded all the while as one of the most trustworthy and able of the employees of the Frisco, and his services have shown him to be a man of ability, fidelity and sobriety, thus meriting the confidence reposed in him and the high esteem in which he is universally held among railroad men. Mr. Fay is a descendant of an old New England family, of which country he himself is a native, having been born in Orange county, Vermont, August 5, 1849. He is a son of Lorenzo D. and Levina (Chamberlin) Fay. The father was born in the state of New York in 1809, and died in 1893 in Illinois; the mother was born in Vermont in 1822 and died in 1902. They both received good common school education, and for a number of years the mother engaged in teaching. Lorenzo D. Fay was a mason, plasterer and building contractor and was very successful in his vexation. He was twice married, our subject being the eldest of four children by his second marriage. Edwin L. Fay spent his early boyhood in Vermont and received most of his education in the public schools there. When he was twelve years of age the family removed to the state of Iowa, where they lived three years, then located in Illinois, where they established their permanent home. Our subject began his railroad career in 1867, when he took a position with the Chicago Northwestern railroad as brakeman, between Chicago and Janesville, Wisconsin continuing as brakeman until 1870, he went with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad, his return being between Rock Island and Bridgeport, Illinois. In March, 1871, he came to Springfield Missouri, where he has since resided. He went to work soon thereafter as brakeman on the Frisco and four months later was given a train, and, showing that he was a man of ability in this line of endeavor, he was rapidly promoted and was made superintendent in 1889 of the eastern division, with headquarters at Newburg, Missouri, this being one of the most important divisions on the system; although he was an efficient superintendent, he preferred active service on the road and was given a position as passenger conductor in 1890. A part of the time his run was between Springfield and St. Louis. During the past fourteen years he has been running between Monett, Missouri, and Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He has been very fortunate in handling his trains and is one of the most reliable conductors on the system. Mr. Fay has a good home on Robberson avenue, Springfield, the presiding spirit of which is a lady of pleasant manners, known in her maidenhood as Lydia E. Kern, whom he married in St. James, Missouri, August 27, 1873. She was born in Pennsylvania, and is a daughter of Joseph and Hannah Kern. When she was a young girl her parents removed with her from Pennsylvania to Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Fay two children have been born, namely: Gracie E. and Ethelyn I. Politically, Mr. Fay is a Republican. He is a member of No. 415 Division, United Railway Conductors. Fraternally, he is a prominent Mason, having attained the thirty-second degree in that order, and is a member of the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. COL. HOMER F. FELLOWS. No man stood higher in the affairs of the city of Springfield in the early period of her development than the late Col. Homer F. Fellows, a pioneer who came here nearly sixty years ago, in antebellum days and by his industry became one of the leading business men of Springfield, founded a great wagon manufacturing concern, helped organize the street railway system, was twice chief executive of the city and prominent in public affairs, and during the war between the states became an officer of high rank. His record shows that he did as much as any other man ever did toward the general growth of the city for a period of half a century, and he merits extended notice in a work of this nature. Col. Fellows was born in Willsborough, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, July 28, 1831. He was a son of Erastus and Elizabeth Fellows. He sprang from old Colonial stock, and was of English-Puritan extraction, two brothers, John and Drane Fellows, having emigrated from England among the early colonists. John Fellows, the colonel's grandfather, was born in Canaan, Connecticut, where his ancestors had settled, and served in the Revolutionary war. He married Edna Deibold, also born in the town of Canaan, and of French descent. After their marriage they removed to Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, locating on a farm, which they developed by hard work from the wilderness, which was filled with Indians and wild beasts. Remaining there until about 1820 John Fellows moved with his family to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and there passed the remainder of his life, dying at the age of eighty-three years. His family consisted of six children: Horace, Ashel, Erastus, Merritt, Eliza and Hulda. His son, Erastus, father of our subject, was also a native of Canaan, Connecticut, and was a small boy when the family moved from there to Pennsylvania. He received a fairly good education for those early times, and when a young man he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he spent one year, then returned to Pennsylvania and married Mrs. Elizabeth (Cole) Johnson, a widow, and a daughter of Royal Cole, a native of the state of New York, but of English extraction. Mr. Cole was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, participating in a number of important engagements, including the battle of Trenton, and was present at the surrender of Burgoyne. He also served in the War of 1812. He was a well-informed man on general subjects, and was a Universalist in his religious belief. He reared a large family. The latter part of his life was spent at Wellsborough. In that town also Erastus Fellows and his wife located, and there he engaged in hotel keeping and fanning, being proprietor of Fellows' Temperance House there from 1825 until 1865, his inn being well known to the traveling public of that period. He was one of the early advocates of temperance, accomplished much good by his determined stand, and was known as a man of high moral character in every respect. He was also a strong Abolitionist, and his house was the refuge for slaves escaping to Canada about the Civil war period. He was fearless and outspoken in his views when once convinced that he was right. The famous James G. Burney at one time candidate for the Presidency on the Abolitionist ticket, came to Wellsborough, but owing to the opposition, could find no place in which to make a speech, and Mr. Fellows gave him the use of his dining-room and there his lecture was delivered. Politically, Mr. Fellows was at one time a Whig, but later an Abolitionist, and finally a Republican. During the latter part of his life he became a man of wealth, and his death occurred in 1884 at the age of eighty-four years. His wife received an excellent education for her day, and her descendants are in possession of a certificate issued to her in 1813 by the directors of the district of Coeymans, Albany county, New York, attesting her ability to teach school. Through her life she took an interest in literary matters, was a great reader, and wrote verse of much merit, some of which found its way into print. She was a member of the Methodist church and was strong in her moral convictions. By her first husband she became the mother of two children, Newton and Almira Johnson, and her union with Mr. Fellows resulted in the birth of four children: Rachael A., Homer F., of this sketch; Norris W. and Mary E. The parents of these children lived their entire married life at Wellsborough, Pennsylvania, and there their son, Homer F. Fellows, grew to manhood, working on his father's farm in the summer time and attending the common schools in the winter. At the age of seventeen he began clerking in a dry goods store in his native town, in which position he remained about a year and a half. He then taught a district school, and later entered the Wesleyan University at Lima, New York, where he remained a year. By the time he had reached his twenty-first year he had acquired a good education for those days, and with the intention of going to Texas he came west, but illness overtook him at Rock Island, Illinois, interfering with his plans. He went on to Muscatine, Iowa, where he remained some time, then went to Burlington, that state, and was salesman for a mercantile firm, and later worked as collector there for one of his employers, then managed a store for him at Chariton, Iowa, for a year and a half. Following this he managed a general store for two other employers, one of whom sent him East to purchase the stock. In 1856 he went to Plattsburg, Missouri, where he engaged in the real estate business which business he purchased of his employers a year later, and established offices at Warsaw and Springfield, this state, under the firm name of Fellows, Todd & Robinson, in 1857, and the firm located many land warrants in the Platt Purchase in southwest Missouri, also engaged in the abstract business here. Mr. Fellows was a strong Republican from the first, and possessing exceptional qualifications, he was appointed registrar of lands for the district of Springfield by President Lincoln, in May, 1861, and continued in this office until the battle of Wilson's Creek. In 1861 he visited Washington, D. C., on military business in the interest of General Sigel, and made the personal acquaintance of President Lincoln, whom he had voted for the previous year. Springfield then being occupied by the Confederates, Union men avoided the city, and Mr. Fellows engaged in merchandising at Rolla, Missouri. In 1863 he was appointed lieutenant-colonel of the Forty-sixth Missouri Militia, which regiment was called out under General McNeil, mustered into the service of the United States, and was on guard duty during the last invasion of Missouri by the Confederates under Gen. Sterling Price. In the winter of 1864 Mr. Fellows sold out his interests in Rolla and engaged in the wholesale grocery business in St. Louis, under the firm name of McElhaney & Fellows. Continuing in this business until 1867, he then sold out and went to Arlington, where he established a general store. The St. Louis & San Francisco railroad was at that time being built from St. Louis to Springfield, and when business over the same commenced Mr. Fellows established stores at convenient points along the road, one at Lebanon and another at what was then known as North Springfield. This business was largely wholesale. In 1871 he erected the first grain elevator in Springfield and the following year was induced to take charge of the Springfield Manufacturing Company, which had just been organized and which was in a bad condition financially. Finding the concern hopelessly involved the stockholders surrendered their stock and a new company was organized as the Springfield Wagon Company. The principal stockholders were Colonel Fellows, his brother, Morris W., and Capt. Boyden. New capital being invested the company began the manufacture of farm wagons and did a good business from the start. In 1883 the plant was destroyed by fire, but was rebuilt a year later and the capital stock increased from twenty-five thousand to fifty thousand dollars. A year later it was increased to seventy-five thousand dollars. The plant was greatly enlarged and the business increased, and from that time to the present the demand has been equal to the capacity of the works, and several thousand wagons have been annually manufactured here, and they find a very ready market over a vast territory. The reputation of the Springfield wagon for utility and service has steadily gained from the first, so that it has long since commanded the highest price in southern Missouri, Arkansas, Texas and all over the great Southwest. Its equal is not manufactured by any firm in America, and it comes in competition with all other wagons manufactured in this country and ranks as the best. The great success of the enterprise was due for the most part to Col. Fellows. The plant of the company is a large and modern one and gives employment to scores of men, and as an industrial enterprise has been one of the most important in the city for thirty years. In 1881 Col. Fellows was the chief promoter of the Springfield street railway system, and was president of the company for three years and made it a successful venture. In 1859 he was one of the stock holders of the first telegraph line through Springfield. This line followed the overland stage road. Col. Fellows built the first telephone line that came into Springfield, in the latter part of the seventies, which connected his office and residence. He was a liberal contributor to the Kansas City, Ft. Scott & Memphis railroad, which was made a part of the Frisco System in 1900. He was one of the organizers of the Springfield Water Works, and president of the company for three years. For a number of years after the close of the war he also engaged in shipping and a transfer business between Rolla and Springfield. He remained manager of the wagon factory the rest of his life. In 1860 Col. Fellows was the only man in Springfield but one who openly voted the Republican ticket. Like his father, he had the courage of his convictions upon all occasions. He was elected mayor of this city in 1876, later serving a second term, and for many years he was a member of the city council and the local school board. He ever extended a helping hand to the cause of education, and did much to establish good schools here. Liberal in his views and progressive in his ideas, he always assisted with his means, time and influence the churches of the city without regard to denomination; in fact, one of our most public-spirited citizens, he did much to further the general interests of the city. Fraternally, he was a member of the Masonic Order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in his earlier years, and towards the latter part of his life belonged to the Knights of Honor and the Woodmen of the World. He was at one time nominated for lieutenant governor of Missouri, but was defeated. Col. Fellows was three times married, first, on November 15, 1859, to Martha Alvira McElhaney, of Springfield, and to this union three children were born, namely: Emma, who married Charles T. Keet; Clara, who married F. J. Curran; and Adah, who married George Rathbun, all establishing homes in Springfield, but the eldest and youngest daughters were left widows early in life. The mother of these three daughters died October 5, 1869. Col. Fellows was married a second time on August 15, 1872, to Minnie L. Boyden, of Neosho, Missouri, and to this union one son was born, Homer Frank Fellows, who was in the employ of the Frisco railroad for some time, in the offices of the company at St. Louis, but he is now president of the Springfield Wagon Works and makes his home in Springfield. A sketch of him will be found on another page of this work. The death of the Colonel's second, wife occurred September 24, 1881. On March 24, 1884, our subject married Mrs. Matilda (Dickard) Jackson, widow of J. C. Jackson. She was born, May 29, 1847, in Kentucky, and is a daughter of Josiah R. and Mary E. (Hart) Dickard, the father a native of Virginia and the mother of Kentucky, and they were married in Hardin county, Kentucky, later removing to Illinois when Mrs. Fellows was a child and there she grew to womanhood and received her education, and from that state she came to Springfield, Missouri, in 1870. She first married John C. Jackson, in December, 1864, in Illinois. He was a native of North Carolina and was a merchant by occupation. His death occurred February 22, 1883. To this first union two daughters were born to Mrs. Fellows, namely, Mary M. Jackson, born March 16, 1873, married James H. Jordon, and they live in Oklahoma; and Jennie Mabel Jackson, born April 29, 1876, married Richard M. Holbrook, and they live in Clarksville, Arkansas. Mrs. Fellows owns a picturesque, old-fashioned home on North Main street, Springfield. She is a member of Calvary Presbyterian church, and is a woman of many praiseworthy attributes. The death of Col. Homer F. Fellows occurred November 10, 1894, at the age of sixty-three years, after a successful, useful and honorable life. NORRIS W. FELLOWS. In presenting the following brief sketch of Norris W. Fellows, now living retired from the active duties of life in his pleasant home on St. Louis street, Springfield, Missouri, we find that the battle of life has been well fought by this enterprising, self-made man. That he is endowed with financial abilities of no mean order must be admitted, yet there is added to this an honest determination of purpose and an obliging disposition, which has impelled him to help others while he was making a path to prosperity for himself. From an early age his desire has been to earn every cent needed in the prosecution of his business. He has always lived up to his principle; and now that old age has set her silvery seal upon his head, he having seen the winters of more than three-quarters of a century, with the ambition to accumulate not so strong upon him as in his earlier years, no longer being a necessity, free from embarrassing debts and with unencumbered property, he stands among the financially strong men of Greene county, in which he first located more than half a century ago. Springfield presents quite a difference in appearance now to what it did then, and no one has witnessed its steady development with any more pleasure than our subject. Mr. Fellows, formerly a well-known wagon manufacturer, was born in Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, October 21, 1837. He is a son of Erastus and Betsey (Cole) Fellows, the father born in Connecticut in 1800, died in 1886; the mother was born in Otsego, New York, in 1801, and her death occurred in 1888, both having reached advanced ages. Erastus Fellows grew up amid the primitive conditions of the East and he had very little opportunity to obtain an education. He left home when twelve years of age and went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he found employment with a dairy company, with which he remained two years, then came to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and there took up government land which he developed. He devoted his life principally to farming, also ran a "temperance, hotel." Politically he was first a Whig, later a Republican. His father, John Fellows, after the War of 1812, moved with his family to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, locating on the same tract of land which his son, Erastus entered from the government. The mother of the subject of this sketch was a daughter of Royal Cole, who was a soldier both in the Revolutionary war and the War of 1812. Erastus Fellows and wife both spent the rest of their lives in Pennsylvania and died there. Their family consisted of four children, all now deceased but our subject; Rachel, Homer, Norris W., and Mary. The mother of the above named children was twice married and had two children by her first husband, Moses Johnson, these children being named Elmira and Newton. Norris W. Fellows worked on the home farm in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, when a young man and he received such educational advantages as the early day schools afforded. He left that state in 1860 and came to Springfield, Missouri, and during the Civil war was in the quartermaster's department here under Captain Grimes, and was in the state militia service a while at Rolla, serving as lieutenant. After his services for the Union he engaged in the mercantile business at Rolla with A. C. McGinty & Company, remaining there about three years as a member of this firm, the name then being changed to Fellows, McGinty & Company, which continued thus for about two years, enjoying a good business with the surrounding country. Mr. Fellows then went to Arkville, Missouri, where he continued in the mercantile business until 1869, with his usual success; then returned to Pennsylvania and spent six years on the old home place, which he purchased and on which he carried on general farming. Returning to Springfield, Missouri, in 1876, he and his brother, H. F. went into the wagon manufacturing business, which at that time was reorganized from the Springfield Manufacturing Company to the name of the Springfield Wagon Company, with a capital stock of twenty-five thousand dollars, succeeding it with Norris W. Fellows as vice-president, his brother, Col. H. F. Fellows, being president. After the latter's death, in 1894 our subject succeeded to the presidency, which position he retained until in December, 1896, then sold out, and has since been retired from active business, spending his time looking after his personal property. The Springfield Wagon Company has been one of the leading manufacturing institutions in this city for over a quarter of a century and its large success has been due in no small measure to the able management and keen business acumen of the subject of this sketch. He has been very successful in a business way, being a man of sound judgment, wise foresight and close application. He has made honesty and straightforward dealings with his fellowmen his aim and has consequently always enjoyed the good will and respect of those with whom he has come in contact. Mr. Fellows was married, February 4, 1869, to Harriet M. Duncan, a native of Franklin, New Jersey, and a daughter of Sebasten and Harriet M. (Ford) Duncan. Mr. Duncan was a woolen manufacturer. Mrs. Fellows grew to womanhood in the East and received a good education, and she taught school with success until 1868, when she left the Atlantic coast country and came to Missouri. Eight children have been born to Norris W. Fellows and wife, six of whom are living, namely: William H. is superintendent of an electric light and gas company at Leavenworth, Kansas; Helen is the wife of Capt. J. J. Maze and lives in Washington, where he is First Assistant Adjutant General, United States Army; Susie, a twin of Helen, is single and is assistant librarian in the public library in Springfield; Robert M. lives at Harrison, Arkansas, where he has charge of his father's interests; Norris L. is a traveling salesman for the Springfield Wagon Company, Duncan is deceased; Harry and Harriet, twins, the former deceased, the latter living at home: Politically Mr. Fellows is a Republican and has been influential in local party affairs for many years. He served on the local school board several times, also as a member of the city council. He was a. member of the building committee when the present magnificent high school was built in Springfield, the other members of the committee having been John McGregor, W. C. Booth, Newton Rountree, W. A. Reed and Silas Eversoll. Mr. Fellows was chairman of this board. Fraternally he is a member of the Knights and Ladies of Honor and the Woodmen. Religiously he is a member of the Presbyterian church, in which he was treasurer and a trustee for several years. He is plain and unassuming in manner, charitable and obliging, and by reason of his noble character is frequently sought as counselor and friend. JEREMIAH FENTON. Among the men of sterling attributes of character who have impressed their personality upon the community of their residence and have borne their full share in the upbuilding and development of the Queen City of the Ozarks during its recent period of phenomenal growth, mention must not be omitted of Jeremiah Fenton, prominent citizen of Springfield during the past quarter of a century, for he has exerted a strong influence for the good of the city, being a man of upright principles, industrious in business affairs and public matters, always desirous of seeing the advancement of the city and county along moral, civic and material lines. He is too well known to need extended notice here, his career as business man, postmaster, mayor and citizen being familiar to the readers of this work. And now as the twilight of his years gather about him he can look back over a life of hard toil, some parts somewhat thrilling, especially that relating to his splendid career in the Union army and his life in the wild Southwest; but this Irish lad had in him the qualities that make for success and when he began his career in the New World he was in a way, exceptionally well equipped, and he has well deserved the success he has attained. ERNEST N. FERGUSON. Step by step along the path of orderly progression Ernest N. Ferguson proceeded until he reached a prominent position as a representative of the industrial interests of Springfield, becoming cashier of the Holland Banking Company and president of the State Savings Trust Company. The initial step toward these ends was made when he was but a boy when he began careful preparation for a business career, and he has left no stone unturned anywhere along the highway of life whereby he might legitimately advance himself. His influence has always been on the side of progress, improvement and advancement. He is a dependable man under any condition and in any emergency. His quietude of deportment, his easy dignity, his frankness and cordiality of address, with the total absence of anything sinister or anything to conceal, foretoken a man who is ready to meet any obligation of life with the confidence and courage that come of conscious personal ability, right conception of things and an habitual regard for what is best in the exercise of human activities. Springfield is his native city, his birth having occurred June 23, 1870. His parents are John R. and Virginia C. (Smith) Ferguson. The former, a native of Missouri was born in February, 1842, and soon after the Civil war settled in Springfield, where he still makes his home. He engaged in the drug business for a number of years, afterward filled the office of circuit clerk for eight years and was recorder of deeds for four years, during which period his son, Ernest, acted as his deputy. He made an excellent record in official circles, his course being characterized by the utmost fidelity to duty and capability in meeting the demands of the business connected with the office. For three years he served his country as a soldier in the Union army and has at all times been actuated by a public-spirited devotion to the general good. He enlisted at Louisiana, Pike county, Missouri, March 29, 1862, and was mustered into service as a private of Company E, Third Regiment of Cavalry, Missouri State Militia, for three years, on the 8th of April, 1862. The following year he was promoted to the rank of corporal and in 1864 became sergeant. He continued with his command until mustered out, April 14, 1865, at Macon City, Missouri, on the expiration of his term of enlistment. While the Third Regiment was not sent to the front, it did arduous and dangerous duty in Missouri and northern Arkansas. Mr. Ferguson was almost constantly in a saddle from the spring of 1862 until the winter of 1864-5, pursuing and fighting the bushwhackers, guerrillas and outlaws who infested the territory in large numbers, especially in the central, southwestern and southeastern portion of this state, using every opportunity to ambush and bushwhack the Third Regiment, ignoring all rules of civilized warfare. In the summer and autumn of 1864 no prisoners were taken by either side. Mr. Ferguson participated in the engagements at Kirksville, Missouri, in August, 1862, and in the fight near Patterson, Missouri, in the spring of 1863. He was also in the severe engagement in September, 1864, at Goslings Lane, Boone county, Missouri, where he was in command of the advanced guard, which was formed of a detachment from his regiment for protecting a wagon train of army supplies. The attack was made on the wagon train and guard by the notorious guerrilla band of three hundred of the most desperate and cruel guerrillas, commanded by the equally desperate Bill Anderson, a noted guerrilla chief, who burned the wagon train and killed without mercy the teamsters and soldiers who were unable to escape. As Mr. Ferguson says, service at the front under the rules of civilized warfare was a much less dangerous and arduous service than that which he experienced. He has been equally true and loyal to his country in times of peace and is regarded as one of the most public-spirited men of Greene county. His wife is a daughter of Captain Jared E. Smith, a native of Tennessee. In the public schools of Springfield Ernest N. Ferguson pursued his early education and afterward attended a business college there. On leaving school he entered the office of the circuit clerk and subsequently was in the recorder's office, being so employed for about five years. His identification with financial interests dates from the 19th of May, 1890, when he entered upon a position in the Springfield Savings Bank, becoming bookkeeper. There he remained until February, 1906, when he became secretary and treasurer of the Springfield Trust Company, with which he was thus associated for eighteen months. He next became vice-president of the National Exchange Bank and after ten months went to the State Savings Bank as cashier. Eventually he was elected its president and continued as such until September, 1913, when the bank was consolidated with the Holland Banking Company, of which Mr. Ferguson is now cashier. During his administration of the affairs of the State Savings Bank the deposits were increased from sixty thousand dollars to more than a million and a quarter and when, with his assistance, the consolidation with the Holland Banking Company took place, the new institution became the strongest in this part of the state. His long and varied experience in different clerical and official positions has given him intimate and comprehensive knowledge of the banking business in all of its phases and enables him to speak with authority upon many of the complex problems of banking. The spirit of enterprise actuates him in all that he undertakes and he has the ability to unify seemingly diverse elements and coordinate forces into a harmonious and resultant whole. One of the older bankers of Springfield, who years ago employed Mr. Ferguson in a humble position said of him: "He always had the faculty of making and holding friends and still never allowed friendship to affect his judgment in business transactions. He is looked upon as one of the county's leading men, but has not nearly reached his place he eventually will take in financial circles." He is very forceful, displays keen sagacity and almost immediately makes up his mind when any proposition is brought before him. On the 24th of April, 1894, at Springfield, Mr. Ferguson was united in marriage to Miss Margaret B. Pinkerton, a daughter of Rev. J. P. Pinkerton, and their children are James P., Katherine, Ernest N. and Margaret B. Mr. Ferguson has been a member of Company F, Second Regiment, Missouri National Guard, with which he served for two years, holding the rank of second lieutenant. His political allegiance is given to the Republican party and he is identified with several fraternal and social organizations. He is a Royal Arch Mason, a Knight of Pythias, a Red Man, Royal Arcanum and Modern Woodmen. He also belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, is identified with the Springfield Club, the Young Men's Business Club, the Country Club and, the James River Club--associations which indicate much of the nature of his interests and of his recreation. In manner he is modest and unassuming, but he has friends among all classes of people. He is a member of the South Street Christian church and has been its treasurer since 1894. Through his energy and personal assistance the affairs of the church have been put on a sound financial basis and he deserves great credit for his efforts in that direction. He is also a trustee of Drury College and is the local treasurer of the Pythian Home. His activities outside of business are perhaps most pronounced in the church and in its teachings are found the motive springs of his life in all of his relations with his fellowman. His ideals are high and he grasps eagerly every opportunity for raising himself to their level. GEORGE W. FERGUSON. The art of photography has shown wonderful development during the past decade or two, more perhaps than during all previous times since it first became known as an art. It would seem that it has attained the zenith of perfection and that, the "last word" has been said regarding photography, but the future is not within the horoscope of mortals, and who knows but that the coming years will reveal still greater wonders in this branch of science. Only a cursory glance at the modern and tastily kept studios of George W. Ferguson on South street Springfield, Missouri, is required to show that he has kept fully abreast of the times in his vocation and that he deserves to rank in the forefront of his profession. Mr. Ferguson was born in Indianapolis, Indiana, April 4, 1856. He is a son of Isaac and Mary E. (Harrison) Ferguson, natives of Kentucky and Indiana, respectively. After spending several years in Indianapolis they removed to Louisville, Kentucky, and finally, in 1856, they came to Greene county, Missouri, located on a farm three miles east of Springfield, and there became well established through their industry. The mother is still living and making her home with subject. The father died about twelve years ago. They were popular with their neighbors as a result of their honesty and hospitality. They were the parents of the following children: Subject being the eldest; Sarah, who married Charles E. Lodge, of Greene county, both now deceased; Jennie, who married David Repass of Denver, Colorado; James E., deceased; John, of Fayette, Missouri, who is in the photography business; Charles, deceased; Ella (Mrs. Ross Askins), in Springfield; Dora, now Mrs. Louis Funk, of Grand junction, Colorado. George W. Ferguson was a small boy when he removed with his parents from Indianapolis to Louisville, and he received his education in the schools of the latter city, including a course in the Spencerian Business College, from which he was graduated in 1876. After leaving school he engaged in the grocery business for three years, and although he was making a success as a merchant, this field seemed somewhat prosaic to one of his imagination and esthetic tastes, and he abandoned it and took up the study of photography in one of the best known photograph galleries of Louisville, where he made rapid progress and soon gave evidence of becoming exceptionally skilled in the work. Leaving the Blue Grass state in 1882, he came to Springfield and opened a gallery here. For many years his studio was on Boonville street, but later he moved in the arcade southeast of the Public Square, and finally to his present location on South street. He has thus been in the business in Springfield over thirty years, his success growing with advancing years until he has long since become known over the Ozark region, his splendid work being pronounced by those well capable to judge the same to be inferior to none in the country, and many of his customers come from remote cities for sittings, for he has become celebrated throughout southwest Missouri for securing to sitters before the camera a natural, life-like and graceful pose, and the master hand and thoroughly expert artist is readily seen in all his work. Mr. Ferguson was married in 1884 at Rising. Sun, Indiana, to Mary Bedgood. Her death occurred in 1885 in Springfield, Missouri, leaving one son, Clarence, who is now in St. Louis, with the Frisco railroad, in the engineering department. Mr. Ferguson's second marriage was celebrated in 1888, to Louise Leetsch, of Helena, Arkansas, and to this union a son was born, Gussie, who is now at home in Springfield. Politically, Mr. Ferguson is a Democrat and has been more or less active in party affairs. Soon after coming to Springfield he became a member of the city fire department, and his work was so well done that he was elected to every position in the company, In 1892 he was elected chief of department No. 1, and held the same for some time, taking an abiding interest in the affairs of the department and not infrequently manifesting unusual courage and presence of mind in emergencies. He was recognized as an expert fireman and had complete control of his men, whom he kept well trained; in fact, he did as much as any one ever did to give Springfield an up-to-date and efficient fire department. Fraternally, Mr. Ferguson is a member of Royal Arcanum Lodge No. 418, the Knights of Pythias Lodge No. 213, and the Uniform Rank No. 21, and Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He and his family are members of the Christian church. JOHN R. FERGUSON. John R. Ferguson, who is a scion of a sterling old Southern family, was born near Louisiana, Pike county, Missouri, on February 10, 1842. He is a son of John S. and Elizabeth (Allison) Ferguson, the father born in Virginia and the mother in Franklin county, Kentucky, John S. Ferguson was a soldier in the war of 1812, and he came to Missouri before or about the time this state was admitted into the Union, and was therefore one of the pioneers of the state, locating in Pike county upon land bought of the government, which land he converted into an improved farm and there resided until his death about 1852. On this old homestead the subject of this sketch was born and spent his early boyhood. His parents died when he was less than twelve years of age, and the farm was then rented out by the administrator of the estate, who also was guardian of our subject. He worked on farms of the neighborhood, and attended short terms of school during the winter months until he was about eighteen years of age, when, with the consent of his guardian, he contracted, in the fall of 1860, with a St. Louis medicine manufacturing concern to travel and "peddle" their goods, which he did for one year. At the termination of his contract he returned to his native county and enlisted in the Fifth Missouri Militia, in Col. T. J. C. Fagg's regiment for six months, and at the expiration of this service he enlisted for three years or during the war in Company E. Tenth (later the Third) Missouri Cavalry, State Militia, in April, 1862, at Louisiana, Missouri. For meritorious conduct Mr. Ferguson was promoted first to corporal in 1863, and in 1864 to sergeant. He proved to be a faithful and courageous soldier in defense of his state. He was mustered out of the service at Macon City, Missouri, on April 14, 1865, at the expiration of his term of service. In May, 1865, he was appointed clerk in the paymaster general's office at Jefferson City, which position he held until his resignation in the spring of 1867, and soon engaged in the drug business at Ironton, this state, and in 1869 removed to Springfield and followed the same business for ten years. After twelve years of diversion in farming and politics, he returned to the drug business in 1891, becoming a member of the Hall-Ferguson Drug Company, wholesale, of Springfield, now the Hall Drug Company, and he took the road as a traveling salesman for the firm, later sold his stock in this company, and accepted a position as traveling salesman for a wholesale drug company in St. Louis, which position he held for over twelve years. He gave this firm eminent satisfaction in every respect and was one of their most faithful and trusted employees. He is now living, practically retired, keeping a set of mercantile books and doing the chores, about his pleasant home on East Elm street. Mr. Ferguson was married on May 8, 1867, to Virginia Anna Smith, a daughter of Jared E. and Roberta (Mack) Smith, of Springfield, Missouri, and to this union the following children have been born: Dora Roberta, died in infancy, Ernest N., Mrs. Florence Morris, deceased; Jared E., deceased; Mrs. Ony Elizabeth Tucker, John R., T. Franklin, Mrs. Virginia C. Andres, Charles A. and Mrs. Mary N. Hilt. Mr. Ferguson is a Republican and has long been active in the affairs of his party. He has been a member of the city council, was treasurer of Springfield, was clerk of the circuit court for eight years, and was recorder of deeds of Greene county four years. At this writing he is secretary of the board of managers of the State Federal Soldiers' Home of Missouri, on which board he is serving his third term as a member. As a public servant his record is without blemish. He is a member of Capt. John Matthews Post, No. 69, Grand Army of the Republic. Fraternally he belongs to Solomon Lodge, No. 271, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He is a member of the South Street Christian church and is an elder in the same, and has long been active in the work of the church. His wife is also a devout member of this congregation. BENJAMIN FRANKLIN FIELDER. That period of the nineteenth century embracing the decades between 1830 and the breaking out of the Civil war was characterized by, the immigration of the pioneer element which made the great state of Missouri what it is today. The immigrants were sturdy, heroic, sincere and, in the main, upright people, such as constitute the strength of the commonwealth. It is scarcely probable that in the future of the world another such period can occur, or, indeed, any period when such a solid phalanx of strong-minded men and noble, self-sacrificing women will take possession of a new country. The period to which reference is made, therefore, cannot be too much or too well written up, and the only way to do justice to such a subject is to record the lives of those who led the van of civilization and founded the institutions which today are the pride and boast of a great state and a strong, and virile people. Among those who came to Greene county when it was, still largely in its primitive wildness was the late Benjamin Franklin Fielder, who was not only a leading actor in the great drama which witnessed the passing of the old and the introduction of the new conditions in this locality, but who enjoyed an excellent reputation that penetrated to adjoining counties during his career here of over sixty years. He devoted his life, which embraced the unusual span of ninety years, to agricultural pursuits and by close application he established those habits of industry and frugality which insured his success in later years. With the able assistance of his estimable life companion he forged ahead, extended the acres of cultivable land and in due time found himself upon the high road to prosperity with a good farm in his possession and all the comforts and conveniences of life surrounding him. He was regarded as an enterprising and typical farmer of the progressive type. His thorough system of tillage, the good order of his fences, the well-cared-for condition of his fields, the commodious and comfortable buildings, all demonstrated his successful management and substantial thrift, and his long residence in the vicinity of Springfield won for him a very high place in the confidence and esteem of his neighbors and friends. Mr. Fielder was born in Maury county, Tennessee, on February 7, 1824. He was a son of John and Mary (Denton) Fielder, one of the old families in that section of the South, and there they spent their lives, dying in Maury county. The father of our subject was a successful farmer and was influential in public affairs. He was at one time sheriff of Maury county. His family consisted of eight children, all now deceased, namely: Mrs. Martha Speer, Thompson, Benjamin F., Mrs. Mary Wilkes, Samuel P., Ellen, Louisa and the youngest died in infancy unnamed. Benjamin F. Fielder grew to manhood on the home farm in Tennessee and there worked when a boy. He received a limited education in the rural schools of his neighborhood, and remained at home until he was about thirty years of age, when he came overland to Greene county, Missouri, in the year 1853, and settled on a farm about three miles southeast of the business center of Springfield, which was then a mere village, but which has now spread almost to the Fielder homestead. However, he had learned the carpenter's trade in his native state and followed this for some time after coming to Greene county in connection with farming, in fact, he liked to use tools so well that he worked at his trade at times during all his active life. Being industrious and managing well, he prospered and became owner of a number of good farms in this county, all of which he placed under high-grade improvement and an excellent state of cultivation. His widow still owns the old home place, lying just cast of the National cemetery, and which fine farm contains one hundred and five acres. Old age finally rendering him unfit for the strenuous work of the farm, he removed to a comfortable dwelling on East State street, Springfield, which he purchased, and here he resided from 1913 until his death, which occurred on December 4, 1914. He was twice married, first in Tennessee to Mary Estes, about 1851. Four children were born to this union, Mary A. Brown, living near Ozark, Missouri; Roxie, deceased; William Thomas is living in this county, and Andrew J. is living in Lindsay, California. Mr. Fielder was married on February 6, 1877, on his farm in this county, to Mary S. Barnes. She was born in Greene county, Missouri, on September 28, 1846. She is a daughter of Matthew C. and Luceta A. (Townsend) Barnes. Her father was born in Indiana on January 18, 1823. He spent his early life in that state, eventually removing to Greene county, Missouri, where he spent the rest of his life on a farm, dying here on December 7, 1908. He was thirteen years old, when he came here, Springfield at that time being a small trading center on the wild prairies. Mr. Barnes became a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church and was prominent in that denomination in the early days in this locality when most preachers were also farmers. He is remembered as a man of fine characteristics, beloved by all who knew him, and he did much for the moral and general uplift of the county. His wife was born in Logan county, Kentucky, on August 20, 1827, and her death occurred about twenty-seven years ago near Monett, in Barry county, Missouri, when she was in the prime of life. To Mr. and Mrs. Barnes eleven children were born, nine daughters and two sons; five of them are still living, namely: Mrs. Mary S. Fielder, widow of our subject; Mrs. Virginia Thomas, Mrs. Ellen Decker, Mrs. Lula Williams and Mrs. Geneva Tharp. The union of Benjamin F. Fielder and wife resulted in the birth of four children, named as follows: Mrs. R. L. Matthews lives in Springfield, Cordelia lives at home, Benjamin F., Jr., resides in Springfield, Mrs. G. W. Chapman lives at Hunter, Missouri. These children all grew up on the homestead southeast of the city and all were given good educational advantages. Thompson Fielder, a brother of our subject, was also an early settler in this county and he was a soldier in the Mexican war. Benjamin F. Fielder was a member of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal church, South. In earlier life he was a Democrat, but in later years voted for prohibition. He was long an active member of the Masonic Order, having in early life united with Polk lodge at Columbia, Tennessee. He led a quiet home life, never taking an active part in politics and was never a candidate for office. The following article on Mr. Fielder's death occurred in the Springfield Republican in its issue of December 6, 1914: "Away back in '53 a prairie schooner pulled by a span of horses rattled and creaked its way across the country from Maury county, Tennessee. A jolly party was in the schooner. Ben F. Fielder and his brother, T. F. Fielder, with their wives and babies, were searching for a new home. Both had been married less than two years. It was autumn and the whole world looked bright. "For days the party looked over the Missouri country and drove on. Arriving in the Ozarks, the Fielders drove more slowly, having been enamored with the beauty and prospects of the hillsides. Arriving in a little village of log cabins on November 17, 1853, they made their camp. That was the town of Springfield. "Yesterday morning one of the pioneers of Greene county passed away. It was "Uncle Ben" Fielder, the last of the four grown-ups who traveled across the country in the schooner to Springfield. He died at the family home on East State street. For the last month "Uncle Ben," as he was known to hundreds of people in the county, had been failing in health. He grew weaker, but firmly believed to the last that he would recover and again go about among his friends. Prior to the beginning of the month of illness "Uncle Ben" was hale and hearty and walked about town unassisted. He was known here as the oldest Mason in Missouri. "Soon after the close of the Civil war Mr. Fielder joined the South Side Mount Pisgah church and for years was the superintendent of the Sunday school. Years ago the pupils of the class he taught presented a beautiful Bible to him, which was at his side on his death bed." We also quote the following article from the Springfield Daily Leader, under date of December 6, 1914: "Benjamin F. Fielder, whose funeral will be held this afternoon at the family home, was a member of the famous Seventy-sixth Regiment, Missouri Militia, which successfully frustrated the attack on Springfield on January 8, 1863, attempted under order of General Marmaduke. The engagement at the southern and western outskirts of the city was the only active service experienced during the Civil war by Mr. Fielder. "The decedent's activity in the memorable battle was given last evening by Martin J. Hubble, a Greene count pioneer. "'I first met Mr. Fielder in the town of Columbia, Tennessee, in the year 1852,' said Mr. Hubble. 'I was clerking in a country store there at the time and Mr. Fielder purchased a razor from me. From that time until the death of Mr. Fielder we were firm friends and he was often a guest at my home after his removal to Missouri. He was in possession of the razor at the time of his death. "'My friend came to Springfield in the early fifties. He was induced to come to Greene county by the obvious opportunities for a farmer here. Land was much higher priced in Tennessee than it was in this state. Mr. Fielder was never active in politics, as he was of a retiring disposition. Recognition should be given his moral characteristics. His word was as good as his bond, and he was a devoted prohibitionist; in fact, he was one of the noblest men with whom I have ever been associated."' Mr. Fielder, despite the fact that he was nearly ninety years of age at the time of his death, was unusually well preserved. He was able to read without glasses, and until a short time before he died he made daily walks about the city. EDWARD SWAYZEE FINCH. One of Greene county's well known and successful business men is Edward Swayzee Finch, manager of the Metropolitan Hotel, Springfield, for a decade in its early history, later operator of a large farm and now conducting a big store in Ash Grove. His earlier history in the wild West reads like and adventure story and as a soldier in the war between the states he proved himself a man of courage, but like thousands of his comrades he has laid aside all animosity. For in the fulness of time there has been blotted from the bosoms of men all sentiment toward men of another section. No longer do we measure prejudice by the metes and bounds of a river of imaginary lines. Those who fought and won, and those who fought and lost have mutual admiration for the courage and patriotism of the other. The very issues of the contest have almost passed from memory. Today one can not tell whether the boy who wears the uniform of a united country came from a sire who wore the blue or the gray. In these uncertain days, when there are rumors of war, there is no question as to who will do his duty when the clouds have lowered and the reign of death begins. There is no suspicion in the minds of men that any one section of our land will sulk, but from every point of the compass will come the men of stout hearts and ringing patriotism to redeem from insult the common banner of a common people. Mr. Finch was born in Columbus, Ohio, February 2, 1849. He is a son of Wallace M. and Martha (Comstock) Finch. Wallace M. Finch was born in Maryland in 1820 and was a son of Mathew Finch and wife. Mathew Finch was also a native of Maryland but removed from there to New York where he followed contracting until his death. He was a captain during the war of 1812, and his father was a captain in the Revolutionary war. When a young man Wallace M. Finch went to Chillicothe, Ohio, and began in the mercantile business in a small way, later establishing himself in Columbus, where he became a very successful wholesale merchant. He retired from business on account of ill health in 1857 and until his death spent his winters in the South and summers in the North. His death occurred in 1863. Politically he was a Whig and during the last few years of his life a Republican. He was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Episcopal church. He and Martha Comstock were married about 1845. She was born in 1826 in Columbus, Ohio, and died in 1903. Edward S. Finch left Columbus, Ohio, when seven years of age. He received common school education and later was a student at Racine College, Racine, Wisconsin. In December, 1863, he enlisted in Company I, Second Wisconsin Cavalry, and saw considerable hard service in the South, proving to be a courageous and gallant soldier. He was wounded in the battle of Black River in the right arm, and later was again wounded in the same place while on patrol duty. He was honorably discharged in August, 1865. After the war he attended a commercial school for some time, then went to Richmond, Indiana, where he worked in the office of a wholesale grocery company as shipping clerk, also salesman. He then went to Mexico, Missouri, where he engaged in the grocery business in 1872-3, then came to Springfield, this state, where he worked as clerk in the Hotel for six months, then spent five years on the western frontier as a miner, prospector, stage-driver and he was the first sheriff of Ouray county, Colorado, when it required a man of nerve, tact and courage to fill such an office. He had many thrilling and interesting experiences during. his career in the West. He came back to Springfield in the spring of 1879, his mother having purchased a two-thirds interest in the Metropolitan Hotel, our subject later purchasing the remaining third. The hotel building he operated successfully for a period of ten years, during which it was one of the most popular and best appointed hostelries in southwest Missouri. In 1889 he left the hotel and engaged in the real estate business, and to him and others is due, the credit of opening the Pickwick addition and securing the Elm street car line and also the Old Normal School. And for many years he was identified with every movement for the upbuilding of Springfield and a large contributor to the same. In 1896 he traded his interests in Springfield for the old Gates farm, Greene county, and engaged in general agricultural pursuits on a large scale until 1914 when he purchased the Smith Brothers' store, in Ash Grove which he is now conducting and is enjoying a large trade. He carries a complete line of merchandise, everything found in an up-to-date store of this kind. By his fair dealings and courtesy he has not only retained the customers which the store formerly had but is securing new ones constantly. He employs a number of capable assistants, and his store would be a credit to cities much larger than Ash Grove. He was one of the ten men who signed the guaranty that brought the "Gulf shops" to Springfield. Mr. Finch was married on October 26, 1889, to Brella Sherwood, who was born in Springfield, Missouri. She received a good education. She is a daughter of Judge T. A. and Mary E. (Young) Sherwood, one of the prominent old families of Greene county. To Mr. and Mrs. Finch six children have been born, namely: Mary, wife of W. A. Hennington lives in Springfield; Martha, who is a stenographer and student in the State Normal school at Springfield; Florence is at home; Constance is also a student in the State Normal; Elenore and Adele are both at home. Politically, Mr. Finch is a Democrat. He belongs to Capt. John Matthews post, Grand Army of the Republic at Springfield. Religiously, he is an Episcopalian. He is one of the active and prominent Masons in this part of the state. He was made a Master Mason in 1881 in Solomon Lodge, and has now demited to the Ash Grove Lodge. He is a member of the Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and St. John's Commandery No. 20, Knights Templar, of which he was captain general for ten years, then was eminent commander for some time and again became captain general. He also belongs to Abou Ben Adhem Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and at this writing is captain of patrol and has been for ten years. By his daily life he seems to strive, in an unobtrusive manner, to inculcate the sublime principles of Masonry, and his example as a man and citizen might well be emulated by the youth whose characters are yet in the making. HARRY H. FINCH. If industry, hard work and ceaseless activity, united with a strong and determined perseverance can accomplish anything in this world, then Harry H. Finch, engineer at the Springfield Gas & Power Company, is bound to succeed, for in him are to be found all the characteristics mentioned and indeed he is deserving of more than ordinary credit for his career thus far in life, having et scarcely begun his serious life work. Mr. Finch was born in Springfield, Missouri, March 8, 1894. He is a son of John S. and Lillie (Robinson) Finch, the latter residing at her own home on West Poplar street, this city. The father was born at Strafford, Greene county, Missouri, and grew to manhood in this county and attended school here. Securing a position on the St. Louis & San Francisco road here when a young man, he worked his way up to a locomotive engineer, in which capacity he was long connected with this road and which he was holding at the time of his death, on October 2, 1903, when about forty-six years old. His death was by accident in a head-on collision at Thayer, this state. He was reared on a farm, and when he first came to Springfield he worked in the south side shops, then went on the road as fireman, and was in due course of time promoted to engineer. He was a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, also belonged to the First Baptist church. His family consisted of three children, namely: Nellie is the wife of Charles Gardner, lives with her mother, and has one child, Juinita; Harry H., of this sketch; and Jesse, who is an apprentice plumber. The Finches were early settlers in Greene county, the grandfather having located there in pioneer times, became a successful farmer, and served in the Civil war. Harry H. 'Finch received his education in the ward schools of his native city, but left school when fourteen years of age and went to work in the plant of the Steineger & Rountree Harness Company, as an apprentice harness maker, but he found the work not altogether to his liking, having had a natural bent toward machinery, so he gave up the idea of becoming a harness maker and he secured a position as apprentice in the Frisco shops, later, when the shops closed down temporarily, he accepted a position with the Springfield Gas & Electric Company as an oiler, on October 25, 1907. He held this position for two years, then began work as an engineer, having successfully passed the required examination on October 15, 1911, and received his license, having enjoyed the honor of being the youngest licensed engineer in Springfield. But he had thoroughly prepared himself, having not only been a close observer while acting as oiler, but also mastered the prescribed course of the American Correspondence School in steam engineering. He is still a student of everything that pertains to his calling and is unquestionably one of the most up-to-date steam engineers in Springfield. Mr. Finch was married on August 7, 1913 to Pearl Stine, a daughter of Cassius H. Stine. She received a common school education. This union has been without issue. Mr. Finch is a member of the National Association of Stationary Engineers. He is a member of the Baptist church on Grant street, and, politically he votes the Democratic ticket. ALPHONSUS F. FINE. One of the best known retail grocery men in Springfield is Alphonsus. F. Fine, who has been engaged in this line of endeavor on the South Side for a period of twenty-five years, during which time his prestige as a straightforward and conscientious business man and substantial citizen has constantly increased. He did not begin his career with the get-rich-quick idea, but sought to advance himself along steady and legitimate lines, so shaping his course that each succeeding year has found him further advaniced, and with a wider circle of friends. Mr. Fine was born in Greene county, Missouri, January 30, 1871. He is a son of Felix F. and Martha (Gesford) Fine. The father was born in St. Louis county, Missouri, in 1833, and he is now making his home with our subject in Springfield, having attained the advanced age of four score years. His wife was born in St. Francis county, this state, in 1840, and her death occurred in Springfield in 1886, when forty-six years of age These parents received limited education in the early-day schools and were married in St. Louis county in 1858. They removed to Greene county in 1867 and here Felix F. Fine went into the nursery business, the Fine Nurseries being located three miles west of Springfield, and he made a success of this business, enjoying a large patronage, sending his trees all over this portion of the state. He studied the business thoroughly and understood every phase of it, and took great pleasure in the work. Mr. Fine formerly took considerable interest in political matters, and was elected judge of the county court in 1882 and re-elected in 1884, on the Democratic ticket and he filled the office most acceptably and satisfactorily. He is a member of the Catholic church. He is well known throughout the county and highly respected. He and his wife had but the one child, our subject. Alphonsus F. Fine grew to manhood in Greene county and assisted his father with the nursery business when he was a boy. He obtained his education in the district schools for the most part, and in 1890 engaged in the grocery business with his father, who was connected with W. F. Durbin under the firm name of Fine & Durbin. In 1897, he engaged in this business for himself at the corner of College and Market streets, where he remained twelve years, and five years ago moved to his present location at 329-331 East Walnut street, where he has a modernly appointed, well-stocked and attractive store, carrying a complete line of staple and fancy groceries and employs a number of assistants. He enjoys a very large trade, including many of the leading families of the city. Mr. Fine was married, October 20, 1897, in Springfield, to Margaret Coughlin, who was born in Paola, Kansas, August 10, 1875. She received a good common school education. After the death of her father she removed with her mother to Springfield. To Mr. and Mrs. Fine five children have been born, namely: Gesford F., born March 9, 1899; Margaret, born December 25, 1901; Eululie, born June 10, 1903; Marion, born July 14, 1906; and Martha, born July 1, 1912. Politically, Mr. Fine is a Democrat. Fraternally, he belongs to the Knights of Columbus, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Royal Arcanum and the Modern Woodmen. Religiously, he is a member of the St. Agnes Catholic church. RICHARD M. FINK. The most enduring monument which can be erected to the memory of loved ones is not made of marble or granite, for time, alas! crumbles these away; and, precious as are the cherished memories in the hearts of friends, within a few years these associations will be sleeping in the silent cemeteries. Naught endures save the written record, the page glowing with the noble life and kindly deeds, these alone hand down to the generations of the future, the history of the past, not only of the hardy pioneers whose brave patriotism and undaunted hearts paved the way to posterity and civilization, but also those of a later generation who carried onward the noble work which they began. Of the latter class was the late Richard M. Fink, for many years one of the leading druggists of Springfield, owning and operating successfully a large modern drug store. Mr. Fink was born in Girard, Macoupin county, Illinois, December 15, 1852. He is a son, of Charles H. and Mary (Boggess) Fink. The father was born in Lexington county, Kentucky, February 22, 1822, and died January 26, 1901, The mother of our subject was born, April 24, 1827, in Christian county, Kentucky, and her death occurred February 24, 1863. These parents grew to maturity in their native state, were educated in the common schools and there were married. Charles H. Fink devoted the major portion of his active life to the nursery business, which he conducted successfully and on a large scale. His family consisted of four children, all of whom are living, but our subject, namely: Mrs. Virginia Crenshaw, Mattie and Richard M., twins, and Robert. Richard M. Fink was young in years when his parents moved with their family from Illinois to which state they moved from Kentucky when they were a young couple, making the overland trip to Missouri in wagons, and locating at Lamar, Barton county. Here our subject grew to manhood and received his early education in the public schools, later taking a course in the Missouri State University. Intending to become a physician he first took a medical course, but later abandoned the idea and took a course in pharmacy and devoted his active life to the drug business. However, before leaving the town of Lamar, he engaged in the nursery business for some time, with his father; but in 1890 he came with his family to Springfield, and opened a drug store on the public square, and he continued in the drug business, which he conducted alone, the rest of his life, and during his residence in this city of twenty-two years he became one of the best known and most successful retail drug dealers in Springfield, enjoying a large and lucrative trade as a result of his honest and courteous dealings, his exceptional skill as a pharmacist and his business ability, always carrying a large stock of up-to-date drugs and drug sundries. Mr. Fink was married, November 28, 1884, in Cooper county, Missouri, to Sallie E. Harris, who was born September 26, 1958, in the above named county, and there she grew to womanhood and received her education, attending the public schools and college. She is a daughter of Edwin and Mary Elizabeth (Ellis) Harris. Mr. Harris was born in Louisville, Kentucky, December 20, 1830; his wife was born in Orange county, Virginia, September 16, 1831, and her death occurred April 8, 1898. Mr. Harris is living at Pilot Grove, Missouri. His family consisted of seven children, all of whom survive at this writing, namely: Richard E., Sallie E., who became the wife of Mr. Fink; Maggie, Mary, Edward H., William T., and Fred K. Mr. Harris, who is now living retired, was for many years a banker and prominent citizen in Cooper county. Politically he is a Democrat. Four children, all living, were born to Mr. and Mrs. Fink, -namely: Edith C., born December 13, 1885, married George W. Sears, and they live in Urbana, Illinois; Charles H., born May 1, 1887, married Lettie Noblett, lives in Springfield and is conducting the drug store, formerly owned by his father. They have two children, Virginia, born April 12, 1909, and Richard M., born December 20, 1912; Margaret L., born December 17, 1889, is living at home; Fred E., born April 3, 1894, is the youngest of the family and lives at home, the Fink residence being one of the commodious ones on Benton avenue. Politically, Mr. Fink was a Republican. Religiously, he supported the Congregational church and fraternally was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Fink was in failing health for some time, and his death occurred at Boulder, Colorado, October 10, 1912, where he had gone in an effort to regain his health. He was nearly sixty years of age. ELDER NEWTON FINLEY. Each man who strives to fulfill his part in connection with human life and human activities is deserving of recognition, whatever may be his field of endeavor, and it is the function of works of this nature to prepare for future generations an authentic record concerning those represented in its pages, and the value of such publications is certain to be cumulative for all time to come, showing forth the individual and specific accomplishments of which generic history is ever engendered. Although yet quite a young man, the record, brief though it is, of Elder Newton Finley, secretary and, treasurer of the Anchor Broom Works, of Springfield, is worthy of perpetuation within these pages, as we will readily ascertain by a study of the same in the following paragraphs. Mr. Finley was born at Greenfield, Dade county, Missouri, December 15, 1885. He is a son of Albert N. and Thurzy (Daughtrey) Finley, both natives of the above named town and county, each representing prominent old families there. They were reared, educated and married there and are still living on a large farm two miles southwest of Greenfield. Their family consisted of nine children, namely: Mrs. Bessie Erisman, Mary Frances, Will P., Elder Newton, of this sketch; Sallie, Fred, Lloyd, Marie and Alma; the last five named are all at home with their parents. Mr. Finley, of this sketch, was reared in his native community and received a good practical education in the Greenfield schools, graduating from the high school there. In the fall of 1907 he came to Springfield and attended a business college for nine months, and on June 8, 1908, took a partnership in the Anchor Broom Company, which was incorporated in 1901, and he has remained with this concern to the present time and is now secretary and treasurer of the same, and its rapid growth during the past few years has been due in no small measure to his industry, sound judgment and foresight. Recently the firm has added the manufacture of mops to their long established broom business, and the new department was a success from the first. This has been one of the best known and most successful broom works in the Southwest for a decade or more and its products are eagerly sought for over a wide territory, owing to the superior quality of the famous brands of brooms which the firm produces--the "Monarch," "Blue Ribbon," "Golden Rod," "Perfection," and "Little Gem." These brooms are shipped in large consignments over all the southwestern states, especially Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Mississippi, eastern Kansas and Missouri. During the past year about twenty carload lots have been sent to various points, to say nothing of the vast number of smaller shipments, and each succeeding year brings a larger volume of business. Mr. Finley was married April 14, 1914, to Nell Sullens, a daughter of J. L. Sullens, who was for a number of years one of the most prominent ministers of the Southern Methodist church in southwest Missouri. He and his wife were natives of central Missouri. They came to Springfield in 1906 where he was pastor of Campbell Street Methodist Episcopal church, South. He had filled numerous charges at various points in this part of the state and always built up the church and was popular with his congregations, being regarded by all as a man of talent and rare usefulness. He met an untimely death by accident while hunting in the autumn of 1906. His family consisted of eleven children, namely: Ernest, Roy, Clarence (deceased), Mabel, Nellie, who married Mr. Finley; Leonard, Ethel, Lee, Cora, Emery and Walter. Mrs. Finley was educated in the schools of Springfield. Politically, Mr. Finley is a Democrat. He belongs to the Springfield Commercial Club, and he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, South. FRANK L. FINNEY. The dignity of labor is a theme much discussed. In the old world it has always meant a different thing to the construction put upon the phrase in America, for in lands where caste prevails between classes, the aristocracy is inclined to look down on the laboring classes, but of this, happily, we know practically nothing in the United States, in fact, here if one does not labor or at least is employed at something one is not likely to he as highly regarded by one's associates as if he were energetic and not afraid of honest work. Frank L. Finney, now deceased, was a believer in the dignity of labor and he was possessed with much energy and industry and succeeded in earning an honest and comfortable living and winning and retaining the respect and admiration of those with whom he was associated. Mr. Finney was born, November 22, 1851, in Fairfield, Iowa. He was a son of Samuel G. and Eunice (Neil) Finney, one of the early families of Jefferson county, Iowa, noted for their industry and qualities as good neighbors. Their family consisted of ten children, seven sons and three daughters, namely: Lewis H. is deceased; Albert lives in Nevada; George S. lives in Maryville, Missouri; Frank L., subject of this memoir; Edwin lives in Seattle, Washington; Mrs. Annie C. Denny lives in Lincoln, Nebraska; Mrs. Emma L. LaFollette resides in Seattle; Samuel is deceased; Mrs. Ella S. Webb lives in Colorado, and Earnest P. lives in Oklahoma City. Samuel G. Finney, father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, and there grew to manhood and received a good education. He studied law, was admitted to the bar and was very successful in the practice of his profession. He took an active part in public matters, became influential in politics and was for some time a member of the Legislature, while living in Maryland. Finally abandoning the practice of law he engaged in merchandising with success and later in life turned his attention to general farming. He removed from Maryland to Jefferson county, Iowa, in the early history of the latter country and located at the town of Fairfield, where he became well established and well known. His wife, Eunice Neil, was born in Maine, and was of Scotch-Irish descent. Frank L. Finney grew to manhood at Fairfield, Iowa, assisting his father about the homestead when a boy, and he received his education in the public schools there. When a, young man he went west and followed mining in different states for a number of years with satisfactory results. He located in Springfield, Missouri, in 1905, and here lived in retirement the rest of his life. He had spent thirteen years engaged in farming and stock raising in Iowa very successfully. Mr. Finney was married on August 4, 1885, to Mary Graham, who was born in Maryville, Missouri, and is a daughter of Arch D. and Sarah (Wiseman) Graham. Mr. Graham was a native of Kentucky and his wife a native of West Virginia; after their marriage they lived in Ohio for a short time, then came to Missouri, where Mrs. Finney died July 3, 1914, at the age of forty-seven. Mrs. Finney received a good common school education, and lived on South Jefferson street, Springfield, where she had a comfortable home. She bore her husband eight children, seven of whom survive, namely: Dora, Lola, Marjorie, Harold Neil, Samuel Graham, Fern, Winifred, and Earnest Dean is deceased. These children have been given good educational advantages in Iowa and in Springfield, Missouri. Politically, Frank L. Finney was a Democrat but was never an aspirant for political honors. The death of Mr. Finney occurred at his late home in Springfield on June 9, 1906, when fifty-five years of age. JAMES W. FITCH. James W. Fitch was born on the 22d of March, 1865, in St. Clair county, Illinois. His father was John L. Fitch and his mother Mary J. (Owen) Fitch. Mr. Fitch, Sr., was born in Wyoming county, New York in 1831. He was a graduate of Rochester College of Rochester, New York, and began his life as a school teacher, following that profession for about five years. Later he became a farmer, locating in Wisconsin for some years. Afterward he moved to Illinois, where he met and married his wife. Here he was a flour miller for some time, and then returned to his native state of New York in 1870. The family afterward immigrated to Christian county, Missouri, and so settled near Billings. To this pair were born five children: James W., Clarence E., who lives in Chicago; Henry L., of Joplin, Missouri; Jennie (Davis); and Etta M. (Norman). John L. Fitch, the father, died at Eureka Springs, Arkansas, in 1882. His wife died in Billings in 1909. James W. Fitch got his schooling in Wyoming county, New York, and there learned and followed the trade of a plasterer for a time. But in 1887 he found employment with the Frisco as a fireman, and began the life that he has followed ever since. His first run was on a freight train between Springfield and Pierce City. That year he moved to Springfield, and has resided here ever since. His present residence being at 508 Nichols street. In 1892 he became a freight engineer, running from Springfield to Newburg. He stuck to his business and in 1906 was promoted to a regular passenger run, between Springfield and Fort Smith, Arkansas. On this responsible run he is one of the best known and most trusted engineers. Mr. Fitch married on October 18, 1888, Margaret A. Popp, who was born in Bavaria, Germany, November 9, 1868. She immigrated with her parents to Monee, Will county, Illinois, and afterward came to Billings, Christian county, Missouri. Here Mr. Popp spent the remainder of his life on a farm where his wife still survives him. Mrs. Fitch passed away on April 19, 1912, leaving one daughter, Edna M., born on August 25, 1891, and who is her father's housekeeper. The mother was a member of the Episcopal church and an active church worker. Politically, Mr. Fitch is a Republican and fraternally, he belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is also a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. THOMAS FOGARTY. Special adaptability to any particular calling in life is the one necessary adjunct to permanent success. No matter what be the amount of vim and determination which characterizes a man's start in business, unless he is to the manor born he will ultimately find to his sorrow that his line has been falsely cast, and the quicker he draws aside and takes up another calling the better it will be for him, and perhaps for others as well. That young man is indeed fortunate who knows what he is fitted for by nature and starts out in his career along the line which he can successfully follow to the end; but few do this as the records show. That Thomas Fogarty, organizer and proprietor of the Sanitary Plumbing and Heating Company, of Springfield, is especially fitted for the calling that now occupies his attention can not be doubted, for he has built up a large and rapidly growing business, and his scores of patrons are always well satisfied with his work. Mr. Fogarty was born in County Clare, Ireland, January 20, 1872. He is a son of Michael and Bridget (Keating) Fogarty, and a grandson of James and Mary (Linnane) Fogarty. James Fogarty was a native of the Emerald Isle and there he devoted his life to farming and died in his native land at the age of eighty-four years. His wife died suddenly of cholera during the epidemic of 1847. They were Catholics. To them seven children were born, four sons and three daughters; three of the former and one of the latter came to America. Michael Fogarty was reared in Ireland, where he was married, and spent his life as a farmer, dying there at the age of sixty-two years. His widow is still living in Ireland, being now seventy-two years of age. James, one of their sons, emigrated to the United States a few years prior to the breaking out of the Civil war, and during the latter part of that conflict he was drafted into the Union army and served a short time. To Michael Fogarty and wife eleven children were born, four sons and seven daughters, namely: Patrick came to Springfield, Missouri, when nineteen years of age, about 1878, and was yard master here for the Frisco Railroad for a period of twenty-five years, being finally killed by accident while on duty; John S. has remained in Ireland; Mrs. L. G. Schab lives in Quincy, Illinois; Katie is teaching school in Ireland; Thomas, of this sketch; Mrs. James Bayner lives at Castle Bar, Ireland; Michael died when twenty-one years of age; Mrs. John Waters is teaching school in Ireland; Mrs. Thomas Fogarty, who married a man of her own name, but no relation, lives in Ireland; Nora is single and lives in Springfield, Missouri; Nellie S. is teaching school in Ireland. Thomas Fogarty, of this review, grew to manhood in Erin's Green Isle and there he received a good education, attending college until he was nineteen years of age, when, in the year 1891, he emigrated to America and came direct to Springfield, Missouri, where he has resided ever since, having liked the town and country from the first. Soon after his arrival here he secured a position as fireman with the Frisco and continued to work in this capacity for a period of six years, then was promoted to engineer and worked as such for two years. Finally tiring of the road, he turned his attention to the plumbing business, associating himself with the Standard Plumbing company here, which maintained offices on the south side. He seemed to have natural ability in this line of endeavor and soon mastered its various details. In 1908 he organized the Sanitary Plumbing and Heating company, the present place of business of which is on East Commercial street. Under his able management this concern has grown to large proportions and is doing an ever-growing and lucrative business in general plumbing and heating. The firm is well equipped in every respect for prompt and high-grade service, keeping all modern apparatus and equipment and a full stock of well-selected material of all kinds, and a number of skilled artisans are constantly employed. Mr. Fogarty was married on April 30, 1902, in Springfield to Laura O'Hara, a daughter of Jerome and Isabell (Mudd) O'Hara, a well-known family here, Mr. O'Hara being president of the Citizens Bank of Springfield for years, but is now retired. He was a native of Illinois. His family consists of seven children, namely: Frank J. is a traveling salesman and lives in San Antonio, Texas; L. J. is in partnership with our subject in the plumbing business; John is deceased; Mrs. P. J. Turley lives in Springfield; Laura, wife of the subject of this sketch; Mrs. J. J. Lawler lives in Springfield; Mrs. Mamie O'Hara lives in this city. Jerome O'Hara, mentioned above, came to Springfield in 1895 and for many years was proprietor of the firm of O'Hara & Son, who were engaged in the dry goods business on East Commercial street, but later he went into the banking business. He has been highly successful as a business man and is a highly respected citizen. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fogarty, namely: Harry is deceased; Francis Thomas, Clarence J., John A., Isabell and Margaret. Politically Mr. Fogarty is a Democrat. He is a member of the Catholic church. He is a prominent member of the Knights of Columbus, having been financial secretary of the local lodge for a period of eight years. In 1913, at the state convention of this order which was held at Joplin, he was elected supreme delegate to the convention at Boston, Massachusetts. He went from there back to Ireland to visit his mother, brother and sisters. He is also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Modern Woodmen of America, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Eagles. He is a jovial, obliging and open-hearted gentleman whom it is a pleasure to meet, and he has a host of friends in Springfield and over this part of the state. JESSE J. FOSTER, JR. A strict adherence to a fixed purpose and faithfulness to duty, backed by correct individual habits of life, have been dominating factors in the career of Jesse J. Foster, Jr., for a number of years one of the successful educators of the locality of Strafford, where he later worked in the United States mail service and where he is now postmaster. Mr. Foster was born on A farm in Webster county, Missouri, August 26, 1875. He is a son of Jesse J. and Elizabeth (Turner) Foster. The father was born in Webster county also, near the town of Seymour, in 1846, and was reared in Marshfield, county-seat of that county, and there he received his education. He began life for himself by teaching, which he continued three years. When eighteen years old he enlisted for service in the Union army under Colonel McMahan, in 1863, and served creditably for two years, being honorably discharged at the close of the war at Springfield, Missouri, after which he returned to Marshfield, then located on the James river in Greene county, where he engaged in farming. He later moved to the village of Henderson, where he operated a store, then moved to another in Greene county, where he continued to reside until three years ago, he moved to Colorado, in which state he now resides. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His wife was born in Missouri in 1848, was reared on a farm and educated in the district schools. She taught school three years before her marriage. Two of her brothers were in the Confederate army and were wounded. She is a member of Missionary Baptist church. Eight children have been born to these parents, namely: John D. is the oldest; William F. was well educated and taught school a number of years before his death; Joseph F. Was next in order of birth; Jesse J., Jr., of this sketch; Mrs. Mary A. McKerall; Mrs. Bessie Killian; Grace is teaching music in Colorado; Sarah is teaching school in Colorado. The subject of this sketch was reared on the home farm and he was given the advantages of a good education. He began teaching school when young, which he followed with marked success for eight years, after which he began carrying the mail, remaining in this work for a period of nine years, giving entire satisfaction to the people and the department at Washington. In February, 1914, he was appointed postmaster at Strafford, having passed a successful civil service examination for the same, and he is proving to be an alert, capable and popular postmaster. Mr. Foster was married to Florence Hankins, who was born in Greene county in 1875, and she grew to womanhood in Strafford, and received a common school education here. She is a daughter of William T. and Mary (Comstock) Hankins. The latter is deceased, but the father is still a resident of Strafford. Mrs. Foster is a member of the Baptist church. Two children have been born to our subject and wife, namely: Joseph W., born May 1, 1904; and Helen, born August 30, 1906. Politically, Mr. Foster is a Democrat. Fraternally, he is a member of the Masonic order and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He belongs to the Baptist church. He is active and influential in the affairs of his locality, is a director in the Bank of Strafford and a member of the local school board. J. W. FOWLER. It seems there is no start in life which so well prepares a man for his future career, no matter what he may choose to follow as the boyhood years spent on the farm; this is not strange to the contemplative mind, for, in the first place, the boy reared next to nature, to the fresh soil, surrounded by the clear air and amidst the growing, blooming vegetation will be stronger physically and mentally than his city-bred brother, and will agree that health is the first prerequisite in the chase for success in this world; many a man has been handicapped, submerged and defeated because of lack of it. J. W. Fowler, chief, stationary engineer of the south side Frisco shops, Springfield, was fortunate enough to be born and reared on a farm, and thus has a heritage of physical strength which has stood him well in hand. Mr. Fowler was born on the farm of his parents near Tipton, Missouri, November 24, 1864. He is a son of G. W. and Parmelia (Hodges) Fowler. The father was born in Pennsylvania, in 1842, and is still living on his farm near Tipton, Missouri, having engaged in farming all his life. He came from the Keystone state to Missouri more than half a century ago and has lived here ever since. During the Civil war he enlisted at Tipton, and made a splendid record as a soldier. G. W. Fowler was a voting man when he came to this state and. he married near there, his wife having been born on a farm there in 1847. Fourteen children were born to this union, nine of whom are still living, namely: J. W., of this sketch; Mrs. Nancy Sehklin, wife of a merchant; Mrs. Sarah D. Mock, wife of a farmer; William M. is a blacksmith; Edwin is a boilermaker; Mrs. Dosia Williams married a farmer; Mrs. Edna Hatfield; Mrs. Millie B. Moon married a farmer; Harrison is engaged in farming; the others are deceased. W. Fowler grew up on the home farm and spent his earlier years engaged in tilling the soil. He received a common school education. He came to Springfield in 1889 and has since made his home in this city. He began working for the Eversol & Son Milling Company as stationary engineer. He liked the work, studied it and became an expert in his line. After a few years he went to work for the Frisco Lines in their south side shops as extra stationary engineer, where he became chief engineer and he still holds this position. His long service with the Frisco would indicate that he has given entire satisfaction and that he is a capable and trustworthy employee. He has not had a shutdown in more than twenty-four years, during working hours, or since he has been with the Frisco. Mr. Fowler was married twice, first, to Augusta, Breckinridge, at Tipton, Missouri. She was born November 25, 1864, at Galloway, Missouri. Her death occurred February 9, 1901. To this union four children were born, namely: Ira, born September 23, 1887, married Kate Campbell, he is a boilermaker and lives in Springfield; Roy, born February 15, 1890, married Grace Edwards, and he is employed as blacksmith in the south side Frisco shops; Earl, born April 3, 1898, lives at home; Clara A., born May 31, 1901, is at home. On November 10, 19l4, Mr. Fowler married the second time in St. Louis, Priscilla Givan, a widow of Wm. Givan. She was born January 17, 1866. She is a daughter of Albert and Nancy (Butterball) Daugherty. Mrs. Fowler was born in Pennsylvania and she received a common school education. She came to Missouri when young. The second union of our subject and wife has been without issue. Politically, Mr. Fowler is a Republican. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen. He is a member of the First Baptist church. HOMER GLENN FRAME, M. D. A farmer may take good care of all his crops and animals and conduct his business at a profit, but he will find an added enjoyment and an increased profit by giving especial attention to some one crop or animal. Suppose a farmer's specialty is corn. If he does his duty by his pet crop he will raise some of the best, if not the best, corn in the neighborhood. He will not only have greater profits in the ordinary use of the crop, but the demand for his seed-corn will enable him to dispose of a large amount of it at better than the average price of seed-corn. The necessity of using only the best seed is yearly becoming more appreciated, and the man who has the reputation of growing the best corn is the one that seed buyers will seek. The reputation is the reward for building up a specialty. It is well known that the specialty of Dr. Homer Glenn Frame, of Cave Spring, Cass township, Greene county, is alfalfa. Many of the farmers of this locality have doubted the practicability of, attempting to grow alfalfa, but he is proving that our land will produce good crops of it, and showing wherein it would be to an advantage of many of his fellow tillers of the soil to let up awhile on planting their land to corn, wheat and other grains until the soil is exhausted and build it up with alfalfa, which is not only an excellent soil restorer but is a very profitable crop from a financial standpoint. The results he has obtained have been plainly visible. He is one of our progressive citizens who believe in scientific, intense farming, who is setting a splendid example, for his methods are advanced and in time will have to be adopted by most husbandman of this section of the state. Doctor Frame is also one of the leading physicians of the county and is widely known. He is active in the practice, farming being only a hobby or avocation: Doctor Frame was born in Center township, near Bois D'Are, Greene county, Missouri, June 26, 1877. He is a son of J. William and Delilah Edna (Jones) Frame, a highly respected family of this county, mention of whom is made in a separate sketch in this volume, hence their life records will not be repeated here. Dr. Homer G. Frame spent his boyhood days on his father's farm, where he worked hard, and he received his education in the district schools of his township, also attended high school at Marionville, Lawrence county. His father also owned a store in Bois D'Arc, in which our subject clerked for some time. Deciding to enter the medical profession, he went to St. Louis, when twenty years of age, and took the course at Washington University, where he made an excellent record and from which institution he was graduated with the class of 1902, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He further prepared himself for the successful practice of his chosen calling by spending one year as interne in the City Hospital, of St. Louis, and was also house surgeon for six months in the Missouri Pacific Railroad Hospital, in St. Louis, and he was also connected with the Frisco system for a year as surgeon in the company's hospital at Cape Girardeau, Missouri, after which he came to Bois D'Arc' his boyhood home, where he practiced successfully for three years, and on August 10, 1909, located at Cave Spring, where he has remained to the present time, and has built up a lucrative practice, which extends over a wide locality, and has been very successful as a general practitioner. He also holds a pharmaceutical degree, issued by Missouri state commissioners. He has remained a close student of all that pertains to his profession, and has, therefore, kept fully abreast of the times, and he ranks in the fore-front of medical men in a county long noted for the high order of its medical talent. Although very busy with his professional duties, he is deeply interested in farming, especially in the culture of alfalfa, as before stated, and he is experimenting with twenty acres of alfalfa on his neat and tastily-kept little farm at Cave Spring, where he has a comfortable home and attractive surroundings. Doctor Frame is a public-spirited man, being an advocate of good roads and general public improvements, and stands ready to aid any movement having as its object the betterment of his community and county in any way. Doctor Frame was married, December 30, 1903, to Olive Baker, a native of Bois D'Are, Greene county, where she grew to womanhood and was educated. She is a daughter of Thomas J. and Susan J. (Johnson) Baker, the father a native of Tennessee and the mother was born in Greene county, Missouri. The Bakers are well known and highly respected in Center township, this county, and vicinity. Four children have been born to Doctor Frame and wife, namely: Mary, the youngest child, died in infancy: Evelyn, Edna and Dorothy. Politically, Doctor Frame is a Republican. He is a member of the Greene County Medical Society and the Southwest Missouri Medical Society. Fraternally, he is a member of Masonic Lodge No. 624 at Willard, Missouri, and he and his wife are members of the Christian church at Cave Spring, the doctor being a deacon in the same. Personally he is a genial, kind, neighborly gentleman, who bears an excellent reputation for integrity, honesty and kindness, and is very popular throughout his community. THE FREEMAN FAMILY. One of the oldest, best known and honored families of Greene county is the Freemans, the first member of which, a Revolutionary soldier, braved the wilds of this locality nearly a century ago and from that day to the present time his descendants have played well their parts in the local drama of civilization and the family history is well worth perpetuation on the pages of a volume of the nature of the one in hand. This family has not only been noted for their unflagging industry and success in material things, but also good citizens, always ready to support such measures as had for their object the general good of the community and county, and too, they have looked well to their personal reputations. One of the best known members of this family of the present generation is Rederick Flavius Freeman, who was born in Greene county, Missouri, October 3, 1852. He is a son of William B. and Eliza E. (Snow) Freeman. The former was born in North Carolina, August 7, 1825. He came to Missouri in early life and spent the rest of his days in Greene county, engaged in farming and stock raising. He was married on August 11, 1851. He was engaged in buying cattle for the government during the Civil war, at the time of his death, September 11, 1862. His wife was born on April 13, 1834; she survived him nearly forty-seven years, dying on March 17, 1909. To William B. Freeman and wife the following children were born: Rederick F., mentioned in the preceding paragraph, being the eldest; Samuel S., born on August 16, 1854; Mrs. Mollie L. Edmondson, born on December 4, 1856; Gabriel B., born on September 23, 1858; William W., born on November 6, 1861, died July 3, 1899; Ona A., born on May 9, 1859, died on July 6, 1860. The father of William B. Freeman was John Freeman, who was a son of William Freeman. The latter was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, having enlisted as a private in 1776, from North Carolina, under Capt. Andrew Oliver and Colonel Hogan. After his first term of enlistment of three months had expired he re-enlisted on July 20, 1878, for nine months, as a private under Captain Childs and Colonel Hart in the Tenth North Carolina Regiment. In 1781 he enlisted a third time, for three months, as a private under Captain Taylor and Colonel Eaton. He saw considerable hard service and fought gallantly for his country in such engagements as Guilford and Camden. At the time of his enlistment he resided in Bertie county, North Carolina. He applied for a pension on July 23, 1832, and his claim was allowed. At that time he lived in Burke county, North Carolina. His birth occurred in the former county, October 26, 1759. He spent the major portion of his life in the old Tar state, engaged in farming, but in his old age he sought a newer country and made the long overland journey with his family to Greene county, Missouri, where he spent the rest of his days, dying here on January 27, 1838, at the age of seventy-nine years. He was buried in the National Cemetery at Springfield and the government placed an appropriate monument at his grave where lies the only Revolutionary soldier in that cemetery. William Freeman, mentioned above, married Mary Bryan in 1786. She was a daughter of Robert Bryan. Her death occurred on November 5, 1845. The record shows that their children were, in 1850, Rederick, fifty-six years old; Larry was fifty-two years old; Lemuel H. was forty-nine years old; Elizabeth and James, twins, were forty-seven years old, the former being the wife of Israel Smith. Returning to the career of Rederick Flavius Freeman: He grew to manhood on the home farm and assisted with the general work there when a boy. His educational advantages were somewhat limited. His business experience in life has been his best teacher, and has given him a broad comprehension of men and things and self-reliance. He is a well-read man, posted on current matters, and he has succeeded in his life work. He is a general farmer and an extensive buyer and shipper of live stock. He has always lived in Greene county and has kept actively engaged ht his chosen vocations. He is a stanch Democrat of the old school; he thoroughly believes in the principles of his party, is an ardent worker for the cause of Democracy, but has had no time for political favors himself, yet he is always on deck at the needed time to assist his friends and his party. Rederick Flavius Freeman was married on January 20, 1876, to Martha Ann Cooper. Mrs. Freeman was born on May 9, 1856, in Greene county, Missouri. She is a daughter of George W. and Zerelda E. (Goodin) Cooper, the father born on February 20, 1814, and died on November 12, 1881; the mother was born on December 29, 1820, and died on December 29, 1884. These parents were among the early settlers of Greene county. To them the following children were born: Joseph G., born on October 15, 1839, died on October 14, 1864; Mrs. M. Jane Hardy, born on June 12, 1841; John D., born on January 3, 1843; Mrs. Nancy E. Howard, born on April 24, 1845; Mrs. Margaret E. Moore, born on March 2, 1848; A. D., born on March 10. 1850, died April 20th of that year; Robert M. E., born on May 21, 1851, died in 1905; A. A. W., born on January 26, 1854, is deceased; Martha Ann, wife of Rederick F. Freeman, and Z. A. C., Newbill, born on January 21, 1861. Rederick Flavius Freeman and wife are members of the Presbyterian church. To Rederick Flavius Freeman and wife the following children have been born: Walter Edmond, born on April 12, 1877, was educated in the common schools of Greene county, and at an early age commenced working, in the machine shops of the St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Company at Springfield, and continued there for five years, then engaged in the general merchandise business in Springfield, which he successfully conducted for nine years. In 1908 he was elected sheriff of Greene county with the largest majority any Democrat ever received for that office. He overcame a Republican majority of eight hundred and had eleven hundred and ninety-nine majority to his credit, which is sufficient evidence of his high standing in the county as a man and citizen; his term of office expired on December 31, 1912, having enjoyed the distinction of being the youngest sheriff the county ever had, and he was also the first to hold a four-years' term, and was the last to serve while the county offices remained in the old court house, was also the first sheriff after the new court house was occupied. He was a. member of the city council during the years 1905-06. He has been a prominent member of the Democratic County Committee for several years, and he held the office of state committeeman in 1910 and 1911. He was president during the existence of the Drovers Bank of Springfield, which went out of business in the fall of 1913. He was a director of the Peoples Bank from its organization until 1912 assisted in its organization and was one of its stockholders. At this writing he is extensively engaged in the real estate business, handling his own property principally. He is an active Democrat, belongs to the Baptist church, and fraternally is a member of the Masonic order, the Modern Woodmen, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and also belongs to the Sons of the American Revolution. He married Lucy Gertrude Noblitt, November 22, 1899. She is a daughter of William Allen Noblitt, who was a mechanic in the Frisco shops, and his death occurred on March 23, 1888. Mr. Noblitt was a veteran of the Civil war, having enlisted for service in the Union army at Springfield in 1863, and left for the front in February, 1864, as a member of Battery 1, Second Light Artillery, under Stephen H. Julian and he saw considerable service, including the great battle of Nashville, Tennessee, December 15 and 16, 1864. He was honorably discharged and mustered out at the close of the war, after which he returned to Greene county and resided here until his death. His health was so seriously impaired while in the army that he never recovered and he died while still a young man. His wife was Nancy Tennessee Gooch, a native of the state of Tennessee from which state she came to Missouri when a child and is still living at the age of sixty-five years. She is of English and Scotch extraction. Her daughter, Mrs. Walter Edmond Freeman is a graduate of the Springfield high school. She and her husband have one child, Mildred Lucille Freeman, born on February 18, 1905, who is now attending school, assisted three of her cousins in unveiling the monument erected by the government in the National Cemetery at Springfield over the grave of her ancestor, William Freeman, who was a veteran of the American Revolution, There was a large gathering and appropriate speeches were made during the ceremony of the unveiling. Mrs. Walter E. Freeman has one sister, Mrs. Josie Chapman, who resides in Springfield; also one brother, Ernest Allen Noblitt, also of Springfield. John Guy Freeman, second son of Rederick Flavius Freeman and wife, was born on November 17, 1879. He now resides about ten miles north of Springfield, where he owns a large farm and is extensively engaged in raising live stock. Politically, he is a Democrat. He was married to Margaret Shelledy, May 3, 1901. She is a daughter of Leander Nelson Shelledy, who was born on April 27, 1840, in Edgar county, Illinois, but left there at an early age for Kansas, where he was living at the outbreak of the Civil war and there he enlisted in the Union army on July 21. 1862, and participated in numerous important engagements, remaining in the service until the close of the war, having been mustered out on July 17, 1865. Not long thereafter he came to Greene county, Missouri, where he lived until his death, April 7, 1906. He married Mrs. Sarah A. Pitt, November 5, 1877. Her maiden name was Calkin. Mrs. Margaret Freeman's father was previously married, by which one son was born, Allen A. Shelledy, who saw service as a private during the entire Spanish-American war, being mustered out on August 16, 1899. He then went to the Philippine Islands where he has continued to reside and has been successful in his work there, The mother of Mrs. Margaret Freeman had four children by her first marriage, namely: Marvin A. Pitt, who lives north of Springfield, Missouri; Sidney Pitt, who is now living in Roswell, New Mexico; Mrs. Elizabeth Freeman lives in Kansas; and Mrs. Nellie Givins lives in Oklahoma. Mrs. Margaret Freeman has the following brothers and sisters: James E. Shelledy is living in Dalhart, Texas; Charles C. lives in Greene county, Missouri, Mrs. Charles M. Trankham lives in Greene county, Missouri; Henry A. Shelledy is at this writing a student in the University of Missouri at Columbia; Mrs. Ruth McCroskey lives in Greene county, this state. John Guy Freeman and wife have one child, Hal, born on August 23, 1907; Charles Emmett, born on May 10, 1881, married Gertrude Johnston, April 12, 1903, and they have one child, Edna May, born on May 23, 1906; Harry Frank, born on June 26, 1882, married Ruby Stovall, September 25, 1904, and to them two children have been born, Grace Marie, whose birth occurred on September 23, 1905; and Harry Bryan, whose birth occurred on October 15, 1909; Harry Frank Freeman has resided in Springfield for several years and been a member of the police department and is now deputy sheriff of Greene county. Dr. Samuel Flavius, fifth child of Rederick F. Freeman and wife, was born in the old Freeman neighborhood, near Heady, September 27, 1884, was educated in the common schools of his district, later spending one year in Morrisville College, in Polk county, also spent one term at the Missouri State Normal and four years in the American Medical College at St. Louis, from which he was graduated in 1909. He took a post-graduate course at St. Louis University in 1912. His special work has been diseases of children in which he has met with great success. He commenced practicing his profession in Elwood, Greene county, remaining t here three years, then moved to Springfield in 1912 where he is now located and is building up a satisfactory business as a general practitioner and a specialist on the diseases of children. He is a member of the Southwest Missouri, State and National Eclectic Medical Societies. He has held the office of county physician for Greene county since 1909, which he still retains, the duties of which he is discharging in a highly acceptable manner. Fraternally, he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Royal Neighbors and the Mystic Workers, American Yeomen, and Knights of Pythias. Politically, he is a Democrat, and religiously a member of the Baptist church, of which he is a deacon. Doctor Freeman married Liela Jessie Bennett, November 25, 1909; she is a daughter of William P. and Alice (Mooney) Bennett, a well-known and substantial family who live on a farm near Elwood where Mrs. Freeman was reared and educated in the public schools, later attending Morrisville College. She has the following brothers and sisters: Dr. Floyd W. Bennett, a practicing physician of St. Louis Missouri; Gert M. Bennett lives in Denver, Colorado; John F. Bennett, who lives at Englewood, Colorado, is a deputy sheriff of Arapahoe county; Gola May Bennett is the wife of William Jones, of Elwood, this county, also Herschel David at home. Doctor Freeman and wife have one child, Flavius Bennett Freeman, who was born at Elwood on May 30, 1911. The three younger children of Rederick F. Freeman and wife were named as follows: Della Maud, born on February 28, 1886, married Harvey Tiller, April 29, 1906, and they have two children, Dwight Freeman, born in July, 1907; and Helen Blanche, born in January, 1911, Harley Gabriel, born on November 23, 1889, married Madge Gately on October 10, 1909, and they have one child, Frances Muriel, born on October 5, 1911; George Porter, eighth and youngest of the children, was born on February 22, 1892, married Stella Keech, April 20, 1912, and they have one child, Jessie Wanetta, born on February 19, 1914. Thus from the foregoing paragraphs it will be seen that the various; members of the Freeman family are well situated in life, are good citizens, and deserving of the high respect in which they are held. JOHN FRENCH. Among the comparatively small element of foreign-born citizens who have cast their lot with the people of Greene county and have won success through their industry and close application is John French, blacksmith foreman in the Frisco shops. He comes of a sturdy family, one that has always been strong for right living and industrious habits, for education and morality, and for all that which contributes to the betterment of the communities in which they have resided. Many years ago, in fact, nearly a half century ago, our subject, unaccompanied, although scarcely more than a boy, crossed the great Atlantic, having bid a permanent farewell to his native isle, and cast his lot among the Americans who have treated him so kindly and well that he has been pleased to remain with us. Mr. French was born in Durham county, England, April 16, 1846. He is a son of John and Elizabeth (Robertson) French, both natives of England, also, where they grew up, were educated and married and spent their lives. The father learned the blacksmith's trade when young, in which he became very skillful and at which he spent his life. The grandfather of our subject was also a blacksmith by trade. The parents of our subject have both been dead many years, the mother dying in 1888. To them ten children were born, namely: Allen; Elizabeth is deceased; Annie is deceased; Polly; James is deceased; John, of this sketch; William is deceased; Robert; and the two youngest died in infancy. John French spent his boyhood in England, and there received a common school education, and when a boy learned the blacksmith's trade under his father, who owned his own shop. Our subject worked in different parts of England at his trade, and in a few years became an expert in his line. He immigrated to America in the spring of 1865, reaching our shores about the unsettled time that marked the closing of our momentous conflict, he being at that time nineteen years of age. The great armies of citizen soldiery had not had time to return to the pursuits of peace and he found it hard to get a start, and for a time worked as a laborer in Cincinnati, Ohio, later worked at his trade there. He came to Greene county, Missouri, in 1900, having previously worked at his trade for different railroads, and since coming here he has been employed by the Frisco, and has been promoted for his skill and faithfulness to the position of foreman of the blacksmith shop, the duties of which responsible place he is worthily discharging, having a large force of men under his direction. Mr. French was married, in November, 1868, to Mrs. Jane Wright, who was born in the state of New York, June 18, 1840, and there she grew to womanhood and was educated. To our subject and wife five children have been born, namely: Alice is deceased; Mrs. Susan Tingell, Mrs. Martha Player, Mrs. Jessie Weaver, John C. is a soldier in the United States army, being with the troops in Vera Cruz, Mexico in 1914. Politically, Mr. French is a Republican. Fraternally, he belongs to the Knights of Pythias. FRANK A. FREY. The chief characteristics of Frank Al Frey, prominent agriculturist and stock man of Taylor township, Greene county, who also maintains a home in Springfield, are keenness of perception, an unflagging energy, honesty of purpose and motive and every-day common sense, which have enabled him not only to advance his own interests in a most gratifying manner, but also to largely contribute to the moral and material interests of the community. He worked his way from a modest beginning, having landed from a foreign strand on our shores many years ago, "a youth to fortune and to fame unknown," step by step to a position of no mean importance, by his individual efforts, which have been practically unaided from boyhood, which fact renders him the more worthy of the praise that is freely accorded him by his fellow men. His life has been one of unceasing industry and perseverance, and the honorable and systematic methods he has ever employed are commended to others if they court the goddess Success. Mr. Frey was born in Alsace, France, March 9, 1853. He is a son of Francis Joseph and Christina (Herd) Frey, both natives of Alsace, formerly a part of France, now a province of Germany. There they grew up, were educated and married, and spent their lives, and to them two sons were born, Aloys Frey, now deceased, and Frank A. Frey, of this sketch. Frank A. Frey sent his boyhood in his native land, and there received his education. When eighteen years old he emigrated to the United States, in 1871, landing in New York, where he remained only a month, then came on west to St. Louis, where he spent one year, then spent two years in Terre Haute, Indiana, where he was engaged in the butcher business, then went to Paris, Illinois, where he worked for George Mullins in the meat business for five years, then started in the same business for himself, and continued to operate successfully a meat market there for nine years, when he sold out and went to Grand Island, Nebraska, where he continued his former vocation for two years, then sold out and came to Springfield, Missouri and here established "a meat business, which he carried on with his usual success for seven years, then sold out and started in the live stock business in connection with general farming in Taylor township, a few miles from Springfield, where he owns a valuable and productive farm of two hundred, and forty acres which he has placed under modern improvements and a high state of cultivation, and there carries on general agricultural pursuits and stock raising on an extensive scale, and has become one of the leading farmers of Greene county. He keeps large numbers of various kinds of live stock of a good grade, and there is no better judge of stock in the county than he. A substantial, convenient and attractive set of buildings are to be seen on his farm, and everything about the place denotes good management, thrift and good taste. Mr. Frey also owns a fine new residence in Freemont street in Springfield, where his family resides, and from there he makes frequent trips to his rural home. His holdings contain over thirty-five acres inside the city limits, some of which is platted and is very valuable. Mr. Frey was married first, in 1881, in Paris, Illinois, to Emma Ormiston, whose death occurred twenty-two years later, on January 31, 1903. She was a daughter of David and Harriet Ormiston, who lived in Paris, Illinois, in which city Mrs. Frey grew to womanhood and was educated. To this first union one son was born, Paul A. Frey, who is engaged in farming two miles south of Springfield. In 1909 our subject was married a second time, his last wife being Mrs. Susie Smith of Greene county, Missouri, widow of Samuel Smith, and a daughter of John and Julia (Miller) Harpster. She was born on April 29, 1856, and she received a common school education in White county, Illinois, where she was born and reared. This last union has been without issue. Mrs. Frey's first husband was S. R. Smith, an old railroad man. In late life he was injured, losing his right arm, and with his wife, went to farming in Taylor township, Greene county, and from a small beginning he and his wife accumulated two hundred and eighty acres. Mr. Smith died in 1904, leaving his widow with two hundred, and eighty acres of land in Greene county and a heavy mortgage to pay. It is greatly to her credit as a manager, as well as to Greene county's wonderful resources, to state that in one year Mrs. Smith had paid up the mortgage, cleared her property and had an abundance of stock and property free of debt. Politically, Mr. Frey has been a Democrat since old enough to exercise the right of suffrage, However, he has never cared for public office, having no time to take from his private business affairs. Fraternally, he is a member of the Masonic order. Mr. Frey, in 1882, and again in 1886, crossed the Atlantic to visit his native land. Mr. Frey's grandfather served in the French wars under Napoleon for a period of fourteen years and attained the rank of second lieutenant, and took part in the great battle of Waterloo, seeing the fall of the mighty Corsican. Our subject is the possessor of a number of interesting relics and heirlooms, including a number of grim reminders of the terrible wars of his native country a century or more ago. Among these is a sword carried by his Grandfather, who was with Napoleon during the last years of the emperor's career in France. GEORGE WASHINGTON FRICKE. No business man in Springfield of a past generation was better or more favorably known than the late George Washington Fricke, who, during his residence here of over forty years did much for the general good of the city, having had unswerving faith in its future from the first and always lending such support as he deemed furthering the material, civic and moral interests of the community. He was held in highest esteem, by all who knew him and that included the major portion of the people of Greene county at one time or another. They esteemed him because of his business ability, public spirit and scrupulous honesty in all the relations of life. Mr. Fricke was born on a farm near Independence, Jackson county, Missouri, in October, 1825. His father died when he was a child and his mother married again and moved to Scott county, Missouri, where our subject was reared and resided until he was forty-five years of age. He received his early education in the common schools of Scott county, which was supplemented in later life by actual contact with the business world and by extensive home reading.. His earlier life was spent in agricultural pursuits and he was successful both as a farmer and business man and accumulated a handsome competence through his own efforts and owned considerable property in Scott county. He was in his younger days a mate on a steamboat on the Mississippi river. He was identified with a number of successful enterprises prior to moving to Springfield in 1869. During the gold rush to California in 1849 and 1850 Mr. Fricke was one of the sturdy Missourians to cross the great western plains. He spent a number of years in the northern part of California, where he was quite successful as a gold miner. During the Civil war he offered his services to the Union and became captain of a company of State Militia or Home Guards, during the early part of the war, but he was not called upon for active service at the front. When he first located in Springfield, Mr. Fricke was associated with Silas Eversol in the milling business, for a period of about ten years, the partnership marking the opening of a large mill on Boonville street. Theirs was one of the best known and most popular flouring mills in southwest Missouri and the high-grade products of their mill found a ready market over a wide territory. Mr. Fricke then engaged in the grain business for a period of fifteen years in partnership with Job Newton, now head of the Newton Grain Company, the firm having been known as Newton & Fricke They maintained a large business house where the present Springfield Seed Company's store is located at Campbell and Walnut streets. The partnership existed for many years, during which time they did a large and profitable business. Our subject was about this period associated with a Mr. Harper in the hay business, their interests being principally in Barton county, this state. He was finally compelled to retire from the active affairs of life on account of his advanced years and failing health. As a former partner, Job Newton paid him a tribute when he stated that Mr. Fricke was a very conscientious and energetic business man, a dealer possessing sound judgment and one whom everyone looked upon as a thorough and competent business authority. In his earlier career Mr. Fricke engaged extensively in the lumber business, having large interests in the swamp country in the southeastern part of Missouri, and much of the cypress timber of the great Eads bridge across the Mississippi river was furnished by him. Mr. Fricke was married on March 20, 1863, to Margaret Harris, of Commerce, Missouri. She was born in Ripley county, this state, April 19, 1842, and there grew to womanhood and received a good education. She is a daughter of Essex and Martha (Pieburn) Harris, who lived on a farm in Scott county, Missouri, for a number of years and were highly respected people. Mrs. Fricke is living in a beautiful home on Cherry street, Springfield. To Mr. and Mrs. Fricke six children were born, namely: Charles, deceased; Horatio, deceased; Dora is the wife of Coleman Ware, of Springfield; Flonnie is the wife of Walter Stork, of Neosho, Missouri; Harry lives in Beaumont, Texas; Gussie is the wife of Thomas J. Johnston, of Springfield. Politically, Mr. Fricke was an ardent Republican and more or less active in public affairs for many years. Religiously, he was a member of Grace Methodist Episcopal church and liberally supported the church and all worthy causes. Mr. Fricke was summoned to his eternal rest on May 23, 1912, at the advanced age of eighty-six years, after a long, useful, successful and highly honorable life—a career of which his descendants may well be proud. WILLIAM A. FRY. To hear the average city man unburden himself, often in none too graceful language, about high prices and the cost of living, one would imagine that he alone is affected and that the farmer is rolling in the fat of the land. As a matter of fact, the farmer is feeling the high cost of living the same as everyone else. He is paying more for his labor (when he can get it at all); more for his land; more for his implements, and more for everything that enters into his daily life, while the prices he receives for his products have not given him a fair return for his time and his labor. But notwithstanding these facts, many of the farmers of Greene county have accumulated competencies and are making a comfortable living, among whom may he mentioned William A. Fry, owner of "Shady Oak Farm," in Wilson township. Mr. Fry was born in the above named township and county, August 5, 1870. He is a son of Marion S. and Sarah Jane (Payne) Fry. The father removed from Kentucky in an early day to northern Missouri. The mother was born and reared in Greene county, this state, and here received a common school education. Marion S. Fry was a boy when he came to Missouri, and here he grew to manhood and attended the public schools, after which he devoted his attention to general farming. He came to Greene county when about twenty-four years of age, settling on a farm of two hundred acres, and a year later he and Sarah Jane Payne were married, and to this union four children were born, namely: William A., of this review; Oscar E. lives in Oregon; Walter F. resides in Wilson township, this county; and the youngest child died in infancy, unnamed. The parents of these children spent the rest of their lives on the farm here, the father dying October 3, 1898, and the death of the mother occurred in September, 1903. William A. Fry grew to manhood on the home farm and there assisted with the general work when a boy. He received his early education in the district schools of Wilson township; he remained under his parental roof- tree until he was twenty-five years of age, when he married and established a home of his own, the date of his wedding being July 28, 1895, and he selected for his life companion Pearl Ward, a daughter of Arch W. and Allie (Edwards) Ward, who were residents of Greene county for many years, and the mother still resides on the old homestead in Wilson township, the death of Arch W. Ward having occurred in September, 1912. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Fry, namely: Clorline is the eldest; the second child died in infancy unnamed; and Marie, who is the youngest. Mr. Fry has devoted his active life to general farming and stock raising. He is at present operating one hundred and seventy-five acres, which is a part of the old homestead, and which he has named very appropriately "Shady Oak Farm." He recently built an attractive new home, surrounded by a fine grove of oaks in a splendid location. The place is productive and well kept in every respect. Until recently Mr. Fry dealt quite extensively in live stock, raising, buying and selling, but in later years he has devoted his attention to general farming. Politically Mr. Fry has always been a Democrat. In September, 1901 he was called upon to mourn the loss of his faithful helpmeet, and he has never remarried. CHARLES R. FULBRIGHT. Self-assertion is believed by many people to be absolutely necessary to success in life, and there are good reasons for the entertainment of such belief. The modest man very rarely gets what is due him. The selfish, aggressive man elbows his way to the front, takes all that is in sight with no seeming regard for the rights of others. And it would sometimes seem that modesty is a sin with self-denial the penalty. There are, however, exceptions to all rules and it is a matter greatly to be regretted that the exceptions the conditions referred to are not more numerous. One notable exception in Greene county is the case of Charles R. Fulbright, well known real estate and insurance man of Springfield, who seems to possess just a sufficient amount of modesty to be a gentleman at all times and yet sufficient persistency to win in the business world and at the same time not appear over bold; and as a result of these well and happily blended qualities, Mr. Fulbright has won and retained a host of friends throughout the county, where his life has been spent, and he is well known to all classes as a man of influence, integrity and business ability. Mr. Fulbright was born in Springfield, Missouri, May 4, 1863, and he is a son of Judge John Y. and Martha H. (Hayden) Fulbright. Judge Fulbright was also born in Springfield, his family being one of the first settlers here, the date of his birth being May 2, 1836, and from that early day to the present time the family has done much for the general progress of the city and has stood well in the community. Here the judge spent his life, which was a long, useful and influential one, replete with honor and success worthily attained. His death occurred May 29, 1912. He devoted his life to agricultural pursuits until about 1902, when he became president of the Farmers & Merchants Bank, which position he retained until his death, and during that period of a decade his able and judicious management of the bank resulted in its rapid growth and placed it high among the sound and important institutions of its kind in the state. He helped organize this institution and took a great pride in the same from the first. He was assisted in its organization and development by its present cashier, H. M. Smith and others. Judge Fulbright also owned several hundred acres of valuable land in this section of the state, and for many years he ranked as one of the successful and prominent men of the county. Politically, he was a Democrat. He was presiding judge of the Greene county court for four years, filling the position with credit and satisfaction to all concerned. Fraternally, he was a Mason and active in the work of the order. His wife, Martha H. Hayden, was also born in Springfield, in 1843, and she too, was a representative of one of our oldest families. Her paternal grandfather, Rev. Joel H. Hayden, was a Campbellite preacher and was the first member of the family to locate in Greene county. Her father, Charles A. Hayden, was a farmer and stock man, and was well known and highly esteemed, one of the successful men of his day in this county. Mrs. Martha E. Fulbright is still living in Springfield. She has now reached her three score and ten years. She is a member of the Campbellite church. To Judge Fulbright and wife four children were born, namely: Lucy E. Hubble of Humansville, Polk county, Missouri; Charles R., of sketch; Mrs. Mary G. Carson lives in Springfield; and W. N., who make's home in Kansas City; he is married and was formerly engaged in railroading. Charles R. Fulbright was reared in Greene county and. he received good education in the local schools. When a young man he went to Christian county, just south of Greene county, and there engaged in merchandising for ten years, enjoying a good trade with the people of the surrounding country, from 1887 to 1897, then returned to Springfield and engaged in the real estate and insurance business and has continued in the same to the present time, building up a large and constantly growing business and ranking among the leading men in this line in the southwestern part of the state. Dealing in a straightforward, honest and courteous manner with his fellow men he has retained their confidence and respect all along. He represents a large number of old line and accident insurance companies, about twelve in all. He maintains an office in the Baker block on the public square. Mr. Fulbright married in 1887, Laura Hornbeak, of Sparta, Missouri, although she was reared and educated in Springfield. She is a daughter of Major John and Amanda (Murray) Hornbeak, early settlers of Greene county. Her father was for many years a prosperous merchant at Sparta and Linden, this state. His death occurred about five years ago. His widow still lives in Springfield. Mrs. Fulbright also has two sisters and one brother living in Springfield, namely: T. E., who is connected with the Union National Bank; Mrs. A. T. Quisenberry, and Mrs. C. S. Burks. One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fulbright, J. M., now twenty-five years of age, who is engaged in business with his father; he married Emily Diggins. Politically, Mr. Fulbright is a Democrat; fraternally, he belongs to the Masonic order, and in religious matters holds membership in the Campbellite church. WILLIAM HENRY FULBRIGHT. This well known citizen is an excellent representative of the better class of retired agriculturists of the United States. Mr. Fulbright comes from an ancestry that distinguished itself in pioneer times when Greene county and the Ozark region were covered with vast forests of large trees which alternated with the wild prairie lands, and wild animals of many species were numerous on all sides, his people came to this section of Missouri and began to carve homes from the primeval forests, assist in building schools and churches, and introduce the customs of civilization in the wilderness, and it was our subject's grandfather who enjoyed the distinction of founding the city of Springfield. The Fulbrights were genuine pioneers, willing to take the hardships in order that they might acquire the soil and the home that was sure to rise. They were willing to work and do without many of the luxuries of the older clime under Dixie skies from whence they came and which had been the abiding place of their ancestors so long. It has been just such spirit that has caused the almost illimitable lands toward "the sundown seas" to be reclaimed and utilized, as told in Theodore Roosevelt's book, "The Winning of the West." William Henry Fulbright of Murray township, was born near Springfield, Greene county, Missouri, August 14, 1837, and practically all of his life of seventy-seven years has been spent in this locality, which he has seen developed from its wild state to one of the foremost in the state and he has taken a good citizen's part in this work of advancement. He is a son of John Lawson and Elizabeth O. (Roper) Fulbright. He is the scion of two old American families of colonial stock. His grandfather, David Roper, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and fought at the battle of Horse Shoe under Gen. Andrew Jackson. The great-grandfather on his mother's side was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. The emigrant ancestor of our subject on the paternal side was a German. William Fulbright, grandfather of our subject, was born in North Carolina, and could speak the German language. He married Ruth Hollingsworth, and went to Tennessee where they owned a large plantation and owned many negroes. In the spring of 1829 he made the overland journey with his family to Greene county, Missouri and located on land which is now covered by the heart of the city of Springfield. His children were Ephraim R., Henry, John I.awson, Rhoda, Eli, Levi, David L., Wilson, Samuel, William D., Daniel N., and Elkana. They all came in wagons, bringing thirty slaves. William Fulbright had four brothers who came to Missouri with families—David, John, Martin and Daniel; they settled where Col. Fellows' wagon foundry was eventually built, and from these brothers sprang the large present generation of Fulbrights. Several of them settled in Laclede county, William being the only one to remain in Greene county, and he built his rude first dwelling near the Frisco's south side shops, which formerly belonged to the old "Gulf" railroad, and this mammoth spring was ever afterward called the "Fulbright spring," by which it is known to this day. The spring where the city gets part of its water, four miles north of the public square, is also known as the Fulbright spring on account of William Fulbright having built a grist mill there which was the first one in this county. It was operated first as a still house and later as a mill. He entered a large tract of land, most of the south part of Springfield now covering this land. The country was open, covered with wild high grass and large trees scattered about, and presenting a beautiful appearance. The country was full of game—deer, wild turkey, prairie chicken, pheasant and many other varieties. William Fulbright was a practical farmer, which business he carried on extensively, and provided the largely increasing immigration which came into the county with farm products. He had one unvarying price for his products without regard to the market prices. He made his price for corn fifty cents per bushel. It being a new country, corn was high and often sold for one dollar per bushel, but he did not alter his price. Albert Patterson was his nearest neighbor, eight miles north. Jeremiah Pearson lived eight miles east of the Fulbrights. The Rountrees came about a year later. William Fulbright was a giant physically, weighing three hundred pounds. He was widely known to the pioneers, was a man of great hospitality, his house being always open to the early settlers and many of them made it a stopping place, He and his wife were members of the Christian church. He lived to be about sixty years of age. He did not live to see much evidence of the great city that was destined to spring up on his land for during his day-here only a handful of people settled in this vicinity. It is not certainly known whether he gave the town its name, however it is known that the place did not receive its name, as popularly supposed, from the many springs in its vicinity, but a meeting of the first settlers was held for the purpose of choosing a name for the new village, and as several of them came from near Springfield, Tennessee, it was agreed that the new place should bear the name of the old town in the south, which was accordingly given it. John L. Fulbright, father of the immediate subject of this sketch, was born on October 11, 1816, and was therefore thirteen years of age when he came with his parents to Greene county and here he grew to manhood and engaged in farming. In 1860 he rebuilt the old grist mill of his father and operated it in connection with farming, Continuing to run the mill about twenty-five years. When he rebuilt the mill in 1860 he added a cotton gin and carding machine. He had learned the milling business when he worked for his father in the old mill here as a young man. After his marriage here he moved to Newton county, this state where he owned and farmed one hundred and sixty acres of land. He did not know that underlying his land were valuable mineral deposits, and he sold it for a small sum when he decided to return to Greene county, the same land subsequently bringing an immense sum, after the mineral had been discovered, but too late to do him any good. Upon his return to Greene county he again took charge of the above mentioned mill. The history of this mill would be interesting enough to fill many pages if space permitted. The old Fulbright spring furnished water power sufficient to operate this mill. This spring was sold by the subject of this sketch to P. B. Perkins of the Springfield water works, and our subject when a boy plowed on what is now South street, one hundred and thirty acres the old Fulbright farm having lain very close to the public square. The death of John L. Fulbright occurred on October 31, 1881 on the old home farm in Campbell township. His wife, who was born in Tennessee in 1816, died on the homestead here June 21, 1885. They were the parents of six children, three of whom died in infancy; the other three were William H.1of this sketch; Mrs, Jane Girley, deceased; and Mrs. Katherine Lee, deceased. William H. Fulbright spent his boyhood days on the home farm with the exception of a few years of his boyhood spent in Newton county. He was six years old when his parents brought him back to Greene county. He received his early education in the common schools, when fourteen years of age entering school in Springfield. In ago he took active charge of his father's mill which he operated for a period of twenty-seven years, and he took care of his parents during their old age. He moved to his present farm in Murray township in December, 1886. He owns two hundred and sixty acres, mostly under cultivation, and also owns one hundred and sixty acres of prairie land. He has made a pronounced success as a general farmer and stock raiser, and his land is well improved and productive. He has an excellent group of buildings. He remains on his home place and does a little farming, but has lived practically retired from active life since 1904. Mr. Fulbright was married in 1859 to Habagil Bryant, a daughter of David and Rozelle (Still) Bryant. Mr. Bryant was born in Virginia in 1805. From his native state he moved to Kentucky where he married, and lived there until he came to Missouri, first locating in Lawrence county, when his daughter Habagil was four years old. He followed farming in that county for ten years. In connection with farming he practiced medicine and was a successful doctor of the old school, being known as an "Indian doctor." Upon selling his eighty acre farm in Lawrence county he came to Murray township, Greene county, in 1850, and settled on the farm now owned by Mr. Fulbright of this review. Here he also practiced medicine for many years or until old age compelled him to retire. He was a Republican, and was a member of the Methodist church at Walnut Springs. His wife was born and reared in Kentucky, her birth occurring August 11, 1818, and her death occurred at Pleasant Hope, Polk county, Missouri, while on a visit to her son, James Bryant, April 1, 1895. To David Bryant and wife eleven children were born, namely: Habagil, wife of Mr. Fulbright of this sketch; Timberlake, Mrs. Martha Stoneking, Mrs. Nancy Watson are all three deceased; the next child died in infancy; James is deceased, Mrs. Mary Watson lives in Murray township; Zachariah lives in Oklahoma; Mrs. Eliza Hughes lives in Clark county, Kansas; Warren Pitt also lives in Clark county, Kansas; Mts. Jennie Munroe is deceased. To William H. Fulbright and wife three children have been born, namely: Alexander, who married Mary Knott, has one child, Guy; the former's wife died in 1897, and in 1900 he married for his second wife, Mollie Mercer, and has one child by her, Russell; Guy Fulbright married Rosa Schmidt and they have four children; Alexander Fulbright lives in Springfield and works at the Davis Planing Mill; his son Guy works in the New Frisco shops. David, second child of our subject and wife, married. Alice Gabie and they had three children, Lawson (deceased), Elizabeth and Alma; David farms in Murray township. Mrs. Anna Cosby, youngest of the children of our subject, is deceased. William H. Fulbright is a Democrat in politics, but being a quiet, home man he has never aspired to public office. He is liberal in his religious views and has always been regarded as an honest, upright man, kind, neighborly and public-spirited. Mrs. Fulbright is a member of the Ritter Chapel, Methodist Episcopal church, South. They are both widely known in the county and are in every respect deserving of the high esteem in which they are universally held. CALVIN FURROW. The varied, interesting and often exciting experiences of Calvin Furrow, would make a fair-sized volume should they be told in detail by some of our writers of Western adventure stories. Out of all these experiences he received much good, such as an accurate knowledge of the world, courage to fight life's battles, and coolness as well as decision, which a man had to possess in order to survive if he lived in the wild West forty or fifty years ago; but unfortunately space forbids us giving more than a brief resume of his unusual life record within the pages of the present volume. Mr. Furrow was born in Polk county, Iowa, August 15, 1848. He is a son of John and Lydia (Johnson) Furrow. In those pioneer days in Iowa educational advantages were limited and young Furrow was not permitted, under the circumstances to obtain the text-book learning that he otherwise would have been glad to have embraced. He grew to manhood on the farm and spent his early youth engaged in farming and handling live stock, later taking up farming in Kansas; but not long thereafter went on to Fort Sill, Indian Territory (as the eastern part of Oklahoma was then known), and from there went on to New Mexico, finally located in Ft. Worth, Texas, in which vicinity he worked as a cowboy until 1871, then returned to Iowa and for ten years was in the employ of the Wabash railroad. We next find him in the Black Hills of South Dakota, where he engaged in mining for awhile, but his principal work there was as a cowboy. He remained in that picturesque country for a period of over twenty-five years. Leaving the Black Hills country in 1906 he came to Greene county, Missouri, and has since been successfully engaged in farming, making his home in Boone township. He owns eighty acres in Greene county and one hundred and twenty acres in Wright county, all well improved and valuable land, and he is regarded as one of the best farmers in this section of the county and is well fixed in the way of worldly goods. Mr. Furrow was married in December, 1868, to Martha E. Kensler, a native of Fulton county, Indiana, and a daughter of John and Louisa Kensler. She was born on June 22, 1851. She was a member of the Christian church at Ash Grove. Mrs. Furrow died September 20, 1914. To Mr. and Mrs. Furrow one child was born, Louisa Furrow, who was born in the central part of Iowa on March 24, 1879. She received a good education, and in the year 1901 was married to Marion Arment, and they now reside in Sand Hills, Nebraska. Politically, Mr. Furrow is a Democrat, but he has never sought political honors, although not lacking in proper patriotism. Fraternally, he belongs to the Masonic Order, including the Blue Lodge, and the Ash Grove Lodge No. 124, Royal Arch Masons, and is active in this order.
Missouri Records Kansas Records Cemetery Transcriptions
Census Transcriptions Marriage Records Obituary Index
Family Research Research Requests Email Webmaster

free web counter
Alienware Computer Coupons